DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/15/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argued that Furutani does not disclose the second metal layer has a plating structure different from that of the first metal layer. Examiner respectfully disagreed: in PCB plating structures include plated through-holes, surface finishes, and edge plating. Changing any of these will change the structure. Hence, having different diameter constitute different structures. Regarding claim 18 as it can be seen from Furutani Fig. 1 there are more layers of via 1 (113) than layers of via 2 (213)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7, 9 – 10, 13 – 15, 18 – 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by FURUTANI (US 20250254795 A1, “FURUTANI”).
Regarding claim 1, FURUTANI discloses (Fig. 1) a printed circuit board (1), comprising: a first board unit (11) including a first insulating layer (111) having a first via hole (113a), a first wiring layer (112) disposed on or in the first insulating layer, and a first via including a first metal layer (113) substantially filling the first via hole; and a second board unit (12) including a second insulating layer (211) having a second via hole (213a), a second wiring layer (212) disposed on or in the second insulating layer, and a second via including a second metal layer (213) substantially filling the second via hole, wherein the second board unit is disposed on the first board unit, the second wiring layer has a higher wiring density than that of the first wiring layer (See Fig. 1), and the second metal layer has a plating structure different from that of the first metal layer (The second metal layer diameter is smaller than the first metal layer).
Regarding claim 3, FURUTANI discloses the printed circuit board of claim 1, wherein the first metal layer includes an electrolytic plating layer, and the second metal layer includes an electroless plating layer (See para [0037]).
Regarding claim 7, FURUTANI discloses the printed circuit board of claim 1, wherein based on a cross section of the printed circuit board, an average width of the second via hole is smaller than an average width of the first via hole, and a depth of the second via hole is smaller than a depth of the first via hole (See annotated figure below).
Regarding claim 9, FURUTANI discloses the printed circuit board of claim 1, wherein the first and second insulating layers each include inorganic filler particles, and based on a cross section of the printed circuit board, an average diameter of the inorganic filler particles included in the second insulating layer is smaller than an average diameter of the inorganic filler particles included in the first insulating layer (See Fig. 2 and para [0035]).
Regarding claim 10, FURUTANI discloses the printed circuit board of claim 1, wherein the first wiring layer (112) includes the first metal layer (112ep) and a third metal layer (112np) disposed under the first metal layer and thinner than the first metal layer, and the second wiring layer includes the second metal layer (See para [0037] and Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 13, FURUTANI discloses the printed circuit board of claim 1, wherein the first board unit includes a core insulating layer (101, para [0027]), first and second core wiring layers (102) respectively disposed on upper and lower surfaces of the core insulating layer, a through via layer (103) passing through the core insulating layer and connecting the first and second core wiring layers to each other, a plurality of first build-up insulating layers (111) disposed on the upper surface of the core insulating layer, a plurality of first build-up wiring layers (112) respectively disposed on or in the plurality of first build-up insulating layers, a plurality of first connection via layers (113) each passing through at least one of the plurality of first build- up insulating layers and each connected to at least one of the plurality of first build-up wiring layers, a plurality of second build-up insulating layers (111) disposed on the lower surface of the core insulating layer, a plurality of second build-up wiring layers (112) respectively disposed on or in the plurality of second build-up insulating layers, and a plurality of second connection via layers (113) each passing through at least one of the plurality of second build-up insulating layers and each connected to at least one of the plurality of second build-up wiring layers; the first insulating layer is included in at least one of the plurality of first build-up insulating layers and the plurality of second build-up insulating layers; the first wiring layer is included in at least one of the plurality of first build-up wiring layers and the plurality of second build-up wiring layers; and the first via is included in at least one of the plurality of first connection via layers and the plurality of second connection via layers (See Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 14, FURUTANI discloses the printed circuit board of claim 13, wherein the second board unit includes a plurality of third build-up insulating layers (211), a plurality of third build-up wiring layers (212) respectively disposed on or in the plurality of third build-up insulating layers, and a plurality of third connection via layers (213) each passing through at least one of the plurality of third build-up insulating layers and each connected to at least one of the plurality of third build- up wiring layers; the plurality of third build-up insulating layers include the second insulating layer; the plurality of third build-up wiring layers include the second wiring layer; and the plurality of third connection via layers include the second via (See Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 15, FURUTANI discloses the printed circuit board of claim 14, further comprising: a plurality of first outer pads (12MP) disposed on the second board unit; a first resist layer (12SRA) disposed on the second board unit and having a first opening exposing the plurality of first outer pads; a plurality of second outer pads (112pB) disposed under the first board unit; a second resist layer (11SRB) disposed under the first board unit and having a plurality of second openings each exposing at least a portion of each of the plurality of second outer pads; a first semiconductor chip (E1) disposed on the second board unit and connected to some of the plurality of first outer pads through a plurality of first connection members; a second semiconductor chip (E2) disposed on the second board unit and connected to another some of the plurality of first outer pads through a plurality of second connection members; and a plurality of third connection members disposed under the first board unit and respectively connected to the plurality of second outer pads (See Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 18, FURUTANI discloses (Fig. 1) a printed circuit board (1), comprising: a first insulating layer (111) having a first via hole (113a); a first wiring layer (112) disposed on or in the first insulating layer; a first via (113) disposed in the first via hole to connect to the first wiring layer; a second insulating layer (211) having a second via hole (213a); a second wiring layer (212) disposed on or in the second insulating layer; and a second via (213) disposed in the second via hole to connect to the second wiring layer, wherein the second insulating layer is thinner than the first insulating layer, and the number of layers of the first via is greater than that of the second via (See Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 19, FURUTANI discloses the printed circuit board of claim 18, wherein based on a cross section of the printed circuit board, an average width of the second via hole is smaller than an average width of the first via hole (See Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 20, FURUTANI discloses the printed circuit board of claim 18, wherein the first and second insulating layers each include inorganic filler particles, and based on a cross section of the printed circuit board, an average diameter of the inorganic filler particles included in the second insulating layer is smaller than an average diameter of the inorganic filler particles included in the first insulating layer (See para [0059] and Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 21, FURUTANI discloses the printed circuit board of claim 18, further comprising: a core insulating layer (101) thicker than the first insulating layer (111) and the second insulating layer (211); and first and second core wiring layers (102) respectively disposed on upper and lower surfaces of the core insulating layer, wherein the first insulating layer is disposed between the core insulating layer and the second insulating layer (See Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 22, FURUTANI discloses the printed circuit board of claim 18, further comprising: an outer pad (12MP) disposed on the second insulating layer and connected to the second via; a resist layer (12SRA) disposed on the second insulating layer and having an opening exposing the outer pad; and a semiconductor chip (E1, E2) disposed on the second insulating layer and connected to the outer pad through a connection member (BL).
