DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 4,886,348 [Schmertz].
Regarding Claim 1:
Schmertz discloses an optical disc unit for an ultraviolet sterilizer, which is applied to the ultraviolet sterilizer including an ultraviolet light emitting diode (LED) to reflect light irradiated from the ultraviolet LED (the preceding preamble limitation is understood to describe the intended use of the optical disc unit, and to not actually require a UV LED. This is consistent with instant claim 9, which depends from this claim and adds such an element with a positive limitation), the optical disc unit comprising:
a body portion including a hollow (Figs. 1 and 2 (17))); and
a primary optical unit (Fig. 2 (38,41)) fixedly coupled to an internal diameter surface in the hollow of the body portion (3:17-23) and disposed in a direction perpendicular to an emission surface of the ultraviolet LED to reflect the light irradiated from the ultraviolet LED therethrough (as shown in Fig. 2);
a first internal diameter surface perpendicular to the emission surface (the apex portion of (17) near ref (26) is perpendicular to the emissions surface); and
a second internal diameter surface extending from the first internal diameter surface and formed to be inclined with a predetermined angle in a direction of an external diameter surface of the body portion along an upward direction of the body portion (Fig. 2 (23)).
Regarding Claim 2:
Schmertz discloses the optical disc unit of claim 1, wherein the primary optical unit includes:
a first reflection portion disposed adjacent to the ultraviolet LED (Fig. 2 (38)), wherein a length of an external circumference in the first reflection portion increases upwards from the ultraviolet LED in a direction in which the light is irradiated (as shown in Fig. 2 (38)); and
a second reflection portion extending from the first reflection portion (Fig. 2 (41) on the right), wherein a length of an external circumference in the second reflection portion reduces upwards from the first reflection portion (as shown in Fig. 2 (41)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2010/0213835 A1 [Mo].
Regarding Claim 1:
Mo discloses an optical disc unit for an ultraviolet sterilizer, which is applied to the ultraviolet sterilizer including an ultraviolet light emitting diode (LED) to reflect light irradiated from the ultraviolet LED (the preceding preamble limitation is understood to describe the intended use of the optical disc unit, and to not actually require a UV LED. This is consistent with claim 9, which depends from this claim and adds such an element using a positive limitation), the optical disc unit comprising:
a body portion including a hollow (note the space defined by bulb in Fig. 8e below); and
a primary optical unit (Fig. 8e (810)) fixedly coupled to an internal diameter surface in the hollow of the body portion (para 62 – “mounted on a sidewall”) and disposed in a direction perpendicular to an emission surface of the ultraviolet LED to reflect the light irradiated from the ultraviolet LED therethrough (as shown in Fig. 8e, element (810) extends in a direction of irradiation, i.e. a direction perpendicular to an emission surface).
a first internal diameter surface perpendicular to the emission surface (see e.g., area A in annotated Fig. 8e below), and
a second internal diameter surface extending from the first internal diameter surface and formed to be inclined with a predetermined angle in a direction of an external diameter surface of the body portion along an upward direction of the body portion (see e.g., area B in annotated Fig. 8e below).
However, Mo does not specify that internal surface (B) is linearly inclined. Changing the shape of the outer bulb to have linear section, such that it would be “linearly inclined” would not change the effect of the device in any conceivable way. In fact, upon close inspection, there are numerous sections of Fig. 8E near area B that could already be considered “linear.” As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to slightly flatten the shape of section B of Mo such that it was “linearly inclined.” One of ordinary skill would have this found obvious because there is no evidence that a “linearly inclined” surface performs any significant or particular function that is not likewise performed by the very similar shape taught by Mo.
Regarding Claim 2:
Mo teaches the optical disc unit of claim 1, wherein the primary optical unit includes:
a first reflection portion disposed adjacent to the ultraviolet LED (Fig. 8e (810) on the left), wherein a length of an external circumference in the first reflection portion increases upwards from the ultraviolet LED in a direction in which the light is irradiated (as shown in Fig. 8e (810) on the left); and
a second reflection portion extending from the first reflection portion (Fig. 8e (810) on the right), wherein a length of an external circumference in the second reflection portion reduces upwards from the first reflection portion (as shown in Fig. 8e (810) on the right).
Regarding Claim 3:
Mo teaches the optical disc unit of claim 2, but fails to specify that the first reflection portion and the second reflection portion include a shape of cone.
However, Mo does teach that other shapes, such as cones may be used. Para 58.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to modify the shape of the reflectors of Mo in the fashion suggested by Mo so as to arrive at reflectors having a cone shape. One would have been motivated to do so since Mo suggests doing so to achieve any desired pattern. Para 49.
Regarding Claim 4:
Mo teaches the optical disc unit of claim 2, but does not specify that the first reflection portion and the second reflection portion include a shape of a polygonal pyramid.
However, Mo does teach that other shapes, such as pyramidal or multi-faceted reflectors may be used. Para 49.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to modify the shape of the reflectors of Mo in the fashion suggested by Mo so as to arrive at reflectors having a polygonal pyramid shape. One would have been motivated to do so since Mo suggests doing so to achieve any desired pattern. Para 49.
Regarding Claim 6:
Mo teaches the optical disc unit of claim 1, wherein an interface between a first reflection portion and a second reflection portion is formed upwards from an interface between the first internal diameter surface and the second internal diameter surface with respect to the direction in which light is irradiated from the ultraviolet LED. As can be seen in annotated Fig. 8e above, the interface between the two convex reflective shapes is farther away from the emitter than the interface between the tube surfaces.
