DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Receipt is acknowledged of the amendment and response filed 12/12/2025. Claims 104,106,107,111 and 113-115 are pending in the application and were amended.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/12/2025 was filed before close of prosecution in the application. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments in view of the amended claims have been considered and are partially persuasive. The rejection under 35 USC 112(b) is withdrawn.
Regarding the rejections under 35 USC 103, amending claims to recite a known mechanism of action of components such as fibers in the composition, does not overcome the obviousness rejection.
The rejection is therefore maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 104,106,107,111 and 113-115 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Ke et al. (CN 106070848 A) in view of Gu et al. (US10,881,675 B2), Levine et al. (US 7,977,319 B1), and Ranganathan et al. (US20200054690 A1, cited in an IDS).
Regarding claim 104 and dependent claims, Ke discloses a tea composition comprising a polysaccharide, a probiotic bacteria species and a green tea extract for synergistic use in dietary prevention or management of a metabolic disease or disorder.
Gu however discloses managing gut health with a composition comprising oligosaccharides and green and yellow kiwi fruit extract to improve the gut microbiome and have beneficial effects in subjects having a disease or disorder. Gu discloses that an imbalance or alteration of gut microbiotic populations can lead to a variety of health issues, including poor immune response, allergies, digestive disorders, high cholesterol and cardiovascular abnormality poor bone health, and metabolic imbalances. Studies demonstrate that people who suffer from particular diseases have a different microbiota signature than healthy subjects. Healthy digestive function is closely associated with the microbiotic signature in the gut of an individual, therefore maintaining healthy gut microflora is pivotal to the health of individuals. Gu further discloses that probiotics need to be delivered to the intestinal tract alive to be effective. However, they are extremely delicate-sensitive to heat and stomach acid, which can destroy them long before they reach the large intestine to colonize. Recent studies also indicate that most probiotic strains do not colonize the gut, but elicit their benefits while passing through the gut, thus limiting their benefits. Prebiotics such as fructooligosaccharides that are metabolized by gut bacteria can modify microbiota by targeting bacteria that is already present in the large intestine. Gu discloses a combination of xylooligosaccharides with kiwi fruit extract with improved health benefits.
Ranganathan discloses a composition composed of xylooligosaccharide, arabinogalactan, inulin, Ganoderma lucidum beta glucan, insoluble yeast β (1, 3/1, 6)-glucan, soluble oat β (1,3/1, 4)-glucan, and insoluble dried Saccharomyces cerevisiae fermentate, with a Bacillus coagulans component, for use in improving or maintaining digestive health, weight and glucose balance and boosting immunity.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined the dietary fibers, probiotics, and kiwi fruit or green tea extract to produce a composition that in effective amounts produces targeted health benefits in a subject having a disease or disorder, with a reasonable expectation of success. One would be motivated to do so in view of substantial knowledge available in the art regarding mechanisms related to consumption of dietary fiber, phytonutrients and probiotics, namely, production of short-chain fatty acids in the digestive tract of a subject, increased expression of beneficial enzymes, and improved microecology in the subject’s gut, which in turn benefits health.
Claims 104,106,107,111 and 113-115 are therefore prima facie obvious in view of the art.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SUBBALAKSHMI PRAKASH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1793