DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/14/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the office action mailed on 5/14/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1-5 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by (US 2015/0055943 A1) to Schroder et al. (hereinafter Schroder).
Schroder is directed toward thermal processing of a substrate. Schroder discloses at paragraph [0049] the curing of a film on a glass substrate. Schroder discloses at paragraph [0050] the curing is performed by a pulse to prevent thermal cracking of the glass. Schroder discloses at paragraph [0014] the film being formed is cooled between thermal pulses to protect the substrate. Schroder discloses at paragraph [0042] that the liquid film is drying during the curing process removing excess liquid. Schroder discloses at paragraph [0019] the pulses are from a flashlamp. Schroder discloses at paragraph [0054] the light may be filtered. Schroder discloses at paragraph [0016] the use of an oven. Schroder discloses at paragraph [0044] the material is metal. Schroder discloses at paragraph [0005] the substrate may be glass or ceramic. Schroder discloses at paragraph [0018] the substrate can be any fragile surface, which would include a semiconductor. Schroder discloses each and every element as arranged in claims 1-5 and 11-14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 1-5 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 2015/0055943 A1) to Schroder et al. (hereinafter Schroder).
Schroder is directed toward thermal processing of a substrate. Schroder discloses at paragraph [0049] the curing of a film on a glass substrate. Schroder discloses at paragraph [0050] the curing is performed by a pulse to prevent thermal cracking of the glass. Schroder discloses at paragraph [0014] the film being formed is cooled between thermal pulses to protect the substrate. Schroder discloses at paragraph [0042] that the liquid film is drying during the curing process removing excess liquid. Schroder discloses at paragraph [0019] the pulses are from a flashlamp. Schroder discloses at paragraph [0054] the light may be filtered. Schroder discloses at paragraph [0016] the use of an oven. Schroder discloses at paragraph [0044] the material is metal. Schroder discloses at paragraph [0005] the substrate may be glass or ceramic. Schroder discloses at paragraph [0018] the substrate can be any fragile surface, which would include a semiconductor.
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the filing of the disclosure of Schroder to select each and every element of the method as arranged in claims to form a prime facie case of obviousness for claims 1-5 and 11-14.
10. Claims 1-6 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 2015/0055943 A1) to Schroder et al. (hereinafter Schroder) in view of the teachings of (US 2016/0023436 A1) to Liu et al. (hereinafter Liu).
Schroder is directed toward thermal processing of a substrate. Schroder discloses at paragraph [0049] the curing of a film on a glass substrate. Schroder discloses at paragraph [0050] the curing is performed by a pulse to prevent thermal cracking of the glass. Schroder discloses at paragraph [0014] the film being formed is cooled between thermal pulses to protect the substrate. Schroder discloses at paragraph [0042] that the liquid film is drying during the curing process removing excess liquid. Schroder discloses at paragraph [0019] the pulses are from a flashlamp. Schroder discloses at paragraph [0054] the light may be filtered. Schroder discloses at paragraph [0016] the use of an oven. Schroder discloses at paragraph [0044] the material is metal. Schroder discloses at paragraph [0005] the substrate may be glass or ceramic. Schroder discloses at paragraph [0018] the substrate can be any fragile surface, which would include a semiconductor.
Lui is directed toward the curing of films on substrates. Schroder and Lui are both directed toward the curing of films on substrates and therefore are analogous art. Lui teaches at paragraph [0018] that the substrate is glass having a polymer dissolved in a solvent that includes a polyamic acid that is cured into a thermoset film. Lui teaches at paragraph [0023] that the removal of liquid solvent may include baking in an oven. Lui teaches at paragraph [0027] that the thickness is 100A to 50 microns, which reads on Applicants range of less than 300 nm. One would be motivated to use a polyamic acid for a laser debonding process.
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the filing of the disclosure of Schroder in view of the teachings of Lui to select each and every element of the method as arranged in claims to form a prime facie case of obviousness for claims 1-6 and 11-15.
