DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to communication received on 5/31/23.
Election/Restrictions
Restriction to one of the following inventions is required under 35 U.S.C. 121:
I. Claims 1-21, drawn to a method, classified in C23C16/325.
II. Claims 22-23, drawn to a product, classified in G03F7/11.
III. Claim 24, drawn to an apparatus, classified in H01L21/0273.
The inventions are independent or distinct, each from the other because:
Inventions Group I and II are related as process of making and product made. The inventions are distinct if either or both of the following can be shown: (1) that the process as claimed can be used to make another and materially different product or (2) that the product as claimed can be made by another and materially different process (MPEP § 806.05(f)). In the instant case the product of Group II is not limited to being made by the process of Group I. As a product-by-process claim, it is only restricted to the structure implied by the process steps, not the steps themselves.
Inventions Group I and III are related as process and apparatus for its practice. The inventions are distinct if it can be shown that either: (1) the process as claimed can be practiced by another and materially different apparatus or by hand, or (2) the apparatus as claimed can be used to practice another and materially different process. (MPEP § 806.05(e)). In this case the apparatus of Group III is not necessarily limited to the steps of Group I and vice versa, as process steps cannot limit an apparatus claim.
Inventions Group II and III are related as apparatus and product made. The inventions in this relationship are distinct if either or both of the following can be shown: (1) that the apparatus as claimed is not an obvious apparatus for making the product and the apparatus can be used for making a materially different product or (2) that the product as claimed can be made by another and materially different apparatus (MPEP § 806.05(g)). In this case the product of Group II is not necessarily limited to being made by the apparatus of Group III.
Restriction for examination purposes as indicated is proper because all the inventions listed in this action are independent or distinct for the reasons given above and there would be a serious search and/or examination burden if restriction were not required because one or more of the following reasons apply:
The inventions have gained a separate status in the art.
Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of an invention to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected invention.
The election of an invention may be made with or without traverse. To reserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
During a telephone conversation with Cynthia Pillote on 12/20/25 a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of Group I, claims 1-21. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claim 22-24 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
The examiner has required restriction between product or apparatus claims and process claims. Where applicant elects claims directed to the product/apparatus, and all product/apparatus claims are subsequently found allowable, withdrawn process claims that include all the limitations of the allowable product/apparatus claims should be considered for rejoinder. All claims directed to a nonelected process invention must include all the limitations of an allowable product/apparatus claim for that process invention to be rejoined.
In the event of rejoinder, the requirement for restriction between the product/apparatus claims and the rejoined process claims will be withdrawn, and the rejoined process claims will be fully examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. Thus, to be allowable, the rejoined claims must meet all criteria for patentability including the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 101, 102, 103 and 112. Until all claims to the elected product/apparatus are found allowable, an otherwise proper restriction requirement between product/apparatus claims and process claims may be maintained. Withdrawn process claims that are not commensurate in scope with an allowable product/apparatus claim will not be rejoined. See MPEP § 821.04. Additionally, in order for rejoinder to occur, applicant is advised that the process claims should be amended during prosecution to require the limitations of the product/apparatus claims. Failure to do so may result in no rejoinder. Further, note that the prohibition against double patenting rejections of 35 U.S.C. 121 does not apply where the restriction requirement is withdrawn by the examiner before the patent issues. See MPEP § 804.01.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The claim recites 1,2-bis(triethoxysily)ethane; 1,2-bis(methyldiethixysily)ethane which appear to be misspellings of 1,2-bis(triethoxysilyl)ethane and 1,2-bis(methyldiethoxysilyl)ethane, and will be interpreted as such. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 10, 12, 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zyulkov et al. US PGPub 2021/0111025 hereinafter ZYULKOV.
As for claim 1, ZYULKOV teaches “Methods of forming structures including a photoresist underlayer and structures including the photoresist underlayer are disclosed” (abstract, lines 1-3), i.e. a method of forming a structure comprising a photo resist underlayer.
