DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
The Applicant’s remarks with respect to claims #17, 18, 20, 21, 23, and 25 in the reply filed on June 16, 2026 have been carefully considered, but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection. Claim 19 remains indicated as being allowable.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 17, 18, 20, 21, 23, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Cho (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0193717 A1), and further in view of Oh (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0129129 A1), hereafter “Oh”.
As to claim 17, Cho teaches:
A chip scale package assembly, comprising a glass substrate 500. Cho teaches an optical detection module comprising a chip scale package assembly. See Cho, FIG. 1.
A detection chip 200 located above the glass substrate.
An isolation layer 600b disposed on a surface of the detection chip opposite to the glass substrate.
A plurality of redistribution layers 154+140 disposed on the isolation layer and spaced from each other, and having a plurality of conductive units 140.
A plurality of conductive contacts 156 respectively disposed on the plurality of conductive units.
However, Cho does not teach a light sheltering layer directly attached to and extending along a lateral surface of the glass substrate, and adapted to block lateral light transmission and provide a covering protection function.
On the other hand, Oh teaches a light sheltering layer 400 directly attached to and extending along a lateral surface of the glass substrate (300, corresponding to Oh’s 500) and adapted to block lateral light transmission and provide a covering protection function. See Oh, FIG. 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the light sheltering layer as taught by Oh into the overall package detection structure as taught by Cho in order to yield the predictable benefit of blocking the intrusion of foreign materials. Id. at ¶ [0069].
As to claim 18, the combination of Cho and Oh teaches a chip scale package detector IS and the light sheltering layer is vertically stacked and attached to a lateral surface of the glass substrate. See Cho, FIG. 1; Oh, FIG. 1.
As to claim 20, Cho teaches an isolation layer 630 located on the surface of the detection chip opposite to the imaging area, a part of the plurality of redistribution layers 154+140 stretches to another surface (bottom surface of 200) of the detection chip whereon the imaging area is located, the chip scale package assembly further comprises a protection layer 120 disposed on the plurality of redistribution layers to expose the plurality of conductive units 140, and is filled between two adjacent redistribution layers of the plurality of redistribution layers to connect the isolation layer. See Cho, FIG. 1.
As to claim 21, neither Cho nor Oh teaches a vertical height of the light sheltering layer is equal to or greater than a thickness of the glass substrate of the chip scale package assembly.
On the other hand, shape, size, and dimension differences are considered obvious design choices and are not patentable unless unobvious or unexpected results are obtained from these changes. It appears that these changes produce no functional differences and therefore would have been obvious. Note In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
As to claim 23, Cho teaches the detection chip 200 is glued to the glass substrate via an adhesion layer 600b, and Oh teaches the light sheltering layer 400 covers lateral surfaces of the glass substrate and the adhesion layer. See Cho, FIG. 1; Oh, FIG. 1.
As to claim 25, neither Cho nor Oh teaches a thickness or optical density of the light sheltering layer.
On the other hand, shape, size, and dimension differences are considered obvious design choices and are not patentable unless unobvious or unexpected results are obtained from these changes. It appears that these changes produce no functional differences and therefore would have been obvious. Note In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
On the other hand, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize a light sheltering material layer with the claimed optical density range, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claims Allowable If Rewritten in Independent Form
Claim 19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As to claim 19, Cho teaches a wafer level lens ML and the light sheltering layer attached to the lateral surface of the glass substrate, but does not teach the light sheltering layer attached to a lateral surface of the wafer level lens because a cavity separates the light sheltering layer 610 and the wafer level lens.
Conclusion
/SUBERR L CHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893