DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 5 recites “material material” in Line 2 and it appears the latter repeated word needs to be deleted. Appropriate correction is required.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, including Claims 1-5 in the reply filed on 12/01/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “grasping element” in Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Nowak et al. US 3747765 A.
Nowak et al. Fig. 9
Regarding Claim 1, Nowak et al. ‘765 discloses a filter assembly (meeting the limitation for in combination a filter and a tool for installing and removing the filter) from a filter chamber (meeting the limitation for a molten metal filtration box)(Abstract), said tool comprising a rod (62) (meeting the limitation for a shank), a flanged head end secured to a first end of the shank (63) (meeting the limitation for a head end secured to a first end of the shank), and a pin and arm (meeting the limitation for a grasping element) releasably secured to a second end of the shank (Column 5, Lines 58-65)(Figs. 8-9), said filter comprising a plate of porous ceramic material (56) defining a passage configured to receive the tool (Column 6, Lines 42-58), said passage including a compressible gasket (meeting the limitation for expandable gasket) (47) (Column5, Lines 38-48), meeting the limitation for the instant Claim.
Regarding Claim 2, Nowak et al. ‘765 discloses the head end is a flanged end of the rod (meeting the limitation for permanently secured to the shank) (Column 6 Lines 18-21).
Regarding Claim 3, Nowak et al. ‘765 discloses the grasping element comprises an aperture through which a pin passes through the shaft or rod (62) (Column 6, Lines 18-41), meeting the limitations of the instant Claim.
Regarding Claim 4, Nowak et al. ‘765 discloses the tool further comprises bifurcated arm (72) (meeting the limitation for a handle) shaped for insertion through the aperture (Column 6, Lines 18-41), meeting the limitations of the instant Claim.
Regarding Claim 5, Nowak et al. ‘765 discloses at least a portion of the tool includes Fiberfrax, a reinforced fibrous sheet material covering steel (Column 4 Lines 22-61, Column 6, Lines 18-41), meeting the limitations of the instant Claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yukihisa et al. JPH 05195098 A in view of Yarwood et al. US 4081371 A.
Fig. 2, Yukihisa et al. ‘098
Fig. 2, Yarwood et al. ‘371
Regarding Claim 1, Yukihisa et al. ‘098 teaches a filtering device (meeting the limitation for in combination a filter and a tool for installing and removing the filter) from a filtering furnace (meeting the limitation for a molten metal filtration box)[0001-0002], said tool comprising a pull-up body (11) (meeting the limitation for a shank), an underside protrusion (12) (meeting the limitation for a head end secured to a first end of the shank), a hook (17) having an engagement hole (16) screwed into groove (15) of the lifting body (11) (meeting the limitation for a grasping element releasably secured to a second end of the shank) [0006] (Fig. 2), said filter comprising a plate of porous ceramic material (7) defining a passage configured to receive the tool [0003].
Yukihisa et al. ‘098 does not expressly teach said passage includes an expandable gasket.
However, Yarwood et al. ‘371 teaches a filter chamber plate inserted into a molten metal filtration furnace wherein a filter plate of porous ceramic material is inserted into a passageway comprising a resilient gasket (meeting the limitation for an expandable gasket) in order to prevent leaks.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to include resilient/expandable gaskets in the passageway of Yukihisa et al. ‘098 in order to prevent leaks and secure the filter in place based on the teachings of Yarwood et al. ‘371 at (Column 8, Lines 19-44), meeting the limitation for the instant Claim.
Regarding Claim 2, modified Yukihisa et al. ‘098 teaches the limitations set forth above. Yukihisa et al. ‘098 further teaches the head end is a protrusion (12) of the pull-up body (11), meeting the limitation of the instant claim for the head end permanently secured to the shank.
Regarding Claim 3, modified Yukihisa et al. ‘098 teaches the limitations set forth above. Yukihisa et al. ‘098 further teaches the grasping element comprises a hook (17) with engagement hole (16), meeting the limitation of the instant Claim for an aperture.
Regarding Claim 4, modified Yukihisa et al. ‘098 teaches the limitations set forth above. Yukihisa et al. ‘098 further teaches the tool further comprises a jig for the engagement of the hook [0010], meeting the limitation of the instant Claim for a handle shaped for insertion through said aperture.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yukihisa et al. JPH 05195098 A in view of Yarwood et al. US 4081371 A as applied to Claims 1-4 above, further in view of Nowak et al. US 3747765.
Regarding Claim 5, Yukihisa et al. ‘098 modified by Yarwood et al. ‘371 teaches the limitations set forth above but does not expressly teach at least a portion of the tool includes reinforced fiber material covering steel.
However, Nowak et al. ‘765 teaches a molten metal filter assembly wherein at least a portion of the tool includes Fiberfrax, a reinforced fibrous material covering steel (Column 4 Lines 22-61, Column 6, Lines 18-41) used as a refractory sealant to protect the steel filter assembly as it withstands high temperatures.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to cover steel portions of the filtering device of modified Yukihisa et al. ‘098 in order to protect the device from high temperatures during the filtration of molten metal, meeting the limitations of the instant Claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 4426287 A teaches a plate-like filter with at least one filter-setting hole bored through.
/Keith D. Hendricks/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1733
/M.S.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1733