ZYULKOV teaches “In some embodiments, forming the underlayer comprises a plasma-enhanced atomic layer deposition (PEALD) process comprising one or more cycles, the cycles comprising: providing a substrate to a reaction chamber” (paragraph 66, lines 1-4), and “During step 104, a photoresist underlayer is formed on a surface of the substrate” (paragraph 119, lines 1-2; see further the entire paragraph), i.e. the method comprising the steps of: providing a substrate within a reaction chamber; forming a photo resist underlayer overlying a surface of the substrate using a first plasma process.
ZYULKOV teaches “In some embodiments, the underlayer may be subjected to a surface treatment, e.g. a surface treatment that results in a surface termination. The surface treatment may be applied to both monolithic underlayers and to underlayers comprising a lower underlayer part and an upper underlayer part. Such a surface treatment may obviate the need for an upper underlayer part, or it may be used to treat the surface of an upper underlayer part” (paragraph 174) and “Such surface treatments allow suitably controlling the surface energy of the underlayer for improved photo resist adhesion” (paragraph 177) i.e. forming an adhesion layer using a second plasma process.
ZYULKOV further teaches “Additionally or alternatively, the surface treatment may comprise the use of a halogen-substituted silane and/or of an alkoxysilane such as a methoxysilane or an ethoxysilane” (paragraph 175, lines 12-15) and “Additionally or alternatively, the surface treatment may comprise subjecting the underlayer to a noble gas plasma, e.g. an Ar, He, Ne, Kr, or Xe plasma” (paragraph 176), i.e. comprising providing a silicon precursor to the reaction chamber; providing oxygen-free gas into the reaction chamber; and forming activated species that react with the silicon precursor or a derivative thereof to form the adhesion layer.
ZYULKOV teaches “A temperature within a reaction chamber during steps 110 can be less than 500° C. , less than 400° C., less than 300° C. or between about 100° C. and about 500° C., or about 150 ° C. and about 300° C” (paragraph 142, lines 1-4), i.e. a range that overlaps with wherein the second plasma process is performed at a temperature greater than 75 °C, 85 °C, or 100 °C, or at a temperature of at least 100 °C and no more than 180 °C or at a temperature of at least 180 °C and no more than 300 °C. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d, 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP 2144.05.
As for claim 2, ZYULKOV teaches “In accordance with exemplary embodiments of the disclosure, step 104 includes forming or depositing one or more of a metal oxide, a metal nitride, and a metal oxynitride” (paragraph 121, lines 1-4), i.e. wherein the photoresist underlayer comprises one or more of… metal oxide, metal nitride, metal oxycarbide, metal oxynitride.
As for claim 3, ZYULKOV teaches “In accordance with exemplary embodiments of the disclosure, step 104 includes forming or depositing one or more of a metal oxide” (paragraph 121, lines 1-4), i.e. wherein the step of forming a photo resist underlayer comprises forming a metal oxide.
As for claim 4, ZYULKOV teaches “In accordance with exemplary aspects of the disclosure, a first precursor comprising a metal can include a transition metal, such as hafnium, titanium… and the like” (paragraph 123, lines 1-4), i.e. wherein the metal oxide comprises one or more of titanium, tantalum, tungsten, tin, and hafnium.
As for claim 5, ZYULKOV teaches “Additionally or alternatively, the upper underlayer part may comprise silicon, oxide, and carbon” (paragraph 169, lines 1-2), i.e. wherein the step of forming a photo resist underlayer comprises forming a silicon oxide.
As for claim 10, ZYULKOV further teaches “Additionally or alternatively, the surface treatment may comprise the use of a halogen-substituted silane and/or of an alkoxysilane such as a methoxysilane or an ethoxysilane” (paragraph 175, lines 12-15), i.e. wherein the silicon precursor does not comprise nitrogen.
