DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-12 and 18 have been amended. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Claims 1, 12 and 18 are independent.
This action is final.
Response to Amendment and Arguments
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome 35 U.S.C. §101 rejections set forth previously in the Non-Final Office Action. As a result, the 35 U.S.C. §101 rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments regarding rejection under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully considered but in moot in view of new ground of rejection.
Applicant amended independent claims 1, 12 and 18 to further specify:
wherein the one or more estimated surface profiles are indicative of predicted etch rate profiles for substrates processed at the one or more estimated placement locations;
determining a recommended placement for substrates on the substrate support based on the one or more estimated placement locations and further based on a predicted etch rate profile associated with the recommended placement satisfying one or more threshold criterion; and
cause one or more of the substrates to be placed on the substrate support according to the recommended placement.
LEE US 20180114675 A1 is introduced in view of new ground of rejection. The teachings of CHEN, KANG, Yamaguchi, Sakamoto, and IKEDA as disclosed in the previous office action are hereby incorporated by references to the extent applicable to the amended claims.
Another iteration of claim analysis has been made. Referring to the corresponding sections of the claim analysis below for details.
Priority
This application is filed as CIP of prior Application No. 17822009. The filed claims 1-20 includes the newly added subject matter is entitled ONLY to the actual filing date of the CIP: 05/23/2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-7, 10-12, 15 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN US 20080080845 A1 in view of KANG US 20220270904 A11 and LEE US 20180114675 A1.
Regarding claim 12, CHEN teaches a system comprising:
a process chamber comprising a substrate support (Fig .1 [0034] [0047] PM modules etching wafers with a substrate chuck);
a substrate measurement tool ([0045] metrology tool 116);
a memory ([0032] computer readable medium);
a processing device operatively coupled to the memory ([0032] computer) the processing device to:
cause a first substrate to be processed in the process chamber while the first substrate is supported by the substrate support at a first placement location on the substrate support (Fig. 6 [0066] substrate is geometrically centered and processed), wherein the first substrate comprises a first surface profile after the processing (Figs. 2B & 6-7 [0054] [0055] [0064] – [0067] the film surface profile after etching process);
generate a first surface profile map of the first surface profile using the substrate measurement tool (Figs. 2B & 6-7 [0067] – [0068] the etched film thickness is measured at the predetermined locations);
determine a first plurality of etch rates corresponding to a first plurality of locations on the first substrate based on the first surface profile map (Figs. 2B & 6-7 [0069] – [0071] etch rate profile of teach data location is calculated);
process data associated with first plurality of etch rates using a model to determine a recommended placement for substrates on the substrate support (Figs. 2B & 6-7 [0072] – [0075] the created etch profiled data are analyzed by models to determine the parameters for substate offset); and
cause one or more of the substrates to be placed on the substrate support according to the recommended placement ([0124] robotic arm is taught to offset a substrate for next run).
CHEN does not explicitly further teach:
the model is to output one or more estimated surface profiles associated with one or more estimated placement locations on the substrate support based on the first plurality of etch rates, wherein the one or more estimated surface profiles are indicative of predicted etch rate profiles for substrates processed at the one or more estimated placement locations; the recommended placement is based on the one or more estimated placement locations; and
the recommendation further based on a predicted etch rate profile associated with the recommended placement satisfying one or more threshold criterion.
