DETAILED ACTION
This action replaces the final action mailed on 6/29/2026 and resets the period of reply.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 04/30/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the objections and rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 12/30/2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The claim amendments changed the scope of the claimed invention. See new grounds for rejection below.
Examiner wants to make note that this final replaces the final mailed 06/29/2026 due to claim 10 rejection not being present. Examiner apologizes for the error.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 8, 13-14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li (US 20180256099) herein referred to as Li.
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses An electronic device (Figure 2), comprising: a flexible carrier (Figure 2, 205) having a first surface, a second surface, and a lateral surface extending between the first surface and the second surface (See annotated Figure 2 below); a first sensing element supported on the lateral surface and having a first sensing area substantially coplanar with the first surface of the flexible carrier (Figure 2, 300); an electronic component disposed over the second surface of the flexible carrier (Figure 2, 216); and a first flexible connection element configured to connect the first sensing element and the electronic component (Figure 2, 240), wherein the first flexible connection element is configured to extend along a deformation direction of the electronic device (Figure 2, 240; Abstract; wherein device is “stretchable” therefore seen the deform in a lateral direction in which 240 extends along).
Regarding claim 2, Li discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein first sensing element has a first conductive base (Figure 3, 302) and a first connector (Figure 3, 303), wherein the first conductive base includes a third surface opposite to the first sensing area (See annotated Figure 3 below), a fourth surface opposite to the first sensing area and protruding from the third surface (See annotated Figure 3 below), and wherein the first connector is partially exposed from the third surface (Figure 3, 303).
Regarding claim 3, Li discloses the electronic device of claim 2, wherein the first conductive base includes a fifth surface contacting the lateral surface of the flexible carrier (See annotated Figure 3), and a sixth surface connecting between the third surface and the fourth surface (See annotated Figure 3), and wherein the fifth surface, the third surface, and the sixth surface of the first conductive base define a stepped structure (See annotated Figure 3)
Regarding claim 8, Li discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein a length the first flexible connection element is greater than a distance between two opposite ends of the first flexible connection element (Figure 2, 240; wherein when laid flat, the first flexible connection element length is greater than the distance between the two opposing ends since it’s in an arc).
Regarding claim 13, Li discloses the electronic device of claim 1, further comprising: a plurality of flexible connection elements including the first flexible connection element and configured to connect the first sensing element and the electronic component (Figure 2, 214A, 214B & 240), wherein each of the plurality of flexible connection elements has a highest point with respect to the flexible carrier (Figure 2, 214A, 214B & 240; wherein all of the flexible connection elements are in an arc shape therefore at the top of the arc is the highest point with respect to the flexible carrier).
Regarding claim 14, Li discloses the electronic device of claim 13, further comprising: an encapsulant covering the flexible carrier, the first sensing element, the electronic component, and the plurality of flexible connection elements (Figure 2, 250), wherein the encapsulant includes protruding portions overlapped with the highest points of the plurality of flexible connection elements in a direction substantially perpendicular to the second surface of the flexible carrier (Figure 2, 250).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4, 18-20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of CHU et al. (US 20230037713) herein referred to as CHU.
Regarding Claim 4, Li discloses the electronic device of claim 2 wherein the first flexible connection element extends across an interface between the first sensing element and the flexible carrier (Figure 2, 240). However, Li does not explicitly disclose wherein the first flexible connection element has an end connecting to the first connector and an opposite end connecting to the electronic component.
CHU discloses an electronic device (Figure 1) wherein a first flexible connection element (Figure 1, 150) has an end connecting to the first connector and an opposite end connecting to the electronic component (Figure 1; wherein 150 is connected to a first connection on substrate 110; Paragraph [0025]; wherein flexible connection element 150 is connected to the electronic component 120). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electronic device of Li to be the flexible connection element taught by CHU. The motivation being to electrically connect an electronic component to a connector (CHU, Paragraph [0025]).
Regarding claim 18, Li discloses the electronic device of claim 1 comprising second sensing element disposed over a surface of the flexible carrier (Figure 2, 212A); an interconnection structure disposed over the second surface of the flexible carrier (Figure 2, 215); a second flexible connection element (Figure 2, 214A); wherein the electronic component is configured to connecting the first flexible connection element and the second flexible connection element (Figure 2; wherein first flexible connection element 240 is connected to the second flexible connection element through electronic component 216). However, Li does not explicitly disclose the second sensing element disposed over the second surface of the flexible carrier; second flexible connection element configured to connect the second sensing element and the interconnection structure; wherein the interconnection structure comprises a connector for connecting the first flexible connection element and the second flexible connection element.
