Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species a, including claims 1-5, 8, 10-16, and 24-26 in the reply filed on March 23, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8, 10-16, and 24-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bianchini (US 20040217674 A1, hereinafter “Bianchini”) in view of Weston (US 20110084574 A1, hereinafter “Weston”).
Regarding claim 1, Bianchini teaches a planar piezoelectric vibration module, comprising: an insulating bottom layer; (see [0002]-[0003]: piezoelectric devices, vibration control devices, interconnecting with other components which is well insulated)
a first conductive layer, arranged on the insulating bottom layer, wherein the first conductive layer comprises a first conductive pattern, a second conductive pattern, and an insulating groove, and the insulating groove is provided between the first conductive pattern and the second conductive pattern; (see [0005]: first conductive trace on a first surface and a second conductive trace spaced from the first)
at least a first piezoelectric assembly, arranged on the first conductive layer, wherein the at least a first piezoelectric assembly comprises a first piezoelectric material layer, a first electrode, a second electrode, and a first encapsulating material, wherein the first piezoelectric material layer comprises a first surface and a second surface opposite to each other and a first side wall and a second side wall opposite to each other, the first side wall and the second side wall are connected to the first surface and the second surface, the first side wall faces the second side wall in a first direction, the second side wall faces the first side wall in a second direction, (see Fig. 1, [0014]-[0016]: piezoelectric material layer 18 electrically connected to the first conductive trace 14, first surface 12a and second surface 12b, electrically connected to surface 18a and 18b for operation of the piezoelectric device 10)
the first encapsulating material wraps the first piezoelectric material layer, part of the first electrode, and part of the second electrode, and exposes at least the first outer interdigital portion and the second outer interdigital portion; (see [0015]-[0017]: conductive bonding film 20 flows and creates a good bond between the piezoelectric material layer 18)
and an insulating filling layer, arranged on the first conductive layer and at least around the at least a first piezoelectric assembly. (see [0017]: insulation 22 coat surrounds the conductive layer and at least around the piezoelectric layer)
Bianchini does not explicitly teach the first electrode comprises a first side portion, a first outer interdigital portion, and at least a first inner interdigital portion, the first outer interdigital portion and the at least a first inner interdigital portion are connected to the first side portion, the first side portion is arranged on the first side wall, the first outer interdigital portion covers part of the first surface, the at least a first inner interdigital portion penetrates through the first piezoelectric material layer along the first direction, the first outer interdigital portion is electrically connected to the first conductive pattern, the second electrode is electrically connected to the second conductive pattern and comprises a second side portion, a second outer interdigital portion, and at least a second inner interdigital portion, the second outer interdigital portion and the at least a second inner interdigital portion are connected to the second side portion, the second side portion is arranged on the second side wall, the second outer interdigital portion covers part of the second surface, the at least a second inner interdigital portion penetrates through the first piezoelectric material layer along the second direction, the first outer interdigital portion, the at least a second inner interdigital portion, the at least a first inner interdigital portion, and the second outer interdigital portion are arranged in a mutual interdigital manner,
However, Weston teaches the first electrode comprises a first side portion, a first outer interdigital portion, and at least a first inner interdigital portion, the first outer interdigital portion and the at least a first inner interdigital portion are connected to the first side portion, the first side portion is arranged on the first side wall, the first outer interdigital portion covers part of the first surface, the at least a first inner interdigital portion penetrates through the first piezoelectric material layer along the first direction, the first outer interdigital portion is electrically connected to the first conductive pattern,
the second electrode is electrically connected to the second conductive pattern and comprises a second side portion, a second outer interdigital portion, and at least a second inner interdigital portion, the second outer interdigital portion and the at least a second inner interdigital portion are connected to the second side portion, the second side portion is arranged on the second side wall, the second outer interdigital portion covers part of the second surface,
the at least a second inner interdigital portion penetrates through the first piezoelectric material layer along the second direction, the first outer interdigital portion, the at least a second inner interdigital portion, the at least a first inner interdigital portion, and the second outer interdigital portion are arranged in a mutual interdigital manner, (see Fig. 4a-5, [0012]-[0015], [0023]-[0025], [0034]: electrode 130 actually extends beyond the edges of piezoelectric device 110 as illustrated by conductive extension portion 136 that is formed as an integral part of electrode 130. Conductive extension portion 136 of electrode 130 extends beyond the perimeter of piezoelectric device 110 a sufficient distance so as to avoid the influence of any cracks created in the conductive layer 130 caused by cracks in the piezoelectric device 110 below electrode 130. Electrode 130 and its extension portion 136 are coupled by additional conductive trace 142 to solder pad 132. It will be appreciated that a similar electrode and extension portion are provide on the under side of piezoelectric device 110 and are connected by way of conductive trace 144)
Bianchini and Weston are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of a planar piezoelectric vibration module. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have chosen to apply the broad teachings of Weston for an interdigital electrode configuration inner/outer interdigital portions penetrating through the piezoelectric material applied to the piezoelectric module of Bianchini in order to divide each piezoelectric layer into multiple sub-piezoelectric bodies with different resonant behaviors for a broader and smoother response.
