DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to communication received on 4/28/26.
The text of those sections of AIA 35 U.S.C. code not present in this action can be found in previous office actions dated 1/29/26.
Claim Objections
The claim objections on claim 13 is withdrawn because the claim has been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The claim rejection(s) under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Zyulkov et al. US PGPub 2021/0111025 hereinafter ZYULKOV on claim 1-5, 10, 12, and 14-20 are maintained. The rejection is updated below to meet that added limitations. Further, claim 7, now amended, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zyulkov et al. US PGPub 2021/0111025 hereinafter ZYULKOV.
As for claim 1, ZYULKOV teaches "Methods of forming structures including a photoresist underlayer and structures including the photoresist underlayer are disclosed" (abstract, lines 1-3), i.e. a method of forming a structure comprising a photoresist underlayer.
ZYULKOV teaches "In some embodiments, forming the underlayer comprises a plasma-enhanced atomic layer deposition (PEALD) process comprising one or more cycles, the cycles comprising: providing a substrate to a reaction chamber'' (paragraph 66, lines 1-4), and "During step 104, a photoresist underlayer is formed on a surface of the substrate" (paragraph 119, lines 1-2; see further the entire paragraph), and “forming the underlayer comprises the formation of a lower underlayer part and an upper underlayer part” (paragraph 57), wherein the lower underlayer part is analogous to the photoresist underlayer and the upper underlayer part is analogous to the adhesion layer, i.e. providing a substrate within a reaction chamber; forming a photoresist underlayer overlying a surface of the substrate using a first plasma process; and after forming the photoresist underlayer, forming an adhesion layer using a second cyclical plasma deposition.
ZYULKOV teaches “In some embodiments, the upper underlayer part is formed using plasma-enhanced ALD or plasma-enhanced chemical vapor deposition, wherein a noble gas is used as a plasma gas” (paragraph 61) and "In some embodiments, the underlayer may be subjected to a surface treatment, e.g. a surface treatment that results in a surface termination. The surface treatment may be applied to both monolithic underlayers and to underlayers comprising a lower underlayer part and an upper underlayer part. Such a surface treatment may obviate the need for an upper underlayer part, or it may be used to treat the surface of an upper underlayer part" (paragraph 174) and "Such surface treatments allow suitably controlling the surface energy of the underlayer for improved photo resist adhesion" (paragraph 177), where the plasma treatment at the end is the final part of the cyclical deposition process of the upper underlayer/adhesion layer.
ZYULKOV further teaches "Additionally or alternatively, the surface treatment may comprise the use of a halogen-substituted silane and/or of an alkoxysilane such as a methoxysilane or an ethoxysilane" (paragraph 175, lines 12-15) and "Additionally or alternatively, the surface treatment may comprise subjecting the underlayer to a noble gas plasma, e.g. an Ar, He, Ne, Kr, or Xe plasma" (paragraph 176), i.e. comprising providing a silicon precursor to the reaction chamber; providing oxygen-free gas into the reaction chamber; and forming activated species that react with the silicon precursor or a derivative thereof to form the adhesion layer.
ZYULKOV teaches "A temperature within a reaction chamber during steps 110 can be less than 500° C. , less than 400° C., less than 300° C. or between about 100° C. and about 500° C., or about 150 ° C. and about 300° C" (paragraph 142, lines 1-4), i.e. a range that overlaps with wherein the second plasma process is performed at a temperature greater than 75 °C, 85 °C, or 100 °C, or at a temperature of at least 100 °C and no more than 180 °C or at a temperature of at least 180 °C and no more than 300
°C. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d, 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP 2144.05.
In the alternative, ZYULKOV teaches “the upper underlayer part is formed using an organosilicon precursor” (paragraph 63, lines 4-6) and “Exemplary, non-limiting process conditions for forming an upper underlayer part comprising titanium oxide include: 0.4 s precursor feed time, 0.7 precursor purge time, precursor is carried by means of an Ar carrier gas, Ar carrier gas flow rate is 1 slm, additionally, a continuous flow of 1 slm argon as a plasma gas is provided” (paragraph 181, lines 15-20), i.e. comprising providing a silicon precursor to the reaction chamber; providing oxygen-free gas into the reaction chamber; and forming activated species that react with the silicon precursor or a derivative thereof to form the adhesion layer.
