DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2022/0246670 A1; hereinafter Chen)
With respect to claim 1, Chen discloses a micro light-emitting diode panel structure, comprising: a substrate [124], including a first region and a second region thereon (See Figure 8(a)), and said first region disposed on one side of said second region; a first light-emitting layer [101], disposed in said first region, and connected electrically to said substrate via a first fan-out circuit layer [168]; a second light-emitting layer [102], disposed on said first light-emitting layer and connected electrically to said first light-emitting layer via a second fan-out circuit layer [168], and said second fan-out circuit layer connected electrically to said substrate; and a third light-emitting layer [103], disposed on said second light-emitting layer and connected electrically to said second light-emitting layer via a third fan-out circuit layer [168], and said third fan-out circuit layer connected electrically to said substrate (see Figure 1 and 8(a)); one or more first alternate light-emitting layer, disposed in said second region (see Figure 8(a) shows multiple regions where additional alternate light-emitting layers can be connected); wherein the wavelengths of the light emitted from said first light-emitting layer, said second light-emitting layer, and said third light-emitting layer are different (see ¶[0039] RGB); the one or more first alternate light-emitting layer is configured to serve as a replacement light source in repair of the micro light-emitting diode panel structure (see Figure 8(a); Note: a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim); and said one or more first alternate light-emitting layer is connected electrically to said substrate via a fourth fan-out circuit layer (See Figure 8(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2021/0305220 A1; hereinafter Xu) in view of Chen
With respect to claim 1, Xu discloses a micro light-emitting diode panel structure, comprising: a substrate [07], including a first region and a second region thereon (See Figure 1A), and said first region disposed on one side of said second region; a first light-emitting layer [102], disposed in said first region; a second light-emitting layer [202], disposed on said first light-emitting layer; and a third light-emitting layer [302], disposed on said second light-emitting layer; one or more first alternate light-emitting layer, disposed in said second region (See Figure 1A); wherein the wavelengths of the light emitted from said first light-emitting layer, said second light-emitting layer, and said third light-emitting layer are different (see ¶[0059]); the one or more first alternate light-emitting layer is configured to serve as a replacement light source in repair of the micro light-emitting diode panel structure (See Figure 1A; Note: a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim); and said one or more first alternate light-emitting layer is connected electrically to said substrate via a fourth fan-out circuit layer [203] from the bottom (see Figure 1A).
Xu fails to explicitly disclose said first light-emitting layer connected electrically to said substrate via a first fan-out circuit layer, second light-emitting layer connected electrically to said first light-emitting layer via a second fan-out circuit layer, and said second fan-out circuit layer connected electrically to said substrate, or a third light-emitting layer, disposed on said second light-emitting layer and connected electrically to said second light-emitting layer via a third fan-out circuit layer, and said third fan-out circuit layer connected electrically to said substrate. In the same field of endeavor, Chen discloses a stacked micro-LED wherein said first light-emitting layer [101] connected electrically to said substrate via a first fan-out circuit [168] layer from the bottom [123], second light-emitting layer [102] connected electrically to said first light-emitting layer via a second fan-out circuit layer [168] from the bottom [123], and said second fan-out circuit layer connected electrically to said substrate, or a third light-emitting layer [103], disposed on said second light-emitting layer and connected electrically to said second light-emitting layer via a third fan-out circuit layer [168] from the bottom [123], and said third fan-out circuit layer connected electrically to said substrate (See Figure 1 and 8(a); ¶[0043]). Implementation of multiple fan-out circuits for interconnecting all light-emitting layers of Xu as taught by Chen allows for interconnection amongst all light emitting layers by providing ohmic contacts and facilitates high optical reflectivity and high transmittance of the LEDS (see ¶[0043-0044]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention that the combination of references would arrive at the claimed invention
With respect to claim 2, the combination of Xu and Chen discloses wherein the material of said substrate is selected from the group consisting of gallium nitride, gallium arsenide, gallium phosphide, indium phosphide, silicon carbide, and aluminum oxide (see Xu ¶[0053]).
With respect to claim 7, the combination of Xu and Chen discloses wherein said first light-emitting layer, said second light-emitting layer, and said third light-emitting layer include an n-type semiconductor, a p-type semiconductor, and a light-emitting layer, respectively (see Xu ¶[0035]).
With respect to claim 8, the combination of Xu and Chen discloses wherein the energy bandgap of said first light-emitting layer is greater than the energy bandgap of said second light-emitting layer; the energy bandgap of said second light-emitting layer is greater than the energy bandgap of said third light-emitting layer (See Xu ¶[0059]).
With respect to claim 9, the combination of Xu and Chen discloses wherein the energy bandgap of said first light-emitting layer is smaller than the energy bandgap of said second light-emitting layer; the energy bandgap of said second light-emitting layer is smaller than the energy bandgap of said third light-emitting layer (see Xu ¶[0066]).