CHU discloses an electronic device (Figure 1) second sensing element disposed over the second surface of the flexible carrier (Figure 1, 120; Figure 2); second flexible connection element configured to connect the second sensing element and the interconnection structure (Figure 2, 150; wherein flexible connection element connects the second sensing element 120 to interconnection structure 114); wherein the interconnection structure comprises a connector for connecting the first flexible connection element and the second flexible connection element (Figure 2; wherein flexible connection elements are connected to a connector that are conductively connected to interconnection structure 114 and therefore are connected to each other). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electronic device of Li to be the flexible connection element taught by CHU. The motivation being to electrically connect an components to a connector (CHU, Paragraph [0025]).
Regarding claim 19, Li in view of CHU discloses the electronic device of claim 18. Li also discloses an encapsulant covering the interconnection structure, the first flexible connection element, and the second flexible connection element (Figure 2, 250) and the encapsulant comprise a same material such that an interface between the encapsulant and the base is not observed (Paragraph [0020] & [0022]; wherein substrate 205 is seen as the base for interconnection structure 215 and can be made of EVA, PE, CR, PORON, EPD, SCF or fabric textile and Encapsulant 250 can be made of EVA, PE, CR, PORON, EPD, SCF, or fabric textile). CHU also discloses wherein the interconnection structure further comprises a base covering the connector (See annotated Figure 1) and the connector of the interconnection structure is suspended in the encapsulant (Figure 1; wherein base and connector are both suspended in encapsulant 112 and 130). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electronic device of Li to include the structure as taught by CHU. The motivation being the encapsulant allows for insulation of the electrical elements (Paragraph [0021]).
Regarding claim 20, Li in view of CHU discloses the electronic device of claim 19. CHU also discloses wherein the connector of the interconnection structure comprises a copper pillar and the base of the interconnection structure is conductive (Paragraph [0025]; Figure 2, 150; wherein the entire interconnection structure comprises copper, such that such that the connector contains a pillar shapes and base comprises copper therefore is conductive). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electronic device of Li to include the structure as taught by CHU. The motivation being to electrically connect an electronic component to a connector (CHU, Paragraph [0025]).
Claims 5-6, 11-12, & 15-17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Appelt et al. (US 20180019221) herein referred to as Appelt.
Regarding Claim 5, Li discloses the electronic device of claim 2 comprising a second sensing element disposed over a surface of the flexible carrier (Figure 2, 212A) and having a second sensing area (Figure 2, 210A); an encapsulant covering the first flexible connection element and the electronic component (Figure 2, 250). However, Li does not explicitly disclose a second sensing element disposed over the second surface of the flexible carrier and wherein the second sensing area is substantially coplanar with a top surface of the encapsulant.
Appelt discloses an electronic device (Figure 1A) comprising a second sensing element disposed over the second surface of the flexible carrier (Figure 1A, 120) and wherein the second sensing area is substantially coplanar with a top surface of the encapsulant (Figure 1A; wherein 10b is coplanar with the top surface of encapsulant 10). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electronic device taught by Li to include a second sensing device as taught by Appelt. The motivation being to provide additional external communications (Appelt, Paragraph [0020]).
Regarding claim 6, Li in view of Appelt disclose the electronic device of claim 5. Li also discloses wherein the second sensing element has a second conductive base (Figure 2, 213A) and a second connector partially exposed from the second conductive base (Figure 2, 214A).
Regarding claim 11, Li in view of Appelt disclose the electronic device of claim 5. Appelt also discloses wherein the first sensing area is substantially coplanar with a bottom surface of the encapsulant (Figure 1A, 101 & 10). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electronic device taught by Li to include first sensing area is substantially coplanar with a bottom surface of the encapsulant as taught by Appelt. The motivation being it would be obvious to try different locations of the first sensing area within the encapsulant to see which allows for the best signal readings (MPEP 2143 (E))
Regarding claim 12, Li in view of Appelt disclose the electronic device of claim 11. Li also discloses wherein the first sensing area is configured to collect a biological signal (Paragraph [0008]), and the biological signal is transmitted to the electronic component without passing through the flexible carrier (Paragraph [0012]; wherein the signals are transmitted to the electronic component wirelessly therefore, do not pass through the flexible carrier).
Regarding Claim 15, Li discloses the electronic device of claim 14. However, Li does not explicitly disclose wherein the first sensing area is substantially coplanar with a bottom surface of the encapsulant.
