DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Final Office Action is in response to the applicant’s amendment/response of 06 November 2025.
Claims 8-9 and 15 have been canceled.
Claims 1-7 and 10-14, and 16-20 are currently pending and addressed below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments/amendments with respect to the objection to claim 3 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the objection to claim 3 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments/amendments with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Specifically, applicant argued:
Applicant does not concede the propriety of the analysis of record concluding the claimed concepts are directed to a judicial exception lacking significantly more. Applicant never intended the claims to be read upon supposed mental processes that could be performed by a human user. The Examiner's attention is nevertheless drawn to the amended subject matter, including in claim 1 calling for the receiving a plurality of signals including receiving the signals from a plurality of sensors in the electric-drive machine and calculating on a computerized system controller an SOH term for each one of the plurality of components based on the plurality of monitoring signals and a plurality of stored SOH degradation progression profiles. The claimed methodology is explicitly stated to be performed by a computerized controller. Taken in conjunction with other aspects of the claim, including receiving signals from sensors in the electric-drive machine, practicing the claimed concept clearly requires, in combination, performing actions and technological and computing functions in the real world via hardware, not mental processes.
Amendments to claim 1 should remove further conceivable disagreement as to whether claim 1 passes step 2B of the 101 analysis. According to claim 1 as now amended, the outputting a service interval scheduling signal providing a recommended service timing
bundling service specific to two or more of the plurality of components based on the
corresponding two or more different continued service capacities takes claim 1 well beyond
anything that might realistically be made of the prior art references of record within routine
skill, alone or in combination. As further explained below in connection with the prior art
rejections, none of the cited references appears to teach or suggest a service interval scheduling
signal as claimed…The claimed concept, and as further discussed in Applicant’s Specification at paragraph [0043] and [0047], for example, can assist in optimizing service scheduling…”
The Examiner’s response:
Applicant asserts “The Examiner's attention is nevertheless drawn to the amended subject matter, including in claim 1 calling for the receiving a plurality of signals including receiving the signals from a plurality of sensors in the electric-drive machine and calculating on a computerized system controller an SOH term for each one of the plurality of components based on the plurality of monitoring signals and a plurality of stored SOH degradation progression profiles. The claimed methodology is explicitly stated to be performed by a computerized controller. Taken in conjunction with other aspects of the claim, including receiving signals from sensors in the electric-drive machine, practicing the claimed concept clearly requires, in combination, performing actions and technological and computing functions in the real world via hardware, not mental processes” however, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. It appears to the Examiner applicant is arguing that “the computerized system controller” is a specialized computer however, the “computerized system controller” is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer or merely uses a generic computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea.
Regarding applicant’s arguments “the outputting a service interval scheduling signal providing a recommended service timing bundling service specific to two or more of the plurality of components based on the corresponding two or more different continued service capacities…” however, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. The amended limitation “outputting a service interval scheduling signal providing a recommended service timing bundling service specific to two or more of the plurality of components based on the corresponding two or more different continued service capacities” is merely outputting a signal. Applicant’s specification paragraphs [0043] and [0047] appears to tie the improvement (e.g. the improved assistance) to the displaying of the output and to the use of the information (e.g. a recommended service timing) by the user being assisted. However, such displaying of said information is not reflected in the claim. Therefore, the rejection of such claims under 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection maintained herein.
Examiner notes that the rejection has been modified reflecting the amendments most recently submitted by applicant.
Applicant’s arguments/amendments with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments/amendments with respect to the nonstatutory double patenting rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the nonstatutory double patenting has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-7, 10-14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101
Regarding claim 1:
Step 1: Statutory Category - Yes
The claim is directed toward a method which falls within one of the four statutory categories. MPEP 2106.3.
