DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In the response filed November 20, 2025, claims 1-3, 8-10 and 15-17 are amended; claims 1-20 are pending.
Applicant’s amendments and arguments, see remarks pages 6-9, filed November 20, 2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 1 and 5-7 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and claims 2-4 and 8-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of van den Ende et al..
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Willis et al. in Non-Patent Literature “Mitigation of Zigzag Noise on DAS VSP Records Acquired in Vertical Wells” (see 23 MAY 2023 IDS), and further in view of van den Ende et al. in Non-Patent Literature “A Self-Supervised Deep Learning Approach for Blind Denoising and Waveform Coherence Enhancement in Distributed Acoustic Sensing Data”.
Regarding claim 1, Willis et al. teaches:
A method (Abstract) comprising:
receiving wellbore data comprising one or more seismic measurements (see “deploy wireline or coiled tubed based fiber-optic cables for acquiring distributed acoustic sensing (DAS) vertical seismic profile (VSP) data”, Introduction, Fig. 1);
generating a seismic input image based on the one or more seismic measurements (see “Figure 2 represents an example of zigzag noise on a DAS VSP data set”, Introduction, Fig. 1; Fig. 2 b-d);
providing the seismic input image (see “distributed acoustic sensing (DAS) vertical seismic profile (VSP) data”, Introduction, Fig. 1) to identify a zigzag noise (see “zigzag noise…in the…records…A novel method to…first identify the noise characteristics, and then adaptively subtract an estimate of the noise from the records”, Summary).
outputting a denoised seismic image (Fig. 2 e-h; Fig. 3d denoised traces using deconvolution; Fig. 4e denoised traces using estimated wavelet; Fig. 5b).
Further, Willis et al. teaches “A new algorithm…to help mitigate zigzag noise…2” extract the periodicity…3) remove the noise based upon the periodicity” (pg. 2, Fig. 2 e-h) and “denoise the data using the estimated period of the zigzag noise…perform adaptive subtraction…” (pg. 3).
Willis et al. differs from the claimed invention in that it is silent regarding input image to a machine-learning model to identify and mitigate a zigzag noise”.
van den Ende et al. teaches “Fibre-optic Distributed Acoustic Sensing (DAS)…with numerous applications in seismic signal analysis…propose a Deep Leaning approach…to remove spatially incoherent noise” (Abstract) wherein the approach is applied “to both synthetic and real-world DAS data” (Abstract). Van den Ende et al. teaches receiving one or more seismic measurements (see “a fibre-optic cable into an array of single-component seismometers…new approach of seismic data collection…” (Introduction, par. 1 pg. 1), generating a seismic input image based on the one or more seismic measurements (Fig. 4) and providing the seismic input image to a machine-learning model to identify and mitigate a noise (see “Deep Learning model architecture. An input sample y consists of 11 waveforms recorded at neighbouring DAS channels”, Fig. 2 pg. 4; see “When this mildly corrupted sample is fed into Deep Learning model, the resulting reconstruction is near-identical to the input and the original waveform (compare Fig. 4c with panels a and b, and Fig. 4j with panels h and i)”, V. RESULTS ON SYTHETIC DATA par 1 p5; Fig. 4 ). Further, van den Ende et al. teaches “Deep Learning methods are ideally suited for automated processing and analysis of DAS data” (VII Discussion B.) and “The excellent performance of the Deep Learning denoising model expedites numerous application in seismology (VIII Conclusions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of van den Ende et al. in Willis et al. to improve Willis et al. with a reasonable expectation that it would result in improving the mitigation of zigzag noise in the seismic images of Willis et al., thereby improving the functionality and utility of the system.
Regarding claim 2, Willis et al. and van den Ende et al. teach the limitations as indicated above. Further, van den Ende et al. teaches the machine- learning model comprises a deep-learning network (see “Deep Learning model architecture. An input sample y consists of 11 waveforms recorded at neighbouring DAS channels”, Fig. 2 pg. 4; see “When this mildly corrupted sample is fed into Deep Learning mode”, V. RESULTS ON SYTHETIC DATA par 1 p5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of van den Ende et al. in Willis et al. to improve Willis et al. with a reasonable expectation that it would result in improving the mitigation of zigzag noise in the seismic images of Willis et al., thereby improving the functionality and utility of the system.