ZYULKOV also teaches “For example, a lower underlayer part and/or an upper underlayer part may be deposited at a temperature of from at least 70° C. to at most 300° C” (paragraph 182, lines 4-7), i.e. a range that overlaps with wherein the second plasma process is performed at a temperature greater than 75 °C, 85 °C, or 100 °C, or at a temperature of at least 100 °C and no more than 180 °C or at a temperature of at least 180 °C and no more than 300 °C. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d, 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP 2144.05.
As for claim 2, ZYULKOV teaches "In accordance with exemplary embodiments of the disclosure, step 104 includes forming or depositing one or more of a metal oxide, a metal nitride, and a metal oxynitride" (paragraph 121, lines 1-4), i.e. wherein the photoresist underlayer comprises one or more of.... metal oxide, metal nitride, metal oxycarbide, metal oxynitride.
ZYULKOV teaches “In such embodiments, the lower underlayer part may have a thickness of, for example, from at least 1.0 to at most 5.0 nm” (paragraph 167, lines 3-5), i.e. a range that overlaps with wherein a thickness of the photoresist underlayer is between 2 nm and about 10 nm. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d, 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP 2144.05.
As for claim 3, ZYULKOV teaches "In accordance with exemplary embodiments of the disclosure, step 104 includes forming or depositing one or more of a metal oxide" (paragraph 121, lines 1-4), i.e. wherein the step of forming a photo resist underlayer comprises forming a metal oxide.
As for claim 4, ZYULKOV teaches "In accordance with exemplary aspects of the disclosure, a first precursor comprising a metal can include a transition metal, such as hafnium, titanium ... and the like" (paragraph 123, lines 1-4), i.e. wherein the metal oxide comprises one or more of titanium, tantalum, tungsten, tin, and hafnium.
As for claim 5, ZYULKOV teaches " The lower underlayer part has a laminar structure comprising alternating silicon oxide lamellae (1011) and metal oxide lamellae (1012)” (paragraph 184, lines 4-6), i.e. wherein the step of forming a photoresist underlayer comprises forming a silicon oxide.
ZYULKOV teaches “The substrate (810) may comprise a silicon wafer” (paragraph 166, lines 4-5), i.e. wherein the photoresist underlayer is formed directly on a material layer comprising an oxide, amorphous carbon, or silicon.
As for claim 7, ZYULKOV teaches “Thus, SiN, or SiON, or SiCN can be deposited in sub cycle x), and metal nitrides, metal oxynitrides, and/or metal carbonitrides can be deposited in sub cycle y), depending on the precursor used… Alternatively, in some embodiments, sub cycle x) comprises the use of a H2” (paragraph 190, lines 4-16), i.e. wherein the oxygen-free gas consists of H2.
As for claim 12, ZYULKOV teaches “forming the underlayer comprises the formation of a lower underlayer part and an upper underlayer part” (paragraph 57), i.e. wherein the adhesion layer… is formed on the photoresist under layer.
ZYULKOV further teaches "Additionally or alternatively, the surface treatment may comprise the use of a halogen-substituted silane and/or of an alkoxysilane such as a methoxysilane or an ethoxysilane" (paragraph 175, lines 12-15), i.e. the adhesion layer comprises silicon.
In the alternative, ZYULKOV teaches “the upper underlayer part is formed using an organosilicon precursor” (paragraph 63, lines 4-6), i.e. the adhesion layer comprises silicon.
As for claim 14, ZYULKOV teaches “The lower underlayer part has a laminar structure comprising alternating silicon oxide lamellae (1011) and metal oxide lamellae (1012)” (paragraph 184, lines 5-8), i.e. the photoresist underlayer is formed using the silicon precursor.
