Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 1/6/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is not believed to be a significant burden to review both claim sets. There is significant overlap between features of claims 1 and 16 and other claims of the claim sets, and as noted in the Restriction Requirement, the classes to be searched are highly related. As such, Applicant believes that both claim sets can be reviewed together without significant burden. This is not found persuasive because the inventions are distinct, where the apparatus as claimed can be used to practice another and materially different process such as a cleaning or maintenance process where a wafer is not placed in a plasma chamber, RF power is not applied and a plasma process is not performed.
Additionally, a different field of search will be involved, such as searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search queries, a different field of search is shown, even though the two are classified together, such as searching for non-overlapping subject matter that reads on one invention and not the other, especially with apparatus and method claims, where patentability is strictly defined by structure in the former, leading to excess and extraneous search results for different methods that can run on the apparatus without reading on the claimed method. A separate classification thereof, showing that each invention has attained recognition in the art as a separate subject for inventive effort, and also a separate field of search, such as the different classes listed in the requirement. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 16-18, 20, 21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 1/6/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12, 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koshimizu (US 20100243606) in view of Na (US 20200373126) and Kim (US 20210020412).
Regarding claim 1. Koshimizu teaches in the drawings a plasma control apparatus (plasma processing apparatus 10 [50 51] all controlled by controller 66 [59-69]) comprising: a first transmission line (the central power line from RF 28/30 to 12, fig. 14) and a second transmission line (aux/side power line from RF 110 to 44, fig. 14), each connected to transfer radio frequency (RF) power to a plasma chamber (as disc, they transfer RF power to 12/44 which are part of the plasma apparatus/chamber 10, fig. 1, 14) through at least two frequencies (28/30 use 27, 13.56 MHz [53], 110 can use multiple frequencies such as 200 or more MHz [107]), wherein RF power transferred by the first transmission line is main RF power and RF power transferred by the second transmission line is auxiliary RF power (as disc, the central RF power flowing thru the said main/central line is a major/main power used for processing [53] and the 2nd RF power via the aux line is for side/subsidiary/aux usage such as heating the side ring [106]); a matching circuit (impedance circuit/match network 32a/b [54 67-69]) connected to the first transmission line (fig. 1, 14) and configured to adjust impedance to increase power transmission of the main RF power ([54 67-69] controls impedance of the RF power line in the main/central line);
but does not teach a first plasma control circuit connected to the first transmission line and configured to selectively and independently control harmonics of one or more of the at least two frequencies of the main RF power; however, Na teaches a first plasma control circuit (first control circuit 300/300’ [24 31-42]) connected to the first transmission line (connected to 1st tran line 400/400’, fig. 1-10) and configured to selectively and independently control harmonics of one or more of the at least two frequencies of the main RF power ([32, 40, 52], fig. 1-10, 300/300’ controls selectively/independently harmonics at a VHF of the main RF power); It would be obvious to those skilled in the art at the time of invention to modify Koshimizu to reduce non-uniform plasma distribution [33].
But does not teach a sensor configured to sense harmonics of the main RF power in the plasma chamber; however, Kim teaches in fig. 3 a sensor (4424 [72]) configured to sense harmonics of the main RF power in the plasma chamber (sense harmonics of the main/plasma generating RF power 441 to chamber 100 [72]). It would be obvious to those skilled in the art at the time of invention to modify Koshimizu to assist in the removal of undesired harmonics by detecting them [72]. Koshimizu further teaches an auxiliary RF power source (said aux RF power 110 [106 107]) connected to the second transmission line (110 connected to said aux line, fig. 14) and configured to generate auxiliary RF power (as discussed, the RF power to the heater in 44) to cancel out the harmonics sensed by the sensor (this is an intended use and does not further structurally limit the apparatus, MPEP 2114; furthermore, it would have been obvious to those skilled in the art based on Na’s teachings [96 97 104] to make necessary adjustments, such as connecting 700 to the aux RF, since 700 is analogous to 300/300’ [96 97], which is also connected to a RF source/main RF, to control any unwanted harmonics caused by 110, similar to 300/300’, and balance out the main RF’s VHF harmonics near the edge region [96 97], which is detected by said sensor as discussed), wherein, in a plan view, the first transmission line transfers the main RF power to a central region of the plasma chamber (Fig. 14, said 1st RF line sends RF to the central/chuck/susceptor region of 10), and the second transmission line transfers the auxiliary RF power to an edge region outside of the central region of the plasma chamber (Fig. 14 said 2nd RF line sends RF to the edge/44 region which is outside said susceptor region/12 of 10).
Regarding claim 2. Koshimizu in view of Na and Kim teaches the plasma control apparatus of claim 1, but does not teach wherein the sensor is configured to sense the harmonics at the edge region of the plasma chamber. However, Kim teaches the sensor 4424 associated with harmonic removal device 4421, which is similar to said harmonic controllers 300/300’/700 of Na applied to Koshimizu as discussed in claim 1. Therefore, it would have been obvious to those skilled in the art at the time of the invention to duplicate the sensor to the chamber edge harmonic controller 700 to also detect chamber edge region harmonics, to assist in the removal of the undesired harmonics by detecting them [72]. Additionally, per MPEP 2144.04, it has been held that duplication of parts did not render claims patentable.
