DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to communication received on 9/8/26.
The text of those sections of AIA 35 U.S.C. code not present in this action can be found in previous office actions dated 1/29/26, and 7/7/26.
Examiner notes that all claim language is italicized for ease of reading. The rejection headings are bolded, and each claim intro is underlined for ease of navigation.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The claim rejection(s) under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Zyulkov et al. US PGPub 2021/0111025 hereinafter ZYULKOV on claims 1-5, 10, 12, and 14-20 are withdrawn because the independent claims 1 and 19 have been amended.
The claim rejection(s) under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Zyulkov et al. US PGPub 202110111025 hereinafter ZYULKOV as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of, Jang et al. US PGPub 201910198342 hereinafter JANG as evidenced by Dimethoxymethylvinylsilane Product Specification hereinafter PS on claims 6, 9, 11, 13, and 21 are withdrawn because the independent claim 1 and 9 have been amended.
The claim rejection(s) under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Zyulkov et al. US PG Pub 2021/0111025 hereinafter ZYULKOV as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Liou et al. US PGPub 2019/0096820 hereinafter LIOU as evidenced by Sigma Aldrich Product Specification hereinafter SAPS on claims 6, 8, 11, 13 and 21 are withdrawn because the independent claim 1 and 9 have been amended.
Claim(s) 1-5, 10, 12 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zyulkov et al. US PGPub 2021/0111025 hereinafter ZYULKOV in view of Varadarajan US 10,211,310 hereinafter VARADARAJAN.
As for claim 1, ZYULKOV teaches "Methods of forming structures including a photoresist underlayer and structures including the photoresist underlayer are disclosed" (abstract, lines 1-3), i.e. a method of forming a structure comprising a photo resist underlayer.
ZYULKOV teaches "In some embodiments, forming the underlayer comprises a plasma-enhanced atomic layer deposition (PEALD) process comprising one or more cycles, the cycles comprising: providing a substrate to a reaction chamber'' (paragraph 66, lines 1-4), and "During step 104, a photoresist underlayer is formed on a surface of the substrate" (paragraph 119, lines 1-2; see further the entire paragraph), i.e. the method comprising the steps of providing a substrate within a reaction chamber; forming a photo resist underlayer overlying a surface of the substrate using a first plasma process.
ZYULKOV further teaches “In some embodiments, forming the underlayer comprises the formation of a lower underlayer part and an upper underlayer part” (paragraph 57), i.e. applying another layer on top of the lower underlayer.
ZYULKOV teaches "Additionally or alternatively, the upper underlayer part may comprise silicon, oxide, and carbon" (paragraph 169, lines 1-2), "As used herein, unless stated otherwise, SiOC is not intended to limit, restrict, or define the bonding or chemical state, for example, the oxidation state of any of Si, O, C, and/or any other element in the film" (paragraph 132, lines 1-4), and further states the deposition of that kind of layer "be a thermal process or a plasma-enhanced (direct and/or remote) process" (paragraph 133, lines 7-9), i.e. after forming the photoresist underlayer, forming an adhesion layer using a second cyclical plasma deposition.
ZYULKOV is specifically silent on the process steps used in the plasma-enhanced deposition of the SiOC layer.
VARADARAJAN teaches "Provided are methods and systems for providing oxygen doped silicon carbide" (abstract, line 1-2).
VARADARAJAN further teaches "A method of depositing oxygen doped silicon carbide, the method comprising: providing a substrate; flowing one or more silicon-containing precursors onto the substrate, wherein each of the one or more silicon containing precursors have (i) one or more silicon hydrogen bonds and/or silicon-silicon bonds and (ii) one or more silicon-oxygen bonds and one or more silicon-carbon bonds" (claim 1, lines 1-9), i.e. providing a silicon precursor to the reaction chamber.
VARADARAJAN teaches "flowing a source gas into a plasma source; generating, from the source gas, radicals of hydrogen in the plasma source; and introducing the radicals of hydrogen onto the substrate, wherein at least 90% of the radicals are radicals of hydrogen in the ground state that react with the one or more silicon-containing precursors to form oxygen doped silicon carbide on the substrate under conditions that selectively break one or both of silicon-hydrogen bonds and silicon-silicon bonds but preserve the silicon- oxygen bonds and the silicon-carbon bonds" (claim 1, lines 10-20), i.e. providing oxygen-free gas into the reaction chamber, forming the activated species of the oxygen-free gas that react with the silicon precursor or a derivative thereof to form the adhesion layer.