Step 2A Prong 1: Judicial Exception – Yes
Independent claim 1 includes limitations that recites an abstract idea. The claim recites “calculating,…, an SOH term indicative of cumulative damage or degradation for each one of the plurality of components based on the plurality of monitoring signals and a plurality of stored SOH degradation progression profiles for each respective one of the plurality of components”, which given their broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim covers performance of the limitations in the human mind. For example, “calculating…” in the context of this claim encompasses a person estimating the state of health (or the present capacity) of a component based on the given data (e.g. degradation progression profiles). As such, the claim recites at least one abstract idea (mental process).
Step 2A Prong 2: Practical Application – No
Claim 1 is evaluated whether as a whole it integrates the recited judicial exception into a practical application. As noted in the 2019 PEG, it must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial except ion to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application”.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient enough to amount to integrating the judicial exception into a practical application, for example, the claimed elements “receiving a plurality of monitoring signals from a plurality of sensors in the electric drive machine, for a plurality of components in the electric-drive machine, and each being indicative of an operating characteristic upon which a state-of-health (SOH) of a respective one of the plurality of components is dependent”, “outputting a plurality of SOH reporting signals each based on a respective one of the SOH terms and being indicative of a plurality of different continued service capacities among the plurality of components each representative of a different relative extent of component health or service life consumed;” and “outputting a service interval scheduling signal providing a recommended service timing bundling service specific to two or more of the plurality of components based on the corresponding two or more different continued service capacities” are recited at a high-level of generality and directed to pre- or post- solution activity which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. Claim 1 recites the additional elements of “a plurality of sensors in the electric-drive machine” and “a computerized system controller” are merely tool(s) being used to perform the abstract idea. The “a plurality of sensors in the electric-drive machine” and “a computerized system controller” are recited at a high-level of generality and amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer. The components merely automate the aforementioned steps and thus do not integrate the judicial exception into a “practical application”. These additional elements can also be viewed as nothing more than an attempt to generally link the use of judicial exception to the technological environment of computers. See MPEP 2106.5(h).
Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Step 2B:
Claim 1 is evaluated as to whether the claim as a whole amounts to significantly more
than the recited exception, i.e., whether any additional element, or combination of additional elements, adds an inventive concept to the claim.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient enough to provide an
inventive concept in Step 2B, for example, the claimed elements “receiving a plurality of monitoring signals from a plurality of sensors in the electric drive machine, for a plurality of components in the electric-drive machine, and each being indicative of an operating characteristic upon which a state-of-health (SOH) of a respective one of the plurality of components is dependent”, “outputting a plurality of SOH reporting signals each based on a respective one of the SOH terms and being indicative of a plurality of different continued service capacities among the plurality of components each representative of a different relative extent of component health or service life consumed;” and “outputting a service interval scheduling signal providing a recommended service timing bundling service specific to two or more of the plurality of components based on the corresponding two or more different continued service capacities” are well-understood, routine and conventional activity in the art. See MPEP 2106.05(d), II, “The courts have recognized the following computer functions as well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity. Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information);”.
As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong 2, the additional elements of “a plurality of sensors in the electric-drive machine” and “a computerized system controller” are merely tool(s) being used to perform the abstract idea. The “a plurality of sensors in the electric-drive machine” and “a computerized system controller” are recited at a high-level of generality and amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer. Additionally, these additional elements can also be viewed as nothing more than an attempt to generally link the use of judicial exception to the technological environment of computers.
Accordingly, the claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claims 10 and 17, claim 10 recites an electric-drive machine and claim 17 recites a system, both of which fall within at least one of the four statutory categories. Claims 10 and 17 recite similar limitations as indicated above with respect to claim 1. Hence, claims 10 and 17 are not eligible for the same reasons as discussed above with respect to claim 1. All other limitations not discussed are the same as those discussed above with to claim 1. Discussion is omitted for brevity.
Claims 2-7, 11-14, 16, and 18-20 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 by virtue of their dependency to the independent claims.
Claims 2-7, 11-14, 16, and 18-20 do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, because the additional elements are directed toward additional aspects of judicial exception and/or well-understood, routine and conventional additional elements that do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. For example, the limitation of claim 7 “producing on a display a graphical representation of the plurality of different continued service capacities” is recited at a high-level of generality and directed to insignificant extra-solution activity of outputting data.
