DETAILED ACTION
Status of the application
This office Action is in response to Applicant's Application filled on 4/16/2026. Claims 1-18 are pending for this examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s reply filed on 04/16/2026 has been entered and considered. Applicant’s amendments necessitated the shift in grounds of rejection detailed below. The shift in grounds of rejection renders Applicant’s arguments moot. Thus, this rejection is properly made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by SEO et al (US 2015/0208521 A1; hereafter SEO).
Regarding claim 1. SEO discloses a display device (Fig. [6-7]) comprising:
a substrate (Fig. [6-7], substrate [110,130], Para [ 0070]) including an active area ([6-7], display area DA, Para [ 0055]) and a non-active ([6-7], non-display area NDA, Para [ 0055]) area surrounding the active area (Fig. [6-7], substrate [110,130], Para [ 0070]);
a pixel part (Fig. [6-7], touch panel 150, construed as pixel part, Para [ 0083-0085]. It is evidence by JINBO et al US 2017/0271421 A1, Para [ 0401] discloses “A photosensor may be provided in each pixel of the touch panel 8004 so that an optical touch panel can be obtained”) disposed in the active area on the substrate (Fig. [6-7], substrate [110,130], Para [ 0070]);
a sealing substrate (Fig. [6-7], window body 310, Para [ 0086]) disposed on the substrate (Fig. [6-7], substrate [110,130], Para [ 0070]) and the pixel part (Fig. [6-7], touch panel 150, Para [ 0083-0085]);
an adhesive film (Fig. [6-7], bonding member 500, Para [ 0058]) disposed between the substrate (Fig. [6-7], substrate [110,130], Para [ 0070]) and the sealing substrate (Fig. [6-7], window body 310, Para [ 0086]);
a dam (Fig. [6-7], dam member 700, Para [ 0059]) disposed between the substrate (Fig. [6-7], substrate [110,130], Para [ 0070]) and the sealing substrate (Fig. [6-7], window body 310, Para [ 0086]) to surround the adhesive film (Fig. [6-7], bonding member 500, Para [ 0058]); and
a lower alignment key (Fig. [6-7], connecting member 950, interpreted as alignment key, Para [ 0082]) disposed in the non-active area ([6-7], non-display area NDA, Para [ 0055]) between the dam (Fig. [6-7], dam member 700, Para [ 0059]) and the substrate (Fig. [6-7], substrate [110,130], Para [ 0070]) to overlap the dam (Fig. [6-7], dam member 700, Para [ 0059]), wherein a bottom surface of the lower alignment key (Fig. [6-7], connecting member 950, interpreted as alignment key, Para [ 0082]) is in contact with a top surface of the substrate (Fig. [6-7], substrate [110,130], Para [ 0070]).
Regarding claim 2. SEO disclose the display device according to claim 1, SEO further disclose wherein a top surface of the lower alignment key (Fig. [6-7], connecting member 950, interpreted as alignment key, Para [ 0082]) is in contact with a bottom surface of the dam (Fig. [6-7], dam member 700, Para [ 0059]).
Regarding claim 3. SEO disclose the display device according to claim 1, SEO further disclose wherein a side surface of the dam (Fig. [6-7], dam member 700, Para [ 0059]) and a side surface of the lower alignment key (Fig. [6-7], connecting member 950, interpreted as alignment key, Para [ 0082]) are disposed on the same plane (Fig. [6-7]).
Regarding claim 16. SEO disclose the display device according to claim 1, SEO further disclose wherein a side surface of the lower alignment key is exposed (Fig. [6-7], connecting member 950, interpreted as alignment key, Para [ 0082]).
Regarding claim 17. SEO disclose the display device according to claim 1, SEO further disclose wherein the lower alignment key (Fig. [6-7], connecting member 950, interpreted as alignment key, Para [ 0082]) is disposed to correspond to a corner (at least some portion to a corner) of the sealing substrate (Fig. [6-7], window body 310, Para [ 0086]).
Regarding claim 18. SEO disclose the display device according to claim 1, SEO further disclose further comprising:
an additional alignment key (connecting member 930, Para [ 082], interpreted as additional alignment key) disposed in an area of the substrate (Fig. [6-7], substrate [110,130], Para [ 0070]) which does not overlap (at least a portion) the sealing substrate (Fig. [6-7], window body 310, Para [ 0086]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 8-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is the Examiner's Reasons for Allowance:
The prior art fails to disclose and would not have rendered obvious:
Regarding claim 4. The display device according to claim 3, wherein a side surface of the substrate and a side surface of the sealing substrate are disposed on the same plane with the side surface of the dam and the side surface of the lower alignment key.
Regarding claim 8. a pad part disposed on one side of the non-active area, wherein the dam includes a first dam disposed in the non- active area between the active area and the pad part, and a second dam connected to one side and the other side of the first dam and surrounding the active area.
Claims 9-15 are objected based on the dependency of claim 8.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOIN M RAHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898