VARADARAJAN further teaches "In some embodiments, the operating temperature can be between about 50° C. and about 500° C" (column 5, lines 51-52), i.e. a range that overlaps with wherein the second plasma process is performed at a temperature greater than 75°C... and no more than 300°C. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d, 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP 2144.05.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include providing a silicon precursor to the reaction chamber; providing oxygen-free gas into the reaction chamber, forming the activated species of the oxygen-free gas that react with the silicon precursor or a derivative thereof to form the adhesion layer at a range that overlaps with the second plasma process is performed at a temperature greater than 75°C... and no more than 300°C in the process of ZYULKOV because VARADARAJAN teaches such a process preserved the silicon-oxygen bonds and silicon-carbon bonds while breaking the undesired silicon-silicon bonds and silicon-hydrogen bonds.
As for claim 2, ZYULKOV teaches "In some embodiments, the lower underlayer part has a laminar structure comprising alternating silicon containing lamellae and metal containing lamellae" (paragraph 67) and gives an example with a silicon oxide lamellae and a metal oxide lamellae (paragraph 184). Examiner notes there is no requirement for the metal containing lamellae to the last layer of the stack on the top of the structure. As such, in the embodiment of Zyulkov wherein the silicon oxide layer is the final layer of the stack, it teaches wherein the adhesion layer is formed directly on... silicon oxide.
As for claim 3, ZYULKOV teaches "In accordance with exemplary embodiments of the disclosure, step 104 includes forming or depositing one or more of a metal oxide" (paragraph 121, lines 1-4), i.e. wherein the step of forming a photo resist underlayer comprises forming a metal oxide.
As for claim 4, ZYULKOV teaches "In accordance with exemplary aspects of the disclosure, a first precursor comprising a metal can include a transition metal, such as hafnium, titanium ... and the like" (paragraph 123, lines 1-4), i.e. wherein the metal oxide comprises one or more of titanium, tantalum, tungsten, tin, and hafnium.
As for claim 5, ZYULKOV teaches "In some embodiments, the lower underlayer part has a laminar structure comprising alternating silicon containing lamellae and metal containing lamellae" (paragraph 67) and gives an example with a silicon oxide lamellae and a metal oxide lamellae (paragraph 184), and “A substrate can include a bulk material, such as silicon” (paragraph 109, lines 3-4), i.e. wherein the step of forming a photoresist underlayer comprises forming a silicon oxide, wherein the photoresist underlayer is formed directly on a material layer comprising an oxide, amorphous carbon, or silicon.
As for claim 7, ZYULKOV is silent on the specific steps to apply the SiOC layer.
VARADARAJAN teaches such a process, as shown in the rejection of claim 1.
Further, VARADARAJAN teaches “The aforementioned radical species may be produced from a gas that includes hydrogen” (column 5, lines 2-3), i.e. wherein the oxygen-free gas consists of H2
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the process of VARADARAJAN which includes wherein the oxygen-free gas consists of H2 in the process of ZYULKOV because VARADARAJAN teaches such a process preserved the silicon-oxygen bonds and silicon-carbon bonds while breaking the undesired silicon-silicon bonds and silicon-hydrogen bonds.
As for claim 10, ZYULKOV teaches “In such embodiments, the lower underlayer part may have a thickness of, for example, from at least 1.0 to at most 5.0 nm, or from at least 2.0 nm to at most 3.0 nm” (paragraph 167, lines 3-6), i.e. a range that overlaps with wherein a thickness of the photoresist underlayer is between 3 nm and about 10 nm. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d, 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP 2144.05.
As for claim 12, ZYULKOV teaches “In some embodiments, forming the underlayer comprises the formation of a lower underlayer part and an upper underlayer part” (paragraph 57), and ZYULKOV teaches "Additionally or alternatively, the upper underlayer part may comprise silicon, oxide, and carbon" (paragraph 169, lines 1-2), i.e. wherein the adhesion layer comprises silicon and is formed on the photoresist underlayer.
As for claim 14, ZYULKOV teaches "In some embodiments, the lower underlayer part has a laminar structure comprising alternating silicon containing lamellae and metal containing lamellae" (paragraph 67), i.e. wherein the photoresist underlayer is formed using the silicon precursor.