11. Claims 1-6, 8-9 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 2015/0055943 A1) to Schroder et al. (hereinafter Schroder) in view of the teachings of (US 2016/0023436 A1) to Liu et al. (hereinafter Liu) in further view of (US 2013/0160318 A1) to Schroder et al. (hereinafter Schroder2).
Schroder is directed toward thermal processing of a substrate. Schroder discloses at paragraph [0049] the curing of a film on a glass substrate. Schroder discloses at paragraph [0050] the curing is performed by a pulse to prevent thermal cracking of the glass. Schroder discloses at paragraph [0014] the film being formed is cooled between thermal pulses to protect the substrate. Schroder discloses at paragraph [0042] that the liquid film is drying during the curing process removing excess liquid. Schroder discloses at paragraph [0019] the pulses are from a flashlamp. Schroder discloses at paragraph [0054] the light may be filtered. Schroder discloses at paragraph [0016] the use of an oven. Schroder discloses at paragraph [0044] the material is metal. Schroder discloses at paragraph [0005] the substrate may be glass or ceramic. Schroder discloses at paragraph [0018] the substrate can be any fragile surface, which would include a semiconductor.
Lui is directed toward the curing of films on substrates. Schroder and Lui are both directed toward the curing of films on substrates and therefore are analogous art. Lui teaches at paragraph [0018] that the substrate is glass having a polymer dissolved in a solvent that includes a polyamic acid that is cured into a thermoset film. Lui teaches at paragraph [0027] that the thickness is 100A to 50 microns, which reads on Applicants range of less than 300 nm. Lui teaches at paragraph [0023] that the removal of liquid solvent may include baking in an oven.
Schroder2 is directed toward thermal processing of a substrate. Schroder and Schroder2 are both directed toward thermal processing of a substrate and therefore are analogous art. Schroder2 teaches at paragraph [0014] the use of an air knife for cooling during cure. Schroder2 teaches at paragraph [0015] the use of a cooling roller as a thermal heat sink.
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the filing of the disclosure of Schroder in view of the teachings of Lui and Shroder2 to select each and every element of the method as arranged in claims to form a prime facie case of obviousness for claims 1-6, 8-9 and 11-15.
12. Claims 1-6 and 8-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 2015/0055943 A1) to Schroder et al. (hereinafter Schroder) in view of the teachings of (US 2016/0023436 A1) to Liu et al. (hereinafter Liu) in further view of (US 2013/0160318 A1) to Schroder et al. (hereinafter Schroder2) in further view of (US 2022/0127496 A1) to Puligadda et al. (hereinafter Puligadda).
Schroder is directed toward thermal processing of a substrate. Schroder discloses at paragraph [0049] the curing of a film on a glass substrate. Schroder discloses at paragraph [0050] the curing is performed by a pulse to prevent thermal cracking of the glass. Schroder discloses at paragraph [0014] the film being formed is cooled between thermal pulses to protect the substrate. Schroder discloses at paragraph [0042] that the liquid film is drying during the curing process removing excess liquid. Schroder discloses at paragraph [0019] the pulses are from a flashlamp. Schroder discloses at paragraph [0054] the light may be filtered. Schroder discloses at paragraph [0016] the use of an oven. Schroder discloses at paragraph [0044] the material is metal. Schroder discloses at paragraph [0005] the substrate may be glass or ceramic. Schroder discloses at paragraph [0018] the substrate can be any fragile surface, which would include a semiconductor.
Lui is directed toward the curing of films on substrates. Schroder and Lui are both directed toward the curing of films on substrates and therefore are analogous art. Lui teaches at paragraph [0018] that the substrate is glass having a polymer dissolved in a solvent that includes a polyamic acid that is cured into a thermoset film. Lui teaches at paragraph [0023] that the removal of liquid solvent may include baking in an oven. Lui teaches at paragraph [0027] that the thickness is 100A to 50 microns, which reads on Applicants range of less than 300 nm.