Regarding claim 5, Willis et al. and van den Ende et al. teach the limitations as indicated above. Further, Willis et al. teaches wherein the zigzag noise comprises a coupling noise caused by an uncoupling between an optic cable and a casing in a wellbore (see “a reverberating noise train…zigzag noise, appears in the distributed acoustic sensing vertical seismic profile records in zones with poor coupling”, Summary; see “deploy wireline or coiled tubing…do not have permanently installed fiber…this flexibility comes with the added liability of the potential for the fiber no to be acoustically well coupled to the wellbore wall…contaminated with zigzag noise..”, Introduction).
Regarding claim 6, Willis et al. and van den Ende et al. teach the limitations as indicated above. Further, Willis et al. teaches wherein the zigzag noise comprises a noise region having varying polarities through the noise region in depth (Figs. 1-4).
Regarding claim 7, Willis et al. and van den Ende et al. teach the limitations as indicated above. Further, Willis et al. teaches wherein the wellbore data comprises vertical seismic profile data that is collected using one or more fiber optic cables (see “Fiber-optic cables deployed by means of wireline or coiled tubing…”, Summary; see “deploy wireline or coiled tubed based fiber-optic cables for acquiring distributed acoustic sensing (DAS) vertical seismic profile (VSP) data”, Introduction, Fig. 1 “).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Willis et al. in Non-Patent Literature “Mitigation of Zigzag Noise on DAS VSP Records Acquired in Vertical Wells” (see 23 MAY 2023 IDS) and van den Ende et al. in Non-Patent Literature “A Self-Supervised Deep Learning Approach for Blind Denoising and Waveform Coherence Enhancement in Distributed Acoustic Sensing Data” as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Dupont et al. in Foreign Patent Document WO 2019200207 A1.
Regarding claim 3, Willis et al. and van den Ende et al. teach the limitations as indicated above. Willis et al. and van den Ende et al. differ from the claimed invention in that they are silent regarding wherein the machine- learning model comprises a generative adversarial network.
Dupont et al. teaches “analyze… seismic data…to generate image data for use in training machine learning algorithms” ([0021] machine learning model) wherein the seismic data may be collected via a wireline operation that suspends a wireline tool into a wellbore ([0040]-[0042]). The seismic data is processed in a data processing system ([0065], Fig. 7) comprising providing the seismic input image to a machine-learning model, wherein the machine- learning model comprises a generative adversarial network (see “ processes…e.g., 2D or 3D seismic image data 456…Model 458 may be, for example, a deep learning model, e.g., a generative model such as a general adversarial network (GAN) model”, [0065] emphasis added). Dupont et al. establishes that it is known in the art to process seismic image data using
machine learning, deep learning networks, general adversarial networks, etc.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the known seismic image processing techniques taught in Dupont et al in Willis et al. and van den Ende et al. to improve Willis et al. and van den Ende et al. with a reasonable expectation that it would result in improving the efficiency of Willis et al. and van den Ende et al. thereby resulting increase accuracy of the denoised output results.
Claim(s) 8-10, 12-17 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Willis et al. in Non-Patent Literature “Mitigation of Zigzag Noise on DAS VSP Records Acquired in Vertical Wells” (see 23 MAY 2023 IDS) and van den Ende et al. in Non-Patent Literature “A Self-Supervised Deep Learning Approach for Blind Denoising and Waveform Coherence Enhancement in Distributed Acoustic Sensing Data”, further in view of Dupont et al. in Foreign Patent Document WO 2019200207 A1.
Regarding claim 8, Willis et al. teaches:
A system (Abstract) comprising:
receiving wellbore data comprising one or more seismic measurements (see “deploy wireline or coiled tubed based fiber-optic cables for acquiring distributed acoustic sensing (DAS) vertical seismic profile (VSP) data”, Introduction, Fig. 1);
generating a seismic input image based on the one or more seismic measurements (see “Figure 2 represents an example of zigzag noise on a DAS VSP data set”, Introduction, Fig. 1; Fig. 2 b-d);
providing the seismic input image (see “distributed acoustic sensing (DAS) vertical seismic profile (VSP) data”, Introduction, Fig. 1) to identify a zigzag noise (see “zigzag noise…in the…records…A novel method to…first identify the noise characteristics, and then adaptively subtract an estimate of the noise from the records”, Summary).
outputting a denoised seismic image (Fig. 2 e-h; Fig. 3d denoised traces using deconvolution; Fig. 4e denoised traces using estimated wavelet; Fig. 5b).
