DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 12/09/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application. Applicant' s amendments to the claims have overcome the Election/Restriction requirement previously set forth in the Office Action mailed 10/09/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 11-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kwak et al. (US 20240382097) herein referred to as Kwak.
Regarding claim 1, Kwak discloses an electronic device (Figure 38), comprising: a flexible carrier (Figure 3A, 310); an electronic component disposed over the flexible carrier (Figure 3A, 312); and a first flexible connection element configured to connect the flexible carrier and the electronic component (Figure 3A, 314), wherein the first flexible connection element is configured to extend along a deformation direction of the electronic device (Figure 3A & E).
Regarding claim 2, Kwak discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the flexible carrier comprises a first conductive portion having a first sensing area for collecting a biological signal (Paragraph [0021]; wherein sensors are seen a first conductive portion in which a singular sensor will have a first sensing area to collect a biological signal), and a non- conductive portion for supporting the electronic component (Figure 3A, 330).
Regarding claim 3, Kwak discloses the electronic device of claim 2, wherein the flexible carrier further comprises a first connector at least partially exposed from a surface of the first conductive portion opposite to the first sensing area of the first conductive portion (See annotated Figure 3B below)
Regarding claim 4, Kwak discloses the electronic device of claim 3, wherein the first flexible connection element has an end connecting to the first connector and an opposite end connecting to the electronic component (See annotated Figure 3B below).
Regarding claim 5, Kwak discloses the electronic device of claim 3, wherein the flexible carrier further comprises a second conductive portion disposed over the non-conductive portion and having a second sensing area for collecting a biological signal (See annotated Figure 3B below).
Regarding claim 6, Kwak discloses the electronic device of claim 5, wherein the flexible carrier further comprises a second connector at least partially exposed from a surface of the second conductive portion recessed from the second sensing area of the second conductive portion (See annotated Figure 3B below).
Regarding claim 7, Kwak discloses the electronic device of claim 6, further comprising: a second flexible connection element having an end connecting to the second connector and an opposite end connecting to the electronic component (See annotated Figure 3B below), wherein the first flexible connection element and the second flexible connection element are arranged along the deformation direction of the electronic device sequentially (See annotated Figure 3B below & 3E, “Stretching”).
Regarding claim 8, Kwak discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein a length the first flexible connection element is greater than a distance between two opposite ends of the first flexible connection element (Figure 3B; wherein the first flexible connection element is a coiled structure therefore when stretched as shown in Figure 3E, the length is greater than the distance shown in Figure 3B between the two opposite ends).
Regarding claim 11, Kwak discloses the electronic device of claim 2, wherein the non-conductive portion has a first surface (See annotated Figure 3A below), a second surface opposite to the first surface (See annotated Figure 3A below), and a lateral surface extending between the first surface and the second surface (See annotated Figure 3A below), wherein the electronic component is disposed over the second surface of the non-conductive portion (See annotated Figure 3A below), and the first sensing area is substantially coplanar with the first surface of the non-conductive portion (See annotated Figure 3A below).
Regarding claim 12, Kwak discloses the electronic device of claim 11, wherein the biological signal is transmitted to the electronic component without passing through the flexible carrier (Figure 3B; wherein the biological signal read from each electrode transmits through the first connector to all of the electrical components).
Regarding claim 13, Kwak discloses the electronic device of claim 11, wherein the first conductive portion is connected to the lateral surface of the non-conductive portion (Figure 3A; wherein the first conductive portion will partially lay on top of the non-conductive portion 330 when assembled).
Regarding claim 14, Kwak discloses the electronic device of claim 6, further comprising: an encapsulant covering a part of the first connector, a part of the second connector, and the electronic component (Figure 3A, 320)
Regarding claim 15, Kwak discloses the electronic device of claim 14, wherein the first sensing area is substantially coplanar with a first surface of the encapsulant (See annotated Figure 3A below; wherein when the encapsulant is on, the first surface will be in the same plane, coplanar with the first sensing area).