As for claim 12, ZYULKOV further teaches “Additionally or alternatively, the surface treatment may comprise the use of a halogen-substituted silane and/or of an alkoxysilane such as a methoxysilane or an ethoxysilane” (paragraph 175, lines 12-15), i.e. wherein a chemical formula of the silicon precursor consists of Si, C, H, and O.
As for claim 14, ZYULKOV teaches “The surface treatment may be applied to both monolithic underlayers and to underlayers comprising a lower underlayer part and an upper underlayer part” 9paragraph 174, lines 3-6)m i.e. wherein the photoresist underlayer is formed using the silicon precursor.
As for claim 15, ZYULKOV teaches “The cyclical deposition process can include use of activated species (e.g., formed from one or more of precursor(s) reactant(s), or and/or inert gas(es)) that are formed using one or more of a direct plasma and a remote plasma” (paragraph 119, lines 5-8) and “Using a plasma-enhanced process may be desirable, because plasma-enhanced processes allow for deposition of the photo resist underlayer material at relatively low temperatures” (paragraph 119, lines 15-18), and “forming a photoresist underlayer overlying a surface of the substrate using a cyclic deposition process” (claim 1, lines 4-5), i.e. wherein the first plasma process comprises a first cyclical plasma deposition process.
As for claim 16, ZYULKOV teaches “In some embodiments, the underlayer may be subjected to a surface treatment, e.g. a surface treatment that results in a surface termination. The surface treatment may be applied to both monolithic underlayers and to underlayers comprising a lower underlayer part and an upper underlayer part. Such a surface treatment may obviate the need for an upper underlayer part, or it may be used to treat the surface of an upper underlayer part” (paragraph 174) and “In some embodiments, forming the underlayer comprises a plasma-enhanced atomic layer deposition (PEALD) process comprising one or more cycles” (paragraph 66, lines 1-3), i.e. wherein the second plasma process comprises a second cyclical plasma deposition process.
As for claim 17, ZYULKOV teaches “These cycles can be repeated any number of times in order to deposit an underlayer or a part thereof having a desired thickness” (paragraph 180, lines 13-15). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to design the number of cycles such that the desired thickness is achieved. Discovery of optimum value of result effective variable in known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art. In re Boesch, CCPA 1980, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ215.
As for claim 18, ZYULKOV teaches “These cycles can be repeated any number of times in order to deposit an underlayer or a part thereof having a desired thickness” (paragraph 180, lines 13-15). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to design the number of cycles such that the desired thickness is achieved. Discovery of optimum value of result effective variable in known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art. In re Boesch, CCPA 1980, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ215.
As for claim 19, ZYULKOV teaches “Methods of forming structures including a photoresist underlayer and structures including the photoresist underlayer are disclosed” (abstract, lines 1-3), i.e. a method of forming a structure comprising a photo resist underlayer.
ZYULKOV teaches “In some embodiments, the underlayer may be subjected to a surface treatment, e.g. a surface treatment that results in a surface termination. The surface treatment may be applied to both monolithic underlayers and to underlayers comprising a lower underlayer part and an upper underlayer part. Such a surface treatment may obviate the need for an upper underlayer part, or it may be used to treat the surface of an upper underlayer part” (paragraph 174) and “Such surface treatments allow suitably controlling the surface energy of the underlayer for improved photo resist adhesion” (paragraph 177).
ZYULKOV further teaches “Additionally or alternatively, the surface treatment may comprise the use of a halogen-substituted silane and/or of an alkoxysilane such as a methoxysilane or an ethoxysilane” (paragraph 175, lines 12-15) and “Additionally or alternatively, the surface treatment may comprise subjecting the underlayer to a noble gas plasma, e.g. an Ar, He, Ne, Kr, or Xe plasma” (paragraph 176), i.e. the method comprising the steps of: providing a silicon precursor to the reaction chamber; providing oxygen-free gas into the reaction chamber; and forming activated species that react with the silicon precursor or a derivative thereof to form the adhesion layer.
