Detailed Action
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3-27-2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant’s arguments of the rejections of claims 4-6, 16, & 17 have overcome those rejections.
The applicant argues the official notice on claims 10, 11, & 13 in that field programmable gate arrays (FPGA) because the context of the claims are not taken into consideration. The context being that the FPGAs perform calculations for at least one of the method steps and/or all of the method steps. In reply, the examiner cites Sadrozinski (see NPL citations) particularly chapter 8 which deals with performing calculations on FPGAs. Thus, the official notice in these claims is being maintained.
The applicant argues that replacing the dispersion compensation optics of Goto with the code-based dispersion compensation of Fercher would eliminate adjustment of the dispersion of the reference light and match dispersion of the reference light with dispersion of the returning light and thereby change the principle of operation of the prior art invention being modified and thus require a substantial reconstruction and redesign of the elements shown in the primary reference … thus making the combination not obvious. The examiner finds this unconvincing. Firstly, Fercher states that the purpose of this dispersion compensation code is to replace such optics (Paragraph 15). Secondly, replacing expensive optics with code-based solutions is a well-established trend. Thirdly, taking some optics out doesn’t really provide any substantial reconstruction or redesign as the applicant states.
The applicant argues that because the dispersion compensation of Goto is optics based and thus before the Fourier Transform of the data processing then so too must the code-based dispersion compensation of Fercher since one would not rearrange the steps in combination. The examiner disagrees with this for several reasons. Firstly, a code-based dispersion can be done wherever it is most convenient for the data processing. Thus, after the initial Fourier transformation would work as well as before. The fact that the optics performed this task before the transform in no way requires the code-based dispersion compensation to come first. Secondly the applicant has given no reason why this limitation is not just a trivial matter with no reason for the compensation being done in any order other than choice. This is supported by claim 3 which claims the dispersion compensation is performed before the first transformation. Lastly, Fercher discloses requiring a Fourier transform being performed as the starting steps to their code-based dispersion compensation (Paragraph 17) thus even if the examiner would to agree with the applicant’s point about the order, then the limitation is still met.
Thus, in this regard the applicant’s arguments are not convincing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 8, 10-15, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goto (PGPub 2018/0153395) (Goto) in view of Fercher (PGPub 2003/0043381) (Fercher) and further in view of Urashima et al (PGPub 2012/0285936) (Urashima).
Regarding Claims 1, & 19, Goto discloses an image processing method (fig. 4) employing an optical coherence tomographer (OCT), comprising:
obtaining measurement (S101, Paragraph 67) data based on interference of sample light guided in a sample arm (50, fig. 1) and reference light guided in a reference arm (60, fig. 1), the sample arm and the reference arm differing in dispersion (Paragraph 41). The dispersion differs which is why there are adjustment mechanisms to fix it;
the measurement data comprising an object signal and a background signal superimposed on the object signal (Paragraph 55). The background signal is the noise in the measurement hence the need to generate what the background signal is and remove it from the measurement;
the object signal and the background signal being subject to different dispersion. As explained part of the background signal is fixed pattern noise (FPN) (Paragraph 5) which is light back reflected from various optics in the optics train and that interferes with the reference light causing noise in the measurement signal. Thus, because the path length is different the dispersion will be different between the background signal and the object signal since total dispersion is path dependent;
performing a first transformation (Fourier, S102) on the measurement data using a control unit (40, Paragraph 52) of the measuring device, the first transformation being targeted at the background signal to obtain a height signal (Paragraph 86);
wherein the control unit (40) has at least one non-transitory computer readable medium having computer-readable program code portions embodied therein, the control unit having a processor operatively coupled to the at least one non-transitory computer readable medium, wherein the processor is configured to execute the computer-readable program code portions (Paragraph 52);
determining background components (S107) in the height signal using the control unit of the measuring device (Paragraph 86);
compensating the background components (S108) in the height signal using the control unit of the measuring device to obtain a background-compensated height signal (Paragraph 94);