Further, Willis et al. teaches “A new algorithm…to help mitigate zigzag noise…2” extract the periodicity…3) remove the noise based upon the periodicity” (pg. 2, Fig. 2 e-h) and “denoise the data using the estimated period of the zigzag noise…perform adaptive subtraction…” (pg. 3).
Willis et al. differs from the claimed invention in that it is silent regarding input image to a machine-learning model to identify and mitigate a zigzag noise”.
van den Ende et al. teaches “Fibre-optic Distributed Acoustic Sensing (DAS)…with numerous applications in seismic signal analysis…propose a Deep Leaning approach…to remove spatially incoherent noise” (Abstract) wherein the approach is applied “to both synthetic and real-world DAS data” (Abstract). Van den Ende et al. teaches receiving one or more seismic measurements (see “a fibre-optic cable into an array of single-component seismometers…new approach of seismic data collection…” (Introduction, par. 1 pg. 1), generating a seismic input image based on the one or more seismic measurements (Fig. 4) and providing the seismic input image to a machine-learning model to identify and mitigate a noise (see “Deep Learning model architecture. An input sample y consists of 11 waveforms recorded at neighbouring DAS channels”, Fig. 2 pg. 4; see “When this mildly corrupted sample is fed into Deep Learning model, the resulting reconstruction is near-identical to the input and the original waveform (compare Fig. 4c with panels a and b, and Fig. 4j with panels h and i)”, V. RESULTS ON SYTHETIC DATA par 1 p5; Fig. 4 ). Further, van den Ende et al. teaches “Deep Learning methods are ideally suited for automated processing and analysis of DAS data” (VII Discussion B.) and “The excellent performance of the Deep Learning denoising model expedites numerous application in seismology (VIII Conclusions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of van den Ende et al. in Willis et al. to improve Willis et al. with a reasonable expectation that it would result in improving the mitigation of zigzag noise in the seismic images of Willis et al., thereby improving the functionality and utility of the system.
Willis et al. and van den Ende et al. differ from the claimed invention in that they are silent regarding one or more processors and a computer-readable medium comprising instructions stored therein, which when executed by the processors, cause the processors to perform operations.
Dupont et al. teaches “analyze… seismic data…to generate image data for use in training machine learning algorithms” ([0021] machine learning model) wherein the seismic data may be collected via a wireline operation that suspends a wireline tool into a wellbore ([0040]-[0042]). The seismic data is processed in a data processing system ([0065], Fig. 7). The data processing system comprises one or more processors and a computer-readable medium comprising instructions stored therein, which when executed by the processors, cause the processors to perform operations (see “…at least one hardware-based processor….a memory…”, [0022], Fig. 1; see “…instructions…program code…”, [0026]). Dupont et al. establishes that it is known in the art to process seismic image data in a system comprising processors, memory and instructions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the known seismic image processing techniques taught in Dupont et al in Willis et al. and van den Ende et al. to improve Willis et al. and van den Ende et al. with a reasonable expectation that it would result in improving the efficiency of Willis et al. and van den Ende et al., thereby resulting increase accuracy of the denoised output results.
Regarding claim 9, Willis et al., van den Ende et al. and Dupont et al. teach the limitations as indicated above. Further, Dupont et al. teaches the seismic data is processed in a data processing system ([0065], Fig. 7) comprising providing the seismic input image to a machine-learning model, wherein the machine- learning model comprises a deep-learning network (see “ processes…e.g., 2D or 3D seismic image data 456…Model 458 may be, for example, a deep learning model, e.g., a generative model such as a general adversarial network (GAN) model”, [0065] emphasis added). Dupont et al. establishes that it is known in the art to process seismic image data using machine learning, deep learning networks, general adversarial networks, etc.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the known seismic image processing techniques taught in Dupont et al in Willis et al. and van den Ende et al. to improve Willis et al. and van den Ende et al. with a reasonable expectation that it would result in improving the efficiency of Willis et al. and van den Ende et al. thereby resulting increase accuracy of the denoised output results.