As for claim 15, ZYULKOV teaches "The cyclical deposition process can include use of activated species (e.g., formed from one or more of precursor(s) reactant(s), or and/or inert gas(es)) that are formed using one or more of a direct plasma and a remote plasma" (paragraph 119, lines 5-8) and "Using a plasma-enhanced process may be desirable, because plasma-enhanced processes allow for deposition of the photo resist underlayer material at relatively low temperatures" (paragraph 119, lines 15-18), and "forming a photoresist underlayer overlying a surface of the substrate using a cyclic deposition process" (claim 1, lines 4-5), i.e. wherein the first plasma process comprises a first cyclical plasma deposition process.
As for claim 16, ZYULKOV teaches “the upper underlayer part may have a thickness of, for example, from at least 0.1 nm to at most 2.0 nm” (paragraph 169, lines 3-4), i.e. a thickness that overlaps with wherein a thickness of the adhesion layer is greater than 0 nm and less than 10 nm. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d, 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP 2144.05.
As for claim 17, ZYULKOV teaches "These cycles can be repeated any number of times in order to deposit an underlayer or a part thereof having a desired thickness" (paragraph 180, lines 13-15). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to design the number of cycles such that the desired thickness is achieved. Discovery of optimum value of result effective variable in known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art. In re Boesch, CCPA 1980, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ215.
As for claim 18, ZYULKOV teaches "These cycles can be repeated any number of times in order to deposit an underlayer or a part thereof having a desired thickness" (paragraph 180, lines 13-15). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to design the number of cycles such that the desired thickness is achieved. Discovery of optimum value of result effective variable in known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art. In re Boesch, CCPA 1980, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ215.
As for claim 19, ZYULKOV teaches "Methods of forming structures including a photoresist underlayer and structures including the photoresist underlayer are disclosed" (abstract, lines 1-3), i.e. a method of forming a structure comprising a photo resist underlayer.
ZYULKOV teaches "In some embodiments, forming the underlayer comprises a plasma-enhanced atomic layer deposition (PEALD) process comprising one or more cycles, the cycles comprising: providing a substrate to a reaction chamber'' (paragraph 66, lines 1-4), and "During step 104, a photoresist underlayer is formed on a surface of the substrate" (paragraph 119, lines 1-2; see further the entire paragraph), and “forming the underlayer comprises the formation of a lower underlayer part and an upper underlayer part” (paragraph 57), wherein the lower underlayer part is analogous to the photoresist underlayer and the upper underlayer part is analogous to the adhesion layer.
ZYULKOV teaches “In some embodiments, the upper underlayer part is formed using plasma-enhanced ALD or plasma-enhanced chemical vapor deposition, wherein a noble gas is used as a plasma gas” (paragraph 61) and "In some embodiments, the underlayer may be subjected to a surface treatment, e.g. a surface treatment that results in a surface termination. The surface treatment may be applied to both monolithic underlayers and to underlayers comprising a lower underlayer part and an upper underlayer part. Such a surface treatment may obviate the need for an upper underlayer part, or it may be used to treat the surface of an upper underlayer part" (paragraph 174) and "Such surface treatments allow suitably controlling the surface energy of the underlayer for improved photo resist adhesion" (paragraph 177), where the plasma treatment at the end is the final part of the cyclical deposition process of the upper underlayer/adhesion layer.
ZYULKOV further teaches "Additionally or alternatively, the surface treatment may comprise the use of a halogen-substituted silane and/or of an alkoxysilane such as a methoxysilane or an ethoxysilane" (paragraph 175, lines 12-15) and "Additionally or alternatively, the surface treatment may comprise subjecting the underlayer to a noble gas plasma, e.g. an Ar, He, Ne, Kr, or Xe plasma" (paragraph 176), i.e. comprising providing a silicon precursor to the reaction chamber; providing oxygen-free gas into the reaction chamber; and forming activated species that react with the silicon precursor or a derivative thereof to form the adhesion layer comprising silicon.
ZYULKOV teaches "A temperature within a reaction chamber during steps 110 can be less than 500° C. , less than 400° C., less than 300° C. or between about 100° C. and about 500° C., or about 150 ° C. and about 300° C" (paragraph 142, lines 1-4), i.e. a range that overlaps with wherein the second plasma process is performed at a temperature greater than 75 °C, 85 °C, or 100 °C, or at a temperature of at least 100 °C and no more than 180 °C or at a temperature of at least 180 °C and no more than 300
°C. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d, 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP 2144.05.
