DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: FIG. 15 through FIG. 17 describe “1100” which is not described in the specification. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-10, 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (CN 212810367 U, “Yu”) in view of Kozuki (US 20090280406 A1, “Kozuki”), Endo et al. (US 20110177369 A1, “Endo”) and Kim et al. (US 20200280042 A1, “Kim”). The machine translation is used herein for citation purposes.
Regarding claims 1, 15 and 16, Yu discloses an electrode assembly, comprising: a cathode plate, an anode plate and a separator, wherein the cathode plate, the separator and the anode plate are wound in a winding direction to form a bent region (see [n0014] “the electrode assembly further includes a barrier membrane for isolating adjacent positive and negative electrodes”; see [n0015] “the electrode assembly includes a positive electrode and a negative electrode. The positive electrode and the negative electrode are compacted and then wound to form a wound structure, wherein a barrier layer is provided between at least the innermost adjacent positive electrode and negative electrode in the bending region”; see FIG. 2 describes cathode plate, “positive electrode 102” & “negative electrode 101” & “separator 103”), the cathode plate is bent M times to form M bent parts in the bent region (see FIG. 2 describes cathode plate “positive electrode 102” & FIG. 2 describes “102” is bent M times & see [n0066] describes “the electrode assembly includes a flat region 100 and bent regions 200 located at both ends of the flat region 100”).
Yu discloses a first attachment region is formed on an inner surface of an Nth-bend part of the cathode plate (see FIG. 5 describes “4 barrier layer” & see [n0092] “multiple discontinuous barrier layers 4 are attached to the surface of the positive electrode 1” which reads on attachment regions), and a second attachment region is formed on an outer surface of the Nth-bend part, wherein M and N are positive integers, M ≥ 2 and 1 ≤ N ≤ M (see FIG. 3 describes attachment regions between layers; see [n0078] describes “the barrier layer 4 may be tape or adhesive paper. The tape includes an adhesive and a substrate”; see FIG. 5 & FIG. 6 describe “4” and “41”; see [n0108] “the second insulating layer coating area 121 is used to coat an insulating material”; M describes the total number of bends and the number of bent regions at the attachment region describes N) an ion blocking layer, wherein at least a part of the ion blocking layer is attached to the first attachment region (see [n0094] “the barrier layer 4 has at least one through hole 41 for some lithium ions to pass through and embed into the negative electrode active material layer of the negative electrode 2” & see FIG. 6 “41” & “4”; see FIG. 3 describes “1” is attached to “4”), and the ion blocking layer is used for preventing ions deintercalated from the first attachment region from being intercalated into the anode plate adjacent to the first attachment region during charging (see FIG. 5 describes “4 barrier layer”; see [n0068] “deintercalated lithium ions” & see [n0069] “lithium intercalation”; see [n0070] “this barrier layer is used to block at least a portion of the lithium ions that have escaped from the positive active material layer of the positive electrode sheet in the bending region. This prevents the ions blocked by the barrier layer from embedding into the negative active material layer of the adjacent negative electrode sheet in the bending region”). Yu does not explicitly disclose and a reinforcing layer, wherein at least a part of the reinforcing layer is attached to the second attachment region, and the reinforcing layer is provided with ion exchange channels which are through holes provided in a thickness direction of the reinforcing layer.
Kozuki teaches “21 reinforcing layer” in [0110] and describes “positive electrode plate 1 is provided with reinforcing layer 21 at least in the vicinity of a boundary between positive electrode activator composite coated area 5b and positive electrode activator composite uncoated area 5a, as shown in FIG. 8A”; see FIG. 9 describes “21”; see [0111] describes “it is desirable in this embodiment that reinforcing layers 21 are formed in a thickness equal to or less than that of positive electrode activator composite coated area 5b and negative electrode activator composite coated area 6b.” Kozuki teaches “reinforcing layers 21 can prevent weakening in the physical strength of the exposed portions of the current collectors. In addition, this embodiment can further improve the yield of manufacturing secondary batteries since reinforcing layers 21 can prevent positive electrode activator composite uncoated area 5a and negative electrode activator composite uncoated area 6a from being bent when they are being connected” in [0112].