The dependent claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 under similar rationale as their independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jammoussi et al. (US 20180202398 A1) in view of Tabata et al. (US 20210125420 A1), and further in view of Naziri et al. (US 20230229155 A1).
Regarding claim 1, and similarly with respect to claim 17, Jammoussi et al. discloses A
method for dynamic service interval scheduling in an electric-drive machine comprising: (Abstract “Methods and systems are provided for reliably prognosing a vehicle component, such as a vehicle battery or an intake air filter. A state of degradation of the component is predicted based on a metric that is derived from a sensed vehicle operating parameter, the parameter selected based on the component being diagnosed, as well as based on past driving history and future driving predictions. The predicted state of degradation is then converted into an estimate of time or distance remaining before the component needs to serviced”, [0020] “Engine 10 may be coupled in a propulsion system for on-road travel, such as vehicle system 5. In one example, vehicle system 5 may be a hybrid electric vehicle system.”, and [0037] “vehicle 5 may be a hybrid vehicle with multiple sources of torque available to one or more vehicle wheels 55. In other examples, vehicle 5 is a conventional vehicle with only an engine, or an electric vehicle with only electric machine(s). In the example shown, vehicle 5 includes engine 10 and an electric machine 52. Electric machine 52 may be a motor or a motor/generator. Crankshaft 140 of engine 10 and electric machine 52 are connected via a transmission 54 to vehicle wheels 55 when one or more clutches 56 are engaged.”)
receiving a plurality of monitoring signals from a plurality of sensors in the electric-drive
machine, for a plurality of components in an electric-drive machine, and each being indicative of an operating characteristic upon which a state-of-health (SOH) of a respective one of the plurality of components is dependent; ([0035] “Controller 12 may receive various signals from sensors coupled to engine 10, in addition to those signals previously discussed, including measurement of inducted mass air flow (MAF) from mass air flow sensor 122; barometric pressure from BP sensor 137; engine coolant temperature (ECT) from temperature sensor 116 coupled to cooling sleeve 118; a profile ignition pickup signal (PIP) from Hall effect sensor 120 (or other type) coupled to crankshaft 140; throttle position (TP) from a throttle position sensor; and absolute manifold pressure signal (MAP) from sensor 124.”, and [0048] “estimating the remaining life of a vehicle component. Instructions for carrying out method 300 and the rest of the methods included herein may be executed by a controller based on instructions stored on a memory of the controller and in conjunction with signals received from sensors of the engine system, such as the sensors described above with reference to FIG. 1. The controller may employ actuators of the vehicle system and engine system to diagnose component state of health”)
calculating on a computerized system controller an SOH term indicative cumulative
damage or degradation for each one of the plurality of components based on the plurality of monitoring signals and a plurality of stored SOH degradation progression profiles for each respective one of the plurality of components; ([0007] “the remaining life of a vehicle component may be accurately predicted without relying on computationally intensive algorithms. By using data sensed on-board the vehicle, in association with vehicle driving statistics, the state of health of a component may be calculated more accurately.” , [0039] “The various vehicle components may need to be periodically serviced and diagnosed. In addition, based on their service or degradation history, the remaining life of each component may vary. For example, the controller may intermittently diagnose and recursively estimate a remaining life of the vehicle system battery, the intake air filter…a vehicle controller may be configured to use an algorithm to make a statistical prediction regarding the remaining life of the component based on a previous history of degradation behavior of the component, sensed data for parameters relating to the component, as well as based on mapped vehicle driving statistics (such as real-time vehicle driving statistics, or those compiled over a current vehicle drive cycle).”, and [0048] “estimating the remaining life of a vehicle component. Instructions for carrying out method 300 and the rest of the methods included herein may be executed by a controller based on instructions stored on a memory of the controller and in conjunction with signals received from sensors of the engine system, such as the sensors described above with reference to FIG. 1. The controller may employ actuators of the vehicle system and engine system to diagnose component state of health”). Examiner Notes: The Examiner interprets SOH terms to mean signals, value representations, or information representing/reflecting/indicative (of) a state of health.
