DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgements
Claims 1-17 are pending.
This action is Non-Final.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I and Species B (claims 1-2, 8-10, 17) in the reply filed on 1/8/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 3-7, 11-16 are withdrawn.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a detection unit configured to”, “a modifying unit configured to”, and “an estimating unit configured to” in claims 1-2, 8.
In review of the disclosure as filed the following statements of correspondence are made:
“a detection unit configured to” corresponds to structures of at least one PPG type contact sensors with or without processing capabilities; RGB camera with CPU with programming or dedicated circuitry, and equivalents
“a modifying unit configured to” corresponds to structures of CPU with programming or dedicated circuitry, and equivalents
“an estimating unit configured to” corresponds to structures of CPU with programming or dedicated circuitry, and equivalents
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-2, 8-10, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s):
modify a length of a measurement period based on a pulse pace of the living organism (mathematical concepts and mental processes (i.e. change t to x if pp>60BPM))
estimate biological information from the pulse wave detected in the measurement period (mathematical concepts and mental processes)
These claim limitations fall within the identified groupings of abstract ideas:
Mathematical Concepts:
mathematical relationships
mathematical formulas or equations
mathematical calculations
Mental Processes
concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion)
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because:
Under the step 2A, analysis is conducted on the additional features of the claim. Under this analysis, the additional features beyond the judicial exception are:
Claim 1
a detection unit configured to detect a pulse wave on a living organism (data gathering, insignificant pre-solution activities)
a modifying unit configured to (computer/circuit structures used as a tool)
an estimating unit configured to (computer/circuit structures used as a tool)
These features in the claim do not integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception as the additional elements in the claim do not apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that the claim is no more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
Limitation concepts that are indicative of integration into a practical application:
Improvements to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field - see MPEP 2106.05(a)
Applying or using a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition – see Vanda Memo
Applying the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine - see MPEP 2106.05(b)
Effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing - see MPEP 2106.05(c)
Applying or using the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception - see MPEP 2106.05(e) and Vanda Memo
Limitation concepts that are not indicative of integration into a practical application:
Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f)
Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception - see MPEP 2106.05(g)
Generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP 2106.05(h)
Under Step 2B, the claim limitations are evaluated for an inventive concept. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, when considered separately and in combination, they do not add significantly more to the exception. Analyzing the additional claim limitations individually, the additional limitation that is not directed to the abstract idea are the same as those identified above in step 2A. Such limitations related to the sensors are recognized by the courts as routine data gathering in order to input data to the mathematical algorithm/mental process, and thus, do not add a meaningful limitation to the method as it would be routinely used by those of ordinary skill in the art in order to apply the mathematical algorithm/mental process. In addition, these sensor structures are known from Fontanel et al. (Fontanel, US 2019/0328316) and Venkatraman et al. (Venkatraman, US 2014/0276119), and in general include generic sensors in generic locations producing the expected signals such as photoplethysmographic (PPG) related data signals. The computer structures cited above are claimed as performing generic computer functions routinely used in computer applications. Generic computer components recited as performing generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities amount to no more than implementing the abstract idea with a computerized system. The additional limitations recited in the dependent claims are directed to further details of the data processing and include intended use of the claimed structures (A more specific abstraction is still an abstraction). Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. Therefore, analyzing the claims as an ordered combination under the Mayo/Alice analysis the features claimed are directed to patent ineligible limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 8, 10, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fontanel et al. (Fontanel, US 2019/0328316).
Regarding claim 1, Fontanel teaches a biological information estimating device (see at least [0051]) comprising:
a detection unit configured to detect a pulse wave on a living organism during a measurement period (see at least [0051] PPG);
a modifying unit configured to modify a length of the measurement period based on a pulse pace of the living organism (see at least [0105] processors, [0057] “In particular embodiments, data from on one or more bio-sensors (e.g., ECG, PPG, accelerometer) may be monitored and collected from a user, e.g., to measure that user's heart rate, activity, or other related parameters. In particular embodiment, the sensing period (i.e., sampling period or measurement period) or frequency may be adaptive and adjusted based on a number of factors. In particular embodiments, the sensing period may be adjusted based on the user's heart rate, the data from accelerometer, or a combination of both. As an example and not by way of limitation, the sensing period may be adjusted to a shorter time period corresponding to a higher measurement frequency when a user's heart rate increases and/or the user's activity becomes more intense. As an example and not by way of limitation, the sensing period may be adjusted to a longer time period time corresponding to a lower measurement frequency when the user's has a relatively low heart rate (e.g., when the user's heart rate is within their resting area) or the user's activity is less intense.”); and
an estimating unit configured to estimate biological information from the pulse wave detected during the measurement period (see at least [0105] processors, Figures 14-17, [0057]).
Regarding claim 2, Fontanel teaches wherein the modifying unit reduces the length of the measurement period in response to an increase in the pulse pace (claimed as intended use, claimed structures capable of such: see at least [0105], [0057]).
Regarding claim 8, Fontanel teaches wherein the modifying unit reduces the length of the measurement period in response to an increase in a frequency of the pulse wave as detected after the start of the measurement period (claimed as intended use, claimed structures capable of such: see at least [0105], [0057]).
Regarding claim 10, Fontanel teaches wherein the biological information includes a pulse rate (see at least Figures 14-17, [0057]).
Regarding claim 17, Fontanel teaches wherein increase in the pulse pace is determined based on an increase in a frequency of the pulse wave as detected after the start of the measurement period (claimed as furthering intended use, claimed structures capable of such: see at least [0105], [0057]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fontanel et al. (Fontanel, US 2019/0328316) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Venkatraman et al. (Venkatraman, US 2014/0276119).
Regarding claim 9, the limitations are met by Fontanel, except the limitation of wherein the biological information includes a blood pressure is not directly taught.
Venkatraman teaches a related system for measuring physiological data including stress as well as heart rate and others from sensors including PPG (see at least Figure 4a-b, [0123]-[0128]), and teaches the biological information includes a blood pressure (see at least [0119], [0122]-[0124]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results of measuring blood pressure in addition to heart rate and stress in order to increase physiological condition/state understanding of the user such as identifying hypertension conditions during stressful events.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL R BLOCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791