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a reinforcing layer, as suggested by Kozuki (see FIG. 9 “21”) into the electrode assembly of Yu because doing so prevents weakening in physical strength, as suggested by Kozuki (see [0112]).
Endo teaches ion exchange channels in the reinforcing layer (see FIG. 2 describes “14 porous heat-resistant layer” & see [0074] “porous heat-resistant layer 14 has excellent heat resistance and mechanical strength. This serves to reinforce the mechanical strength of the lithium ion conductive layer 13 and to maintain the shape of the lithium ion conductive layer 13. As a result, the lithium ion conductive layer 13 and the negative electrode active material layer 31 are favorably kept in contact with each other, and thus, the reduction in the lithium ion conductivity of the negative electrode active material 31 can be suppressed. Further, the porous heat-resistant layer 14 has functions, for example, of preventing the occurrence of internal short circuit, minimizing the expansion of the short-circuited portion in the event of internal short circuit, and reducing the shrinkage of the separator 15 by heat.”).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate ion exchange channels in the reinforcing layer, as suggested by Endo (see FIG. 2 & [0074]) into the electrode assembly of Yu because doing so reinforces the mechanical strength and prevents short circuit and reduces the shrinkage of the separator by heat, as suggested by Yu (see [0074]).
Regarding the limitation wherein the electrode assembly has a flat region connected with the bent region, and in the winding direction, the reinforcing layer covers the bent region and at most only a part of the flat region, as required by claims 1, 15 and 16, Yu does not explicitly disclose.
Endo teaches in [0096] & see FIG. 2 “14 porous heat-resistant layer” is on “13” & “12” & FIG. 1 describes “12” is on the flat region. Endo teaches in [0026] “the porous heat-resistant layer 14 acts to prevent a short-circuited portion from expanding and thus to prevent an abrupt increase in temperature due to a large amount of heat generated in association with expansion of the short-circuited portion.”
Kim teaches in [0060] & FIG. 5C “flexible member 502” which reads on only a part of the flat region is covered. Kim teaches in [0020] “Therefore, it is possible to suppress the breakage of an electrode and an electrode terminal, which may occur due to bending and distortion, resulting from at least one external force, in a flexible environment. Also, it is possible to improve the workability and minimize the loss of energy density by placing a negative electrode as an outermost electrode on each of the uppermost stage and the lowermost stage, and thus enhance the bending durability and the safety of at least the battery”.
Yu and Kim are analogous to the current invention because they are related to the same filed of endeavor, namely electrode assemblies (see Title).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate “14” is on “13” & “12” (see FIG. 2; [0096]) & that “12” is on the flat region (see FIG. 1) as described by Endo into the electrode assembly of Yu because doing so prevents a short-circuit from expanding (see Endo [0026]) and would find it obvious that doing so reads on bent and flat regions have the reinforced layer.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Kim to include “flexible member 502” (see FIG. 5C & [0060] which describes 502 on only a part of the flat region) into the electrode assembly of Yu because doing so improves “bending durability and the safety of at least the battery”, as suggested by Kim (see [0020]).
Regarding claim 15, Yu discloses a processing method for an electrode assembly (see [n0206]). Yu discloses wherein the separator is used for separating the cathode plate and the anode plate (see [n0210]). Yu discloses and attaching at least a part of the ion blocking layer to the first attachment region (see [n0012] “barrier layer attached to one or both surfaces of the separator”). Yu does not explicitly disclose and a reinforcing layer nor at least a part of the reinforcing layer is attached to the second attachment region, wherein the reinforcing layer is provided with ion exchange channels which are through holes provided in a thickness direction of the reinforcing layer.
Kozuki teaches “21 reinforcing layer” in [0110] and describes “positive electrode plate 1 is provided with reinforcing layer 21 at least in the vicinity of a boundary between positive electrode activator composite coated area 5b and positive electrode activator composite uncoated area 5a, as shown in FIG. 8A”; see FIG. 9 describes “21”; see [0111] describes “it is desirable in this embodiment that reinforcing layers 21 are formed in a thickness equal to or less than that of positive electrode activator composite coated area 5b and negative electrode activator composite coated area 6b.” Kozuki teaches “reinforcing layers 21 can prevent weakening in the physical strength of the exposed portions of the current collectors. In addition, this embodiment can further improve the yield of manufacturing secondary batteries since reinforcing layers 21 can prevent positive electrode activator composite uncoated area 5a and negative electrode activator composite uncoated area 6a from being bent when they are being connected” in [0112].
