DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 05/22/2023, 05/26/2023, 08/12/2024, 01/07/2025 and 07/29/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (CN 218828925 U) in view of Guo (WO 2021136015 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Huang discloses a battery module, comprising:
A housing, comprising a mounting space (Figures 2-3; battery box being formed from the frame members [29-34]);
A glue container, connected with the at least one electrode core assembly and located in the mounting space (Figure 4; beam 250 is provided with a first glue storage tank 270 that is located between the area for the battery cells), wherein the glue container comprises a groove with an open end (Figure 4; first glue storage tank 270 having an open groove), and the open end of the groove is spaced apart from a top surface or a bottom surface of the housing (Figure 4 below; first glue storage tank 270 is spaced apart from at least one end of the battery box side shown in Figure 4).
Huang discloses a battery box that shows a structure in which a battery would be incorporated in a cell accommodation area, however, is explicitly silent with respect to a battery contained in the battery box.
Guo discloses a method for manufacturing a battery and is analogous with the instant invention as being within the same field of endeavor of battery cells. Guo discloses wherein battery cells are provided in the battery housing between the gap that is formed and filled in with resin glue (Figure 1).
Therefore, it would have bee obvious for a skilled artisan to provide a battery cell in the region between the beams that functions as the cell accommodation area for the battery box as taught by Guo. Huang discloses a battery box, however, is explicitly silent with a battery being provided in the battery box and thus the combination of Huang and Guo would render obvious all the claim limitations of claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, modified Huang discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1. Huang further discloses wherein the at least one electrode core assembly comprises a plurality of electrode core assemblies that are disposed in a length direction of the electrode core assemblies (Huang Figure 4; multiple cell accommodation areas in the length direction that hold battery cells; see modification of claim 1); and
The glue container is disposed between at least two adjacent electrode core assemblies of the electrode core assemblies and/or between the electrode core assemblies and the housing (Figure 4, beams 250 are provided between adjacent cell accommodation areas).
Regarding claim 3, modified Huang discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1. Huang further discloses wherein the glue container extends in a height direction of the at least one electrode core assembly (Figure 3-4; the beam extends in a height direction in which the electrochemical cells extend in the battery box).
Regarding claim 4, modified Huang discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1. Huang further discloses wherein a glue flow channel is disposed on an outer surface of the glue container (Figure 3-4; [37-41] beam 250 is provided with a glue storage tank 270 that stores glue and is provided within a channel within to effectively seal the frame members together to form a battery box); and the glue flow channel is configured to store glue to connect the glue container to the at least one electrode core assembly (Figure 3-4; [37-41] beam 250 is provided with a glue storage tank 270 that stores glue and is provided within a channel within to effectively seal the frame members together to form a battery box).
Regarding claim 5, modified Huang discloses all the claim limitations of claim 4. Huang further discloses wherein the glue flow channel is disposed on at least one of two surfaces of the outer surface in a width direction of the battery module (Figure 3-4; flow channel of the beam 250 is provided within the width/length of the battery cell module).
Regarding claim 6, modified Huang discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1. Huang further discloses wherein the glue container has a glue storage capacity Q and Q=L*A*B, L is the length of the mounting space in the length direction of the battery module, A is the width of the mounting space in a width direction of the battery module, and B is a distance between the at least one electrode core assembly and the housing in a height direction of the battery module ( Figure 3-4; the beam 250 is provided between the electrode core assemblies and has a Length and width within the mounting space and thus satisfies the capacity Q as claimed).
Regarding claim 7, modified Huang discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1. Huang further discloses N glue containers including the flue container disposed in the housing (Figures 3-4, multiple beams 250 are provide within the battery box), wherein a glue storage capacity of each of the N glue containers is Q1 and Q=(L*A*B)/N, L is the length of the mounting space in the length direction of the battery module, A is the width of the mounting space in a width direction of the battery module, and B is a distance between the at least one electrode core assembly and the housing in a height direction of the battery module (Figure 3-4; multiple beams 250 are provided between the electrode core assemblies and has a Length and width within the mounting space and thus satisfies the capacity Q as claimed).
