DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the following limitations are either not mentioned or do not have reference numerals in the specification that can be found in the drawings (also please see limitations lacking antecedent basis in the specification below): “housing”, “screw”, “extending member”, “elongated member”, first portion” and “second portion”, “protrusion”, “first protrusion”, “second protrusion”.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “screw” and all limitations regarding protrusions of claims 7-12, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
“Housing”
“Screw”
“Extending member”
“Elongated member”
“First portion”
“Second portion”
“Protrusion”
“First protrusion”
“Second protrusion”
NOTE: that in light of the lack of illustration any mention of a “protrusion” in the specification, claims 7-12 will be examined as best understood.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 13 is missing article “a” to precede “push tube” in line 2.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12054372. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Instant App ‘188 CLAIM 1
Pat No. ‘372 CLAIM 1
An electric linear actuator for a lift assembly of a scissor lift, the electric linear actuator comprising:
a housing having a first end defining an aperture and a second end opposite the first end, the housing including a mount configured to pivotally couple the housing to the lift assembly of the scissor lift
A scissor lift, comprising ... a linear actuator coupled to the lift assembly and configured to extend to raise the platform relative to the base ... a housing coupled to the electric motor and rotatably coupled to the screw wherein the housing includes a first end and an opposing second end ... a first mount coupled to a first support member of the plurality of support members and the housing includes a second mount coupled to a second support member
an extending member received within the aperture and slidably coupled to the housing;
Claim 6: the housing includes an elongated member that receives the extending member, claim 8: the extending member is configured to move relative to the housing along an axis of extension
a screw coupled to the housing
a screw ... a housing coupled to the electric motor and rotatably coupled to the screw wherein the housing includes a first end and an opposing second end
an electric motor coupled to the housing and configured to drive rotation of the screw to control movement of the extending member along an axis of extension
a push tube (note that “extending member” is referred to in app ‘171 as “push tube”) coupled to the nut and slidably received within the elongated member, the push tube including a second mount that is coupled to the third support member
the mount is offset from the second end of the housing along the axis of extension such that the mount is positioned between the first end and the second end of the housing
an electric motor coupled to the housing and configured to drive rotation of the screw relative to the nut, the electric motor being offset from the elongated member
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-9 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Soltermann, US (2020/0284329).
In regards to claim 1 Soltermann discloses:
An electric linear actuator (2; fig. 1) for a lift assembly of a scissor lift (intended use), the electric linear actuator comprising:
a housing (20) having a first end (right hand side end; fig. 1; see annotated drawings below) defining an aperture (opening through which 18 extends and retracts) and a second end (at 12; see annotated drawings below) opposite the first end (as shown in fig. 1; reproduced below), the housing including a mount (see annotated drawings below) configured to pivotally couple the housing to the lift assembly of the scissor lift (intended use, where the mount exhibits structure to be configured to pivotally couple the housing);
an extending member (member including 22, partially inserted into cylinder; see annotated drawings below) received within the aperture and slidably coupled to the housing (received into cylinder as shown in fig. 1, and slidable with 18 when extending and retracting);
a screw (spindle 6 with outer threads; fig. 1) coupled to the housing (fig. 1); and
an electric motor (10 in the form of an electric motor) coupled to the housing (fig. 1) and configured to drive rotation of the screw to control movement of the extending member along an axis of extension (as described in paragraph [0034]; see highlighted excerpt below),
wherein the mount is offset from the second end of the housing along the axis of extension (electric motor 10 being offset and parallel to 2nd end and parallel to the axis passing through major longitudinal length of 6 as shown in fig. 1) such that the mount is positioned between the first end and the second end of the housing (as shown in annotated drawings below).
In regards to claim 2 Soltermann discloses the housing includes an elongated member (4) defining the aperture and a gearbox (16) coupling the electric motor to the screw (fig. 1), and wherein the mount is positioned between the gearbox and the elongated member (fig. 1).
In regards to claim 3 Soltermann discloses the electric motor is offset from the axis of extension (axis through major length of the motor offset from and parallel to the major axis of 4).