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a reinforcing layer, as suggested by Kozuki (see FIG. 9 “21”) into the electrode assembly of Yu because doing so prevents weakening in physical strength, as suggested by Kozuki (see [0112]).
Endo teaches ion exchange channels in the reinforcing layer (see FIG. 2 describes “14 porous heat-resistant layer” & see [0074] “porous heat-resistant layer 14 has excellent heat resistance and mechanical strength. This serves to reinforce the mechanical strength of the lithium ion conductive layer 13 and to maintain the shape of the lithium ion conductive layer 13. As a result, the lithium ion conductive layer 13 and the negative electrode active material layer 31 are favorably kept in contact with each other, and thus, the reduction in the lithium ion conductivity of the negative electrode active material 31 can be suppressed. Further, the porous heat-resistant layer 14 has functions, for example, of preventing the occurrence of internal short circuit, minimizing the expansion of the short-circuited portion in the event of internal short circuit, and reducing the shrinkage of the separator 15 by heat”).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate ion exchange channels in the reinforcing layer, as suggested by Endo (see FIG. 2 & [0074]) into the electrode assembly of Yu because doing so reinforces the mechanical strength, prevents short circuit and reduces the shrinkage of the separator by heat, as suggested by Yu (see [0074]).
Regarding claim 16, Yu discloses a processing device for an electrode assembly (see FIG. 25 & see [n0213] describes “electrode assembly manufacturing equipment” which reads on processing device for an electrode assembly; see [n0213] “first providing device 231, second providing device 232, a third providing device 233” & see [n0214] “first supplying device 231 is used to supply the pos. electrode sheet” & see [n0215] “second supplying device 232 is used to supply the neg. electrode sheet”; see [n0216] “third providing device 233 is used to provide the barrier layer”). Yu discloses a second provision device (see [n0213] “an assembly 234” & see [n0217] describes “assembly device 234 is used to form a bending area by winding” and describes “pos. and neg. electrode sheets”) and an assembly device for attaching at least a part of the ion blocking layer to the first attachment region (see [n0213] “assembly device 234” & see [n0217]).
Yu does not explicitly disclose and a reinforcing layer nor at least a part of the reinforcing layer is attached to the second attachment region, wherein the reinforcing layer is provided with ion exchange channels which are through holes provided in a thickness direction of the reinforcing layer.
Kozuki teaches “21 reinforcing layer” in [0110] and describes “positive electrode plate 1 is provided with reinforcing layer 21 at least in the vicinity of a boundary between positive electrode activator composite coated area 5b and positive electrode activator composite uncoated area 5a, as shown in FIG. 8A”; see FIG. 9 describes “21”; see [0111] describes “it is desirable in this embodiment that reinforcing layers 21 are formed in a thickness equal to or less than that of positive electrode activator composite coated area 5b and negative electrode activator composite coated area 6b.” Kozuki teaches “reinforcing layers 21 can prevent weakening in the physical strength of the exposed portions of the current collectors. In addition, this embodiment can further improve the yield of manufacturing secondary batteries since reinforcing layers 21 can prevent positive electrode activator composite uncoated area 5a and negative electrode activator composite uncoated area 6a from being bent when they are being connected” in [0112].
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a reinforcing layer, as suggested by Kozuki (see FIG. 9 “21”) into the electrode assembly of Yu because doing so prevents weakening in physical strength, as suggested by Kozuki (see [0112]).