ZYULKOV teaches “A temperature within a reaction chamber during steps 110 can be less than 500° C. , less than 400° C., less than 300° C. or between about 100° C. and about 500° C., or about 150 ° C. and about 300° C” (paragraph 142, lines 1-4), i.e. a range that overlaps with wherein the second plasma process is performed at a temperature greater than 75 °C, 85 °C, or 100 °C, or at a temperature of at least 100 °C and no more than 180 °C or at a temperature of at least 180 °C and no more than 300 °C. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d, 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP 2144.05.
As for claim 20, ZYULKOV teaches “In some embodiments, the underlayer may be subjected to a surface treatment, e.g. a surface treatment that results in a surface termination. The surface treatment may be applied to both monolithic underlayers and to underlayers comprising a lower underlayer part and an upper underlayer part. Such a surface treatment may obviate the need for an upper underlayer part, or it may be used to treat the surface of an upper underlayer part” (paragraph 174) and “In some embodiments, forming the underlayer comprises a plasma-enhanced atomic layer deposition (PEALD) process comprising one or more cycles” (paragraph 66, lines 1-3),
Claim(s) 6, 7, 9, 11, 13 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zyulkov et al. US PGPub 2021/0111025 hereinafter ZYULKOV as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of, Jang et al. US PGPub 2019/0198342 hereinafter JANG as evidenced by Dimethoxymethylvinylsilane Product Specification hereinafter PS.
As for claim 6, ZYULKOV is silent on wherein the silicon precursor comprises one or more of: (i) a molecule comprising a backbone comprising: Si-(CH2)n-Si, where n is between about 1 and about 10; or (ii) a molecule comprising a carbon-carbon double bond.
ZYULKOV does teach “Exemplary surface treatments using an organosilicon compound. Exemplary organosilicon compounds include alkylaminosilylamines and/or alkylsilylamines” (paragraph 175, lines 1-4).
JANG teaches “Provided herein is a method of forming micropattems, including:… forming an adhesive layer on the photosensitivity assisting layer, the adhesive layer forming a covalent bond with the hydrophilic group; forming a hydrophobic photoresist film on the adhesive layer; and patterning the photoresist film” (abstract).
JANG further teaches “As a source material for forming the adhesive layer 120, a silane compound and/or a silazane compound may be used” (paragraph 52) and “The silane compound may be a monosilane or disilane compound. The silazane compound may also be referred to as an aminosilane compound.” (paragraph 53).
JANG teaches “In another embodiment, the monosilane compound may be at least one selected from dimethoxymethylvinylsilane” (paragraph 56, lines 1-11) which as evidenced by SDS has a double bond, i.e. wherein the silicon precursor comprises one or more of… (ii) a molecule comprising a carbon-carbon double bond.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have wherein the silicon precursor comprises one or more of… (ii) a molecule comprising a carbon-carbon double bond in the process of ZYULKOV because JANG teaches that such a material produces an adhesion promoting layer for a layer beneath an under layer. In the alternative, JANG shows that a molecule with a carbon-carbon double bond was a known equivalent to the aminosilanes materials taught by ZYULKOV.
As for claim 7, ZYULKOV is silent on wherein the molecule comprises two or more silicon-oxygen bonds.
ZYULKOV does teach “Exemplary surface treatments using an organosilicon compound. Exemplary organosilicon compounds include alkylaminosilylamines and/or alkylsilylamines” (paragraph 175, lines 1-4).
JANG teaches “Provided herein is a method of forming micropattems, including:… forming an adhesive layer on the photosensitivity assisting layer, the adhesive layer forming a covalent bond with the hydrophilic group; forming a hydrophobic photoresist film on the adhesive layer; and patterning the photoresist film” (abstract).
JANG further teaches “As a source material for forming the adhesive layer 120, a silane compound and/or a silazane compound may be used” (paragraph 52) and “The silane compound may be a monosilane or disilane compound. The silazane compound may also be referred to as an aminosilane compound.” (paragraph 53).