As for claim 15, ZYULKOV teaches "The cyclical deposition process can include use of activated species (e.g., formed from one or more of precursor(s) reactant(s), or and/or inert gas(es)) that are formed using one or more of a direct plasma and a remote plasma" (paragraph 119, lines 5-8) and "Using a plasma-enhanced process may be desirable, because plasma-enhanced processes allow for deposition of the photo resist underlayer material at relatively low temperatures" (paragraph 119, lines 15-18), and "forming a photoresist underlayer overlying a surface of the substrate using a cyclic deposition process" (claim 1, lines 4-5), i.e. wherein the first plasma process comprises a first cyclical plasma deposition process.
As for claim 16, ZYULKOV teaches “Additionally or alternatively, the upper underlayer part may comprise silicon, oxide, and carbon. In such embodiments, the upper underlayer part may have a thickness of, for example, from at least 0.1 nm to at most 2.0 nm, e.g. a thickness of 0.2 nm, 0.4 nm, 0.6 nm, 0.8 nm, 1.0 nm, or 1.5 nm” (paragraph 169, lines 1-6), i.e. a range that overlaps with wherein a thickness of the adhesion layer is greater than 0 nm and less than 10 nm. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d, 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP 2144.05.
As for claim 17, ZYULKOV teaches "These cycles can be repeated any number of times in order to deposit an underlayer or a part thereof having a desired thickness" (paragraph 180, lines 13-15). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to design the number of cycles such that the desired thickness is achieved. Discovery of optimum value of result effective variable in known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art. In re Boesch, CCPA 1980, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ215.
As for claim 18, ZYULKOV teaches “Additionally or alternatively, the upper underlayer part may comprise silicon, oxide, and carbon… Such an underlayer may be formed, for example, by means of an ALD or CVD method, be it thermal or plasma-enhanced” (paragraph 169, lines 1-8), and "These cycles can be repeated any number of times in order to deposit an underlayer or a part thereof having a desired thickness" (paragraph 180, lines 13-15). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to design the number of cycles such that the desired thickness is achieved. Discovery of optimum value of result effective variable in known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art. In re Boesch, CCPA 1980, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ215.
As for claim 19, ZYULKOV teaches "Methods of forming structures including a photoresist underlayer and structures including the photoresist underlayer are disclosed" (abstract, lines 1-3), i.e. a method of forming a structure comprising a photoresist underlayer.
ZYULKOV teaches "In some embodiments, forming the underlayer comprises a plasma-enhanced atomic layer deposition (PEALD) process comprising one or more cycles, the cycles comprising: providing a substrate to a reaction chamber" (paragraph 66, lines 1-4), and "During step 104, a photoresist underlayer is formed on a surface of the substrate" (paragraph 119, lines 1-2; see further the entire paragraph), and "forming the underlayer comprises the formation of a lower underlayer part and an upper underlayer part" (paragraph 57), wherein the lower underlayer part is analogous to the photoresist underlayer and the upper underlayer part is analogous to the adhesion layer.
ZYULKOV further teaches “In some embodiments, forming the underlayer comprises the formation of a lower underlayer part and an upper underlayer part” (paragraph 57), i.e. applying another layer on top of the lower underlayer.
ZYULKOV teaches "Additionally or alternatively, the upper underlayer part may comprise silicon, oxide, and carbon" (paragraph 169, lines 1-2), "As used herein, unless stated otherwise, SiOC is not intended to limit, restrict, or define the bonding or chemical state, for example, the oxidation state of any of Si, O, C, and/or any other element in the film" (paragraph 132, lines 1-4), and further states the deposition of that kind of layer "be a thermal process or a plasma-enhanced (direct and/or remote) process" (paragraph 133, lines 7-9).
ZYULKOV is specifically silent on the process steps used in the plasma-enhanced deposition of the SiOC layer.
VARADARAJAN teaches "Provided are methods and systems for providing oxygen doped silicon carbide" (abstract, line 1-2).
VARADARAJAN further teaches "A method of depositing oxygen doped silicon carbide, the method comprising: providing a substrate; flowing one or more silicon-containing precursors onto the substrate, wherein each of the one or more silicon containing precursors have (i) one or more silicon hydrogen bonds and/or silicon-silicon bonds and (ii) one or more silicon-oxygen bonds and one or more silicon-carbon bonds" (claim 1, lines 1-9), i.e. providing a silicon precursor to the reaction chamber.
