The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following claimed features must be shown, without entering any new matter: the backpack, duffel bag, lunchbox, luggage, camera bag, brief case in claim 2, the charging station in claim 13.
This Application
US Patent 11,696,629
1. A satchel comprising:
wherein a head-mounted display accepted and retained in the concavity is removable from the concavity without accessing the interior of the satchel (Claim 10)
a body comprising sides and a bottom forming an interior and a concavity opposite the interior, the interior and the concavity separated by the bottom and each open at one end, the concavity configured to accept a head-mounted display; and
at least one reversible connector configured to reversibly retain the head-mounted display accepted in the concavity,
wherein when the head-mounted display is accepted and retained in the concavity the sides are substantially flush with the head-mounted display; and
b) a strap comprising two ends and a reversible connector at each end, the strap convertible to reversibly attach to the body to form a satchel strap or to reversibly attach to the head-mounted display to form a head-mounted display strap.
1. A system comprising:
a. a head-mounted display;
b. a body comprising sides and a bottom forming an interior and a concavity opposite the interior, the interior and the concavity separated by the bottom and each open at one end, the concavity configured to accept the head-mounted display, and
at least one reversible connector configured to reversibly retain the head-mounted display accepted in the concavity,
wherein when the head-mounted display is accepted and retained in the concavity the sides are substantially flush with the sides of the head-mounted display; and
c. a strap comprising two ends and a reversible connector at each end, the strap convertible to reversibly attach via the reversible connectors to the body or to reversibly attach via the reversible connectors to the head-mounted display.
Claims 1-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,696,629. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because: the claims of 11,696,629 encompasses all claimed limitation at least in claim 1, as set forth supra. Also, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to eliminate limitations to broaden the claim and/or when they are not needed.
Note that this a divisional case of U.S. Patent No. 11,696,629, the division on the parent case was based on a handbag vs. handbag/ head-mounted display, with claims 10 and 12 reciting the combination with a head-mounted display, the double patenting rejection hence set forth above.
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rosenblum (3696850).
Rosenblum teaches a satchel comprising a body comprising: sides and a bottom forming an interior and a concavity opposite the interior, the interior and the concavity separated by the bottom and each open at one end (below 60 in fig. 5), at least one reversible connector at (96/94), a strap (36) comprising two ends and a reversible connector (38) at each end, the strap convertible to reversibly attach to the body to form a satchel strap as claimed.
Regarding the limitation “the concavity configured to accept a head-mounted display” and “configured to reversibly retain the head-mounted display accepted in the concavity, wherein when the head-mounted display is accepted and retained in the concavity the sides are substantially flush with the head-mounted display”, note that the head mounted display is not being claimed. Thus, any limitations related to the head mounted display is regarded as an intended use do not impart any structure over the device in Daily.
Regarding claims 4-6, and 9, as set forth above, the head mounted display is not being claimed. Thus, any limitations related to the head mounted display is regarded as an intended use do not impart any structure over the device in Rosenblum.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosenblum in view of Steele (2801666).
Rosenblum meets all claimed limitations except for the lid. Steele teaches that it is known in the art to provide a close lid at 15, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a lid in Rosenblum as taught by Steele to provide added protection as the lid drapes over the opening preventing the content from coming inside and/or to provide an alternative closure for easy access.
Claims 7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosenblum in view of Zhou (20130133795). Rosenblum meets all claimed limitations except for the reversible magnetic connector. Zhou teaches that it is known in the art to provide magnetic snap in a similar device.
The first fastening members 22 may be stud snaps or socket snaps. The socket snaps may also be magnetic.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide magnetic snap to enable one to disengage the connector easily.
Regarding claim 11, Zhou teaches that it is known in the art to provide the strap being adjustable in length (via the buckle on the strap in fig. 15). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the strap being adjustable in length as taught by Swartzel to enable one to adjust for easy carrying.
Claim 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosenblum in view of Swartzel (20150313337).
Rosenblum meets all claimed limitations except for the strap are magnetic. Swartzel teaches that it is known in the art to provide magnetic straps similar to applicant device.
It is noted that the first fastener 28 can alternatively be any other suitable type of fastener such as, for example, buckles, buttons, clips, hook and loop fasteners (such as Velcro), hooks, magnets, straps, ties, turn locks, and the like. It is noted that the first strap 20 can alternatively have any other suitable configuration.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the magnetic straps as taught by Swartzel to enable one to disengage the connector on the strap easily.
Regarding claim 11, Swartzel teaches that it is known in the art to provide the strap being adjustable in length (via the buckle on the strap). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the strap being adjustable in length as taught by Swartzel to enable one to adjust for easy carrying.
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosenblum in view of Bloomfield (20180070693).
Rosenblum meets all claimed limitations except for the charger, Bloomfield teaches that it is known in the art to provide a charger 218. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a charger in Rosenblum as taught by Bloomfield to enable one to charge various devices easily.
Claims 10, and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and the filing of a Terminal Diclaimer.
TRI M. MAI
Examiner
Art Unit 3733
`/TRI M MAI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733