Endo teaches ion exchange channels in the reinforcing layer (see FIG. 2 describes “14 porous heat-resistant layer” & see [0074] “porous heat-resistant layer 14 has excellent heat resistance and mechanical strength. This serves to reinforce the mechanical strength of the lithium ion conductive layer 13 and to maintain the shape of the lithium ion conductive layer 13. As a result, the lithium ion conductive layer 13 and the negative electrode active material layer 31 are favorably kept in contact with each other, and thus, the reduction in the lithium ion conductivity of the negative electrode active material 31 can be suppressed. Further, the porous heat-resistant layer 14 has functions, for example, of preventing the occurrence of internal short circuit, minimizing the expansion of the short-circuited portion in the event of internal short circuit, and reducing the shrinkage of the separator 15 by heat”).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate ion exchange channels in the reinforcing layer, as suggested by Endo (see FIG. 2 & [0074]) into the electrode assembly of Yu because doing so reinforces the mechanical strength, prevents short circuit and reduces the shrinkage of the separator by heat, as suggested by Yu (see [0074]).
Regarding claim 2, Yu discloses the electrode assembly of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the Nth-bend part comprises a first-bend part (see FIG. 4 & [n0092] “the adjacent positive electrode 1 and the negative electrode 2 of the bending region C include a plurality of non-continuous barrier layers 4 are distributed at intervals along the bending direction L, so that some lithium ions are not blocked by the barrier layers 4, that is, some lithium ions pass through the gap between two adjacent barrier layers 4 and are embedded into the neg. electrode active material layer of the neg. electrode 2” and FIG. 3 describes “4” comprises a first-bend part).
Regarding claim 3, Yu discloses the electrode assembly of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the electrode assembly has a flat region connected with the bent region (see FIG. 2 describes “102” is bent M times & see [n0066] describes “electrode assembly includes a flat region 100 and bending areas 200 located at two ends of the flat region 100” which describes the bent region and flat region are connected); and the two ends, extending in the winding direction, of each of the ion blocking layer and the reinforcing layer are all located in the flat region (see FIG. 12 describes “first barrier layer 1004” & annotated “Fr” which describes the ends are in the flat region).
Regarding claim 4, Yu discloses the electrode assembly of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the ion blocking layer comprises a first binding layer attached to the first attachment region (see [n0094] “the barrier layer 4 has at least one through hole 41 for some lithium ions to pass through and embed into the negative electrode active material layer of the negative electrode 2”; see FIG. 6 “41” & “4”; see FIG. 3 describes “1” is attached to “4”; see [n0078] “the barrier layer 4 may be tape of adhesive paper. The tape includes an adhesive and a substrate”; see [n0083] describes “barrier layer 4 is attached to one or both surfaces” which reads on a second binding layer). Yu does not explicitly disclose and the reinforcing layer comprises a reinforcing base layer nor and the reinforcing base layer is attached to the second attachment region by means of the second binding layer.
Kozuki teaches “21 reinforcing layer” in [0110] and describes “positive electrode plate 1 is provided with reinforcing layer 21 at least in the vicinity of a boundary between positive electrode activator composite coated area 5b and positive electrode activator composite uncoated area 5a, as shown in FIG. 8A”; see FIG. 9 describes “21”; see [0111] describes “it is desirable in this embodiment that reinforcing layers 21 are formed in a thickness equal to or less than that of positive electrode activator composite coated area 5b and negative electrode activator composite coated area 6b.” Kozuki teaches “reinforcing layers 21 can prevent weakening in the physical strength of the exposed portions of the current collectors. In addition, this embodiment can further improve the yield of manufacturing secondary batteries since reinforcing layers 21 can prevent positive electrode activator composite uncoated area 5a and negative electrode activator composite uncoated area 6a from being bent when they are being connected” in [0112]. Kozuki teaches “reinforcing layers 21” & “binder” & “slurry is coated on the boundary between pos. electrode activator composite coated area 5b and pos. electrode activator composite uncoated area 5a” in [0111]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a reinforcing layer, as suggested by Kozuki (see FIG. 9 “21”) into the electrode assembly of Yu because doing so prevents weakening in physical strength, as suggested by Kozuki (see [0112]).
