DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-5 and 22 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4, lines 1-2 recites the limitation “the hollow structure of the lower section of the steering gear input shaft”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation in the claim.
Claim 22 appears to recite dependence to a preceding claim, since the preamble includes “comprising a steering system according …” which is consistent with preambles of the dependent claims that point to a parent claim. Additionally, the foreign priority application (CN 2021132829) includes a last claim directed to a vehicle, which references one of the preceding claims as the parent claim. Therefore, there is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitations in the claim.
Claim 5 is further rejected as indefinite, as depending from a rejected parent claim (see above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by D’Amato US 20150090519 A1.
Regarding independent claim 1, D’Amato discloses [a steering system 10, comprising:
a steering gear body,] (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0017) [wherein the steering gear body comprises a steering gear input shaft 44 and a gear shaft 46;] (Fig. 1-2; Paragraph 0023)
[a decoupling mechanism 40, wherein the decoupling mechanism is configured to decouple the steering gear input shaft from the gear shaft or couple the steering gear input shaft to the gear shaft;] (Fig. 1-2; Paragraph 0023) and
[a limiting mechanism 52, 54, 56, 58, wherein the limiting mechanism is configured to limit a range of a steering angle of the steering gear input shaft in response to that the steering gear input shaft is decoupled from the gear shaft or that the steering gear input shaft is coupled to the gear shaft.] (Fig. 1-2; Paragraph 0008).
Regarding independent claim 22, D’Amato discloses [a vehicle, comprising a steering system 10, comprising:
a steering gear body,] (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0001 & 0017) [wherein the steering gear body comprises a steering gear input shaft 44 and a gear shaft 46;] (Fig. 1-2; Paragraph 0023)
[a decoupling mechanism 40, wherein the decoupling mechanism is configured to decouple the steering gear input shaft from the gear shaft or couple the steering gear input shaft to the gear shaft;] (Fig. 1-2; Paragraph 0023) and
[a limiting mechanism 52, 54, 56, 58, wherein the limiting mechanism is configured to limit a range of a steering angle of the steering gear input shaft in response to that the steering gear input shaft is decoupled from the gear shaft or that the steering gear input shaft is coupled to the gear shaft.] (Fig. 1-2; Paragraph 0008)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D’Amato in view of Griessler et al. EP 3508397 A1.
Regarding claim 2, D’Amato further discloses [wherein the steering gear input shaft 44 is disposed coaxially with the gear shaft 46.] (Fig. 1-2; As shown in Fig. 1-2, D’Amato illustrates the steering gear input shaft 44 being disposed coaxially with the gear shaft 46.)
D’Amato does not disclose the decoupling mechanism comprises a decoupling slide sleeve and a decoupling shaft, the decoupling slide sleeve is sleeved on one of the steering gear input shaft and the gear shaft, and the decoupling shaft is disposed on the other one of the steering gear input shaft and the gear shaft; and the decoupling slide sleeve is configured to translate in an axial direction of the steering gear input shaft and an axial direction of the gear shaft to be engaged with or disengaged from the decoupling shaft, and to couple the steering gear input shaft to the gear shaft or decouple the steering gear input shaft from the gear shaft.
Griessler et al. teaches [the decoupling mechanism 62 comprises a decoupling slide sleeve 64 and a decoupling shaft 68,] (Fig. 3; Page 7, lines 9-16) [the decoupling slide sleeve is sleeved on one of the steering gear input shaft and the gear shaft,] (Fig. 3; Page 7, lines 9-16; As shown in Fig. 3, Griessler illustrates wherein the decoupling slide sleeve 64 is sleeved on to the driving gear shaft 54.) and [the decoupling shaft 68 is disposed on the other one of the steering gear input shaft and the gear shaft;] (Fig. 3; Page 7, lines 9-16; As shown in Fig. 3, Griessler illustrates wherein the decoupling shaft 68 is disposed on to the driving gear shaft 54.) and [the decoupling slide sleeve is configured to translate in an axial direction of the steering gear input shaft and an axial direction of the gear shaft to be engaged with or disengaged from the decoupling shaft, and to couple the steering gear input shaft to the gear shaft or decouple the steering gear input shaft from the gear shaft.] (Fig. 3; Page 7, lines 9-16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the decoupling slide sleeve and decoupling shaft of Griessler et al. with the steering system of D’Amato with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for selective coupling and decoupling between the steering gear input shaft and the gear shaft, thus providing improved functional flexibility and controllability of the steering system.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D’Amato in view of Aleksejs GB 2567184 A.