VARADARAJAN teaches "flowing a source gas into a plasma source; generating, from the source gas, radicals of hydrogen in the plasma source; and introducing the radicals of hydrogen onto the substrate, wherein at least 90% of the radicals are radicals of hydrogen in the ground state that react with the one or more silicon-containing precursors to form oxygen doped silicon carbide on the substrate under conditions that selectively break one or both of silicon-hydrogen bonds and silicon-silicon bonds but preserve the silicon- oxygen bonds and the silicon-carbon bonds" (claim 1, lines 10-20), i.e. providing oxygen-free gas into the reaction chamber, forming the activated species that react with the silicon precursor or a derivative thereof to form the adhesion layer comprising silicon.
VARADARAJAN further teaches "In some embodiments, the operating temperature can be between about 50° C. and about 500° C" (column 5, lines 51-52), i.e. a range that overlaps with wherein the second plasma process is performed at a temperature greater than 75°C... and no more than 300°C. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d, 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP 2144.05.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include providing a silicon precursor to the reaction chamber; providing oxygen-free gas into the reaction chamber; and forming activated species that react with the silicon precursor or a derivative thereof to form the adhesion layer comprising silicon… wherein the step of forming activated species is performed at a temperature in a range that overlaps with greater than 75°C... and no more than 300°C in the process of ZYULKOV because VARADARAJAN teaches such a process preserved the silicon-oxygen bonds and silicon-carbon bonds while breaking the undesired silicon-silicon bonds and silicon-hydrogen bonds.
ZYULKOV teaches “Additionally or alternatively, the upper underlayer part may comprise silicon, oxide, and carbon. In such embodiments, the upper underlayer part may have a thickness of, for example, from at least 0.1 nm to at most 2.0 nm, e.g. a thickness of 0.2 nm, 0.4 nm, 0.6 nm, 0.8 nm, 1.0 nm, or 1.5 nm” (paragraph 169, lines 1-6), i.e. a range that overlaps with wherein a thickness of the adhesion layer is greater than 0 nm and less than 10 nm. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d, 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP 2144.05.
As for claim 20, ZYULKOV teaches “Additionally or alternatively, the upper underlayer part may comprise silicon, oxide, and carbon… Such an underlayer may be formed, for example, by means of an ALD or CVD method, be it thermal or plasma-enhanced” (paragraph 169, lines 1-8), i.e. wherein the method comprises a plasma enhanced cyclical deposition process.
Claim(s) 6, 9, 11, 13 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zyulkov et al. US PGPub 2021/0111025 hereinafter ZYULKOV in view of Varadarajan US 10,211,310 hereinafter VARADARAJAN as applied to claim 1 and 19 above, and further in view of Jang et al. US PGPub 201910198342 hereinafter JANG as evidenced by Dimethoxymethylvinylsilane Product Specification hereinafter PS.
As for claim 6, As for claim 6, ZYULKOV is silent on wherein the silicon precursor comprises one or more of (i) a molecule comprising a backbone comprising: Si-(CH2)n-Si, where n is between about 1 and about 1 0; or (ii) a molecule comprising a carbon-carbon double bond.
JANG teaches "Provided herein is a method of forming micropattems, including: ... forming an adhesive layer on the photosensitivity assisting layer, the adhesive layer forming a covalent bond with the hydrophilic group; forming a hydrophobic photoresist film on the adhesive layer; and patterning the photoresist film" (abstract) and “The adhesive layer 120 may be formed by PECVD,” (paragraph 60, line 1).
JANG further teaches "As a source material for forming the adhesive layer 120, a silane compound and/or a silazane compound may be used" (paragraph 52) and "The silane compound may be a monosilane or disilane compound. The silazane compound may also be referred to as an aminosilane compound." (paragraph 53).
JANG teaches "In another embodiment, the monosilane compound may be at least one selected from dimethoxymethylvinylsilane" (paragraph 56, lines 1-11) which as evidenced by SOS has a double bond, i.e. wherein the silicon precursor comprises one or more of. .. (ii) a molecule comprising a carbon-carbon double bond.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have wherein the silicon precursor comprises one or more of... (ii) a molecule comprising a carbon-carbon double bond in the process of ZYULKOV as a part of the upper underlayer because JANG teaches that such a material produces an adhesion promoting layer for a layer beneath an underlayer.
As for claim 9, ZYULKOV is silent on wherein the molecule comprises two or more silicon-oxygen bonds and a carbon-carbon double bond.