In the alternative, ZYULKOV teaches “the upper underlayer part is formed using an organosilicon precursor” (paragraph 63, lines 4-6) and “Exemplary, non-limiting process conditions for forming an upper underlayer part comprising titanium oxide include: 0.4 s precursor feed time, 0.7 precursor purge time, precursor is carried by means of an Ar carrier gas, Ar carrier gas flow rate is 1 slm, additionally, a continuous flow of 1 slm argon as a plasma gas is provided” (paragraph 181, lines 15-20), i.e. comprising providing a silicon precursor to the reaction chamber; providing oxygen-free gas into the reaction chamber; and forming activated species that react with the silicon precursor or a derivative thereof to form the adhesion layer comprising silicon.
ZYULKOV also teaches “For example, a lower underlayer part and/or an upper underlayer part may be deposited at a temperature of from at least 70° C. to at most 300° C” (paragraph 182, lines 4-7), i.e. a range that overlaps with wherein the second plasma process is performed at a temperature greater than 75 °C, 85 °C, or 100 °C, or at a temperature of at least 100 °C and no more than 180 °C or at a temperature of at least 180 °C and no more than 300 °C. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d, 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP 2144.05.
ZYULKOV “the upper underlayer part may have a thickness of, for example, from at least 0.1 nm to at most 2.0 nm” (paragraph 169, lines 3-4), i.e. a thickness that overlaps with wherein a thickness of the adhesion layer is greater than 0 nm and less than 10 nm. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d, 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP 2144.05.
As for claim 20, ZYULKOV teaches "In some embodiments, the underlayer may be subjected to a surface treatment, e.g. a surface treatment that results in a surface termination. The surface treatment may be applied to both monolithic underlayers and to underlayers comprising a lower underlayer part and an upper underlayer part. Such a surface treatment may obviate the need for an upper underlayer part, or it may be used to treat the surface of an upper underlayer part" (paragraph 17 4) and "In some embodiments, forming the underlayer comprises a plasma-enhanced atomic layer deposition (PEALD) process comprising one or more cycles" (paragraph 66, lines 1-3), i.e. wherein the method comprises a plasma enhanced cyclical deposition process.
The claim rejection(s) under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Zyulkov et al. US PGPub 2021/0111025 hereinafter ZYULKOV as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of, Jang et al. US PGPub 2019/0198342 hereinafter JANG as evidenced by Dimethoxymethylvinylsilane Product Specification hereinafter PS on claims 6, 9, 11, 13, and 21 are maintained. The rejection is repeated below for convenience.
As for claim 6, ZYULKOV is silent on wherein the silicon precursor comprises one or more of (i) a molecule comprising a backbone comprising: Si-(CH2)n-Si, where n is between about 1 and about 10; or (ii) a molecule comprising a carbon-carbon double bond.
ZYULKOV does teach "Exemplary surface treatments using an organosilicon compound. Exemplary organosilicon compounds include alkylaminosilylamines and/or alkylsilylamines" (paragraph 175, lines 1-4).
JANG teaches "Provided herein is a method of forming micropattems, including: ... forming an adhesive layer on the photosensitivity assisting layer, the adhesive layer forming a covalent bond with the hydrophilic group; forming a hydrophobic photoresist film on the adhesive layer; and patterning the photoresist film" (abstract).
JANG further teaches "As a source material for forming the adhesive layer 120, a silane compound and/or a silazane compound may be used" (paragraph 52) and "The silane compound may be a monosilane or disilane compound. The silazane compound may also be referred to as an aminosilane compound." (paragraph 53).
JANG teaches "In another embodiment, the monosilane compound may be at least one selected from dimethoxymethylvinylsilane" (paragraph 56, lines 1-11) which as evidenced by SOS has a double bond, i.e. wherein the silicon precursor comprises one or more of... (ii) a molecule comprising a carbon-carbon double bond.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have wherein the silicon precursor comprises one or more of... (ii) a molecule comprising a carbon-carbon double bond in the process of ZYULKOV because JANG teaches that such a material produces an adhesion promoting layer for a layer beneath an under layer. In the alternative, JANG shows that a molecule with a carbon-carbon double bond was a known equivalent to the aminosilanes materials taught by ZYULKOV.
