DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “processing tool chamber” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
Claims 6, 8, and 11 contain the limitation “processing tool chamber,” which is not found in the Specification.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “lane changer” and “mapping sensor.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 6 and 8 recites the limitation “the processing tool chamber.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
Claims 6, 8, and 11 recite the limitation “processing tool chamber,” which lacks antecedence in the Specification and not shown in the Drawings. Thus, it is unclear to the Examiner the scope of the limitation.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “the processing chamber.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
The Examiner notes that parent Claim 11 recites “a processing tool chamber.” Given that “a processing tool chamber” is not supported by the Specification, the Examiner will interpret “processing tool chamber” as being “processing chamber.”
Claims 17 and 19 recite the limitation “the plurality of lanes.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Blum et al. (US 5,909,994).
Blum discloses;
Claim 11. An apparatus for handling die carriers, comprising:
a load port (102); and a lane changer (104) comprising a plurality of lanes (paths into plurality of 106) located beside the load port and coupled to the load port, wherein the load port comprises:
a table (110) configured to receive a die carrier (109) in a first direction (facing away from 170), wherein the die carrier is operable to hold a plurality of dies;
a turn stage (111) coupled on the table and operable to turn the die carrier from the first direction to a second direction (facing 170) for the lane changer to retrieve at least one die from the die carrier for processing the at least one die in a processing tool chamber (106); and
a storage space (region inside 112) configured to store a plurality of die carriers at a same time (Col. 4-5 and Fig. 4 and 8-9).
Claim 12. The apparatus of claim 11, further comprising: wherein the load port further comprises a push bar (arm of 113) operable to push a boat (wafer) carrying the plurality of dies from the die carrier to the lane changer, wherein the lane changer is configured to move the boat to one of the plurality of lanes to align the boat with an input (310) of the processing chamber and convey the boat into the processing chamber for processing the dies on the boat (Col. 8 and Fig. 13).
Claim 16. The apparatus of claim 11, further comprising a mapping sensor (170) configured to determine at least one of quantity information or location information (wafer center coordinates) of boats in the die carrier (Col. 7-8 and Fig. 8).
Claim 17. A method, comprising: receiving a die carrier (109) in a first direction (facing away from 170); reading information on the die carrier to determine whether the die carrier is correctly scheduled for processing by a processing chamber (106); turning the die carrier from the first direction to a second direction (facing 170); retrieving a plurality of dies (disclosed as “integrated circuits”) from the die carrier (implicitly disclosed by 113 removing wafers from 109); pushing the plurality of dies from the die carrier to a lane changer (104), wherein the lane changer is configured to move the plurality of dies to one of the (interpreted as “a”) plurality of lanes; conveying the plurality of dies at the same time to align the plurality of dies with different inputs (308) of a processing chamber, respectively; and loading the plurality of dies into different flowing channels (understood to be inputs, as disclosed in Applicant’s Specification, Par. 0028) of the processing chamber via the different inputs, respectively, for processing the plurality of dies in the processing chamber (Col. 4-8 and Fig. 4, 8, and 13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blum in view of Bonora et al. (US 2010/0290873).
Blum discloses;
Claim 1. An apparatus for handling die carriers, comprising:
a load port (102) configured to load dies in a die carrier (109) into a processing chamber (106), wherein the die carrier is operable to hold a plurality of dies (disclosed as “integrated circuits”), wherein the load port comprises:
a table (110) configured to receive the die carrier (Col. 4-5 and Fig. 4 and 8-9).
Claim 2. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the load port further comprises a storage space (region inside 112) configured to store a plurality of die carriers at a same time (Col. 6 and Fig. 9).
Claim 4. The apparatus of claim 3, wherein: the load port comprises a turn stage (111) coupled on the table and operable to turn the die carrier from the first direction to a second direction (facing 170) for storing the die carrier (Col. 4 and Fig. 8).
Claim 6. The apparatus of claim 1, further comprising: a lane changer (104) comprising a plurality of lanes (paths into plurality of 106) located beside the load port, coupled to the load port and configured to move at least one die in the die carrier to an input (310) of the processing tool chamber (interpreted as “processing chamber”) and transfer the at least one die into the processing chamber for processing the at least one die, wherein: the load port comprises a push bar (first arm of 113) operable to push a boat carrying the plurality of dies from the die carrier to the lane changer; and the lane changer is configured to move the boat along at least one direction to one of the plurality of lanes to align the boat with the input of the processing chamber and convey the boat into the processing chamber (Col. 8 and Fig. 8 and 13).
Claim 7. The apparatus of claim 6, further comprising a mapping sensor (170) configured to determine at least one of quantity information or location information (wafer center coordinates) of boats in the die carrier (Col. 7-8 and Fig. 8).
Claim 10. The apparatus of claim 6, wherein: the lane changer is further configured to receive the boat from an output (110) of the processing chamber after the dies on the boat are processed, and move along at least one direction to align the boat with an additional push bar (second arm of 113) associated with the load port; and the additional push bar is configured to push the boat back into the die carrier (Col. 8 and Fig. 8 and 13).
Blum is silent to;
Claims 1 and 12. A radio frequency identity (RFID) reader coupled on the table and operable to read information of the die carrier to determine whether the die carrier is correctly scheduled for processing by the processing chamber.
Claim 3. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein: the die carrier is transported onto the table by an overhead hoist transport (131 and 132) in a first direction (Par. 0066 and Fig. 12).
Claim 5. The apparatus of claim 4, wherein the die carrier is placed onto the turn stage on the table by the OHT.