KANG explicitly teaches in an analogous art that the model is to output one or more estimated surface profiles associated with one or more estimated placement locations on the substrate support based on the first plurality of etch rates, wherein the one or more estimated surface profiles are indicative of predicted etch rate profiles for substrates processed at the one or more estimated placement locations; the recommended placement is based on the one or more estimated placement locations ([0048] teaching position i.e. wafer placement position, Figs. 8, 14-17 [0078] – [0082] the machine learning model is trained based on the wafer profile results, teach position within an acceptable range is used as an input to the optimization model that uses the trained machine learning model, and an optimum teach position that provide the wafer profile with minimum eccentricity is selected, i.e. the multiple the wafer profiles are predicted corresponding to respective teach position, the wafer profile with criteria of minimum eccentricity is selected, i.e. a recommended wafer placement is selected from “one or more estimated surface profiles associated with one or more estimated placement locations on the substrate” that output from a model “based on the one or more estimated placement locations”; one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have apply the method to the etch rate profile, i.e. “the one or more estimated surface profiles are indicative of predicted etch rate profiles for substrates processed at the one or more estimated placement locations”); and
LEE explicitly teaches in an analogous art that the recommendation further based on a predicted etch rate profile associated with the recommended placement satisfying one or more threshold criterion ([0136] the etch rate profile satisfying the uniformity threshold);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified CHEN to incorporate the teachings of KANG and LEE, because they all directed to wafer processing system, to make the system wherein the model is to output one or more estimated surface profiles associated with one or more estimated placement locations on the substrate support based on the first plurality of etch rates, wherein the one or more estimated surface profiles are indicative of predicted etch rate profiles for substrates processed at the one or more estimated placement locations; the recommended placement is based on the one or more estimated placement locations; and the recommendation further based on a predicted etch rate profile associated with the recommended placement satisfying one or more threshold criterion. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification so as to provide optimum substrate placement, as KANG teaches in [0081].
Regarding claim 15, KANG further teaches that the model comprises a trained machine learning model and train a machine learning model to produce the trained machine learning model, wherein the machine learning model is trained using data from a plurality of processed substrates processed in the process chamber ([0078] – [0080] the learning function learns based on the inputs of processing results).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified CHEN to incorporate the teachings of KANG, because they all directed to wafer processing system, to make the system wherein the model comprises a trained machine learning model and train a machine learning model to produce the trained machine learning model, wherein the machine learning model is trained using data from a plurality of processed substrates processed in the process chamber. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification so as to provide optimum substrate placement, as KANG teaches in [0081].
Regarding claim 17, CHEN further teaches the recommended placement corresponds to an optimized placement location on the substrate support for producing a second substrate having a second plurality of etch rates at a second plurality of locations on the second substrate conforming to one or more values of one or more metrics ([0075] the corrected substrate offset is used to process the subsequent substate to obtain improved substrate profile).
Regarding claim 1, it is directed to non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions of carrying out the system with similar limitations as set forth in claim 12. Since CHEN, KANG and LEE teach the claimed system, they teach the instructions for implementing the system.
Regarding claim 18, it is directed to method of carrying out the system with similar limitations as set forth in claim 12. Since CHEN, KANG and LEE teach the claimed system, they teach the method steps for implementing the system.
Regarding claim 4, CHEN further teaches the recommended placement is offset from a center of the substrate support ([0074] substrate offset).
Claims 5-6 recite similar limitations to that of claim 15 therefore is rejected on the same basis.
Regarding claim 7, CHEN further teaches the first plurality of locations on the first substrate correspond to locations at a radial distance from a center of the first substrate at a plurality of azimuthal angles (Fig. 2B [0053]).
Claim 10 recites similar limitations to that of claim 17 therefore is rejected on the same basis.
Regarding claim 11, CHEN further teaches the first surface profile comprises a first thickness profile (Figs. 2B & 6-7 [0054] [0055] [0064] – [0067] the film thickness profile after etching process).
Claims 2, 13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN in view of KANG and LEE as applied to claims 1, 4-7, 10-12, 15 and 17-18 above, further in view of Yamaguchi US 20140087565 A12.
Regarding claims 2, 13 and 19, CHEN further teaches cause a second substrate to be placed in the process chamber on the substrate support according to the recommended placement ([0075] subsequent substrate is placed on the substrate chuck with offset).
The combination of CHEN, KANG and LEE does not explicitly further teach the substrate is placed within an inner diameter of a process kit ring.
Yamaguchi explicitly teaches in an analogous art that the substrate is placed within an inner diameter of a process kit ring (Yamaguchi: [0141] ring holder internal diameter greater than the wafer diameter).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified CHEN, KANG and LEE to incorporate the teachings of Yamaguchi, because they all directed to wafer processing system, to make the non-transitory computer readable medium/system/method wherein the substrate is placed within an inner diameter of a process kit ring. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification so as to hold the wafer in processing chamber, as Yamaguchi teaches in [0141].