Regarding claim 5, Yu discloses the electrode assembly of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the ion blocking layer comprises a blocking base layer and a first binding layer (see [n0094] “barrier layer 4 has at least one through hole 41 for some lithium ions to pass through and embed into the neg. electrode active material layer of the neg. electrode 2” & see FIG. 6 “41” & “4”; see FIG. 3 describes “3” is next to “4”; see [n0078] describes “the barrier layer 4 may be tape of adhesive paper. The tape includes an adhesive and a substrate”; see [n0072] describes “separator 3 includes a separator base layer and a functional layer located on the surface of the separator base layer”), and the blocking base layer (see FIG. 3 “3”) is attached to the first attachment region by means of the first binding layer (see FIG. 3 describes “3” is attached to “4” & “4” is attached to the binding layer of “1”; see [n0078] “the barrier layer 4 may be tape or adhesive paper. The tape includes an adhesive and a substrate”). Yu does not explicitly disclose and the reinforcing layer comprises a reinforcing base layer and a second binding layer, nor the reinforcing base layer is attached to the second attachment region by means of the second binding layer.
Kozuki teaches “21 reinforcing layer” in [0110] and describes “positive electrode plate 1 is provided with reinforcing layer 21 at least in the vicinity of a boundary between positive electrode activator composite coated area 5b and positive electrode activator composite uncoated area 5a, as shown in FIG. 8A”; see FIG. 9 describes “21”; see [0111] describes “it is desirable in this embodiment that reinforcing layers 21 are formed in a thickness equal to or less than that of positive electrode activator composite coated area 5b and negative electrode activator composite coated area 6b.” Kozuki teaches “reinforcing layers 21 can prevent weakening in the physical strength of the exposed portions of the current collectors. In addition, this embodiment can further improve the yield of manufacturing secondary batteries since reinforcing layers 21 can prevent positive electrode activator composite uncoated area 5a and negative electrode activator composite uncoated area 6a from being bent when they are being connected” in [0112]. Kozuki teaches “reinforcing layers 21” & “binder” & “slurry is coated on the boundary between pos. electrode activator composite coated area 5b and pos. electrode activator composite uncoated area 5a” in [0111]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a reinforcing layer, as suggested by Kozuki (see FIG. 9 “21”) into the electrode assembly of Yu because doing so prevents weakening in physical strength, as suggested by Kozuki (see [0112]).
Regarding claim 7, Yu discloses the electrode assembly of claim 5 and further discloses wherein the blocking base layer is made of a material including polypropylene (see FIG. 3 describes “3” is attached to “4” & “4” is attached to the binding layer of “1”; see [n0078] “the barrier layer 4 may be tape or adhesive paper. The tape includes an adhesive and a substrate”; see [n0072] “separator 3” & “separator base layer can be at least one of polypropylene”).
Regarding claim 8, Yu discloses the electrode assembly of claim 4 and further discloses wherein the first binding layer is made of a material including at least one of polyvinylidene fluoride (see FIG. 3 describes “3” is attached to “4” & “4” is attached to the binding layer of “1”; see [n0078] describes “the barrier layer 4 may be tape or adhesive paper”; see [n0075] “barrier layer 4 may be made of” & “polymers to block lithium ions from passing through” & see [n0109] “the adhesive includes one or more of polyvinylidene fluoride”).
Regarding claim 9, Yu discloses the electrode assembly of claim 4. Yu does not explicitly disclose the reinforcing base layer is made of a material including at least one of polyvinyl chloride, polyethylene, polypropylene, polyvinylidene fluoride, a hexafluoropropylene-vinylidene fluoride copolymer, a tetrafluoropropylene-vinylidene fluoride copolymer, a trifluorochloropropylene-vinylidene fluoride copolymer, polyethylene terephthalate, polyimide, polyetherimide, polycarbonate, polystyrene, polyphenylene sulfide, polyvinylidene fluoride or a copolymer thereof, polyarylate, fibers, nylon and non-woven fabrics.
Kozuki teaches “reinforcing layers 21” & binder in [0111] & “binder” & “poly-vinylidene fluoride” in [0078]. Kozuki teaches “For the binder, any of poly-vinylidene fluoride (“PVDF”)” & “the like materials is used since they are also stable under the potential of the positive electrode” in [0078].
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate reinforcing layer “21”, as suggested by Kozuki and is “poly-vinylidene fluoride”, as suggested by Kozuki into the electrode assembly of Yu because Kozuki teaches PVDF is stable under the potential of the pos. electrode (see [0078]).