performing an inverse transformation (S109) comprising back-transforming the background- compensated height signal (Epure) using the control unit of the measuring device to obtain background- compensated measurement data (Paragraph 96, Gpure);
performing dispersion compensation for the object signal (Paragraph 41) to obtain dispersion-compensated and background-compensated measurement data;
performing a second transformation (Fig. 5, S203) comprising transforming the dispersion-compensated and background-compensated measurement data using the control unit of the measuring device to obtain a dispersion-compensated and background-compensated height signal (Paragraph 103);
Goto fails to explicitly disclose performing program code-based dispersion compensation for the object signal of the background-compensated measurement data using the control unit of the measuring device; and controlling the machining of the workpiece by the control unit of the measuring device based, at least in part, on the dispersion-compensated and background-compensated height signal; the first transform either with no program code-based dispersion compensation of the measurement data performed before the first transformation or with a program code-based dispersion compensation of the measurement data performed before the first transformation that makes the background signal more prominent;
However, Fercher discloses performing program code-based dispersion compensation for the object signal of the background-compensated measurement data using the control unit of the measuring device (Paragraphs 15-21);
Additionally, as to the limitation, “the first transform either with no program code-based dispersion compensation of the measurement data performed before the first transformation or with a program code-based dispersion compensation of the measurement data performed before the first transformation that makes the background signal more prominent;” this is a trivial matter that would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as explained above in the examiner’s arguments and thus would be obvious to do;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Goto with performing program code-based dispersion compensation for the object signal of the background-compensated measurement data using the control unit of the measuring device; the first transform either with no program code-based dispersion compensation of the measurement data performed before the first transformation or with a program code-based dispersion compensation of the measurement data performed before the first transformation that makes the background signal more prominent because this saves the cost of complex dispersion compensating optics;
Goto as modified by Fercher still fails to explicitly disclose controlling the machining of the workpiece by the control unit of the measuring device based, at least in part, on the dispersion-compensated and background-compensated height signal;
However, Urashima teaches using a SS-OCT to measure the penetration depth of a welded part (Paragraph 31) and controlling the machining of the workpiece by the control unit of the measuring device based, at least in part, on the dispersion-compensated and background-compensated height signal (Fig. 6, S5, Paragraphs 75-77);
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was filed to modify Goto as modified by Fercher with controlling the machining of the workpiece by the control unit of the measuring device based, at least in part, on the dispersion-compensated and background-compensated height signal because automation controlled by computers of various functions of optical devices is commonplace and used to speed up measurement times. Additionally, using the dispersion-compensated and background-compensated height signal to control the welder in Urashima would provide a more accurate measurement of the penetration depth and thus improve the function of the apparatus.
The limitations of claim 19 is also met by the disclosure.
Regarding Claim 2, Goto as modified by Fercher and Urashima discloses the aforementioned. Further, Goto discloses wherein said compensating comprises subtracting a least a portion of the background components from the height signal (Fig. 4, S108, Paragraph 94).
Regarding Claims 3, & 20, Goto as modified by Fercher and Urashima discloses the aforementioned. Further, Goto discloses the step of performing dispersion compensation for the background signal before the first transformation. The dispersion is compensated before the measurements are taken thus this step order is met (Paragraph 41).
Regarding Claim 7, Goto as modified by Fercher and Urashima discloses the aforementioned. Further, Goto discloses wherein at least one selected from the group consisting of: (i) the first transformation (Paragraph 86), (ii) the second transformation (Paragraph 103), and (iii) the inverse transformation (Paragraph 96), comprise a Fourier transformation. All three are Fourier transformations.
Regarding Claim 8, Goto as modified by Fercher and Urashima discloses the aforementioned. Further, Goto discloses wherein at least one selected from the group consisting of: (i) the first transformation, (ii) the second transformation, and (iii) the inverse transformation, comprise a fast Fourier transformation (Paragraph 68).
