DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-12, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hucker US 20150191238 A1 in view of Cheng et al. (Performance assessment of multi-stage thermoelectric generators) and Haden et al. US 9,878,795 B2.
Re claim 10, Hucker teach a method, comprising: receiving heat energy caused by aerodynamic friction on an aircraft structure in high-speed flight and characterized by: storing the heat energy (para 11) caused by the aerodynamic friction on the aircraft structure (para 11 lines 2-4) for later use for heating the aircraft structure (paras 9, 11), wherein storing the heat energy includes storing the heat energy as heat, wherein storing the heat energy caused by the aerodynamic friction on the aircraft structure as the heat includes storing the heat energy caused by the aerodynamic friction on the aircraft structure as the heat in a phase change material (paras 9-11, 36, 54), using the stored heat energy for preventing ice formation or deicing the aircraft structure; and using the stored heat caused by the aerodynamic friction on the aircraft structure for preventing the ice formation or deicing the aircraft structure, wherein the stored heat is applied to at least one of a leading edge of a wing, a fuselage, or a control surface to prevent or remove ice buildup during descent or landing (paras 9-11, 36, 54, noting two storage methods).
Hucker fail to explicitly teach converting the heat energy caused by the aerodynamic friction on the aircraft structure into electrical energy.
Cheng et al. teach wherein storing the heat energy caused by the aerodynamic friction on the aircraft structure includes converting the heat energy caused by the aerodynamic friction on the aircraft structure into electrical energy (fig 1a, wherein storing the heat energy caused by the aerodynamic friction on the aircraft structure includes converting the heat energy caused by the aerodynamic friction on the aircraft structure into the electrical energy (Introduction section page 1598) and powering one or more electrical systems with the electrical energy (Introduction section page 1598, fig 1a) using aerodynamic heat for electrical needs.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include converting the heat energy caused by the aerodynamic friction on the aircraft structure into electrical energy as taught by Cheng et al. in the Hucker invention in order to advantageously allow for high electrical load demands to be met with an available heat source due to flight (Introduction section page 1598).
Hucker , as modified, fail to explicitly teach an electrical storage device.
Haden et al. teach preventing ice formation or deicing the aircraft structure (col 1, fig 8,)
and storing the electrical energy in an electrical storage device (103)
wherein storing the heat energy caused by the aerodynamic friction on the aircraft (in the instant combination noting the primary reference provides the powered charging circuit to privde electricity to the 103 of Haden) structure includes converting the heat energy caused by the aerodynamic friction on the aircraft structure into the electrical energy and powering one or more electrical systems with the electrical energy (col 4, ) for preventing the ice formation or deicing the aircraft structure.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include and storing the electrical energy in an electrical storage device, as taught by Haden et al. in the Hucker, as modified, invention in order to advantageously allow for improvement in flight performance during many conditions (para 3).
Re claim 11, Hucker teach wherein storing the heat energy as the heat includes storing the heat energy in an aircraft fluid (noting in the instant combination, if the fluid is in the aircraft system it is considered aircraft fluid).
Re claim 12, Hucker teach wherein the aircraft fluid includes at least one of aircraft fuel, aircraft hydraulic fluid, aircraft coolant, aircraft refrigerant, or aircraft oil, or a dedicated energy storage fluid (see the rejection of claims 10 and 11).
Re claim 15, Cheng et al. teach teach wherein the one or more electrical systems include aircraft avionics and/or pumps (Introduction section see the rejection of 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include the avionics as taught by Cheng et al. in the Hucker, as modified, invention in order to advantageously allow for high electrical load demands to be met with an available heat source due to flight (Introduction section page 1598).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/20/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that prior art fails to teach an “the aerodynamic friction into electrical energy”. However, the scope of the independent claim has been changed in the latest reply and therefore the examiner is now relying on Cheng et al. to teach the recited “the aerodynamic friction into electrical energy” (see detailed rejection above). Therefore, the applicants’ arguments are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the combinations with Wang and/or details of Wang in claim(s) 10-12 and 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on Wang and combinations of Wang applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues the claims dependent on the independent claim(s) are allowable based upon their dependence from an independent claim. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The arguments with respect to claim(s) 10 have been addressed above. Thus, the rejections are proper and remain.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GORDON A JONES/ Examiner, Art Unit 3763