As for claim 9, ZYULKOV is silent on wherein the molecule comprises two or more silicon-oxygen bonds and a carbon-carbon double bond.
ZYULKOV does teach "Exemplary surface treatments using an organosilicon compound. Exemplary organosilicon compounds include alkylaminosilylamines and/or alkylsilylamines" (paragraph 175, lines 1-4).
JANG teaches "Provided herein is a method of forming micropattems, including: ... forming an adhesive layer on the photosensitivity assisting layer, the adhesive layer forming a covalent bond with the hydrophilic group; forming a hydrophobic photoresist film on the adhesive layer; and patterning the photoresist film" (abstract).
JANG further teaches "As a source material for forming the adhesive layer 120, a silane compound and/or a silazane compound may be used" (paragraph 52) and "The silane compound may be a monosilane or disilane compound. The silazane compound may also be referred to as an aminosilane compound." (paragraph 53).
JANG teaches "In another embodiment, the monosilane compound may be at least one selected from dimethoxymethylvinylsilane" (paragraph 56, lines 1-11) which as evidenced by PS has a double bond and two silicon oxygen bonds, i.e. wherein the molecule comprises two or more silicon-oxygen bonds and a carbon-carbon double bond.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have wherein the molecule comprises two or more silicon-oxygen bonds and a carbon-carbon double bond in the process of ZYULKOV because JANG teaches that such a material produces an adhesion promoting layer for a layer beneath an under layer. In the alternative, JANG shows that a molecule with a carbon-carbon double bond was a known equivalent to the aminosilanes materials taught by ZYULKOV.
As for claim 11, ZYULKOV is silent on wherein the silicon precursor comprises one or more of (i) ... (ii) ... (iii) ... (iv).
ZYULKOV does teach "Exemplary surface treatments using an organosilicon compound. Exemplary organosilicon compounds include alkylaminosilylamines and/or alkylsilylamines" (paragraph 175, lines 1-4).
JANG teaches "Provided herein is a method of forming micropatterns, including: ... forming an adhesive layer on the photosensitivity assisting layer, the adhesive layer forming a covalent bond with the hydrophilic group; forming a hydrophobic photoresist film on the adhesive layer; and patterning the photoresist film" (abstract).
JANG further teaches "As a source material for forming the adhesive layer 120, a silane compound and/or a silazane compound may be used" (paragraph 52) and "The silane compound may be a monosilane or disilane compound. The silazane compound may also be referred to as an aminosilane compound." (paragraph 53).
JANG teaches "In another embodiment, the monosilane compound may be at least one selected from dimethoxymethylvinylsilane" (paragraph 56, lines 1-11) which as evidenced by PS, i.e. wherein the silicon precursor comprises one or more of ... (iv).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have wherein the silicon precursor comprises one or more of a chemical formula of (iv) in the process of ZYULKOV because JANG teaches that such a material produces an adhesion promoting layer for a layer beneath an under layer. In the alternative, JANG shows that a molecule with a carbon-carbon double bond was a known equivalent to the aminosilanes materials taught by ZYULKOV.
As for claim 13, ZYULKOV is silent on wherein the molecule comprises two or more silicon-oxygen
bonds and a carbon-carbon double bond.
ZYULKOV does teach "Exemplary surface treatments using an organosilicon compound. Exemplary organosilicon compounds include alkylaminosilylamines and/or alkylsilylamines" (paragraph 175, lines 1-4).
JANG teaches "Provided herein is a method of forming micropatterns, including: ... forming an adhesive layer on the photosensitivity assisting layer, the adhesive layer forming a covalent bond with the hydrophilic group; forming a hydrophobic photoresist film on the adhesive layer; and patterning the photoresist film" (abstract).
JANG further teaches "As a source material for forming the adhesive layer 120, a silane compound and/or a silazane compound may be used" (paragraph 52) and "The silane compound may be a monosilane or disilane compound. The silazane compound may also be referred to as an aminosilane compound." (paragraph 53).