Regarding claims 8-9, modified Huang discloses wherein the depth of the first glue storage tank 270 and second glue storage tank 280 is 0.7 mm and contain a rectangular shape ([38-41]) and thus would be expected to have a distance be of around 0.7 mm, however, is unclear if the 0.7 mm would read on the distance between the at least one electrode core assembly and the housing in a height direction of the battery module B.
Guo discloses a method for manufacturing a battery and is analogous with the instant invention as being within the same field of endeavor of battery cells. Guo discloses wherein the width of each of the sealing stations along a first direction is 2-20 mm and a gap of 0.5-5 mm that is used to fill resin flue to achieve an effective seal between the battery components ([39]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious in view of a skilled artisan to modify the distance B of the glue container between the at least one electrode core assembly and the housing in a height direction of the battery module to be between 0.5-5 mm to fill the gap with glue to create an effective seal as taught by Guo. The size of the component B can be adjusted to be between 0.5-5 mm in order to create an effective seal as taught by Guo and thus claims 8-9 are rendered obvious through the combination as a skilled artisan to adjust the distance B to create an effective seal or desired sealing effect. The size of an article is not a matter of invention. See In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Regarding claim 10, modified Huang discloses all the claim limitations of claim 6. Huang further discloses wherein the one electrode assembly comprises at least one electrode core (Figure 4; battery cells are provided in the cell accommodation areas between the beams 250 and 260 and the cell accommodation area contains a cell with a core that can abut against each other through the beam 260 and can be connected in series and/or parallel, see modification of claim 1).
Regarding claims 11, modified Huang discloses all the claim limitations of claims 10. Huang further discloses wherein the one electrode assembly comprises at least one electrode core disposed in the width direction of the battery module, and side surface of two adjacent electrode cores of the at least one electrode core abut against the beam 260 in a thickness direction of the at least electrode core (Figure 4; battery cells are provided in the cell accommodation areas between the beams 250 and 260 and the cell accommodation area contains a cell with a core that can abut against each other through the beam 260 and can be connected in series and/or parallel that would read as the cores that abut against each other and would have the same thickness, see modification of claim 1). While a simple series and/or parallel connection is read by the examiner to read as the electrode cores abutting against each other, even if not, it would have been obvious in view of a skilled artisan to rearrange the battery cells such that the battery cells of adjacent core assemblies abut against the core of the adjacent electrode core assembly as a simple rearrangement of the battery cells provided in the battery box of Huang. The mere rearrangement of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Regarding claim 12, modified Huang discloses all the claim limitations of claim 2. Modified Huang further discloses wherein each of the electrode core assemblies comprises a same number of electrode cores, and each of the electrode core assemblies has a same thickness (Figure 4; cell accommodation area is the same thickness and each battery would have one cell core as Huang discloses a battery box that would contain batteries, see modification of claim 1).
Regarding claim 13, modified Huang discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1. Huang further discloses wherein the glue container has a shape of a cuboid or a cylinder (Figure 3-4; beam 250 has a cuboid shape).
Regarding claim 14, modified Huang discloses all the claim limitations of claim 2. Huang further discloses wherein a plurality of glue containers including the glue container, wherein the glue containers are spaced apart in the length direction of the electrode core assemblies; and at least one of the glue contains is disposed between two adjacent electrode core assemblies of the electrode core assemblies, and/or between the electrode core assemblies and the housing (Figure 4; multiple beams 250 and 260 contains the first and second glue storage tanks 270 and 280 applied between adjacent battery cells).
Regarding claim 15, Huang discloses a battery comprising a battery module ([1-8] power source for vehicles within battery packs and thus the battery box is used to store batteries when used in devices such as vehicles), comprising:
A housing, comprising a mounting space (Figures 2-3; battery box being formed from the frame members [29-34]);
A glue container, connected with the at least one electrode core assembly and located in the mounting space (Figure 4; beam 250 is provided with a first glue storage tank 270 that is located between the area for the battery cells), wherein the glue container comprises a groove with an open end (Figure 4; first glue storage tank 270 having an open groove), and the open end of the groove is spaced apart from a top surface or a bottom surface of the housing (Figure 4 below; first glue storage tank 270 is spaced apart from at least one end of the battery box side shown in Figure 4).
Huang discloses a battery box that shows a structure in which a battery would be incorporated in a cell accommodation area, however, is explicitly silent with respect to a battery contained in the battery box.
