DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 5/7/26, with respect to claims 1-13, 20-26 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 13, 20, 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by OH (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2024/0021539).
Referring to figures 5, 11-12, OH teaches a semiconductor device, comprising:
a first device (DR, on the left);
a dicing street (SR) adjoining the first device laterally;
a metal structure (30) located in the dicing street; and
a stealth cleavage lane (SL) extending in the dicing street;
wherein a first orthogonal projection of the stealth cleavage lane on a lateral cross-section of the dicing street is distant from a second orthogonal projection of the metal structure on the lateral cross-section of the dicing street (30’, see figures 11-12B).
Regarding to claim 13, 26, the first device comprises one of a memory array and a peripheral circuit (see paragraph# 27).
Regarding to claim 20, a memory device, comprising:
a memory array (see paragraph# 27); and
a peripheral circuit coupled with the memory array (see paragraph# 27), wherein the memory array or the peripheral circuit comprising:
a first device (DR, on the left), a dicing street (SR) adjoining the first device laterally, a metal structure (30) located in the dicing street, and a stealth cleavage lane (SL) extending in the dicing street, wherein a first orthogonal projection of the stealth cleavage lane on a lateral cross- section of the dicing street is distant from a second orthogonal projection of the metal structure on the lateral cross-section of the dicing street (30’, see figures 11-12B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2-12, 21-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OH (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2024/0021539) as applied to claims 1, 13, 20, 26 above in view of Miccoli et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2012/0211748) in view of Wong et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0290684).
Referring to figures 5, 11-12, OH teaches a semiconductor device, comprising:
a first device (DR, on the left), a second device (DR, on the right);
a dicing street (SR) adjoining the first device laterally;
a metal structure (30) located in the dicing street; and
a stealth cleavage lane (SL) extending in the dicing street;
wherein a first orthogonal projection of the stealth cleavage lane on a lateral cross-section of the dicing street is distant from a second orthogonal projection of the metal structure on the lateral cross-section of the dicing street (30’, see figures 11-12B).
However, the reference does not clearly teach the sealing ring (in claims 2-5, 21-22).
Referring to figures 3A-4F, Miccoli et al. teaches a semiconductor device, comprising:
a first device (120a), a second device (120b);
a dicing street (132a) adjoining the first device laterally;
a metal structure (CP/M1/V1/M2/V2/M3/V3/M4/V4/M5/V5/M6) located in the dicing street (see figure 3C); and
a stealth cleavage lane extending in the dicing street (see paragraphs# 69-75); a second device (120b), wherein the first device (120a) comprises a first sealing ring (160a), the second device (120b) comprises a second sealing ring (160b), and the dicing street (132a) is located between the first sealing ring and the second sealing ring (see figure 3d, meeting claims 2, 21); the metal structure (CP/M1/V1/M2/V2/M3/V3/M4/V4/M5/V5/M6) comprises a first side edge adjacent to the first sealing ring (160a) and a second side edge adjacent to the second sealing ring (160b); and the stealth cleavage lane is located between the first side edge and the first sealing ring (see figures 3A-3I, claims 3, 21), the first device (120a) comprises at least one pad (M6) disposed on a side of the first sealing ring away from the dicing street (see figures 3A-3I, claims 4, 22); the second side edge is distant from the second sealing ring (160b) by at least one unit-length of distance; the stealth cleavage lane (132) is distant from the first sealing ring (160a) by at least two unit-lengths of distance; and the first side edge is distant from the first sealing ring (160a) by at least three unit-lengths of distance (see figures 3A-3I, claims 5, 23).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the requisite art at the time of the invention was filed would provide specific each unit-length, a specific distance between the side edges and sealing rings, specific distance between the stealth cleavage lane and the first sealing ring, the specific first, second and third distance in OH et al. as taught by Miccoli et al. because it is known in the semiconductor art to protect the device.
However, the reference does not clearly teach specific each unit-length (in claims 5-6, 23), a specific distance between the side edges and sealing rings (in claims 7-8, 24), specific distance between the stealth cleavage lane and the first sealing ring (in claims 9-10, 25), the specific first, second and third distance (in claims 10-12, 25).
In re claims 5-12, 23-25, the selection of the specific distance is obvious because it is a matter of determining optimum process condition by routine experimentation with a limited number of species. In re Jones, 162 USPQ 224 (CCPA 1955) (the selection of optimum ranges within prior art general conditions is obvious) and In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (discovery of optimum value of result effective variable in a known process is obvious). In such a situation, applicant must show that the particular range is critical, generally by showing that the claimed range achieves unexpected results relative to prior art range. See M.P.E.P 2144.05 III. In particular, Miccoli et al. suggest that the distance can be optimized (see figures 3a-3I).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the requisite art at the time of the invention was made to optimize specific each unit-length, a specific distance between the side edges and sealing rings, specific distance between the stealth cleavage lane and the first sealing ring, the specific first, second and third distance, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art , discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the requisite art at the time of the invention was filed would provide specific each unit-length, a specific distance between the side edges and sealing rings, specific distance between the stealth cleavage lane and the first sealing ring, the specific first, second and third distance in Miccoli et al. as taught by OH et al. because it is known in the semiconductor art to form very sharp chip sidewalls, virtually no cracks, virtually no chipping, virtually no pad corrosion, no wafer dust on chip surface, virtually no delamination of the top layers of the chip (see paragraph# 87).
Conclusion
/THANH T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893