Regarding claim 2, Bianchini in view of Weston does not explicitly teach an extension length of the at least a first inner interdigital portion in the first direction is equal to an extension length of the second outer interdigital portion in the second direction, and an extension length of the at least a second inner interdigital portion in the second direction is equal to an extension length of the first outer interdigital portion in the first direction.
However, it would have been obvious that the designer/a person of ordinary skill could have chosen such arrangement for an extension length of the at least a first inner interdigital portion in the first direction is equal to an extension length of the second outer interdigital portion in the second direction, and an extension length of the at least a second inner interdigital portion in the second direction is equal to an extension length of the first outer interdigital portion in the first direction based on the users' needs/preferences and no unexpected result is produced.
Regarding claim 3, Bianchini teaches the insulating filling layer is further filled in the insulating groove, the planar piezoelectric vibration module further comprises a conductive structure that penetrates through the insulating filling layer, and the second outer interdigital portion and the second conductive pattern of the second electrode are electrically connected by the conductive structure. (see Fig. 1-2, [0016]-[0017]: insulation 22 has grove shown in Fig. 1, conductive bonding film 20, conductive trace 14 pass through the insulating layer connecting the second conductive trace 16)
Regarding claim 4, Bianchini teaches a protective layer that is arranged on the insulating filling layer and covers the at least a first piezoelectric assembly and the conductive structure. (see [0017]: protective layer insulation 22 using insulating epoxy material)
Regarding claim 5, Bianchini teaches the first electrode further comprises a first extended interdigital portion connected to the first side portion, the at least a first inner interdigital portion is located between the first outer interdigital portion and the first extended interdigital portion, the first outer interdigital portion of the first electrode covers part of the first surface, the first extended interdigital portion and the second outer interdigital portion of the second electrode jointly cover the second surface, and there is a second gap between the first extended interdigital portion and the second outer interdigital portion. (see Fig. 1, [0015]: rectangular area 16b of the second conductive trace 16 extends generally parallel to and is spaced apart from the first conductive trace 14)
Regarding claim 8, Bianchini teaches the insulating filling layer is further filled in the insulating groove, the planar piezoelectric vibration module further comprises at least a conductive structure that penetrates through the insulating filling layer, and the second outer interdigital portion of the second electrode and the second conductive pattern are electrically connected by the at least a conductive structure, wherein the at least a conductive structure further electrically connects the first extended interdigital portion of the first electrode to the first conductive pattern. (see Fig. 1-2, [0016]-[0017]: insulation 22 has grove shown in Fig. 1, conductive bonding film 20, conductive trace 14 pass through the insulating layer connecting the second conductive trace 16)
Regarding claim 10, Bianchini in view of Weston does not explicitly teach a protective layer arranged on the insulating filling layer, wherein the protective layer covers the at least a first piezoelectric assembly and a conductive structure, and fills the second gap.
However, it would have been obvious that the designer/a person of ordinary skill could have chosen such arrangement for a protective layer arranged on the insulating filling layer, wherein the protective layer covers the at least a first piezoelectric assembly and a conductive structure, and fills the second gap based on the users' needs/preferences and no unexpected result is produced.