Regarding claim 10, Willis et al., van den Ende et al. and Dupont et al. teach the limitations as indicated above. Further, Dupont et al. teaches the seismic data is processed in a data processing system ([0065], Fig. 7) comprising providing the seismic input image to a machine-learning model, wherein the machine- learning model comprises a generative adversarial network (see “ processes…e.g., 2D or 3D seismic image data 456…Model 458 may be, for example, a deep learning model, e.g., a generative model such as a general adversarial network (GAN) model”, [0065] emphasis added). Dupont et al. establishes that it is known in the art to process seismic image data using machine learning, deep learning networks, general adversarial networks, etc.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the known seismic image processing techniques taught in Dupont et al in Willis et al. and van den Ende et al. to improve Willis et al. and van den Ende et al. with a reasonable expectation that it would result in improving the efficiency of Willis et al. and van den Ende et al., thereby resulting increase accuracy of the denoised output results.
Regarding claim 12, Willis et al., van den Ende et al. and Dupont et al. teaches the limitations as indicated above. Further, Willis et al. teaches wherein the zigzag noise comprises a coupling noise caused by an uncoupling between an optic cable and a casing in a wellbore (see “a reverberating noise train…zigzag noise, appears in the distributed acoustic sensing vertical seismic profile records in zones with poor coupling”, Summary; see “deploy wireline or coiled tubing…do not have permanently installed fiber…this flexibility comes with the added liability of the potential for the fiber no to be acoustically well coupled to the wellbore wall…contaminated with zigzag noise..”, Introduction).
Regarding claim 13, Willis et al., van den Ende et al. and Dupont et al. teach the limitations as indicated above. Further, Willis et al. teaches wherein the zigzag noise comprises a noise region having varying polarities through the noise region in depth (Figs. 1-4).
Regarding claim 14, Willis et al., van den Ende et al. and Dupont et al. teaches the limitations as indicated above. Further, Willis et al. teaches wherein the wellbore data comprises vertical seismic profile data that is collected using one or more fiber optic cables (see “Fiber-optic cables deployed by means of wireline or coiled tubing…”, Summary; see “deploy wireline or coiled tubed based fiber-optic cables for acquiring distributed acoustic sensing (DAS) vertical seismic profile (VSP) data”, Introduction, Fig. 1 “).
Regarding claim 15, Willis et al. teaches:
receiving wellbore data comprising one or more seismic measurements (see “deploy wireline or coiled tubed based fiber-optic cables for acquiring distributed acoustic sensing (DAS) vertical seismic profile (VSP) data”, Introduction, Fig. 1);
generating a seismic input image based on the one or more seismic measurements (see “Figure 2 represents an example of zigzag noise on a DAS VSP data set”, Introduction, Fig. 1; Fig. 2 b-d);
providing the seismic input image (see “distributed acoustic sensing (DAS) vertical seismic profile (VSP) data”, Introduction, Fig. 1) to identify a zigzag noise (see “zigzag noise…in the…records…A novel method to…first identify the noise characteristics, and then adaptively subtract an estimate of the noise from the records”, Summary).
outputting a denoised seismic image (Fig. 2 e-h; Fig. 3d denoised traces using deconvolution; Fig. 4e denoised traces using estimated wavelet; Fig. 5b).
Further, Willis et al. teaches “A new algorithm…to help mitigate zigzag noise…2” extract the periodicity…3) remove the noise based upon the periodicity” (pg. 2, Fig. 2 e-h) and “denoise the data using the estimated period of the zigzag noise…perform adaptive subtraction…” (pg. 3).
Willis et al. differs from the claimed invention in that it is silent regarding input image to a machine-learning model to identify and mitigate a zigzag noise”.
van den Ende et al. teaches “Fibre-optic Distributed Acoustic Sensing (DAS)…with numerous applications in seismic signal analysis…propose a Deep Leaning approach…to remove spatially incoherent noise” (Abstract) wherein the approach is applied “to both synthetic and real-world DAS data” (Abstract). Van den Ende et al. teaches receiving one or more seismic measurements (see “a fibre-optic cable into an array of single-component seismometers…new approach of seismic data collection…” (Introduction, par. 1 pg. 1), generating a seismic input image based on the one or more seismic measurements (Fig. 4) and providing the seismic input image to a machine-learning model to identify and mitigate a noise (see “Deep Learning model architecture. An input sample y consists of 11 waveforms recorded at neighbouring DAS channels”, Fig. 2 pg. 4; see “When this mildly corrupted sample is fed into Deep Learning model, the resulting reconstruction is near-identical to the input and the original waveform (compare Fig. 4c with panels a and b, and Fig. 4j with panels h and i)”, V. RESULTS ON SYTHETIC DATA par 1 p5; Fig. 4 ). Further, van den Ende et al. teaches “Deep Learning methods are ideally suited for automated processing and analysis of DAS data” (VII Discussion B.) and “The excellent performance of the Deep Learning denoising model expedites numerous application in seismology (VIII Conclusions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of van den Ende et al. in Willis et al. to improve Willis et al. with a reasonable expectation that it would result in improving the mitigation of zigzag noise in the seismic images of Willis et al., thereby improving the functionality and utility of the system.