Regarding Claims 10, 11, & 13, Goto as modified by Fercher and Urashima discloses the aforementioned but fails to explicitly disclose wherein at least one method step is based on calculations which are carried out in at least one field programmable gate array; and wherein all of said method steps are based on calculations which are carried out in at least one field programmable gate array;
However, the examiner takes official notice that this would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art;
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was filed to modify Goto as modified by Fercher and Urashima with wherein at least one method step is based on calculations which are carried out in at least one field programmable gate array; and wherein all of said method steps are based on calculations which are carried out in at least one field programmable gate array because FPGAs are well known and common processors that would be functionally equivalent to the processors disclosed in Goto and would be chosen based on cost and availability and for allowing a greater flexibility in programmability than an ASIC.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goto in view of Fercher and Urashima and further in view of Marks et al (Daniel L. Marks, Amy L. Oldenburg, J. Joshua Reynolds, and Stephen A. Boppart, "Autofocus algorithm for dispersion correction in optical coherence tomography," Appl. Opt. 42, 3038-3046 (2003)) (Marks).
Regarding Claim 9, Goto as modified by Fercher and Urashima discloses the aforementioned but fails to explicitly disclose wherein performing dispersion compensation for the object signal comprises multiplying the background-compensated measurement data by a dispersion correction curve;
However, Marks discloses wherein performing dispersion compensation for the object signal comprises multiplying the background-compensated measurement data by a dispersion correction curve (Shown in eqs. 7 & 8, Section 3, Algorithm Discrete-time Implementation);
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was filed to modify Goto as modified by Fercher and Urashima with wherein performing dispersion compensation for the object signal comprises multiplying the background-compensated measurement data by a dispersion correction curve because algorithmic correction of dispersion reduces the complexity of the optics thus reducing cost and vulnerability to error and also allows for faster measurement of the data since one doesn’t have to wait for the adjustment of the optics to get a dispersion compensated measurement.
Claim(s) 12-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goto (PGPub 2018/0153395) (Goto) in view of Fercher (PGPub 2003/0043381) (Fercher) and further in view of Urashima et al (PGPub 2012/0285936) (Urashima) and still further in view of Cable et al (PGPub 2014/0028997) (Cable).
Regarding Claim 12, Goto discloses an image processing device (figs. 1 & 4) employing an optical coherence tomographer (OCT), comprising:
an optical coherence tomograph configured to generate a sample beam and a reference beam, comprising;
a sample arm (50, Fig. 1) in which the sample beam is optically guidable;
a reference (60, Fig. 1) arm in which the reference beam is optically guidable;
a detector (30, Fig. 1) adapted to perform optical coherence tomography measurements by causing the sample beam and the reference beam to interfere to generate measurement data (S101, Paragraph 67); and
a control unit (40, Fig. 1) having at least one non-transitory computer readable medium having computer-readable program code portions embodied therein, the control unit having a processor operatively coupled to the at least one non-transitory computer readable medium, wherein the processor is configured to execute the computer-readable program code portions to (Paragraph 52):
obtain measurement data (S101, Paragraph 67) based on interference of sample light guided in a sample arm and reference light guided in a reference arm, the sample arm and the reference arm differing in dispersion (Paragraph 41);
the measurement data comprising an object signal and a background signal superimposed on the object signal (Paragraph 55);
the object signal and the background signal being subject to different dispersion. As explained part of the background signal is fixed pattern noise (FPN) (Paragraph 5) which is light back reflected from various optics in the optics train and that interferes with the reference light causing noise in the measurement signal. Thus, because the path length is different the dispersion will be different between the background signal and the object signal since total dispersion is path dependent;
perform a first transformation (Fourier, S102) on the measurement data, the first transformation being targeted at the background signal to obtain a height signal (Paragraph 86);
determine background components (S107) in the height signal (Paragraph 86);
compensate the background components (S108) in the height signal to obtain a background-compensated height signal (Paragraph 94);
perform an inverse transformation (S109) comprising back-transforming the background- compensated height signal (Epure) to obtain background-compensated measurement data (Paragraph 96, Gpure);
perform a second transformation (Fig. 5, S203) comprising transforming the dispersion- compensated and background-compensated measurement data using the control unit of the measuring device to obtain a dispersion-compensated and background-compensated height signal (Paragraph 103); and