JANG teaches “In another embodiment, the monosilane compound may be at least one selected from dimethoxymethylvinylsilane” (paragraph 56, lines 1-11) which as evidenced by PS has a double bond and two silicon oxygen bonds, i.e. wherein the molecule comprises two or more silicon-oxygen bonds.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have wherein the molecule comprises two or more silicon-oxygen bonds in the process of ZYULKOV because JANG teaches that such a material produces an adhesion promoting layer for a layer beneath an under layer. In the alternative, JANG shows that a molecule with a carbon-carbon double bond was a known equivalent to the aminosilanes materials taught by ZYULKOV.
As for claim 9, ZYULKOV is silent on wherein the molecule comprises two or more silicon-oxygen
bonds and a carbon-carbon double bond.
ZYULKOV does teach “Exemplary surface treatments using an organosilicon compound. Exemplary organosilicon compounds include alkylaminosilylamines and/or alkylsilylamines” (paragraph 175, lines 1-4).
JANG teaches “Provided herein is a method of forming micropattems, including:… forming an adhesive layer on the photosensitivity assisting layer, the adhesive layer forming a covalent bond with the hydrophilic group; forming a hydrophobic photoresist film on the adhesive layer; and patterning the photoresist film” (abstract).
JANG further teaches “As a source material for forming the adhesive layer 120, a silane compound and/or a silazane compound may be used” (paragraph 52) and “The silane compound may be a monosilane or disilane compound. The silazane compound may also be referred to as an aminosilane compound.” (paragraph 53).
JANG teaches “In another embodiment, the monosilane compound may be at least one selected from dimethoxymethylvinylsilane” (paragraph 56, lines 1-11) which as evidenced by PS has a double bond and two silicon oxygen bonds, i.e. wherein the molecule comprises two or more silicon-oxygen bonds and a carbon-carbon double bond.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have wherein the molecule comprises two or more silicon-oxygen bonds and a carbon-carbon double bond in the process of ZYULKOV because JANG teaches that such a material produces an adhesion promoting layer for a layer beneath an under layer. In the alternative, JANG shows that a molecule with a carbon-carbon double bond was a known equivalent to the aminosilanes materials taught by ZYULKOV.
As for claim 11, ZYULKOV is silent on wherein the silicon precursor comprises one or more of: (i)… (ii)… (iii)… (iv).
ZYULKOV does teach “Exemplary surface treatments using an organosilicon compound. Exemplary organosilicon compounds include alkylaminosilylamines and/or alkylsilylamines” (paragraph 175, lines 1-4).
JANG teaches “Provided herein is a method of forming micropattems, including:… forming an adhesive layer on the photosensitivity assisting layer, the adhesive layer forming a covalent bond with the hydrophilic group; forming a hydrophobic photoresist film on the adhesive layer; and patterning the photoresist film” (abstract).
JANG further teaches “As a source material for forming the adhesive layer 120, a silane compound and/or a silazane compound may be used” (paragraph 52) and “The silane compound may be a monosilane or disilane compound. The silazane compound may also be referred to as an aminosilane compound.” (paragraph 53).
JANG teaches “In another embodiment, the monosilane compound may be at least one selected from dimethoxymethylvinylsilane” (paragraph 56, lines 1-11) which as evidenced by PS, i.e. wherein the silicon precursor comprises one or more
of:… (iv).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have wherein the silicon precursor comprises one or more of: a chemical formula of (iv) in the process of ZYULKOV because JANG teaches that such a material produces an adhesion promoting layer for a layer beneath an under layer. In the alternative, JANG shows that a molecule with a carbon-carbon double bond was a known equivalent to the aminosilanes materials taught by ZYULKOV.
As for claim 13, ZYULKOV is silent on wherein the molecule comprises two or more silicon-oxygen
bonds and a carbon-carbon double bond.
ZYULKOV does teach “Exemplary surface treatments using an organosilicon compound. Exemplary organosilicon compounds include alkylaminosilylamines and/or alkylsilylamines” (paragraph 175, lines 1-4).