Appelt discloses an electronic device (Figure 1A) wherein the first sensing area is substantially coplanar with a bottom surface of the encapsulant (Figure 1A, 101 & 10). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electronic device taught by Li to include first sensing area is substantially coplanar with a bottom surface of the encapsulant as taught by Appelt. The motivation being it would be obvious to try different locations of the first sensing area within the encapsulant to see which allows for the best signal readings (MPEP 2143 (E))
Regarding claim 16, Li in view of Appelt disclose the electronic device of claim 15. Li also discloses a second sensing element disposed over a surface of the flexible carrier (Figure 2, 212A) and having a second sensing area (Figure 2, 210A). Appelt also discloses a second sensing element disposed over the second surface of the flexible carrier (Figure 1A, 120). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electronic device taught by Li to include a second sensing device as taught by Appelt. The motivation being to provide additional external communications (Appelt, Paragraph [0020]).
Regarding claim 17, Li in view of Appelt disclose the electronic device of claim 16. Appelt also discloses wherein the second sensing area is substantially coplanar with a top surface of the encapsulant (Figure 1A; wherein 10b is coplanar with the top surface of encapsulant 10). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electronic device taught by Li to include second sensing area is substantially coplanar with a top surface of the encapsulant as taught by Appelt. The motivation being it would be obvious to try different locations of the second sensing area within the encapsulant to see which allows for the best signal readings (MPEP 2143 (E))
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Li and Appelt in view of CHU
Regarding Claim 7, Li in view of Appelt discloses a second flexible connection element having an end connecting to the second sensing element and an opposite end connecting to the electronic component (Li, Figure 2, 214A) and wherein the first flexible connection element and the second flexible connection element are arranged along the deformation direction of the electronic device sequentially (Figure 2, 214A & 240; Abstract; wherein device is “stretchable” therefore seen the deform in a lateral direction in which 240 extends along). However, Li in view of Appelt does not explicitly disclose a second flexible connection element having an end connecting to the second connector.
CHU discloses an electronic device (Figure 1) wherein a first flexible connection element (Figure 1, 150) has an end connecting to the first connector and an opposite end connecting to the electronic component (Figure 1; wherein 150 is connected to a first connection on substrate 110; Paragraph [0025]; wherein flexible connection element 150 is connected to the electronic component 120). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electronic device of Li to be the flexible connection element taught by CHU. The motivation being to electrically connect an components to a connector (CHU, Paragraph [0025]).
Claim 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Bardy et al. (US 20190069800) herein referred to as Bardy.
Regarding Claim 9, Li discloses the electronic device of claim 2, further comprising: a passive component (Figure 2, 201) and an antenna element disposed over the second surface of the flexible carrier (Figure 2, 220) wherein the first sensing element, the electronic component, the passive component, are arranged along the deformation direction of the electronic device sequentially (Figure 2; Abstract; wherein device is “stretchable” therefore seen the deform in a lateral direction in which 240 extends along). However, Li does not explicitly disclose a passive component disposed over the second surface of the flexible carrier; the antenna element arranged along the deformation direction of the electronic device sequentially.
Bardy discloses an electronic device (Figure 4) comprising a passive component disposed over a second surface of the flexible carrier (Paragraph [0077]; wherein an inline resistor, which is a passive component, is arranged on the non-conductive receptacle); and an antenna element disposed over a second surface of the flexible carrier (Paragraph [0133]; wherein a wireless antenna can be integrated into or within the housing such that the housing can be made of stainless steel which is non-conductive). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the passive element and antenna to be along the deformation direction and on a second surface of the flexible carrier portion as taught by Bardy. The motivation being to protects the patient from excessive leakage current should the circuit fail (Bardy, Paragraph [0077])
Regarding claim 10, Li in view of Bardy disclose the electronic device of claim 9. Li also discloses wherein the first sensing element, the electronic component, and the antenna element are arranged along a signal transmission path of the electronic device sequentially (Figure 2, 240, 216 & 230; wherein signal transmission path consist of gathering the signal from the first sensing device which is connected to the electronic component which then transmits to the antenna, the exact process is disclosed in Paragraph [0031]). Bardy discloses a passive component disposed over a second surface of the flexible carrier (Paragraph [0077]; wherein an inline resistor, which is a passive component, is arranged on the non-conductive receptacle). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the passive element to be along the signal transmission path sequentially. The motivation being to protects the patient from excessive leakage current should the circuit fail (Bardy, Paragraph [0077]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ALYSSA M. PAPE
Examiner
Art Unit 3794
/JOANNE M RODDEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3794