JANG teaches "In another embodiment, the monosilane compound may be at least one selected from ... dimethoxymethylvinylsilane" (paragraph 56, lines 1-11 ), i.e. wherein the silicon precursor comprises one or more of... dimethoxymethylvinylsilane.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have wherein the silicon precursor comprises one or more of... dimethoxymethylvinylsilane in the process of ZYULKOV because JANG teaches that such a material produces an adhesion promoting layer for a layer beneath an under layer. In the alternative, JANG shows that a molecule with a carbon-carbon double bond was a known equivalent to the aminosilanes materials taught by ZYULKOV.
As for claim 21, ZYULKOV is silent on wherein the silicon precursor comprises one or more of (i) ... (ii) ... (iii) ... (iv).
ZYULKOV does teach "Exemplary surface treatments using an organosilicon compound. Exemplary organosilicon compounds include alkylaminosilylamines and/or alkylsilylamines" (paragraph 175, lines 1-4).
JANG teaches "Provided herein is a method of forming micropattems, including: ... forming an adhesive layer on the photosensitivity assisting layer, the adhesive layer forming a covalent bond with the hydrophilic group; forming a hydrophobic photoresist film on the adhesive layer; and patterning the photoresist film" (abstract).
JANG further teaches "As a source material for forming the adhesive layer 120, a silane compound and/or a silazane compound may be used" (paragraph 52) and "The silane compound may be a monosilane or disilane compound. The silazane compound may also be referred to as an aminosilane compound." (paragraph 53).
JANG teaches "In another embodiment, the monosilane compound may be at least one selected from dimethoxymethylvinylsilane" (paragraph 56, lines 1-11) which as evidenced by PS, i.e. wherein the silicon precursor comprises one or more of ... (iv).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have wherein the silicon precursor comprises one or more of a chemical formula of (iv) in the process of ZYULKOV because JANG teaches that such a material produces an adhesion promoting layer for a layer beneath an under layer. In the alternative, JANG shows that a molecule with a carbon-carbon double bond was a known equivalent to the aminosilanes materials taught by ZYULKOV.
The claim rejection(s) under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Zyulkov et al. US PGPub 2021/0111025 hereinafter ZYULKOV as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of, Jang et al. US PGPub 2019/0198342 hereinafter JANG as evidenced by Dimethoxymethylvinylsilane Product Specification hereinafter PS on claim 7 is withdrawn because it has been amended.
The claim rejection(s) under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Zyulkov et al. US PGPub 2021/0111025 hereinafter ZYULKOV as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of, Jang et al. US PGPub 2019/0198342 hereinafter JANG as evidenced by Dimethoxymethylvinylsilane Product Specification hereinafter PS on claim 7 is maintained. The rejection is repeated below for convenience.
As for claim 6, ZYULKOV is silent on wherein the silicon precursor comprises one or more of (i) a molecule comprising a backbone comprising: Si-(CH2)n-Si, where n is between about 1 and about 1 O; or (ii) a molecule comprising a carbon-carbon double bond.
ZYULKOV does teach "Exemplary surface treatments using an organosilicon compound. Exemplary organosilicon compounds include alkylaminosilylamines and/or alkylsilylamines" (paragraph 175, lines 1-4).
LIOU teaches "An HM layer 202 is deposited on first ILD layer 110, followed by photoresist 204 coated on HM layer 202" (paragraph 31, lines 9-10).
LIOU teaches "The present disclosure relates to a semiconductor device and a manufacturing method thereof, and more particularly to an interlayer dielectric (ILD) layer in a semiconductor device" (abstract, lines 1-3) and "It is to be appreciated that the film deposition process for forming the first dielectric can be any other suitable process such as, for example, atomic layer deposition (ALD), plasma-enhanced ALD (PEALD)" (paragraph 32, lines 28-31 ).