Willis et al. and van den Ende et al. differ from the claimed invention in that they are silent regarding A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions stored therein, which when executed by one or more processors, cause the processors to perform operations.
Dupont et al. teaches “analyze… seismic data…to generate image data for use in training machine learning algorithms” ([0021] machine learning model) wherein the seismic data may be collected via a wireline operation that suspends a wireline tool into a wellbore ([0040]-[0042]). The seismic data is processed in a data processing system ([0065], Fig. 7). The data processing system comprises a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions stored therein, which when executed by one or more processors, cause the processors to perform (see “…at least one hardware-based processor….a memory…”, [0022], Fig. 1; see “…instructions…program code…”, [0026]). Dupont et al. establishes that it is known in the art to process seismic image data in a system comprising processors, memory and instructions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the known seismic image processing techniques taught in Dupont et al in Willis et al. and van den Ende et al. to improve Willis et al. and van den Ende et al. with a reasonable expectation that it would result in improving the efficiency of Willis et al. and van den Ende et al., thereby resulting increase accuracy of the denoised output results.
Regarding claim 16, Willis et al., van den Ende et al. and Dupont et al. teaches the limitations as indicated above. Further, Dupont et al. teaches the seismic data is processed in a data processing system ([0065], Fig. 7) comprising providing the seismic input image to a machine-learning model, wherein the machine- learning model comprises a deep-learning network (see “ processes…e.g., 2D or 3D seismic image data 456…Model 458 may be, for example, a deep learning model, e.g., a generative model such as a general adversarial network (GAN) model”, [0065] emphasis added). Dupont et al. establishes that it is known in the art to process seismic image data using machine learning, deep learning networks, general adversarial networks, etc.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the known seismic image processing techniques taught in Dupont et al in Willis et al. and van den Ende et al. to improve Willis et al. and van den Ende et al. with a reasonable expectation that it would result in improving the efficiency of Willis et al. and van den Ende et al., thereby resulting increase accuracy of the denoised output results.
Regarding claim 17, Willis et al., van den Ende et al. and Dupont et al. teaches the limitations as indicated above. Further, Dupont et al. teaches the seismic data is processed in a data processing system ([0065], Fig. 7) comprising providing the seismic input image to a machine-learning model, wherein the machine- learning model comprises a generative adversarial network (see “ processes…e.g., 2D or 3D seismic image data 456…Model 458 may be, for example, a deep learning model, e.g., a generative model such as a general adversarial network (GAN) model”, [0065] emphasis added). Dupont et al. establishes that it is known in the art to process seismic image data using machine learning, deep learning networks, general adversarial networks, etc.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the known seismic image processing techniques taught in Dupont et al in Willis et al. and van den Ende et al. to improve Willis et al. and van den Ende et al. with a reasonable expectation that it would result in improving the efficiency of Willis et al. and van den Ende et al., thereby resulting increase accuracy of the denoised output results.
Regarding claim 19, Willis et al., van den Ende et al. and Dupont et al. teaches the limitations as indicated above. Further, Willis et al. teaches wherein the zigzag noise comprises a coupling noise caused by an uncoupling between an optic cable and a casing in a wellbore (see “a reverberating noise train…zigzag noise, appears in the distributed acoustic sensing vertical seismic profile records in zones with poor coupling”, Summary; see “deploy wireline or coiled tubing…do not have permanently installed fiber…this flexibility comes with the added liability of the potential for the fiber no to be acoustically well coupled to the wellbore wall…contaminated with zigzag noise..”, Introduction).
Regarding claim 20, Willis et al., van den Ende et al. and Dupont et al. teaches the limitations as indicated above. Further, Willis et al. teaches wherein the zigzag noise comprises a noise region having varying polarities through the noise region in depth (Figs. 1-4).
