DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawai et al. (US 20040087427 A1, “Kawai”) in view of Kanazawa et al. (US 20250047388 A1, “Kanazawa”) and further in view of HAN et al. (US 20180143463 A1, “HAN”) and Yang et al. (US 20220384326 A1, “Yang”)
Regarding claim 1, Kawai discloses (Fig. 1) an electronic sub-assembly comprising: a ceramic (para [0081]) substrate (1) having a top surface and a bottom surface, the substrate comprising: a plurality of layers of ceramic material (1a – 1d) disposed between the top surface and the bottom surface of the substrate, and a plurality of conductive structures (2 & 3) passing through the substrate between the top surface and the bottom surface of the substrate; a ball grid array (8) disposed on the bottom surface of the substrate, the ball grid array comprising a plurality of solder balls (para [0084]), wherein at least a portion of the solder balls are connected to at least a portion of the conductive structures (See annotated figure below);
Kawai is silent on an electro-absorption modulated laser (EML) disposed on the top surface of the substrate, the EML being soldered to at least a portion of the conductive structures with no wire bonds used, said portion of the conductive structures transmitting high frequency signals of at least 50 GHz, extending through the ceramic substrate and being connected to a portion of the solder balls.
However, Kanazawa discloses (Fig. 1a, 2a, 3a, 4a) an electro-absorption modulated laser (EML) (12, 32) disposed on the top surface of the substrate (31), the EML being connected to at least a portion of the conductive structures (33, 34), said portion of the conductive structures transmitting high frequency signals of at least 50 GHz, extending through the ceramic substrate and being connected to a portion of the solder balls (see para [0020] - [0024]).
Kawai and Kanazawa are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of electronic sub-assembly. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kawai to incorporate the teachings of Kanazawa and provide an electro-absorption modulated laser (EML) (12, 32) disposed on the top surface of the substrate (31), the EML being connected to at least a portion of the conductive structures (33, 34), said portion of the conductive structures and a portion of the solder balls connected thereto transmitting high frequency signals of at least 50 GHz (see para [0020] - [0024]). Doing so would allow the waveguide of the EML to be freely set, and the high frequency band of the EML can be improved (para [0025])
Kawai in view of Kanazawa is silent on the EML being soldered to at least a portion of the conductive structures with no wire bonds used
However, HAN discloses (Fig. 3) discloses the EML (200) being soldered to at least a portion of the conductive structures with no wire bonds used (See para [0041])
Kawai in view of Kanazawa and HAN are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of electronic sub-assembly. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kawai in view of Kanazawa to incorporate the teachings of HAN and provide discloses the EML (200) being soldered to at least a portion of the conductive structures with no wire bonds used (See para [0041]). Doing so would ensure both thermal and electrical connectivity critical for high-speed optical modulation (para [0039] – [0041])
Kawai in view of Kanazawa and Han is silent on said portion of the conductive structure transmitting high frequency signals of at least 50 GHz, extending through the substrate and being connected to a portion of the solder balls.
However, Yang discloses (Fig. 27k) said portion of the conductive structure transmitting high frequency signals of at least 50 GHz, extending through the substrate (See fig. 27k) and being connected to a portion of the solder balls (See para [0362], [0364] and [0366]).
Kawai in view of Kanazawa and Han and Yang are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of electronic sub-assembly. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kawai in view of Kanazawa and Han to incorporate the teachings of Yang and provide said portion of the conductive structure transmitting high frequency signals of at least 50 GHz, extending through the substrate (See fig. 27k) and being connected to a portion of the solder balls (See para [0362], [0364] and [0366]). Doing so would enable minimal energy loss and excellent thermal-mechanical reliability (para [0366] – [0367]).
Regarding claim 2, Kawai in view of Kanazawa, HAN and Yang discloses the electronic sub-assembly of claim 1, wherein Kawai further discloses that the conductive structures are formed as openings formed through the layers of ceramic material (see annotated figure above) and filled with conductive material (para [0081]).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawai et al. (US 20040087427 A1, “Kawai”) in view of Kanazawa et al. (US 20250047388 A1, “Kanazawa”), HAN et al. (US 20180143463 A1, “HAN”) and Yang et al. (US 20220384326 A1, “Yang”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (US 20190254165 A1, “Wang”)
Regarding claim 10, Kawai in view of Kanazawa, HAN and Yang discloses the electronic sub-assembly of claim 1,
Kawai in view of Kanazawa, HAN and Yang fails to disclose wherein the electronic sub-assembly is a transmitter optical sub-assembly (TOSA).
However, Wang discloses (Fig. 1) electronic sub-assembly is a transmitter optical sub-assembly (140) (TOSA) (para [0004] and [0030]).
Kawai in view of Kanazawa, HAN, Yang and Wang are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of electronic sub-assembly. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kawai in view of Kanazawa, HAN and Yang to incorporate the teachings of Wang and provide electronic sub-assembly is a transmitter optical sub-assembly (140) (TOSA) (para [0004] and [0030]). Doing so would provide a reliable, high-performance solution for converting electrical signals to optical signals (para [0004]).
Conclusion
/SIDI M MAIGA/Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/TIMOTHY J THOMPSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847