Regarding claim 10, Yu discloses the electrode assembly of claim 5 and further discloses through holes (see [n0094] describes “the barrier layer 4 has at least one through hole 41 for some lithium ions to pass through”). Yu does not explicitly disclose wherein the through holes penetrate through the reinforcing base layer and the second binding layer.
Kozuki teaches “21 reinforcing layer” in [0110] and describes “positive electrode plate 1 is provided with reinforcing layer 21 at least in the vicinity of a boundary between positive electrode activator composite coated area 5b and positive electrode activator composite uncoated area 5a, as shown in FIG. 8A”; see FIG. 9 describes “21”; see [0111] describes “it is desirable in this embodiment that reinforcing layers 21 are formed in a thickness equal to or less than that of positive electrode activator composite coated area 5b and negative electrode activator composite coated area 6b.” Kozuki teaches “reinforcing layers 21 can prevent weakening in the physical strength of the exposed portions of the current collectors. In addition, this embodiment can further improve the yield of manufacturing secondary batteries since reinforcing layers 21 can prevent positive electrode activator composite uncoated area 5a and negative electrode activator composite uncoated area 6a from being bent when they are being connected” in [0112].
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a reinforcing layer, as suggested by Kozuki (see FIG. 9 “21”) into the electrode assembly of Yu because doing so prevents weakening in physical strength, as suggested by Kozuki (see [0112]).
Endo teaches ion exchange channels in the reinforcing layer (see FIG. 2 describes “14 porous heat-resistant layer” & see [0074] “porous heat-resistant layer 14 has excellent heat resistance and mechanical strength. This serves to reinforce the mechanical strength of the lithium ion conductive layer 13 and to maintain the shape of the lithium ion conductive layer 13. As a result, the lithium ion conductive layer 13 and the negative electrode active material layer 31 are favorably kept in contact with each other, and thus, the reduction in the lithium ion conductivity of the negative electrode active material 31 can be suppressed. Further, the porous heat-resistant layer 14 has functions, for example, of preventing the occurrence of internal short circuit, minimizing the expansion of the short-circuited portion in the event of internal short circuit, and reducing the shrinkage of the separator 15 by heat”).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate ion exchange channels in the reinforcing layer, as suggested by Endo (see FIG. 2 & [0074]) into the electrode assembly of Yu because doing so reinforces the mechanical strength, prevents short circuit and reduces the shrinkage of the separator by heat, as suggested by Yu (see [0074]).
Regarding claim 12, Yu discloses the electrode assembly of claim 1 and further discloses a battery cell (see [n0096] “battery cell”), comprising: a housing (see FIG. 20 describes “1811 shell”), an electrolyte solution (see [n0195] “electrolyte”), a cover plate (see FIG. 20 & [n0195] “cover plate 1812”) wherein the housing has a receiving cavity and an opening (see FIG. 20 describes receiving cavity and opening of 1811 shell; see [n0195] describes “receiving cavity of the shell 1811”) and the electrode assembly and the electrolyte solution are received in the receiving cavity (see FIG. 20 & [n0195] describes the electrode assembly “182” & “housed within the receiving cavity of the shell 1811” & “filled with electrolyte and sealed”) and the cover plate is used for sealing the opening of the housing (see FIG. 20 & [n0195] describes “1812 cover plate” & upon closing seals the opening of the battery).
Regarding claim 13, Yu discloses the battery cell of claim 12 and further discloses wherein the battery cell is received in the case (see [n0195] “battery cell” & “shell 1811” describes the case & FIG. 20 describes “182” is received in the shell “1811” upon assembling the battery).
Regarding claim 14, Yu discloses the battery of claim 13 and further discloses a power consuming device configured to receive power provided by the battery (see [n0201] “battery can supply power to an electrical device, and the battery may be referred to as a battery pack, for example, for powering a car”).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (CN 212810367 U, “Yu”) in view of Kozuki (US 20090280406 A1, “Kozuki”), Endo et al. (US 20110177369 A1, “Endo”) and Kim et al. (US 20200280042 A1, “Kim”), as applied to claim 5, and in further view of Tononishi et al. (US 20150024264 A1, “Tononishi”). The machine translation is used herein for citation purposes.