Guo discloses a method for manufacturing a battery and is analogous with the instant invention as being within the same field of endeavor of battery cells. Guo discloses wherein battery cells are provided in the battery housing between the gap that is formed and filled in with resin glue (Figure 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a skilled artisan to provide a battery cell in the region between the beams that functions as the cell accommodation area for the battery box as taught by Guo. Huang discloses a battery box, however, is explicitly silent with a battery being provided in the battery box and thus the combination of Huang and Guo would render obvious all the claim limitations of claim 15.
Regarding claim 16, modified Huang discloses all the claim limitations of claim 15. Modified Huang further discloses wherein the at least one electrode core assembly comprises a plurality of electrode core assemblies that are disposed in a length direction of the electrode core assemblies (Figure 4; multiple cell accommodation areas in the length direction that hold battery cells, see modification of claim 15); and
The glue container is disposed between at least two adjacent electrode core assemblies of the electrode core assemblies and/or between the electrode core assemblies and the housing (Figure 4, beams 250 are provided between adjacent cell accommodation areas).
Regarding claim 17, modified Huang discloses all the claim limitations of claim 15. Huang further discloses wherein the glue container extends in a height direction of the at least one electrode core assembly (Figure 3-4; the beam extends in a height direction in which the electrochemical cells extend in the battery box).
Regarding claim 18, modified Huang discloses all the claim limitations of claim 15. Huang further discloses wherein a glue flow channel is disposed on an outer surface of the glue container (Figure 3-4; [37-41] beam 250 is provided with a glue storage tank 270 that stores glue and is provided within a channel within to effectively seal the frame members together to form a battery box); and the glue flow channel is configured to store glue to connect the glue container to the at least one electrode core assembly (Figure 3-4; [37-41] beam 250 is provided with a glue storage tank 270 that stores glue and is provided within a channel within to effectively seal the frame members together to form a battery box).
Regarding claim 19, modified Huang discloses all the claim limitations of claim 18. Huang further discloses wherein the glue flow channel is disposed on at least one of two surfaces of the outer surface in a width direction of the battery module (Figure 3-4; flow channel of the beam 250 is provided within the width/length of the battery cell module).
Regarding claim 20, Huang discloses an assembly method for a battery module, wherein
the battery module comprises a housing, a glue container, the housing comprising a mounting space, and the glue container comprises a groove with an open end; and comprising a mounting space (Figures 2-3; battery box being formed from the frame members [29-34]; Figure 4; beam 250 is provided with a first glue storage tank 270 that is located between the area for the battery cells; Figure 4; first glue storage tank 270 having an open groove), and
The assembly method comprises:
Connecting the glue container with the open end of the groove upward (Figure 4 storage tank 270 having the groove);
Injecting glue into the groove of the glue container (Figures 3-4; [43] frame and bottom pate are bonded together with the resin glue in which the glue is inserted to bond the two together);
Disposing the glue container into the mounting space (Figure 3-4), sealing the housing wherein the open end of the groove is spaced apart from a top surface of the housing (Figures 3-5, groove appears to be spaced apart from a lid component),
Clamping the housing and rotating the battery module by 180 degrees ([41] pressure is used to couple the frames together to cure the glue; Figure 5 show wherein the battery is rotated for use).
Huang discloses a battery box that shows a structure in which a battery would be incorporated in a cell accommodation area, however, is explicitly silent with respect to a battery contained in the battery box and coupled with the glue container.
Guo discloses a method for manufacturing a battery and is analogous with the instant invention as being within the same field of endeavor of battery cells. Guo discloses wherein battery cells are provided in the battery housing between the gap that is formed and filled in with resin glue to couple and seal the frame with the battery slot and battery cell (Figure 1, [166] glue is used to effectively ensure complete sealing between adjacent battery cells).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a skilled artisan to provide a battery cell in the region that is between the beams and connected by the glue to the beams to effectively ensure a complete sealing between adjacent batteries as taught by Guo. Huang discloses a battery box, however, is explicitly silent with a battery being provided in the battery box and coupled to the battery box with the glue and thus the combination of Huang and Guo would render obvious all the claim limitations of claim 20.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Liu CN 209447881 U- discloses a battery module and frame for fixing the battery cells that contains a glue accommodating groove that connects and seals the batteries together.
/ADAM J FRANCIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728