JANG teaches “Provided herein is a method of forming micropattems, including:… forming an adhesive layer on the photosensitivity assisting layer, the adhesive layer forming a covalent bond with the hydrophilic group; forming a hydrophobic photoresist film on the adhesive layer; and patterning the photoresist film” (abstract).
JANG further teaches “As a source material for forming the adhesive layer 120, a silane compound and/or a silazane compound may be used” (paragraph 52) and “The silane compound may be a monosilane or disilane compound. The silazane compound may also be referred to as an aminosilane compound.” (paragraph 53).
JANG teaches “In another embodiment, the monosilane compound may be at least one selected from… dimethoxymethylvinylsilane” (paragraph 56, lines 1-11), i.e. wherein the silicon precursor comprises one or more of… dimethoxymethylvinylsilane.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have wherein the silicon precursor comprises one or more of… dimethoxymethylvinylsilane in the process of ZYULKOV because JANG teaches that such a material produces an adhesion promoting layer for a layer beneath an under layer. In the alternative, JANG shows that a molecule with a carbon-carbon double bond was a known equivalent to the aminosilanes materials taught by ZYULKOV.
As for claim 21, ZYULKOV is silent on wherein the silicon precursor comprises one or more of: (i)… (ii)… (iii)… (iv).
ZYULKOV does teach “Exemplary surface treatments using an organosilicon compound. Exemplary organosilicon compounds include alkylaminosilylamines and/or alkylsilylamines” (paragraph 175, lines 1-4).
JANG teaches “Provided herein is a method of forming micropattems, including:… forming an adhesive layer on the photosensitivity assisting layer, the adhesive layer forming a covalent bond with the hydrophilic group; forming a hydrophobic photoresist film on the adhesive layer; and patterning the photoresist film” (abstract).
JANG further teaches “As a source material for forming the adhesive layer 120, a silane compound and/or a silazane compound may be used” (paragraph 52) and “The silane compound may be a monosilane or disilane compound. The silazane compound may also be referred to as an aminosilane compound.” (paragraph 53).
JANG teaches “In another embodiment, the monosilane compound may be at least one selected from dimethoxymethylvinylsilane” (paragraph 56, lines 1-11) which as evidenced by PS, i.e. wherein the silicon precursor comprises one or more
of:… (iv).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have wherein the silicon precursor comprises one or more of: a chemical formula of (iv) in the process of ZYULKOV because JANG teaches that such a material produces an adhesion promoting layer for a layer beneath an under layer. In the alternative, JANG shows that a molecule with a carbon-carbon double bond was a known equivalent to the aminosilanes materials taught by ZYULKOV.
Claim(s) 6, 8, 11, 13, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zyulkov et al. US PGPub 2021/0111025 hereinafter ZYULKOV as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Liou et al. US PGPub 2019/0096820 hereinafter LIOU as evidenced by Sigma Aldrich Product Specification hereinafter SAPS.
As for claim 6, ZYULKOV is silent on wherein the silicon precursor comprises one or more of: (i) a molecule comprising a backbone comprising: Si-(CH2)n-Si, where n is between about 1 and about 10; or (ii) a molecule comprising a carbon-carbon double bond.
ZYULKOV does teach “Exemplary surface treatments using an organosilicon compound. Exemplary organosilicon compounds include alkylaminosilylamines and/or alkylsilylamines” (paragraph 175, lines 1-4).
LIOU teaches “An HM layer 202 is deposited on first ILD layer 110, followed by photoresist 204 coated on HM layer 202” (paragraph 31, lines 9-10).
LIOU teaches “The present disclosure relates to a semiconductor device and a manufacturing method thereof, and more particularly to an interlayer dielectric (ILD) layer in a semiconductor device” (abstract, lines 1-3) and “It is to be appreciated that the film deposition process for forming the first dielectric can be any other suitable process such as, for example, atomic layer deposition (ALD), plasma-enhanced ALD (PEALD)” (paragraph 32, lines 28-31).