outputting a plurality of SOH reporting signals each based on a respective one of the SOH
terms and being indicative of a plurality of different continued service capacities among the plurality of components each representative of a different relative extent of component health or service life consumed; and ([0090] “The controller may then convert the predicted state of degradation into an estimate of time or duration remaining before the battery needs to be serviced for display to a vehicle operator”, and [0106] “The controller may predict the degradation state of the air filter based on the smaller than expected spread of airflow readings and convert the predicted degradation state into an estimate of time or duration remaining before the air filter needs to be serviced for display to a vehicle operator.”)
Jammoussi et al. may be alleged to not explicitly disclose calculating on a computerized
system controller an SOH term for each one of the plurality of components indicative of cumulative damage or degradation
Tabata et al. teaches calculating on a computerized system controller an SOH term for
each one of the plurality of components indicative of cumulative damage or degradation ([0038] “the apparatus according to the present invention can be applied to also a case in which a remaining life of any one of various kinds of vehicle components such as other drive-force transmitting devices, an engine, a damper device, a clutch for connecting/disconnecting transmission of a drive force from a drive force source, a differential device, gears provided in various portions, various kinds of bearings, a suspension device and a cushion device. Where the vehicle component includes a plurality of component elements as in the case of the automatic transmission, it is possible to estimate the remaining life of each of the component elements as the vehicle component.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date
of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify the system of Jammoussi et al. to incorporate estimating the remaining life of the plurality of components as taught by Tabata et al. for the purpose of providing the user information related to the remaining life so that the user can easily understand the remaining life of the vehicle components and appropriately replace the vehicle components as needed.
However, Jammoussi et al. in combination with Tabata et al. fails to explicitly disclose
outputting a service interval scheduling signal providing a recommended service timing bundling service specific to two or more of the plurality of components based on the corresponding two or more different continued service capacities.
Naziri et al. teaches outputting a service interval scheduling signal providing a
recommended service timing bundling service specific to two or more of the plurality of components based on the corresponding two or more different continued service capacities. (Figure 3, and [0016] “The inspection system may schedule a repair and/or maintenance action of the powered system at a scheduled time within the window time range. For example, the scheduled time of repair and/or maintenance (e.g., a scheduled repair time) may occur on the timeline prior to the expected failure time and after the window start time. For example, the control system may schedule repair and/or maintenance of the powered system at a time ahead of the expected failure time based on the determined expected failure time of the powered system. In one or more embodiments, the inspection system may determine plural different expected failure times for plural different components of the powered system. The control system of the inspection system may schedule the repair and/or maintenance of one or more of the plural different components at the scheduled time based on an earliest expected failure time.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date
of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify the system of Jammoussi et al. in combination with Tabata et al. to incorporate scheduled maintenance for a plurality of components as taught by Naziri et al. for the purpose of efficiently scheduling required maintenance(s).
Regarding claim 2, Jammoussi et al. in view of Tabata et al. and Naziri et al. discloses The
method of claim 1
Jammoussi et al. discloses further comprising tracking a runtime associated with the
electric-drive machine, and at least one of the operating characteristics is runtime independent. ([0049] “estimating and/or measuring vehicle operating conditions. These may include, for example, vehicle speed, engine speed, pedal position, driver torque demand, ambient conditions (such as ambient temperature, pressure, and humidity), boost pressure, battery state of charge, manifold air flow, exhaust air-fuel ratio, transmission gear selection, driving mode (e.g., electric or engine mode; sport, performance or economy mode), etc.”, and [0050] “the method includes selecting a component for assessment. A component may be periodically assessed. Therein the selecting of a component may be based on a time or distance of vehicle travel elapsed since a last assessment of the component…the selecting may be based on an active request received from the operator. This may be in addition to, or independent of, the periodic assessment. For example, an operator may request prognosis of a system battery before embarking on a planned travel route.”)