However, Bonora discloses an apparatus for handling die carriers (130), the apparatus comprising a load port (EFEM) with a table (129) (Par. 0048 and 0107, and Fig. 1 and 29), and further teaches;
Claims 1 and 12. A radio frequency identity (RFID) reader (Par. 0090) to provide automatic container identification (Par. 0090, and Fig. 24).
Claim 3. The die carrier is transported onto the table by an overhead hoist transport (131 and 132) in a first direction (vertical) (Par. 0066 and Fig. 12).
Claim 5. The apparatus of claim 4, wherein the die carrier is placed onto the turn stage on the table by the OHT (Par. 0069 and Fig. 12).
Therefore, in view of Bonora’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Blum’s disclosure to include the cited teachings of Bonora with a reasonable expectation of success to provide automatic container identification and utilize over-head space for die carrier transport.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blum in view of Bonora, and further in view of Kinugawa et al. (US 2017/0183154).
Blum is silent to;
Claim 8. The apparatus of claim 6, further comprising a two-dimensional barcode reader configured to identify and trace the boat that is processed by the processing tool chamber.
However, Kinugawa discloses a substrate transport facility (Fig. 1), and further teaches the use of a two-dimensional barcode reader for detecting the coordinate markers (Par. 0042).
Therefore, in view of Kinugawa’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Blum’s disclosure to include a two-dimensional barcode reader with a reasonable expectation of success for detecting the coordinate markers.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blum in view of Bonora, and further in view of Yamamoto (US 2015/0243612).
Blum is silent to;
Claim 9. The apparatus of claim 6, further comprising: an automated optical inspection (AOI) sensor coupled to the load port or the lane changer, and configured to detect a defect on at least one of the dies in the die carrier, wherein the AOI sensor is further configured to determine at least one of quantity information or size information of the dies in the die carrier.
However, Yamamoto discloses an apparatus and method for manufacturing chip parts, and further teaches the use of an automatic optical inspection machine (91) for making “a ‘non-defective’ or ‘defective’ judgment from image information” (Par. 0254 and Fig. 15).
Therefore, in view of Yamamoto’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Blum’s disclosure to include an automated optical inspection senso with a reasonable expectation of success for automated determination of defective and non-defective dies.
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blum in view of Bonora, and further in view of Kuo et al. (US 2019/0067040).
Blum is silent to;
Claim 13. The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the load port is configured to open a first door of the die carrier and store the first door in a predetermined location.
Claim 14. The apparatus of claim 13, wherein: the load port is further configured to unload the die carrier after the plurality of dies are processed; and the load port is further configured to retrieve a second door having a same model as the first door, and close the second door onto the die carrier that has been unloaded.
However, Kuo discloses an apparatus for handling wafer carrier doors, the apparatus having a load port (410) (Par. 0066 and Fig. 4A and 4B), and further teaches;
Claim 13. The load port is configured to open a first door (122) of the die carrier and store the first door in a predetermined location (418) (Par. 0075 and Fig. 4A and 4B).
Claim 14. The load port is capable of unloading the die carrier after the plurality of dies are processed; and the load port is further configured to retrieve a second door having a same model as the first door, and close the second door onto the die carrier that has been unloaded (Par. 0075 and Fig. 4A and 4B).
Therefore, in view of Kuo’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Blum’s disclosure to include the cited teachings of Kuo with a reasonable expectation of success so that a plurality of die carriers could be unloaded and loaded at the load port at different times and have doors removed and replaced without the need to match each door with its original die carrier.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blum in view of Kinugawa.
Blum is silent to;
Claim 15. The apparatus of claim 11, further comprising a two-dimensional barcode reader configured to identify and trace the boat that is processed by the processing tool chamber.
However, Kinugawa discloses a substrate transport facility (Fig. 1), and further teaches the use of a two-dimensional barcode reader for detecting the coordinate markers (Par. 0042).
Therefore, in view of Kinugawa’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Blum’s disclosure to include a two-dimensional barcode reader with a reasonable expectation of success for detecting the coordinate markers.
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blum in view of Yamamoto.
Blum discloses;
Claim 19. The plurality of dies are contained in a respective one of a plurality of boats (wafers), the method further comprising: receiving, via a respective one of the plurality of lanes of the lane changer, each of the plurality of boats from a respective output (310) of the processing chamber after the plurality of dies are processed; and pushing each of the plurality of boats back into the die carrier (Col. 5-6 and Fig. 9).
Claim 20. The method of claim 19, further comprising receiving each of the plurality of boats from an output of the processing chamber after the dies on the plurality of boats are processed (Col. 5-6 and Fig. 9).
Blum is silent to;
Claim 18. The method of claim 17, further comprising detecting a defect on at least one of the plurality of dies while pushing the plurality of dies or conveying the plurality of dies.
However, Yamamoto discloses an apparatus and method for manufacturing chip parts, and further teaches the use of an automatic optical inspection machine (91) for making “a ‘non-defective’ or ‘defective’ judgment from image information” (Par. 0254 and Fig. 15)
Therefore, in view of Yamamoto’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Blum’s disclosure to include an automated optical inspection senso with a reasonable expectation of success for automated determination of defective and non-defective dies.
It would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to detect defects with the automated optical inspection machine so that the rate of boat processing would not be slowed down by the inspection process.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11, 398,396. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are either anticipated by the claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,398,396, or made obvious by the cited claims in view of the references cited in the current art rejection.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,682,571. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are either anticipated by the claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,682,571, or made obvious by the cited claims in view of the references cited in the current art rejection.
Conclusion
/RONALD P JARRETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652