LIOUS further teaches "The precursor includes, for example, tetra-ethyl-orthosilicate (TEOS), methyldiethoxy silane (OEMS), silanes, alkylsilanes (e.g., trimethylsilane and tetramethylsilane), alkoxysilanes" (paragraph 32, lines 6-9) and further "In still another example, the precursor includes Si---C-Si embedded bis(triethoxysilyl)ethane (BTSE)" (paragraph 32, lines 23-24), which as shown by SAPS has a backbone made of Si-CH2-CH2-Si, i.e. wherein the silicon precursor comprises one or more of (i) a molecule comprising a backbone comprising: Si-(CH2)n-Si, where n is between about 1 and about 10.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have wherein the silicon precursor comprises one or more of (i) a molecule comprising a backbone comprising: Si-(CH2)n-Si, where n is between about 1 and about 10 in the process of ZYULKOV because LIOUS teaches that such a material is a known equivalent to the materials taught by ZYULKOV when it comes to forming silicon containing layers.
As for claim 8, ZYULKOV is silent on wherein the molecule comprises four or more silicon-oxygen bonds.
ZYULKOV does teach "Exemplary surface treatments using an organosilicon compound. Exemplary organosilicon compounds include alkylaminosilylamines and/or alkylsilylamines" (paragraph 175, lines 1-4).
LIOU teaches "An HM layer 202 is deposited on first ILO layer 110, followed by photoresist 204 coated on HM layer 202" (paragraph 31, lines 9-10).
LIOU teaches "The present disclosure relates to a semiconductor device and a manufacturing method thereof, and more particularly to an interlayer dielectric (ILD) layer in a semiconductor device" (abstract, lines 1-3) and "It is to be appreciated that the film deposition process for forming the first dielectric can be any other suitable process such as, for example, atomic layer deposition (ALD), plasma-enhanced ALD (PEALD)" (paragraph 32, lines 28-31 ).
LIOUS further teaches "The precursor includes, for example, tetra-ethyl-orthosilicate (TEOS), methyldiethoxy silane (OEMS), silanes, alkylsilanes (e.g., trimethylsilane and tetramethylsilane), alkoxysilanes" (paragraph 32, lines 6-9) and further "In still another example, the precursor includes Si---C-Si embedded bis(triethoxysilyl)ethane (BTSE)" (paragraph 32, lines 23-24), which as shown by SAPS has a backbone made of Si-CH2-CH2-Si, i.e. wherein the molecule comprises four or more silicon-oxygen bonds.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have wherein the molecule comprises four or more silicon-oxygen bonds in the process of ZYULKOV because LIOUS teaches that such a material is a known equivalent to the materials taught by ZYULKOV when it comes to forming silicon containing layers.
As for claim 11, ZYULKOV is silent on wherein the silicon precursor comprises one or more of (i) ... (ii) ... (iii) ... (iv).
ZYULKOV does teach "Exemplary surface treatments using an organosilicon compound. Exemplary organosilicon compounds include alkylaminosilylamines and/or alkylsilylamines" (paragraph 175, lines 1-4).
LIOU teaches "An HM layer 202 is deposited on first ILD layer 110, followed by photoresist 204 coated on HM layer 202" (paragraph 31, lines 9-10).
LIOU teaches "The present disclosure relates to a semiconductor device and a manufacturing method thereof, and more particularly to an interlayer dielectric (ILD) layer in a semiconductor device" (abstract, lines 1-3) and "It is to be appreciated that the film deposition process for forming the first dielectric can be any other suitable process such as, for example, atomic layer deposition (ALO), plasma-enhanced ALD (PEALD)" (paragraph 32, lines 28-31 ).
LIOUS further teaches "The precursor includes, for example, tetra-ethyl-orthosilicate (TEOS), methyldiethoxy silane (OEMS), silanes, alkylsilanes (e.g., trimethylsilane and tetramethylsilane), alkoxysilanes" (paragraph 32, lines 6-9) and further "In still another example, the precursor includes Si---C-Si embedded bis(triethoxysilyl)ethane (BTSE)" (paragraph 32, lines 23-24), which as shown by SAPS has a chemical formula matching wherein the silicon precursor comprises one or more of (i).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have wherein the silicon precursor comprises one or more of (i) in the process of ZYULKOV because LIOUS teaches that such a material is a known equivalent to the materials taught by ZYULKOV when it comes to forming silicon containing layers.
As for claim 13, ZYULKOV is silent on wherein the silicon precursor comprises one or more of. .. 1,2-bis(methyldiethoxysily)ethane.