Regarding Claim 7:
Mo teaches the optical disc unit of claim 6, wherein the light irradiated from the ultraviolet LED and reflected by the first reflection portion (as shown in Figs. 8b and 8e) is reflected by the second internal diameter surface. Para 53 explains that the tube is made of glass. Light incident on glass will inherently experience some reflection as it interacts with a glass surface.
Regarding Claim 8:
Mo teaches the optical disc unit of claim 5, wherein a material of the optical disc unit is one of polycarbonate (PC), nylon, and an Al metal material. Para 52.
Claims 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0177354 A1 [Grimm] in view of Schmertz.
Regarding Claim 9:
Grimm teaches an ultraviolet sterilizer (para 24) comprising:
a housing (Fig. 1a (3));
a substrate provided in the housing (that portion of (3) behind LED (4)); and
the ultraviolet LED mounted on the substrate (Fig. 1a (4)).
However, Grimm fails to teach the optical disc unit of claim 1 mounted onto the substrate and arranged such that the LED is disposed in the hollow of the optical disc unit.
Schmertz teaches the optical disc unit of claim 5. Mounting the housing and LED of Grimm Fig. 1a onto the focusing arrangement of Schmertz Fig. 2 would allow one to focus the UV light of Grimm in a desired fashion without the absorption of light that arises with the use of traditional lenses. Schmertz abstract. This would also entail placing the LED into the hollow the optical disc unit so that it could transmit light into the unit. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to replace the lens of Grimm with the focusing arrangement of Schmertz Fig. 2 in the fashion described above. One would have been motivated to do so since this would allow one to focus the UV light of Grimm in a desired fashion without the absorption of light that arises with the use of traditional lenses.
Regarding Claim 10:
The above modified invention teaches the ultraviolet sterilizer of claim 9, wherein an interface between the first internal diameter surface and the second internal diameter surface is formed upwards from the ultraviolet LED with respect to a direction in which the light from the ultraviolet LED is irradiated. As shown in Schmertz Fig. 2 by the arrows therein.
Regarding Claim 11:
The above modified invention teaches the ultraviolet sterilizer of claim 10, but fails to teach that an interface between the first reflection portion and the second reflection portion is formed upwards from the interface between the first internal diameter surface and the second internal diameter surface with respect to the direction in which the light from the ultraviolet LED is irradiated.
Optimizing the position of the reflector’s interface with respect to the surface’s interface is well within the bounds of normal experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05 II (A). “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to dis-cover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, “[a] particular parameter must first be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation.” In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). In the case at hand, Schmertz teaches that the mirror arrangement of Fig. 2 acts to transmit and focus light as a lens. 2:62-4:48. Further, Schmertz explains that the shapes and positions of the surfaces affect the focal point, thus identifying these shapes and positions as variable which achieve recognized results. See Schmertz 4:21-28. Therefore, the prior art teaches adjusting the shape and position of the reflectors to change the focal point. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to optimize the shape of the Schmertz’s reflectors to place the interface between the internal reflector surfaces upward from the interface of the external reflector surfaces since it is not inventive to dis-cover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.
Regarding Claim 12:
The above modified invention teaches the ultraviolet sterilizer of claim 11, wherein the light irradiated from the ultraviolet LED and reflected by the first reflection portion is reflected by the second internal diameter surface. As shown in Schmertz Fig. 2 by the arrows therein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 and 6-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 1 has been amended to recite that the internal surface of the body portion is “formed to be linearly inclined with a predetermined angle.” There word “linearly” is not used anywhere in the original disclosure. Applicant asserts that surface 112 can be seen “linearly extending” in Fig. 3. An expanded view of Fig. 3 is provided below. Presumably, applicant is using the term “linearly” to indicate that the line is straight, as that is its common usage. Upon close inspection, there is nothing particularly straight about surface (112). Rather, the image seems to show a roughly beveled corner. It is not evident that this bevel is linear in any particular sense of the word. As such, the limitation “linearly inclined” in deemed to be new matter, and the claims are rejected for failing the written description requirement.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/23/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the prior art of record fails to teach an internal diameter surface formed to be “linearly inclined.” This is not persuasive.
First, the applicant relies entirely on a drawing to find written description support for a “linearly inclined” surface. Whether the drawing actually shows such a linearly inclined surface is unclear, and it is not evident at all that such a surface was possessed at the time of the invention.
Next, it is noted that the applicant’s attorney asserts that “it is not possible to determine and focus the investigation area in precision” using a curved surface. Counsel's assertion above is merely an argument unaccompanied by evidentiary support, and, thus, is insufficient to rebut Examiner's finding of obviousness. Arguments of counsel cannot take the place of evidence in the record. In re Schulze, 346 F.2d 600, 602, 145 USPQ 716, 718 (CCPA 1965); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (“An assertion of what seems to follow from common experience is just attorney argument and not the kind of factual evidence that is required to rebut a prima facie case of obviousness.”). MPEP §§ 2145, 2129, 2144.03, 716.01. Furthermore, this assertion is entirely untrue. The field of optics is well understood, and the optical effects of surfaces, both curved and flat, can be described using rudimentary optics models. In fact, the applicant’s invention has numerous curved surfaces, including the one at issue, as can be seen in Fig. 4, wherein the surface (112) is shown to be circular.
Finally, it is noted that slightly flattening a prior art surface to achieve some degree of “linearly increasing” is of such a simple nature that it immediately apparent to anyone of ordinary skill in the art. As such, to the extent that the prior art of record does not teach the “linearly increasing” surface, it is completely obvious in view of a slightly curved increasing surface.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
WYATT STOFFA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2881
/WYATT A STOFFA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881