Claims 3 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN in view of KANG and LEE as applied to claims 1, 4-7, 10-12, 15 and 17-18 above, further in view of Sakamoto US 20040159284 A13.
Regarding claims 3 and 14, the combination of CHEN, KANG and LEE does not explicitly further teach:
cause a second substrate to be processed in the process chamber while the second substrate is supported by the substrate support at a second placement location on the substrate support, wherein the second substrate comprises a second surface profile after the processing;
generate a second surface profile map of the second surface profile using the substrate measurement tool;
determine a second plurality of etch rates corresponding to a second plurality of locations on the second substrate based on the second surface profile map; and
process data associated with the second plurality of etch rates using the model, wherein the one or more estimated surface profiles associated with the one or more estimated placement locations on the substrate support are further based on the second plurality of etch rates.
Sakamoto explicitly teaches in an analogous art:
cause a second substrate to be processed in the process chamber while the second substrate is supported by the substrate support at a second placement location on the substrate support, wherein the second substrate comprises a second surface profile after the processing;
generate a second surface profile map of the second surface profile using the substrate measurement tool;
determine a second plurality of etch rates corresponding to a second plurality of locations on the second substrate based on the second surface profile map; and
process data associated with the second plurality of etch rates using the model, wherein the one or more estimated surface profiles associated with the one or more estimated placement locations on the substrate support are further based on the second plurality of etch rates ([0087] – [0098] the placement optimization is repeated, the correction amount with respect to previous run are used for the next run placement).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified CHEN, KANG and LEE to incorporate the teachings of Sakamoto, because they all directed to wafer processing system, to make the non-transitory computer readable medium/system wherein the placement optimization is repeated. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification so as to obtain new placement correction amount, as Sakamoto teaches in [0086].
Claims 8-9, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN in view of KANG and LEE as applied to claims 1, 4-7, 10-12, 15 and 17-18 above, further in view of IKEDA WO 2012073449 A14.
Regarding claim 16, CHEN further teaches wherein the one or more estimated surface profiles are based on a etch rate profile ([0071] an etch rate profile is generated for each orientation and is used for the curve fitting i.e. “estimated surface profiles”).
The combination of CHEN, KANG and LEE does not explicitly further teach:
normalizing each of the first plurality of etch rates based on an average etch rate of the first plurality of etch rates; and
the etch rate profile is a linear fitment of at least a first etch rate of the first plurality of etch rates corresponding to at least a first location of the first plurality of locations.
IKEDA explicitly teaches in an analogous art that:
normalizing each of the first plurality of etch rates based on an average etch rate of the first plurality of etch rates (Fig. 10, page 7 paragraph 4 etching rate is normalized by an average etching rate); and
the etch rate profile is a linear fitment of at least a first etch rate of the first plurality of etch rates corresponding to at least a first location of the first plurality of locations (IKEDA: Fig. 10, page 7 paragraph 4, the normalized etching rate is fit by a linear function).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified CHEN, KANG and LEE to incorporate the teachings of IKEDA, because they all directed to wafer processing system, to make the non-transitory computer readable medium/system/method wherein normalizing each of the first plurality of etch rates based on an average etch rate of the first plurality of etch rates; and the etch rate profile is a linear fitment of at least a first etch rate of the first plurality of etch rates corresponding to at least a first location of the first plurality of locations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification so as to adjust etching rate distribution, as IKEDA teaches in page 7 paragraph 4.
Claims 8-9 and 20 recites similar limitations to that of claim 16 therefore is rejected on the same basis.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jekauc US 20070037301 A1 teaches wafer placement based on etch rate profile.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.T./Examiner, Art Unit 2115
/KAMINI S SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2115
1 CHEN and KANG are the prior arts of record
2 Yamaguchi is the prior art of record
3 Sakamoto is the prior art of record
4 IKEDA is the prior art of record