ZYULKOV does teach "Exemplary surface treatments using an organosilicon compound. Exemplary organosilicon compounds include alkylaminosilylamines and/or alkylsilylamines" (paragraph 175, lines 1-4).
LIOU teaches "An HM layer 202 is deposited on first ILO layer 110, followed by photoresist 204 coated on HM layer 202" (paragraph 31, lines 9-10).
LIOU teaches "The present disclosure relates to a semiconductor device and a manufacturing method thereof, and more particularly to an interlayer dielectric (ILD) layer in a semiconductor device" (abstract, lines 1-3) and "It is to be appreciated that the film deposition process for forming the first dielectric can be any other suitable process such as, for example, atomic layer deposition (ALD), plasma-enhanced ALD (PEALD)" (paragraph 32, lines 28-31 ).
LIOUS further teaches "The precursor includes, for example, tetra-ethyl-orthosilicate (TEOS), methyldiethoxy silane (OEMS), silanes, alkylsilanes (e.g., trimethylsilane and tetramethylsilane), alkoxysilanes" (paragraph 32, lines 6-9) and further "In still another example, the precursor includes Si---C-Si embedded bis(triethoxysilyl)ethane (BTSE)" (paragraph 32, lines 23-24), i.e. wherein the silicon precursor comprises one or more of... 1,2-bis(methyldiethoxysily)ethane.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have wherein the silicon precursor comprises one or more of... 1,2- bis(methyldiethoxysily)ethane in the process of ZYULKOV because LIOUS teaches that such a material is a known equivalent to the materials taught by ZYULKOV when it comes to forming silicon containing layers.
As for claim 21, ZYULKOV is silent on wherein the silicon precursor comprises one or more of (i) ... (ii) ... (iii) ... (iv).
ZYULKOV does teach "Exemplary surface treatments using an organosilicon compound. Exemplary organosilicon compounds include alkylaminosilylamines and/or alkylsilylamines" (paragraph 175, lines 1-4).
LIOU teaches "An HM layer 202 is deposited on first ILD layer 110, followed by photoresist 204 coated on HM layer 202" (paragraph 31, lines 9-10).
LIOU teaches "The present disclosure relates to a semiconductor device and a manufacturing method thereof, and more particularly to an interlayer dielectric (ILO) layer in a semiconductor device" (abstract, lines 1-3) and "It is to be appreciated that the film deposition process for forming the first dielectric can be any other suitable process such as, for example, atomic layer deposition (ALD), plasma-enhanced ALD (PEALD)" (paragraph 32, lines 28-31 ).
LIOUS further teaches "The precursor includes, for example, tetra-ethyl-orthosilicate (TEOS), methyldiethoxy silane (OEMS), silanes, alkylsilanes (e.g., trimethylsilane and tetramethylsilane), alkoxysilanes" (paragraph 32, lines 6-9) and further "In still another example, the precursor includes Si---C-Si embedded bis(triethoxysilyl)ethane (BTSE)" (paragraph 32, lines 23-24), which as shown by SAPS has a chemical formula matching wherein the silicon precursor comprises one or more of (i).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have wherein the silicon precursor comprises one or more of (i) in the process of ZYULKOV because LIOUS teaches that such a material is a known equivalent to the materials taught by ZYULKOV when it comes to forming silicon containing layers.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/28/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments are summarized and addressed below:
(a) Applicant argues that ZYULKOV's photoresist underlayer is made by a cyclical plasma deposition process and not the adhesion layer that is applied after its formation. Therefore, Applicant concludes that ZYULKOV is silent on the adhesion layer being made by a cyclical plasma deposition process.
Examiner notes that ZYULKOV is not limited to those teachings. ZYULKOV teaches that its photoresist underlayer can be made of two layers, and not a single monolith. Therefore, the first layer is analogous to the claim's photoresist underlayer, and the second layer is analogous to the adhesion layer, and the adhesion layer is made from a second cyclical plasma deposition process. See rejection above for a more thorough explanation.
Applicant's arguments are not persuasive as they do not consider all the teachings of the art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KRISTEN A DAGENAIS/Examiner, Art Unit 1717
/Dah-Wei D. Yuan/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1717