Schroder2 is directed toward thermal processing of a substrate. Schroder and Schroder2 are both directed toward thermal processing of a substrate and therefore are analogous art. Schroder2 teaches at paragraph [0014] the use of an air knife for cooling during cure. Schroder2 teaches at paragraph [0015] the use of a cooling roller as a thermal heat sink.
Puligadda is directed toward thermal processing of a substrate. Schroder and Puligadda are both directed toward thermal processing of a substrate and therefore are analogous art. Puligadda teaches at paragraph [0063] the flipping over of the substrate for release during curing.
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the filing of the disclosure of Schroder in view of the teachings of Lui, Shroder2 and Puligadda to select each and every element of the method as arranged in claims to form a prime facie case of obviousness for claims 1-6 and 8-15.
13. Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 2015/0055943 A1) to Schroder et al. (hereinafter Schroder) in view of the teachings of (US 2016/0023436 A1) to Liu et al. (hereinafter Liu) in further view of (US 2013/0160318 A1) to Schroder et al. (hereinafter Schroder2) in further view of (US 2022/0127496 A1) to Puligadda et al. (hereinafter Puligadda) in still further view of (US 2013/0087959 A1) to Tran et al. (hereinafter Tran).
Schroder is directed toward thermal processing of a film on a glass substrate. Schroder discloses at paragraph [0049] the curing of a film on a glass substrate. Schroder discloses at paragraph [0050] the curing is performed by a pulse to prevent thermal cracking of the glass. Schroder discloses at paragraph [0014] the film being formed is cooled between thermal pulses to protect the substrate. Schroder discloses at paragraph [0042] that the liquid film is drying during the curing process removing excess liquid. Schroder discloses at paragraph [0019] the pulses are from a flashlamp. Schroder discloses at paragraph [0054] the light may be filtered. Schroder discloses at paragraph [0016] the use of an oven. Schroder discloses at paragraph [0044] the material is metal. Schroder discloses at paragraph [0005] the substrate may be glass or ceramic. Schroder discloses at paragraph [0018] the substrate can be any fragile surface, which would include a semiconductor.
Lui is directed toward the curing of films on substrates. Schroder and Lui are both directed toward the curing of films on substrates and therefore are analogous art. Lui teaches at paragraph [0018] that the substrate is glass having a polymer dissolved in a solvent that includes a polyamic acid that is cured into a thermoset film. Lui teaches at paragraph [0023] that the removal of liquid solvent may include baking in an oven. Lui teaches at paragraph [0027] that the thickness is 100A to 50 microns, which reads on Applicants range of less than 300 nm.
Schroder2 is directed toward thermal processing of a substrate. Schroder and Schroder2 are both directed toward thermal processing of a substrate and therefore are analogous art. Schroder2 teaches at paragraph [0014] the use of an air knife for cooling during cure. Schroder2 teaches at paragraph [0015] the use of a cooling roller as a thermal heat sink.
Puligadda is directed toward thermal processing of a substrate. Schroder and Puligadda are both directed toward thermal processing of a substrate and therefore are analogous art. Puligadda teaches at paragraph [0063] the flipping over of the substrate for release during curing.
Tran is directed toward thermal processing of a film on a glass substrate. Schroder and Tran are both directed toward thermal processing of a film on a glass substrate and therefore are analogous art. Tran teaches at paragraph [0024] that the substrate may be a glass. Tran teaches at paragraph [0036] that the thermoset film may be an epoxy. Tran teaches at paragraph [0025] that there is a low thermal expansion coefficient.
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the filing of the disclosure of Schroder in view of the teachings of Lui, Shroder2, Puligadda and Tran to select each and every element of the method as arranged in claims to form a prime facie case of obviousness for claims 1-16.
Conclusion
/JEFFREY D WASHVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766