Regarding claim 3. Koshimizu in view of Na and Kim, teaches the plasma control apparatus of claim 1, wherein: the plasma chamber further includes an electrostatic chuck (considered as 12+38 equivalent to applicant’s 530\532 the entire mounting table with a chuck, Koshimizu 10 includes ESC 38+12 [57] fig. 1, where 38 may be formed in/integral w/ 12 as a single chuck/electrode table [57]) configured to support a wafer ([57] fig. 1), the electrostatic chuck comprises: an electrode portion (at least the 38b and 12 which is RF powered [53]) disposed in a central portion of a lower portion of the plasma chamber (38b/12 in central lower half of 10, fig. 1); and an edge ring (44 and 36 are periph/edge rings, fig. 1-14, [58 59]) surrounding the electrode portion (fig. 1, both rings surround at least one of 38b, 12 fig. 1) and having a ring shape (as discussed), and the first transmission line is connected to supply the main RF power to the electrode portion (as disc [53], fig. 1, 14), and the second transmission line is connected to supply the auxiliary RF power to the edge ring (as disc prev fig. 14 [112]).
Regarding claim 4. Koshimizu in view of Na and Kim, teaches the plasma control apparatus of claim 3, wherein the sensor is configured to sense plasma on the edge ring (refer to claim 2; as disc in claim 2, it would have been obvious to those skilled in the art at the time of the invention to duplicate the sensor to the chamber edge harmonic controller 700 to also detect chamber edge region plasma harmonics, which is above/on the edge ring region Na fig. 10, to assist in the removal of the undesired harmonics by detecting them [72]. Additionally, per MPEP 2144.04, it has been held that duplication of parts did not render claims patentable).
Regarding claim 5. Koshimizu in view of Na and Kim, teaches the plasma control apparatus of claim 1, wherein: the plasma chamber includes a top electrode and a bottom electrode (fig. 1, 15 16, showerhead upper electrode and susceptor lower electrode [65]), and the first transmission line supplies the main RF power to the top electrode (fig. 15 16 the plasma generating RF 28 via the central/main RF line goes to 68) but does not teach the second transmission line and the auxiliary RF power also goes to the top electrode; however, Kim teaches in fig. 1, the aux/side RF power 520 for heating [63] and its aux connection RF line also goes to the upper showerhead/equivalent to Koshimizu’s showerhead 68; it would be obvious to those skilled in the art at invention time to modify Koshimizu in order to heat the showerhead to a desired processing temperature [63].
Regarding claim 6. Koshimizu in view of Na and Kim teaches the plasma control apparatus of claim 1, wherein the frequencies of the auxiliary RF power are each an integer multiple of one of the frequencies of the main RF power (this does not limit the apparatus structure, MPEP 2114; further, by definition, harmonics are integers of a main frequency, therefore since both the main and aux power sources are used to cancel the same harmonics, as discussed via Na, it would be obvious to those skilled in the art that both of their frequencies would be at the same frequencies, hence multiples of 1 to each other).
Regarding claim 7. Koshimizu in view of Na and Kim, teaches the plasma control apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first plasma control circuit includes at least one of a low pass filter (LPF), a band pass filter (BPF), and a high pass filter (HPF) (the Na based control circuit has LPF, HPF, eg 300 Fig. 1a).
Regarding claim 8. Koshimizu teaches a plasma control apparatus (see claim 1) comprising: a plasma chamber (see claim 3) including an electrode portion (claim 3) and an edge ring surrounding the electrode portion and having a ring shape (claim 3); a first transmission line and a second transmission line, each transferring radio frequency (RF) power to the plasma chamber through at least two frequencies (claim 1), wherein RF power transferred by the first transmission line is main RF power, and RF power transferred by the second transmission line is auxiliary RF power (claim 1); a matching circuit connected to the first transmission line and configured to adjust impedance to increase power transmission of the main RF power (claim 1); a first plasma control circuit connected to the first transmission line and configured to selectively and independently control one or more harmonics of the at least two frequencies of the main RF power (claim 1, via modification from Na); a sensor configured to sense the harmonics of the main RF power in the plasma chamber (claim 1, via modification from Kim); an auxiliary RF power source connected to the second transmission line and configured to generate auxiliary RF power to cancel out the harmonics sensed by the sensor (claim 1);
and a second plasma control circuit connected to the second transmission line and configured to control the auxiliary RF power source (as discussed in claim 1, it would have been obvious to those skilled in the art based on Na’s teachings [96 97 104] to make necessary adjustments, such as connecting 700 to control the Koshimizu aux RF and further connected to the second/aux Rf transmission line, since 700 is analogous to 300/300’ [96 97], which is also connected to a RF source/main RF, to control any unwanted harmonics caused by 110, similar to 300/300’, and balance out the main RF’s VHF harmonics near the edge region [96 97], which is detected by said sensor; alternatively, the 2nd control circuit is considered to be the main system controller 66/cpu/computer which controls everything including the aux RF power source), wherein, in a plan view, the first transmission line is connected to transfer the main RF power to a center region of the plasma chamber (claim 1), and the second transmission line is adjacent to an edge of the plasma chamber (claim 1, also see Koshimizu fig. 14, Na fig. 10 showing the side/aux RF line at chamber edge) to transfer the auxiliary RF power to an edge region of the plasma chamber (claim 1).