LIOUS further teaches “The precursor includes, for example, tetra-ethyl-ortho-silicate (TEOS), methyldiethoxy silane (DEMS), silanes, alkylsilanes (e.g., trimethylsilane and tetramethylsilane), alkoxysilanes” (paragraph 32, lines 6-9) and further “In still another example, the precursor includes Si---C-Si embedded bis(triethoxysilyl)ethane (BTSE)” (paragraph 32, lines 23-24), which as shown by SAPS has a backbone made of Si-CH2-CH2-Si, i.e. wherein the silicon precursor comprises one or more of: (i) a molecule comprising a backbone comprising: Si-(CH2)n-Si, where n is between about 1 and about 10.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have wherein the silicon precursor comprises one or more of: (i) a molecule comprising a backbone comprising: Si-(CH2)n-Si, where n is between about 1 and about 10 in the process of ZYULKOV because LIOUS teaches that such a material is a known equivalent to the materials taught by ZYULKOV when it comes to forming silicon containing layers.
As for claim 8, ZYULKOV is silent on wherein the molecule comprises four or more silicon-oxygen bonds.
ZYULKOV does teach “Exemplary surface treatments using an organosilicon compound. Exemplary organosilicon compounds include alkylaminosilylamines and/or alkylsilylamines” (paragraph 175, lines 1-4).
LIOU teaches “An HM layer 202 is deposited on first ILD layer 110, followed by photoresist 204 coated on HM layer 202” (paragraph 31, lines 9-10).
LIOU teaches “The present disclosure relates to a semiconductor device and a manufacturing method thereof, and more particularly to an interlayer dielectric (ILD) layer in a semiconductor device” (abstract, lines 1-3) and “It is to be appreciated that the film deposition process for forming the first dielectric can be any other suitable process such as, for example, atomic layer deposition (ALD), plasma-enhanced ALD (PEALD)” (paragraph 32, lines 28-31).
LIOUS further teaches “The precursor includes, for example, tetra-ethyl-ortho-silicate (TEOS), methyldiethoxy silane (DEMS), silanes, alkylsilanes (e.g., trimethylsilane and tetramethylsilane), alkoxysilanes” (paragraph 32, lines 6-9) and further “In still another example, the precursor includes Si---C-Si embedded bis(triethoxysilyl)ethane (BTSE)” (paragraph 32, lines 23-24), which as shown by SAPS has a backbone made of Si-CH2-CH2-Si, i.e. wherein the molecule comprises four or more silicon-oxygen bonds.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have wherein the molecule comprises four or more silicon-oxygen bonds in the process of ZYULKOV because LIOUS teaches that such a material is a known equivalent to the materials taught by ZYULKOV when it comes to forming silicon containing layers.
As for claim 11, ZYULKOV is silent on wherein the silicon precursor comprises one or more of: (i)… (ii)… (iii)… (iv).
ZYULKOV does teach “Exemplary surface treatments using an organosilicon compound. Exemplary organosilicon compounds include alkylaminosilylamines and/or alkylsilylamines” (paragraph 175, lines 1-4).
LIOU teaches “An HM layer 202 is deposited on first ILD layer 110, followed by photoresist 204 coated on HM layer 202” (paragraph 31, lines 9-10).
LIOU teaches “The present disclosure relates to a semiconductor device and a manufacturing method thereof, and more particularly to an interlayer dielectric (ILD) layer in a semiconductor device” (abstract, lines 1-3) and “It is to be appreciated that the film deposition process for forming the first dielectric can be any other suitable process such as, for example, atomic layer deposition (ALD), plasma-enhanced ALD (PEALD)” (paragraph 32, lines 28-31).