JANG teaches "Provided herein is a method of forming micropattems, including: ... forming an adhesive layer on the photosensitivity assisting layer, the adhesive layer forming a covalent bond with the hydrophilic group; forming a hydrophobic photoresist film on the adhesive layer; and patterning the photoresist film" (abstract). JANG further teaches "As a source material for forming the adhesive layer 120, a silane compound and/or a silazane compound may be used" (paragraph 52) and "The silane compound may be a monosilane or disilane compound. The silazane compound may also be referred to as an aminosilane compound." (paragraph 53) and “The adhesive layer 120 may be formed by PECVD,” (paragraph 60, line 1).
JANG teaches "In another embodiment, the monosilane compound may be at least one selected from dimethoxymethylvinylsilane" (paragraph 56, lines 1-11) which as evidenced by PS has a double bond and two silicon oxygen bonds, i.e. wherein the molecule comprises two or more silicon-oxygen bonds and a carbon-carbon double bond.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have wherein the molecule comprises two or more silicon-oxygen bonds and a carbon-carbon double bond in the process of ZYULKOV as a part of the upper underlayer because JANG teaches that such a material produces an adhesion promoting layer for a layer beneath an under layer.
As for claim 11, ZYULKOV is silent on wherein the silicon precursor comprises one or more of (i) ... (ii) ... (iii) ... (iv).
JANG teaches "Provided herein is a method of forming micropatterns, including: ... forming an adhesive layer on the photosensitivity assisting layer, the adhesive layer forming a covalent bond with the hydrophilic group; forming a hydrophobic photoresist film on the adhesive layer; and patterning the photoresist film" (abstract). and “The adhesive layer 120 may be formed by PECVD,” (paragraph 60, line 1).
JANG further teaches "As a source material for forming the adhesive layer 120, a silane compound and/or a silazane compound may be used" (paragraph 52) and "The silane compound may be a monosilane or disilane compound. The silazane compound may also be referred to as an aminosilane compound." (paragraph 53).
JANG teaches "In another embodiment, the monosilane compound may be at least one selected from dimethoxymethylvinylsilane" (paragraph 56, lines 1-11) which as evidenced by PS, i.e. wherein the silicon precursor comprises one or more of ... (iv). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have wherein the silicon precursor comprises one or more of a chemical formula of (iv) in the process of ZYULKOV as a part of the upper underlayer because JANG teaches that such a material produces an adhesion promoting layer for a layer beneath an under layer.
As for claim 13, ZYULKOV is silent on wherein the molecule comprises two or more silicon-oxygen bonds and a carbon-carbon double bond.
JANG teaches "Provided herein is a method of forming micropatterns, including: ... forming an adhesive layer on the photosensitivity assisting layer, the adhesive layer forming a covalent bond with the hydrophilic group; forming a hydrophobic photoresist film on the adhesive layer; and patterning the photoresist film" (abstract) and “The adhesive layer 120 may be formed by PECVD,” (paragraph 60, line 1).
JANG further teaches "As a source material for forming the adhesive layer 120, a silane compound and/or a silazane compound may be used" (paragraph 52) and "The silane compound may be a monosilane or disilane compound. The silazane compound may also be referred to as an aminosilane compound." (paragraph 53).
JANG teaches "In another embodiment, the monosilane compound may be at least one selected from ... dimethoxymethylvinylsilane" (paragraph 56, lines 1-11), i.e. wherein the silicon precursor comprises one or more of... dimethoxymethylvinylsilane.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have wherein the silicon precursor comprises one or more of... dimethoxymethylvinylsilane in the process of ZYULKOV as a part of the upper underlayer because JANG teaches that such a material produces an adhesion promoting layer for a layer beneath an under layer.
As for claim 21, ZYULKOV is silent on wherein the silicon precursor comprises one or more of (i) ... (ii) ... (iii) ... (iv).
JANG teaches "Provided herein is a method of forming micropattems, including: ... forming an adhesive layer on the photosensitivity assisting layer, the adhesive layer forming a covalent bond with the hydrophilic group; forming a hydrophobic photoresist film on the adhesive layer; and patterning the photoresist film" (abstract) and “The adhesive layer 120 may be formed by PECVD,” (paragraph 60, line 1).
JANG further teaches "As a source material for forming the adhesive layer 120, a silane compound and/or a silazane compound may be used" (paragraph 52) and "The silane compound may be a monosilane or disilane compound. The silazane compound may also be referred to as an aminosilane compound." (paragraph 53).
JANG teaches "In another embodiment, the monosilane compound may be at least one selected from dimethoxymethylvinylsilane" (paragraph 56, lines 1-11) which as evidenced by PS, i.e. wherein the silicon precursor comprises one or more of ... (iv). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have wherein the silicon precursor comprises one or more of a chemical formula of (iv) in the process of ZYULKOV as a part of the upper underlayer because JANG teaches that such a material produces an adhesion promoting layer for a layer beneath an under layer.