Regarding claim 6, D’Amato does not disclose wherein the decoupling mechanism further comprises a drive transmission mechanism configured to drive the decoupling slide sleeve to translate in the axial direction of the steering gear input shaft and the axial direction of the gear shaft to be engaged with or disengaged from the decoupling shaft.
Aleksejs teaches [wherein the decoupling mechanism 7 further comprises a drive transmission mechanism 24 configured to drive the decoupling slide sleeve 33 to translate in the axial direction of the steering gear input shaft 8 and the axial direction of the gear shaft to be engaged with or disengaged from the decoupling shaft.] (Fig. 3; Page 6, lines 1-7)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the drive transmission mechanism of Aleksejs with the steering system of D’Amato with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for driving the decoupling slide sleeve to axially translate to engage or disengage from the decoupling shaft, thus providing controlled and reliable coupling and decoupling of the steering input shaft and the gear shaft.
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D’Amato in view of Peng et al. CN 112572596 A.
Regarding claim 12, D’Amato does not disclose a feeling feedback mechanism, wherein the feeling feedback mechanism is configured to apply a feedback torque to the steering gear input shaft during decoupling of the steering gear input shaft from the gear shaft.
Peng et al. teaches [a feeling feedback mechanism, wherein the feeling feedback mechanism is configured to apply a feedback torque to the steering gear input shaft during decoupling of the steering gear input shaft from the gear shaft.] (Fig. 1; Page 2, lines 28-30; Peng et al. discloses a first-stage limiting mechanism that applies feedback torque to an end shaft 1 when in a decoupling state.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the feeling feedback mechanism of Peng et al. with the steering system of D’Amato with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for applying a feedback torque to the steering gear input shaft during decoupling from the gear shaft, thus providing improved steering and driver feedback.
Regarding claim 13, D’Amato, as modified, discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [wherein the feeling feedback mechanism comprises: a second power element 3, configured to provide a first driving force;] (Fig. 1 of Peng et al.; Page 6, lines 5-13 of Peng et al.) and [a first transmission mechanism, configured to transmit the first driving force to the steering gear input shaft to apply a reversed feedback torque to the steering gear input shaft.] (Fig. 1 of Peng et al.; Page 5, lines 20-32)
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D’Amato in view of Peng et al. and further in view of Aleksejs.
Regarding claim 14, D’Amato, as modified does not disclose wherein the transmission mechanism comprises a driving pulley connected with an output shaft of the second power element for synchronous rotation; a driven pulley is connected with the driving pulley through a belt; the driven pulley is connected with the steering gear input shaft through a driven pulley bearing; and the driven pulley is configured to engage with or disengage from the decoupling slide sleeve.
Aleksejs teaches [wherein the transmission mechanism comprises a driving pulley 40 connected with an output shaft of the second power element 28 for synchronous rotation;] (Fig. 3; Page 7, lines 30-32) [a driven pulley 38 is connected with the driving pulley through a belt 39;] (Fig. 3; Page 7, lines 30-32) [the driven pulley is connected with the steering gear input shaft through a driven pulley bearing 35;] (Fig. 3; Page 7, lines 23-28) and [the driven pulley is configured to engage with or disengage from the decoupling slide sleeve.] (Fig. 3; Page 7, lines 23-28; As shown in Fig. 3, Aleksejs illustrates the driven pulley being engaged with the decoupling slide sleeve 33 via the screw nut 35.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the pulley-and -belt transmission mechanism of Aleksejs with the steering system of D’Amato, as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for transmitting torque from the second power element to the steering input shaft, thus providing a reliable application of feedback torque during decoupling of the steering gear input shaft from the gear shaft.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D’Amato in view of Peng et al., Aleksejs and further in view of Lannutti US 20150285317 A1.
Regarding claim 15, D’Amato, as modified, does not disclose wherein a belt retaining ring is disposed on a side of the driven pulley close to the decoupling slide sleeve.
Lannutti teaches [wherein a belt retaining ring 54 is disposed on a side of the driven pulley close to the decoupling slide sleeve.] (Fig. 2; Paragraph 0022)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the belt retaining ring of Lannutti with the steering system of D’Amato, as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for retaining the belt on the driven pulley during operation, thus preventing belt disengagement and improving reliability of torque transmission.
Claims 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D’Amato in view of Peng et al. and further in view of Yamaguchi JP 2011031754 A.