Regarding claim 11, Bianchini teaches the first electrode further comprises a first extended interdigital portion connected to the first side portion, the at least a first inner interdigital portion is located between the first outer interdigital portion and the first extended interdigital portion, the second electrode further comprises a second extended interdigital portion connected to the second side portion, the at least a second inner interdigital portion is located between the second outer interdigital portion and the second extended interdigital portion, the first outer interdigital portion of the first electrode and the second extended interdigital portion of the second electrode jointly cover the first surface, there is a first gap between the first outer interdigital portion and the second extended interdigital portion, the first extended interdigital portion of the first electrode and the second outer interdigital portion of the second electrode jointly cover the second surface, and there is a second gap between the first extended interdigital portion and the second outer interdigital portion. (see Fig. 1, [0015]: rectangular area 16b of the second conductive trace 16 extends generally parallel to and is spaced apart from the first conductive trace 14)
Regarding claim 12, Bianchini teaches a coverage area of the second outer interdigital portion on the second surface is greater than a coverage area of the first extended interdigital portion on the second surface, and a coverage area of the first outer interdigital portion on the first surface is greater than a coverage area of the second extended interdigital portion on the first surface. (see Fig. 2-3: the second outer portion of the second surface 16 is greater than the area of the first extended portion on the second surface 14)
Regarding claim 13, Bianchini does not explicitly mention wherein the second extended interdigital portion of the second electrode is electrically connected to the second conductive pattern, and the first encapsulating material is further filled in one part of the insulating groove and the first gap.
However, it would have been obvious that the designer/a person of ordinary skill could have chosen such arrangement for the second extended interdigital portion of the second electrode is electrically connected to the second conductive pattern, and the first encapsulating material is further filled in one part of the insulating groove and the first gap based on the users' needs/preferences and no unexpected result is produced.
Regarding claim 14, Bianchini does not explicitly mention the insulating filling layer is further filled in the other part of the insulating groove, the planar piezoelectric vibration module further comprises at least a conductive structure that penetrates through the insulating filling layer and is electrically connected to the second outer interdigital portion of the second electrode and the second conductive pattern.
However, it would have been obvious that the designer/a person of ordinary skill could have chosen such arrangement for the insulating filling layer is further filled in the other part of the insulating groove, the planar piezoelectric vibration module further comprises at least a conductive structure that penetrates through the insulating filling layer and is electrically connected to the second outer interdigital portion of the second electrode and the second conductive pattern based on the users' needs/preferences and no unexpected result is produced.
Regarding claim 15, Bianchini does not explicitly mention the at least a conductive structure further electrically connects the first extended interdigital portion of the first electrode to the first conductive pattern.
However, it would have been obvious that the designer/a person of ordinary skill could have chosen such arrangement for the at least a conductive structure further electrically connects the first extended interdigital portion of the first electrode to the first conductive pattern based on the users' needs/preferences and no unexpected result is produced.
Regarding claim 16, Bianchini teaches a protective layer arranged on the insulating filling layer, wherein the protective layer covers the at least a first piezoelectric assembly and fills the second gap. (see [0005]-[0006]: protective coating extends over the second surface of piezoelectric layer filling in the space apart from the surface)
Regarding claim 24, Bianchini teaches wherein the first outer interdigital portion is arranged on the first conductive pattern by a bonding layer. (see Fig. 1, [0015]-[0017]: conductive bonding film 20)
Regarding claim 25, Bianchini teaches a third conductive layer arranged on the other opposite side, away from the first conductive layer, of the insulating bottom layer. (see Fig. 4, [0024]: a third conductive layer which may be placed on the opposite side of the insulating bottom layer)
Regarding claim 26, Bianchini does not explicitly teach at least an auxiliary layer arranged on the other opposite side, away from the insulating bottom layer, of a third conductive layer.
However, it would have been obvious that the designer/a person of ordinary skill could have chosen such arrangement for an auxiliary layer arranged on the other opposite side, away from the insulating bottom layer, of a third conductive layer as done in other conductive layers based on the users' needs/preferences and no unexpected result is produced.
Conclusion
/ANNABELLE KANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2695
/PAUL KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2695