Claim(s) 4, 11 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Willis et al. in Non-Patent Literature “Mitigation of Zigzag Noise on DAS VSP Records Acquired in Vertical Wells” (see 23 MAY 2023 IDS), van den Ende et al. in Non-Patent Literature “A Self-Supervised Deep Learning Approach for Blind Denoising and Waveform Coherence Enhancement in Distributed Acoustic Sensing Data” and Dupont et al. in Foreign Patent Document WO 2019200207 A1 as applied to claims 3, 10 and 17 above, and further in view of Shi et al. in Foreign Patent Document WO 2020033902 A1.
Regarding claim 4, Willis et al., van den Ende et al. and Dupont et al. teaches the limitations as indicated above. Willis et al., van den Ende et al. and Dupont et al. differ from the claimed invention in that they are silent regarding a plurality of discriminative models.
Shi et al. relates to image analysis and processing using a generative adversarial network (GAN) (Abstract; [0002]-[0004]). Shi et al. teaches “A “cycle-consistent generative adversarial network,” also called a “cycleGAN” is a type of generative adversarial network that uses two generative models and two discriminator models.” ([0032], the generative adversarial network comprises a plurality of discriminative models). Shi et al. establishes that using a GAN with a plurality of discriminative models for image analysis and processing is part of the knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the known technique of image analysis and processing using a GAN with two discriminative models in the known method and system of Willis et al., van den Ende et al. and Dupont et al. to improve Willis et al., van den Ende et al. and Dupont et al. with a reasonable expectation that it would result in improving the efficiency of Willis et al., van den Ende et al. and Dupont et al. thereby resulting increase accuracy of the denoised output. The result yields no more than a predictable outcome which one of ordinary skill would have expected to achieve with this common tool of the trade.
Regarding claim 11, Willis et al., van den Ende et al. and Dupont et al. teach the limitations as indicated above. Willis et al., van den Ende et al. and Dupont et al. differ from the claimed invention in that they are silent regarding a plurality of discriminative models.
Shi et al. relates to image analysis and processing using a generative adversarial network (GAN) (Abstract; [0002]-[0004]). Shi et al. teaches “A “cycle-consistent generative adversarial network,” also called a “cycleGAN” is a type of generative adversarial network that uses two generative models and two discriminator models.” ([0032], the generative adversarial network comprises a plurality of discriminative models). Shi et al. establishes that using a GAN with a plurality of discriminative models for image analysis and processing is part of the knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the known technique of image analysis and processing using a GAN with two discriminative models in the known method and system of Willis et al., van den Ende et al. and Dupont et al. to improve Willis et al., van den Ende et al. and Dupont et al. with a reasonable expectation that it would result in improving the efficiency of Willis et al., van den Ende et al. and Dupont et al. thereby resulting increase accuracy of the denoised output. The result yields no more than a predictable outcome which one of ordinary skill would have expected to achieve with this common tool of the trade.
Regarding claim 18, Willis et al., van den Ende et al. and Dupont et al. teaches the limitations as indicated above. Willis et al., van den Ende et al. and Dupont et al. differs from the claimed invention in that they are silent regarding a plurality of discriminative models.
Shi et al. relates to image analysis and processing using a generative adversarial network (GAN) (Abstract; [0002]-[0004]). Shi et al. teaches “A “cycle-consistent generative adversarial network,” also called a “cycleGAN” is a type of generative adversarial network that uses two generative models and two discriminator models.” ([0032], the generative adversarial network comprises a plurality of discriminative models). Shi et al. establishes that using a GAN with a plurality of discriminative models for image analysis and processing is part of the knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the known technique of image analysis and processing using a GAN with two discriminative models in the known method and system of Willis et al., van den Ende et al. and Dupont et al. to improve Willis et al., van den Ende et al. and Dupont et al. with a reasonable expectation that it would result in improving the efficiency of Willis et al., van den Ende et al. and Dupont et al. thereby resulting increase accuracy of the denoised output. The result yields no more than a predictable outcome which one of ordinary skill would have expected to achieve with this common tool of the trade.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Pattnaik et al. in U.S. Patent 11,675,100 teaches “The disclosed technology provides solutions for identifying noise in seismic profile data sets. In some aspects, a process of the disclosed technology includes steps for receiving wellbore data including seismic measurements, processing the wellbore data to generate a seismic input image including visual representations of the one or more seismic measurements, and processing the seismic input image to identify a noise region in the seismic input image. Systems and machine-readable media are also provided.” (Abstract).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MI'SCHITA' HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857