Regarding claim 17, D’Amato, as modified, does not disclose wherein the second power element is fixed to the housing through a support.
Yamaguchi teaches [wherein the second power element is fixed to the housing through a support.] (Annotated Fig. 2; As shown in the annotation of Fig. 2 below, Yamaguchi illustrates wherein the second power element is fixed to the housing through a support.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the support mounted power element configuration of Yamaguchi with the steering system of D’Amato, as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for securely fixing the second power element to the housing, thus providing stable mounting, reduced vibration, and reliable operation of the power element.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3-5, 7-11, 16, and 18-21 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 3 contains the limitations wherein the steering gear input shaft comprises a hollow structure, and an upper section of the gear shaft extends into the hollow structure; the decoupling slide sleeve is splined to a lower section of the steering gear input shaft; a lower section of the decoupling shaft is splined to the upper section of the gear shaft and is locked to the upper section of the gear shaft through a first locking nut; the decoupling slide sleeve comprises a first claw teeth, and the decoupling shaft comprises a second claw teeth; and the decoupling slide sleeve is configured to translate in the axial direction of the steering gear input shaft and the axial direction of the gear shaft, to cause the first claw teeth to be engaged with or disengaged from the second claw teeth, and to couple the steering gear input shaft to the gear shaft or decouple the steering gear input shaft from the gear shaft. The closest prior art, Griessler et al. EP 3508397 A1, discloses a lower section of the decoupling shaft is splined to the upper section of the gear shaft and is attached to the upper section of the gear shaft; and the decoupling slide sleeve is configured to translate in the axial direction of the steering gear input shaft and the axial direction of the gear shaft to couple the steering gear input shaft to the gear shaft or decouple the steering gear input shaft from the gear shaft, but does not disclose wherein the steering gear input shaft comprises a hollow structure, and an upper section of the gear shaft extends into the hollow structure; the decoupling slide sleeve is splined to a lower section of the steering gear input shaft; a lower section of the decoupling shaft is splined to the upper section of the gear shaft and is locked to the upper section of the gear shaft through a first locking nut; the decoupling slide sleeve comprises a first claw teeth, and the decoupling shaft comprises a second claw teeth; and the first claw teeth is to be engaged with or disengaged from the second claw teeth.
Claim 7 contains the limitation wherein the drive transmission mechanism comprises: a first power element, configured to provide a driving force; and a transmission reversing component, configured to convert a rotary driving force outputted by the first power element into axial translation of the decoupling slide sleeve. The closest prior art, Aleksejs GB 2567184 A, discloses a power element, configured to provide a driving force, but does not disclose a transmission reversing component, configured to convert a rotary driving force outputted by the first power element into axial translation of the decoupling slide sleeve.
Claim 16 contains the limitation wherein a first side of an outer ring of the driven pulley bearing abuts against a shaft shoulder of the driven pulley; a second side of the outer ring of the driven pulley bearing is limited by a fourth retainer ring; a first side of an inner ring of the driven pulley bearing abuts against a shaft shoulder of the steering gear input shaft; and a second side of the inner ring of the driven pulley bearing is limited by a second snap ring. The closest prior art, Aleksejs GB 2567184 A, discloses a driving pulley bearing, but does not disclose wherein a first side of an outer ring of the driven pulley bearing abuts against a shaft shoulder of the driven pulley; a second side of the outer ring of the driven pulley bearing is limited by a fourth retainer ring; a first side of an inner ring of the driven pulley bearing abuts against a shaft shoulder of the steering gear input shaft; and a second side of the inner ring of the driven pulley bearing is limited by a second snap ring.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sprauge US 3282366 A – comprises a compact, off-road, motor vehicle which employs a unique power transmission arrangement, a four-wheel drive mechanism and a four-wheel steering system to the ends of providing an extremely short wheel base and turning radius which are particularly conducive to off-road service.
Siskoy et al. US 10442459 B2 – comprises a steering system including a steering column emulator that generates an electrical driving signal in response to a driver input, a steering rack assembly that receives the electrical driving signal from the steering column emulator and controls steering of the vehicle as indicated by the received signal, and a backup system. The backup system provides a backup electrical driving signal to the steering rack assembly upon a failure of the steering column emulator, and the steering rack assembly steers the vehicle as indicated by the backup electrical driving signal upon the failure of the steering column emulator.
/Mohamed M Medani/Examiner, Art Unit 3611
/VALENTIN NEACSU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3611