In regards to claim 4 Soltermann discloses the electric motor and the elongated member both extend away from the gearbox in a first direction (both motor and elongate member 4 extend in the same parallel direction).
In regards to claim 5 Soltermann discloses a brake configured to selectively limit movement of the extending member relative to the housing, wherein the electric motor is positioned between the gearbox and the brake (as shown in fig. 1 and described in paragraph [0039]; highlighted excerpt below).
In regards to claim 7 Soltermann discloses the housing includes an elongated member (4) defining the aperture (opening through which 18 extends and retracts), wherein the elongated member and the extending member are substantially centered about the axis of extension (axis passing through major length of 4), and wherein the mount includes a protrusion (see annotated drawings above) that extends substantially perpendicular to the axis of extension (major plane of mount extending perpendicular to 20/4; annotated fig. 1).
In regards to claim 8 Soltermann discloses the protrusion is a pin (fig. 1 above).
In regards to claim 9 Soltermann discloses the protrusion is a first protrusion (see annotated drawings below), and wherein the mount further includes a second protrusion (see annotated drawings below) extending substantially perpendicular to the axis of extension (see annotated drawings below).
In regards to claim 13 Soltermann discloses the housing includes an outer tube (20) defining the aperture, and wherein the extending member is [a] push tube (6) that receives the screw (6) such that the push tube extends between the screw and the outer tube in at least one position of the push tube (as described in paragraph [0034]).
In regards to claim 14 Soltermann discloses a nut (8) coupled to the push tube (18) and engaging the screw (6) (fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soltermann, US (2020/0284329) as applied to claim 5 above, and in view of Arnot, US (2944689).
In regards to claim 6 Soltermann does not disclose a handle and a cable coupling the handle to the brake.
Arnot teaches a handle; and a cable coupling the handle to the brake (direct or indirectly once taught onto device of Soltermann) and configured to disengage the brake to permit movement of the electric motor in response to a user interaction with the handle (as described in Col 4 LL 74 – Col 5 LL 10; see excerpt below).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the handle and cable arrangement taught by Arnot onto the actuator of Soltermann for the predictable result with reasonable expectation of success i.e., to provide for manual means for the user to release the brakes and control the movement of the extending member.
Claims 15-16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soltermann, US (2020/0284329) in view of Arnot, US (2944689).
In regards to claim 15 Soltermann discloses:
An electric linear actuator (2; fig. 1) for a lift device (intended use), the electric linear actuator comprising:
a housing (20) including an elongated portion (4) defining an aperture (opening through which 18 extends and retracts) and a second portion (12) extending substantially perpendicular to the elongated portion (as shown in fig. 1);
an extending member (member including 22, partially inserted into cylinder; see annotated drawings below) received within the aperture and slidably coupled to the housing (received into cylinder as shown in fig. 1, and slidable with 18 when extending and retracting);
a screw (spindle 6 with outer threads; fig. 1) received within the elongated portion of the housing (as shown in fig. 1);
an electric motor (10 in the form of an electric motor) coupled to the second portion of the housing (as shown in fig. 1) and configured to drive rotation of the screw to control extension of the electric linear actuator (as described in paragraph [0034]; see highlighted excerpt below);
a brake (28/30) configured to selectively prevent movement of the electric motor (as described in paragraph [0039]; highlighted excerpt below).
In regards to claim 15 Soltermann does not disclose a handle and a cable coupling the handle to the brake.
Arnot teaches a handle; and a cable coupling the handle to the brake (direct or indirectly once taught onto device of Soltermann) and configured to disengage the brake to permit movement of the electric motor in response to a user interaction with the handle (as described in Col 4 LL 74 – Col 5 LL 10; see excerpt below).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the handle and cable arrangement taught by Arnot onto the actuator of Soltermann for the predictable result with reasonable expectation of success i.e., to provide for manual means for the user to release the brakes and control the movement of the extending member.
In regards to claim 16 Soltermann as modified by Arnot teaches the cable is configured to apply a force onto the brake to disengage the brake in response to a user pulling the handle (as described in Col 4 LL 74 – Col 5 LL 10; see excerpt above).