Goto fails to explicitly disclose the detector is a spectrometer; perform dispersion compensation for the object signal of the background- compensated measurement data to obtain dispersion-compensated and background- compensated measurement data; and control the machining of the workpiece by the machining system based, at least in part, on the dispersion-compensated and background-compensated height signal; the first transform either with no program code-based dispersion compensation of the measurement data performed before the first transformation or with a program code-based dispersion compensation of the measurement data performed before the first transformation that makes the background signal more prominent;
However, Fercher discloses perform dispersion compensation for the object signal of the background- compensated measurement data to obtain dispersion-compensated and background- compensated measurement data (Paragraphs 15-21);
Additionally, as to the limitation, “the first transform either with no program code-based dispersion compensation of the measurement data performed before the first transformation or with a program code-based dispersion compensation of the measurement data performed before the first transformation that makes the background signal more prominent;” this is a trivial matter that would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as explained above in the examiner’s arguments and thus would be obvious to do;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Goto with perform dispersion compensation for the object signal of the background- compensated measurement data to obtain dispersion-compensated and background- compensated measurement data; the first transform either with no program code-based dispersion compensation of the measurement data performed before the first transformation or with a program code-based dispersion compensation of the measurement data performed before the first transformation that makes the background signal more prominent because this saves the cost of complex dispersion compensating optics;
Goto as modified by Fercher still fails to explicitly disclose the detector is a spectrometer; and control the machining of the workpiece by the machining system based, at least in part, on the dispersion-compensated and background-compensated height signal;
However, Urashima teaches using a SS-OCT to measure the penetration depth of a welded part (Paragraph 31) and controlling the machining of the workpiece by the control unit of the measuring device based, at least in part, on the dispersion-compensated and background-compensated height signal (Fig. 6, S5, Paragraphs 75-77);
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was filed to modify Goto as modified by Fercher with control the machining of the workpiece by the machining system based, at least in part, on the dispersion-compensated and background-compensated height signal because automation controlled by computers of various functions of optical devices is commonplace and used to speed up measurement times. Additionally, using the dispersion-compensated and background-compensated height signal to control the welder in Urashima would provide a more accurate measurement of the penetration depth and thus improve the function of the apparatus;
Goto as modified by Fercher and Urashima still fails to explicitly disclose the detector is a spectrometer;
However, Cable shows an OCT which utilizes a spectrometer as a detector (Fig. 1B, Paragraph 4);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Goto as modified by Fercher and Urashima with a spectrometer as a detector because SD-OCT is functionally equivalent to SS-OCT and would be chosen for such advantages as being able to simultaneously measure an entire spectral signal simultaneously which reduces noise caused by shifting atmospheric conditions or vibration.
Regarding Claim 14, Goto as modified by Fercher, Urashima, and Cable discloses the aforementioned. Further, Goto discloses wherein said compensating comprises subtracting a least a portion of the background components from the height signal (Fig. 4, S108, Paragraph 94).
Regarding Claim 15, Goto as modified by Fercher, Urashima, and Cable discloses the aforementioned. Further, Goto discloses the step of performing dispersion compensation for the background signal before the first transformation. The dispersion is compensated before the measurements are taken thus this step order is met (Paragraph 41).
Regarding Claim 18, Goto as modified by Fercher, Urashima, and Cable discloses the aforementioned. Further, Urashima discloses a measuring device according to claim 12; and
a machining device comprising a machining beam source (107, Paragraph 21, Fig. 1) configured to generate the machining beam and machining beam optics (109) configured to at least one selected from the group consisting of project and focus the machining beam onto the workpiece (Paragraph 27).
The reasons for combination remain the same.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6, 16, & 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to Claim 4 the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious wherein compensating comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of (i) clipping and (ii) overwriting data points of the height signal for height values not exceeding a predetermined threshold value, in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claim.
Claims 5 & 6 are allowable based upon their dependency.
As to Claim 16 the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious wherein compensating comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of (i) clipping and (ii) overwriting data points of the height signal for height values not exceeding a predetermined threshold value, in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claim.
Claim 17 is allowable based upon its dependency.
Conclusion
/JONATHON COOK/Examiner, Art Unit 2877 June 26, 2026
/Kara E. Geisel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877