Claim(s) 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zyulkov et al. US PGPub 2021/0111025 hereinafter ZYULKOV in view of Varadarajan US 10,211,310 hereinafter VARADARAJAN as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Liou et al. US PGPub 2019/0096820 hereinafter LIOU as evidenced by Sigma Aldrich Product Specification hereinafter SAPS.
As for claim 6, ZYULKOV is silent on wherein the silicon precursor comprises one or more of (i) a molecule comprising a backbone comprising: Si-(CH2)n-Si, where n is between about 1 and about 10; or (ii) a molecule comprising a carbon-carbon double bond.
ZYULKOV does teach "Exemplary surface treatments using an organosilicon compound. Exemplary organosilicon compounds include alkylaminosilylamines and/or alkylsilylamines" (paragraph 175, lines 1-4).
LIOU teaches "An HM layer 202 is deposited on first ILD layer 110, followed by photoresist 204 coated on HM layer 202" (paragraph 31, lines 9-10).
LIOU teaches "The present disclosure relates to a semiconductor device and a manufacturing method thereof, and more particularly to an interlayer dielectric (ILO) layer in a semiconductor device" (abstract, lines 1-3) and "It is to be appreciated that the film deposition process for forming the first dielectric can be any other suitable process such as, for example, atomic layer deposition (ALD), plasma-enhanced ALD (PEALD)" (paragraph 32, lines 28-31 ).
LIOUS further teaches "The precursor includes, for example, tetra-ethylorthosilicate (TEOS), methyldiethoxy silane (OEMS), silanes, alkylsilanes (e.g., trimethylsilane and tetramethylsilane), alkoxysilanes" (paragraph 32, lines 6-9) and further "In still another example, the precursor includes Si---C-Si embedded bis(triethoxysilyl)ethane (BTSE)" (paragraph 32, lines 23-24), which as shown by SAPS has a backbone made of Si-CH2-CH2-Si, i.e. wherein the silicon precursor comprises one or more of (i) a molecule comprising a backbone comprising: Si-(CH2)n-Si, where n is between about 1 and about 10.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have wherein the silicon precursor comprises one or more of (i) a molecule comprising a backbone comprising: Si-(CH2)n-Si, where n is between about 1 and about 10 in the process of ZYULKOV because LIOUS teaches that such a material can help in “forming a low-k ILD layer high with improved hardness to increase the mechanical strength in a semiconductor structure” (paragraph 19, lines 1-4).
As for claim 8, ZYULKOV is silent on wherein the molecule comprises four or more silicon-oxygen bonds.
ZYULKOV does teach "Exemplary surface treatments using an organosilicon compound. Exemplary organosilicon compounds include alkylaminosilylamines and/or alkylsilylamines" (paragraph 175, lines 1-4).
LIOU teaches "An HM layer 202 is deposited on first ILO layer 110, followed by photoresist 204 coated on HM layer 202" (paragraph 31, lines 9-10).
LIOU teaches "The present disclosure relates to a semiconductor device and a manufacturing method thereof, and more particularly to an interlayer dielectric (ILO) layer in a semiconductor device" (abstract, lines 1-3) and "It is to be appreciated that the film deposition process for forming the first dielectric can be any other suitable process such as, for example, atomic layer deposition (ALD), plasma-enhanced ALD (PEALD)" (paragraph 32, lines 28-31 ).
LIOUS further teaches "The precursor includes, for example, tetra-ethylorthosilicate (TEOS), methyldiethoxy silane (OEMS), silanes, alkylsilanes (e.g., trimethylsilane and tetramethylsilane), alkoxysilanes" (paragraph 32, lines 6-9) and further "In still another example, the precursor includes Si---C-Si embedded bis(triethoxysilyl)ethane (BTSE)" (paragraph 32, lines 23-24), which as shown by SAPS has a backbone made of Si-CH2-CH2-Si, i.e. wherein the molecule comprises four or more silicon-oxygen bonds.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have wherein the molecule comprises four or more silicon-oxygen bonds in the process of ZYULKOV because LIOUS teaches that such a material can help in “forming a low-k ILD layer high with improved hardness to increase the mechanical strength in a semiconductor structure” (paragraph 19, lines 1-4).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/KRISTEN A DAGENAIS/ Examiner, Art Unit 1717