In regards to claim 18 Soltermann and Arnot do not explicitly teach a bracket coupling the cable to the electric motor; examiner takes Official Notice that brackets used to couple a cable are old and well-known in the art. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a bracket to couple the cable of Arnot to the motor of Soltermann for the predicable result of providing a fixed attachment for the cable to prevent wear and tear resulting from rubbing against other object and eventually failing/breaking.
In regards to claim 19 Soltermann discloses the elongated portion (4) and the electric motor (10) extend away from the second portion of the housing in a first direction (both motor and elongate member 4 extend in the same parallel direction), and wherein the brake is offset from the second portion of the housing in the first direction (where brake 30 is offset above the second/left end of the elongate housing 20; fig. 1).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soltermann, US (2020/0284329) in view of Arnot, US (2944689).
In regards to claim 20 Soltermann discloses:
An electric linear actuator (2; fig. 1) for a lift assembly of a scissor lift (intended use), the electric linear actuator comprising:
a housing (20) having a first end (right hand side end; fig. 1; see annotated drawings below) defining an aperture (opening through which 18 extends and retracts) and a second end (at 12; see annotated drawings below) opposite the first end (as shown in fig. 1; reproduced below), the housing including:
an elongated member (4) defining the aperture (opening through which 18 extends and retracts);
a gearbox (16) extending substantially perpendicular to the elongated member (as shown in fig. 1; reproduced below); and
a first mount (see annotated drawings below) positioned between the gearbox and the elongated member (as shown in fig. 1; reproduced below), the first mount including a pair of protrusions (see annotated drawings below) extending outward along a first lateral axis (see annotated drawings below);
an extending member (member including 22, partially inserted into cylinder; see annotated drawings below) received within the aperture and movable relative to the housing along a longitudinal axis (received into cylinder as shown in fig. 1, and slidable with 18 when extending and retracting; longitudinal axis along major axis of 4), the extending member including a second mount (see annotated drawings below) defining a passage that extends along a second lateral axis (axis along 2nd mount similar to first axis);
a screw (spindle 6 with outer threads; fig. 1) coupled to the housing (as shown in fig. 1);
an electric motor (10 in the form of an electric motor) coupled to the gearbox (as shown in fig. 1; reproduced below) and configured to drive rotation of the screw to control movement of the extending member along the longitudinal axis (as described in paragraph [0034]; see highlighted excerpt below), wherein the elongated member and the electric motor both extend away from the gearbox in a first direction (direction along major length of 4);
a brake (28/30) coupled to the electric motor such that the electric motor extends between the brake and the gearbox (fig. 1; the shaft running into 28 being part of the motor), wherein the brake is configured to selectively limit rotation of the screw (as described in paragraph [0039]; highlighted excerpt below).
In regards to claim 20 Soltermann does not disclose a handle and a cable coupling the handle to the brake.
Arnot teaches a cable coupled to a handle and the brake (direct or indirectly once taught onto device of Soltermann), wherein the cable is configured to impart a force on the brake in response to a user pulling the handle (as described in Col 4 LL 74 – Col 5 LL 10; see excerpt below).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the handle and cable arrangement taught by Arnot onto the actuator of Soltermann for the predictable result with reasonable expectation of success i.e., to provide for manual means for the user to release the brakes and control the movement of the extending member. Soltermann and Arnot do not explicitly teach a bracket coupling the cable to the electric motor; examiner takes Official Notice that brackets used to couple a cable are old and well-known in the art. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a bracket to couple the cable of Arnot to the motor of Soltermann for the predicable result of providing a fixed attachment for the cable to prevent wear and tear resulting from rubbing against other object and eventually failing/breaking.
Allowable Subject Matter
In light of the lack of illustration any mention of a “protrusion” in the specification, claims 10-12 are provisionally objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim and would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the drawings and specification objections, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Important to note that upon clarification of the major objections, prior art may or may not become available.
Claim 17 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please refer to PTO-892 form for list of cited references.
/S.M.M/Examiner, Art Unit 3634
/DANIEL P CAHN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3634