Regarding claim 16, Kwak discloses the electronic device of claim 15, wherein the second sensing area is substantially coplanar with a second surface of the encapsulant opposite to the first surface of the encapsulant (See annotated Figure 3A below; wherein when the encapsulant is on, the second surface will be in the same plane, coplanar with the second sensing area).
Regarding claim 17, Kwak discloses the electronic device of claim 16, wherein the encapsulant includes a recessed portion recessed from the second surface of the encapsulant (See annotated Figure 3A below).
Regarding claim 18, Kwak discloses the electronic device of claim 1, further comprising: an interconnection structure disposed over the flexible carrier (Figure 3A, 320), wherein the interconnection structure comprises a connector for connecting the first flexible connection element and a base covering the connector (Figure 3A; wherein the interconnection structure acts as a connector by sealing the first flexible connection element which is apart of 310 to a base 330).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 & 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Kwak in view of Bardy et al. (US 20190069800) herein referred to as Bardy.
Regarding Claim 9, Kwak discloses the electronic device of claim 2, further comprising: a passive component (Paragraph [0180]) wherein the first conductive portion, the electronic component, the passive component (Figure 3E, “stretching”). However, Kwak does not explicitly disclose a passive component disposed over the non-conductive portion; and an antenna element disposed over the non-conductive portion, and the antenna element are arranged along the deformation direction of the electronic device sequentially.
Bardy discloses an electronic device (Figure 4) comprising a passive component disposed over the non-conductive portion (Paragraph [0077]; wherein an inline resistor, which is a passive component, is arranged on the non-conductive receptacle); and an antenna element disposed over the non-conductive portion (Paragraph [0133]; wherein a wireless antenna can be integrated into or within the housing such that the housing can be made of stainless steel which is non-conductive). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the passive element and antenna to be along the deformation direction and on the non-conductive portion as taught by Bardy. The motivation being to protects the patient from excessive leakage current should the circuit fail (Bardy, Paragraph [0077])
Regarding Claim 10, Kwak in view of Bardy disclose the electronic device of claim 9. Kwak discloses wherein the first conductive portion, the electronic component, and the passive element are arranged along a signal transmission path of the electronic device sequentially (Figure 3B; wherein the first conductive portion is connected to the PMIC which contains the passive element which is connected to the electronic component). Bardy discloses wherein the antenna can be placed or integrated in any position suited to signal reception (Paragraph [0133]) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device taught by Kwak in view of Bardy to allow for the antenna to be placed sequentially with the rest of the elements as taught bu Kwak. The motivation being to be in a location suited to signal reception (Bardy, Paragraph [0133]).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Kwak in view of Healy (US 20060183989) herein referred to as Healy.
Regarding Claim 19, Kwak discloses the electronic device according to claim 18. However, Kwak does not explicitly disclose wherein the interconnection structure and the flexible carrier have a matched coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE).
Healy discloses an electronic device (Figure 1) wherein all components have a matched coefficient of thermal expansion (Paragraph [0036]; wherein all components should have the same thermal expansion). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the interconnection structure and flexible carrier to have a matched coefficient of thermal expansion. The motivation being due to the significantly different coefficients of thermal expansion, bowing or curling of the electrode assembly may result under some ambient thermal excursions (Healy, Paragraph [0008]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Kwak in view of Kaneda (US 20220354412) herein referred to as Kaneda.
Regarding Claim 20, Kwak discloses the electronic device according to claim 18. However, Kwak does not explicitly disclose wherein the connector comprises a copper pillar and the base is conductive.
Kaneda discloses an electronic device (Figure 1) wherein a connector comprises a copper pillar (Figure 2, 124; Paragraph [0033]; wherein the wires which are seen as pillar shaped, are made of copper) and the base is conductive (Figure 2, 123; Paragraph [0032]; wherein the base is made of a conductive body). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the connector and base taught by Kwak to be the connector as taught by Kaneda. The motivation being to electrically connect to elements (Kaneda, Paragraph [0033]).
Conclusion
ALYSSA M. PAPE
Examiner
Art Unit 3794
/JOANNE M RODDEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3794