DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s amendments and remarks filed November 24, 2025. Claims 1-9, and 11-13 have been amended. Claims 1-13 are pending and are examined below.
Response to Remarks/Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments filed June 13, 2025 with respect to the previous 35 U.S.C. 112 rejections have been fully considered. The present amendments render the previous rejections moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, and 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Garbald et al., US 20200077585 A1, hereinafter referred to as Garbald.
As to claim 1, Garbald discloses a method of operating a header float control system of an agricultural vehicle having a header movably mounted to a chassis by an actuator, the method comprising:
setting a desired ground reaction force between the header and a ground surface located below the header, wherein the headers is in contact with the ground surface (Predetermined lifting force - Abstract);
detecting a change in a position of the header relative to the chassis caused by a change in a contour of the ground surface in contact with the header (Position sensor – See at least Abstract);
calculating a velocity, an acceleration, and a change in the acceleration for the change in the position of the header relative to the chassis (Indication of movement and/or acceleration – See at least Abstract; Velocity and acceleration – See at least ¶17; Examiners notes as the sensor continuously operates it necessarily detects changes in acceleration.); and
adjusting a lift pressure of the actuator in response to the change in the acceleration being greater or less than zero, wherein the lift pressure of the actuator is adjusted in proportion to the change in the acceleration for the change in the position of the header relative to the chassis to maintain the desired ground reaction force (Assembly engaged using hydraulic pressure – See at least ¶20; Vary lifting force in response to changes in sensor signal indicative of movement/acceleration – See at least Abstract and ¶17; PID controller – See at least ¶114 and Fig. 5; Examiner notes PID control necessarily includes a proportion.).
Independent claim 9 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1 because they claims recite nearly identical subject matter but for minor differences due to the claims being directed to different statutory classed of invention.
As to claim 2, Garbald discloses setting the desired ground reaction force includes receiving a selection of an adjustable value for the desired ground reaction force (Operator input as necessary to control system – See at least ¶86).
As to claim 3, Garbald discloses detecting the change in the position of the header relative to the chassis includes detecting a change in the position of the actuator (Indication of movement and/or acceleration – See at least Abstract).
As to claim 4, Garbald discloses the actuator comprises a hydraulic actuator, and the adjusting the lift pressure of the actuator includes adjusting an operating pressure of the hydraulic actuator (Hydraulics – See at least Abstract; Pressure – See at least ¶20).
As to claims 5, and 12, Garbald discloses changing an output pressure of a pressure reducing valve operatively connected to the hydraulic actuator (Pressure reducing valve – See at least ¶40).
As to claims 6, and 11, Garbald discloses the operating pressure of the hydraulic actuator is increased to maintain the desired ground reaction force in response to the change in the acceleration being greater than zero (Apply hydraulic pressure based on upward or downward acceleration – See at least ¶87-89).
As to claim 7, Garbald discloses the operating pressure of the hydraulic actuator is decreased to maintain the desired ground reaction force in response to the change in the acceleration being less than zero (Apply hydraulic pressure based on upward or downward acceleration – See at least ¶87-89).
As to claim 10, Garbald discloses a user interface configured to receive a selection of an adjustable value for the desired ground reaction force (Operator input as necessary to control system – See at least ¶86).
As to claim 13, Garbald discloses each support member of the one or more support members comprises a skid shoe pivotally mounted to the header (Skid plate – See at least ¶73 and Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garbald et al., US 20200077585 A1, in view of Weidenbach et al., US 20200029484 A1, hereinafter referred to as Garbald, and Weidenbach, respectively.
As to claim 8, Garbald discloses
the velocity is calculated as a first derivative of the change in the position of the header relative to the chassis (Derive velocity from position sensor – See at least ¶85; Examiner notes velocity is fundamentally a derivative of position.), and
the acceleration is calculated as a second derivative of the change in the position of the header relative to the chassis (Derive acceleration from position sensor – See at least ¶85; Examiner notes acceleration is fundamentally a derivative of velocity.).
Garbald fails to explicitly disclose the change in the acceleration is calculated as a third derivative of the change in the position of the header relative to the chassis. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Garbald and include the feature of the change in the acceleration is calculated as a third derivative of the change in the position of the header relative to the chassis, as taught by Weidenbach, with a reasonable expectation of success, because Weidenbach teaches it is well-known in the art of heavy machinery implement control, like the header of Garbald, to perform a series of derivatives to derive rates of change of the implements, including third order derivatives (See at least ¶82 of Weidenbach).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAIL A KLEINMAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668