Regarding claim 23, FURUTANI discloses the printed circuit board of claim 18, wherein the first via and the second via are tapered in a same direction (See Fig. 1).
Claim(s) 1, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by FURUTANI (US 20230144361 A1, “FURUTANI ‘361”).
Regarding claim 1, FURUTANI ‘361 discloses (Fig. 1 & 2A) printed circuit board, comprising: a first board unit (10, 100, 20) including a first insulating layer (11) having a first via hole (13a), a first wiring layer (12) disposed on or in the first insulating layer, and a first via including a first metal layer (13) substantially filling the first via hole; and a second board unit (WS) including a second insulating layer (31) having a second via hole (33a), a second wiring layer (320, 32) disposed on or in the second insulating layer, and a second via including a second metal layer (33) substantially filling the second via hole, wherein the second board unit is disposed on the first board unit, the second wiring layer has a higher wiring density than that of the first wiring layer (See Fig. 1), and the second metal layer has a plating structure different from that of the first metal layer (The second metal layer diameter is smaller than the first metal layer).
Regarding claim 8, FURUTANI ‘361 discloses the printed circuit board of claim 1, wherein the first and second metal layers each include copper (Cu) (para [0032] and [0044]), the first metal layer does not include nickel (Ni),and the second metal layer further includes nickel (Ni) (see para [0044]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FURUTANI (US 20250254795 A1, “FURUTANI”) in view of Zierath et al. (US 20200013673 A1, “Zierath”)
Regarding claim 2, FURUTANI discloses the printed circuit board of claim 1, wherein based on a cross section of the printed circuit board,
FURUTANI is silent on an average size of grains of a metal included in the second metal layer is smaller than an average size of grains of a metal included in the first metal layer.
However, Zierath discloses (Fig. 26) an average size of grains of a metal included in the second metal layer (198) is smaller than an average size of grains of a metal included in the first metal layer (136) (see Fig. 26).
FURUTANI and Zierath are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of circuit board. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified FURUTANI to incorporate the teachings of Zierath and provide an average size of grains of a metal included in the second metal layer (198) is smaller than an average size of grains of a metal included in the first metal layer (136) (see Fig. 26). Doing so would enhance manufacturing reliability and controlled electrical properties
Claim(s) 4 – 6, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FURUTANI (US 20250254795 A1, “FURUTANI”).
Regarding claim 4, FURUTANI discloses the printed circuit board of claim 1, wherein the first metal layer is spaced apart from a wall surface of the first via hole (See para [0037] and Fig. 2), and FURUTANI further discloses (See Fig. 1) the second metal layer is in direct contact with a wall surface of the second via hole. (In para [0037], FURUTANI discloses that both via 1 and 2 can have single metal layer in them or can also have two or more layers. One of ordinary skill in the art can modified the embodiment of Fig. 1 to include a seed layer in via 1 so that the seed layer will be between the first metal layer and the wall surface of the via hole. Doing so would enable to create a complex, reliable, and high-density circuit board)
Regarding claim 5, FURUTANI discloses the printed circuit board of claim 4, wherein the first via further includes a third metal layer disposed on the wall surface of the first via hole and having a plating structure different from that of the first metal layer, and the first metal layer is disposed on the third metal layer (see para [0037] and Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 6, FURUTANI discloses the printed circuit board of claim 5, wherein the first metal layer includes an electrolytic plating layer, and the second and third metal layers each include an electroless plating layer (para [0037]).
Regarding claim 11, FURUTANI discloses the printed circuit board of claim 10, wherein the second wiring layer does not include a metal layer other than the second metal layer (Fig. 1), FURUTANI also discloses (Fig. 2) that the first metal layer includes an electrolytic plating layer, and the second and third metal layers each include an electroless plating layer (In para [0037], FURUTANI discloses that both via 1 and 2 can have single metal layer in them or can also have two or more layers and both electroless or electrolytic method can be used. One of ordinary skill in the art can modified the embodiment of Fig. 1 to include a seed layer in via 1 so that the first metal layer includes electrolytic plating and the second and third metal layers include electroless plating layer. Doing so would enable to create a complex, reliable, and high-density circuit board)
.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SIDI M MAIGA/
Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/STANLEY TSO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847