Regarding claim 6, Yu discloses the electrode assembly of claim 5 and further discloses wherein the blocking base layer comprises a first body part (see FIG. 3 describes “3” is attached to “4” & “4” is attached to the binding layer of “1”; see [n0078] “the barrier layer 4 may be tape or adhesive paper. The tape includes an adhesive and a substrate”). Yu discloses the first binding layer is used for binding at least a part of the first body part to the first attachment region (see FIG. 3 describes “3” is attached to “4” and “4” is attached to the binding layer of “1”; see [n0078] “the barrier layer 4 may be tape or adhesive paper”). Yu discloses winding axis (see FIG. 2 describes winding around L). Yu discloses the second binding layer is used for binding at least a part of the second body part to the second attachment region (see FIG. 3 describes “3” is attached to “4” & “4” is attached to the binding layer of “1”; see [n0078] “barrier layer 4 may be tape or adhesive paper”).
Yu does not explicitly disclose and a first extension part connected with the first body part, nor the first extension part protrudes from the first attachment region, nor the reinforcing base layer comprises a second body part and a second extension part connected with the second body part, nor the second extension part protrudes from the second attachment region in the direction of the winding axis, nor and the first extension part and the second extension part are connected by means of the first binding layer.
Tononishi teaches extension part connected with the first body part (see FIG. 5 “skirt 50b” describes the first body part and “base 50a” describes the first extension part). Tononishi teaches “backing member 50 further has the reinforcing piece 50 coupled to the base 50a and the skirt 50b. This can enhance the rigidity of the skirt 50b to the base 50a, and can improve the strength of the backing member 50”).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate extension part connected with the first body part, as suggested by Tononishi (see FIG. 5) into the electrode assembly of Yu because doing so improves the strength.
Kozuki teaches “21 reinforcing layer” in [0111] & describes “it is desirable in this embodiment that reinforcing layers 21 are formed in a thickness equal to or less than that of positive electrode activator composite coated area 5b and negative electrode activator composite coated area 6b.” Kozuki teaches “reinforcing layers 21 can prevent weakening in the physical strength of the exposed portions of the current collectors. In addition, this embodiment can further improve the yield of manufacturing secondary batteries since reinforcing layers 21 can prevent positive electrode activator composite uncoated area 5a and negative electrode activator composite uncoated area 6a from being bent when they are being connected” in [0112]. Kozuki teaches “reinforcing layers 21” & “binder” & “slurry is coated on the boundary between pos. electrode activator composite coated area 5b and pos. electrode activator composite uncoated area 5a” in [0111].
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a reinforcing layer, as suggested by Kozuki (see FIG. 9 “21”) into the electrode assembly of Yu because doing so prevents weakening in physical strength, as suggested by Kozuki (see [0112]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (CN 212810367 U, “Yu”) in view of Kozuki (US 20090280406 A1, “Kozuki”), Endo et al. (US 20110177369 A1, “Endo”) and Kim et al. (US 20200280042 A1, “Kim”), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hamano et al. (US 6225010 B1, “Hamano”). The machine translation is used herein for citation purposes.
Regarding claim 11, Yu discloses the electrode assembly of claim 1 and further discloses winding direction (see FIG. 2). Yu does not explicitly disclose in the direction of the winding axis of the electrode assembly, the through holes are distributed on the reinforcing layer in a broken line or a curved line.
Hamano teaches curved through holes (see FIG. 4 “12 through hole” and describes a curved line; see P13 col 5 par 2 “through-holes 12 that are made through the adhesive resin layer 11, satisfactory ion conduction -is guaranteed through the electrode-electrolyte interface to reduce ion conduction resistance between electrodes. It is thus made possible to establish equality to conventional lithium ion batteries having an outer case in terms of the quantity of ions moving in and out of the active material of the electrodes and the rate and quantity of migration of ions to the facing electrode”).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate curved through holes, as suggested by Hamano (see FIG. 4 and P13 col 5 par 2) into the electrode assembly of Yu because doing so provides “satisfactory ion conduction – is guaranteed through the electrode-electrolyte interface to reduce ion conduction resistance between electrodes”, as suggested by Hamano (see P13 col 5 par 2).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.A.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/JAMES M ERWIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725 05/20/2026