Regarding claim 9. Koshimizu in view of Na and Kim teaches the plasma control apparatus of claim 8, wherein: the first transmission line is connected to supply the main RF power to the electrode portion (claim 3),the second transmission line is connected to supply the auxiliary RF power to the edge ring (claim 3), and the sensor is configured to sense the harmonics in a region of the plasma chamber adjacent to the edge ring (claims 2, 4, i.e. chamber edge region is where the edge ring is at).
Regarding claim 10. Koshimizu in view of Na and Kim, teaches the plasma control apparatus of claim 8, wherein the sensor and the auxiliary RF power source are configured to be repeatedly turned on and off (this does not further limit apparatus structure but relates to intended operation, MPEP 2114; the operator is capable of at least turning on/off the process which uses the sensor/aux RF power source as disc in the processing of claim 1, for each of repeated/batch of wafers).
Regarding claim 11. Koshimizu in view of Na and Kim, teaches the plasma control apparatus of claim 8, wherein the second plasma control circuit is configured to turn on the sensor or the auxiliary RF power source when a high-frequency signal, among the main RF power, is applied (this does not further limit apparatus structure but relates to intended operation, MPEP 2114; further, as disc in claim 8, the 2nd control circuit/main controller 66 turns on/operates all the system/apparatus elements according to a process recipe/software [69] and would turn on the aux power source when main RF is applied, since the main RF is used to generate plasma and the aux RF is used while the plasma is existing/processing).
Regarding claim 12. Koshimizu in view of Na and Kim teaches the plasma control apparatus of claim 11, wherein the high- frequency signal, among the main RF power, has a frequency of about 40 MHz to about 200 MHz (as discussed, about 13.56 or 27 MHz or more, which overlaps the claimed range, creating a prima facie case of obviousness, MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 14. Koshimizu in view of Na and Kim, teaches the plasma control apparatus of claim 8, wherein the second plasma control circuit is configured to turn off the sensor or the auxiliary RF power source when a high-frequency signal, among the main RF power, is not applied (as disc, claim 11, eg. After the plasma processing is done, the main RF is turned off/not applied and the aux RF and sensors which are also used during plasma processing are also turned off/no longer needed by the main controller).
Regarding claim 15. Koshimizu in view of Na and Kim, teaches the plasma control apparatus of claim 8, but does not teach wherein the auxiliary RF power source includes a plurality of auxiliary sources having different frequencies, and a frequency of at least one of the plurality of auxiliary sources is an integer multiple of one of the frequencies of the main RF power. However, Na teaches in fig. 1a [25] the RF power source 100 includes a plurality of auxiliary sources 110-130 having different frequencies [25], and a frequency of at least one of the plurality of auxiliary sources is an integer multiple of one of the frequencies of the main RF power (the ranges given in [25] encompass values that are integer multiples of 13.56 and 27 MHz such as 1-100MHz, rendering a prima facie case of obviousness, MPEP 2144.05). It would be obvious to those skilled in the art at the time of invention to modify Koshimizu to be able to deliver power at a wide range of frequencies [25] which would allow greater process flexibility/customization.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koshimizu (US 20100243606) in view of Na (US 20200373126), Kim (US 20210020412) and Kubota (US 20170365445).
Regarding claim 13. Koshimizu, in view of Na and Kim, teaches the plasma control apparatus of claim 8, but does not teach wherein the second plasma control circuit is configured to control the auxiliary RF power source to generate the auxiliary RF power which is equal in magnitude and frequency and opposite in phase to the harmonics sensed by the sensor. However, Kubota teaches in [53] a correction unit 67+waveform data generation unit 71 creating an inverted/antiphase corrected waveform that is opposite in phase of the same waveform, i.e. equal in magnitude and frequency, as the sensed/measured incorrect/distorted waveform/harmonic [37 44]. It would be obvious to those skilled in the art at the time of the invention to modify Koshimizu so that the controller controls the aux RF power source so that it creates an auxiliary RF power which is equal in magnitude and frequency and opposite in phase to the harmonics sensed by the sensor to offset the harmonic distortion [37 44 53] in the edge region, since control of VHF harmonics by the first plasma control circuit may be limited, Na [96].
Conclusion
/YUECHUAN YU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718