With respect to claim 10, the combination of Xu and Chen discloses wherein a first area of said first light-emitting layer is greater than a second area of said second light-emitting layer; and said second area is greater than a third area of said third light-emitting layer (see Xu Figure 1A).
Claim(s) 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Wang et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2025/0089442 A1; hereinafter Wang)
With respect to claim 3, Chen fails to disclose a quantum dot layer disposed on said one or more first alternate light-emitting layer. In the same field of endeavor, Wang discloses utilizing a quantum dot layer disposed on a light-emitting layer (See ¶[0050]). Implementation of quantum dot as taught by Wang would provide improved light emission efficiency and color purity to all light emitting layers including alternate light emitting layers (See Wang ¶[0050-0051]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention that the combination of references would arrive at the claimed invention
With respect to claim 4, Chen fails to disclose one or more second alternate light-emitting layer disposed on said third light-emitting layer. In the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches one or more second alternate light-emitting layer [124] disposed on said third light-emitting layer [123]. Implementing additional light emitting layers on the third light emitting layer as taught by Wang allows for better management of the driving voltage of the overall device, thereby improving light emitting efficiency (see Wang ¶[0062]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention that the combination of references would arrive at the claimed invention.
With respect to claim 5, the combination of Chen and Wang discloses wherein said one or more second alternate light-emitting layer is connected electrically to said third light-emitting layer via a fifth fan-out circuit layer (See Chen Figure 1 and 8(a); ¶[0043]).
With respect to claim 6, the combination of Chen and Wang discloses wherein the wavelength of the light emitted from said one or more second alternate light-emitting layer is different from the wavelength of the light emitted from said third light-emitting layer (see Wang ¶[0054]).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Shin et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2020/0235128 A1; hereinafter Shin)
With respect to claim 11, Chen discloses a micro light-emitting diode panel structure, comprising: a plurality of pixels (see Figure 8(a)), and one of the pixels comprising: a first region and a second region (See Figure 8(a)), said first region disposed on one side of said second region, a first light-emitting layer [101], disposed in said first region and configured to emit red light; a second light-emitting layer [102], disposed in said first region and configured to emit green light; a third light-emitting layer [103], disposed in said first region and configured to emit blue light (see ¶[0039]); and a first alternate light-emitting layer (see Figure 8(a)), disposed in said second region and configured to emit light with colors selected from red, blue and green.
Chen fails to explicitly disclose wherein said second region is a repaired region, but does disclose multiple second regions with available micro LED structures (See Figure 8(a)). In the same field of endeavor, Shin teaches a repaired region within a micro LED display (see Figure 16; and ¶[0065]). The implementation of a repaired region within a micro light-emitting diode panel structure as taught by Shin allows for defects to be addressed and all LEDs to be maintained at the same standard (See Shin ¶[0065]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention that the combination of references would arrive at the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Shin as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Wang.
With respect to claim 12, the combination of Chen and Shin fails to explicitly disclose a quantum dot layer disposed on said first alternate light-emitting layer.
In the same field of endeavor, Wang discloses utilizing a quantum dot layer disposed on a light-emitting layer (See ¶[0050]). Implementation of quantum dot as taught by Wang would provide improved light emission efficiency and color purity to all light emitting layers including alternate light emitting layers (See Wang ¶[0050-0051]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention that the combination of references would arrive at the claimed invention
With respect to claim 13, the combination of Chen and Shin fails to disclose a second alternate light-emitting layer, disposed in said first region and configured to emit light with colors selected from red, blue and green, wherein the light emit from the second alternate light-emitting layer is different from the light emitted from the first alternate light-emitting layer.
. In the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches a second alternate light-emitting layer [124], disposed in said first region and configured to emit light with colors selected from red, blue and green, wherein the light emit from the second alternate light-emitting layer is different from the light emitted from the first alternate light-emitting layer (See Figure 1B; ¶[0024]). Implementing additional light emitting layers on the third light emitting layer as taught by Wang allows for better management of the driving voltage of the overall device, thereby improving light emitting efficiency (see Wang ¶[0062]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention that the combination of references would arrive at the claimed invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/21/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With respect to claims 1-13, Applicant asserts that Chen or the combination of Xu and Chen fails to disclose the limitations of claim 1. Examiner notes that assertions are made, however no evidence or arguments regarding how Chen or the combination of Xu and Chen are insufficient are provided. Examiner notes that both Chen and Xu disclose multiple regions with multiple micro LEDS, each containing additional layers for light emission. As multiple micro LEDs are available for substitution (i.e., repair) of the device, each micro LED is capable of emitting light in substitution of defective regions. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN HAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818