LIOUS further teaches “The precursor includes, for example, tetra-ethyl-ortho-silicate (TEOS), methyldiethoxy silane (DEMS), silanes, alkylsilanes (e.g., trimethylsilane and tetramethylsilane), alkoxysilanes” (paragraph 32, lines 6-9) and further “In still another example, the precursor includes Si---C-Si embedded bis(triethoxysilyl)ethane (BTSE)” (paragraph 32, lines 23-24), which as shown by SAPS has a chemical formula matching wherein the silicon precursor comprises one or more of: (i).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have wherein the silicon precursor comprises one or more of: (i) in the process of ZYULKOV because LIOUS teaches that such a material is a known equivalent to the materials taught by ZYULKOV when it comes to forming silicon containing layers.
As for claim 13, ZYULKOV is silent on wherein the silicon precursor comprises one or more of… 1,2-bis(methyldiethoxysily)ethane.
ZYULKOV does teach “Exemplary surface treatments using an organosilicon compound. Exemplary organosilicon compounds include alkylaminosilylamines and/or alkylsilylamines” (paragraph 175, lines 1-4).
LIOU teaches “An HM layer 202 is deposited on first ILD layer 110, followed by photoresist 204 coated on HM layer 202” (paragraph 31, lines 9-10).
LIOU teaches “The present disclosure relates to a semiconductor device and a manufacturing method thereof, and more particularly to an interlayer dielectric (ILD) layer in a semiconductor device” (abstract, lines 1-3) and “It is to be appreciated that the film deposition process for forming the first dielectric can be any other suitable process such as, for example, atomic layer deposition (ALD), plasma-enhanced ALD (PEALD)” (paragraph 32, lines 28-31).
LIOUS further teaches “The precursor includes, for example, tetra-ethyl-ortho-silicate (TEOS), methyldiethoxy silane (DEMS), silanes, alkylsilanes (e.g., trimethylsilane and tetramethylsilane), alkoxysilanes” (paragraph 32, lines 6-9) and further “In still another example, the precursor includes Si---C-Si embedded bis(triethoxysilyl)ethane (BTSE)” (paragraph 32, lines 23-24), i.e. wherein the silicon precursor comprises one or more of… 1,2-bis(methyldiethoxysily)ethane.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have wherein the silicon precursor comprises one or more of… 1,2-bis(methyldiethoxysily)ethane in the process of ZYULKOV because LIOUS teaches that such a material is a known equivalent to the materials taught by ZYULKOV when it comes to forming silicon containing layers.
As for claim 21, ZYULKOV is silent on wherein the silicon precursor comprises one or more of: (i)… (ii)… (iii)… (iv).
ZYULKOV does teach “Exemplary surface treatments using an organosilicon compound. Exemplary organosilicon compounds include alkylaminosilylamines and/or alkylsilylamines” (paragraph 175, lines 1-4).
LIOU teaches “An HM layer 202 is deposited on first ILD layer 110, followed by photoresist 204 coated on HM layer 202” (paragraph 31, lines 9-10).
LIOU teaches “The present disclosure relates to a semiconductor device and a manufacturing method thereof, and more particularly to an interlayer dielectric (ILD) layer in a semiconductor device” (abstract, lines 1-3) and “It is to be appreciated that the film deposition process for forming the first dielectric can be any other suitable process such as, for example, atomic layer deposition (ALD), plasma-enhanced ALD (PEALD)” (paragraph 32, lines 28-31).
LIOUS further teaches “The precursor includes, for example, tetra-ethyl-ortho-silicate (TEOS), methyldiethoxy silane (DEMS), silanes, alkylsilanes (e.g., trimethylsilane and tetramethylsilane), alkoxysilanes” (paragraph 32, lines 6-9) and further “In still another example, the precursor includes Si---C-Si embedded bis(triethoxysilyl)ethane (BTSE)” (paragraph 32, lines 23-24), which as shown by SAPS has a chemical formula matching wherein the silicon precursor comprises one or more of: (i).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have wherein the silicon precursor comprises one or more of: (i) in the process of ZYULKOV because LIOUS teaches that such a material is a known equivalent to the materials taught by ZYULKOV when it comes to forming silicon containing layers.
Conclusion
/KRISTEN A DAGENAIS/Examiner, Art Unit 1717