Regarding claim 6, Jammoussi et al. in view of Tabata et al. and Naziri et al. discloses The
method of claim 1
Jammoussi et al. discloses wherein each one of the plurality of different continued service
capabilities, is at least one of time-based, cycle number-based, wear-based, or consumption based. ([0039] “The various vehicle components may need to be periodically serviced and diagnosed. In addition, based on their service or degradation history, the remaining life of each component may vary. For example, the controller may intermittently diagnose and recursively estimate a remaining life of the vehicle system battery, the intake air filter.”, Figure 5, and [0069] “the rate of degradation of the battery at the last service, as well as the nature/cause of degradation at the last service may also be retrieved. For example, it may be determined if the battery degraded due to a temperature issue (e.g., due to overheating), due to aging, due to a higher than expected rate of wear and tear, due to a vehicle event/accident, etc.”)
Claims 3-4, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jammoussi et al. (US 20180202398 A1) in view of Tabata et al. (US 20210125420 A1), in view of Naziri et al. (US 20230229155 A1), and further in view of Zhang et al. (US 20240169771 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Jammoussi et al. in view of Tabata et al. and Narizi et al. discloses The
method of claim 1,
Jammoussi et al. discloses wherein
number characteristic, a temperature characteristic, a thermal loading characteristic, a mechanical loading characteristic, an energy characteristic, or a chemical degradation characteristic. ([0069] “the method includes estimating and/or measuring temperature conditions. These include, for example, ambient temperature, battery temperature, etc. At 504, the method includes retrieving the service history of the battery to determine when the battery was last serviced. The last service of the battery may include the battery being replaced, repaired, or reset. For example, a duration or distance traveled by the vehicle since the battery was last serviced may be retrieved. In addition, the rate of degradation of the battery at the last service, as well as the nature/cause of degradation at the last service may also be retrieved. For example, it may be determined if the battery degraded due to a temperature issue (e.g., due to overheating), due to aging, due to a higher than expected rate of wear and tear, due to a vehicle event/accident”)
However, Jammoussi et al. in combination with Tabata et al. and Naziri et al. fails to
explicitly disclose each of the operating characteristics includes a cycle number characteristic, a temperature characteristic, a thermal loading characteristic, a mechanical loading characteristic, an energy characteristic, or a chemical degradation characteristic.
Zhang et al. teaches each of the operating characteristics includes a cycle number
characteristic, a temperature characteristic, a thermal loading characteristic, a mechanical loading characteristic, an energy characteristic, or a chemical degradation characteristic. ([0015] “controller may include that the stator health degradation analysis is based at least in part on a temperature of the stator and a temperature of a coolant of the electric motor.”, [0034] “detecting degradation within electric motors used in automotive applications (e.g., for a vehicle). According to one or more embodiments, detecting degradation is based on calculating a set of motor stator and rotor health indicators (“health indicators”) and to predict electric motor failures by continuously monitoring the health indicators.”, [0036] “a health indicator is a temperature difference between a measured or estimated stator temperature and a temperature of a drive unit fluid. The temperature difference can be used to detect motor abnormality relating to a stator.”, and [0037] “a health indicator is a rotor demagnetization state of health (SOH) figure of merits (FOMs), which can be used to detect motor abnormality relating to a rotor.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify the system of Jammoussi et al. in view of Tabata et al. and Naziri et al. to incorporate performing health degradation analysis of an electric motor as taught by Zhang et al. for the purpose of “preventing sudden loss of propulsion and walk-home situations.” ([0041], Zhang et al. )
Regarding claim 4, and similarly with respect to claim 18, Jammoussi et al. in view of Tabata
et al., Naziri et al., and Zhang et al. discloses The method of claim 3
Jammoussi et al. teaches wherein each of the stored SOH degradation progression profiles
is based on at least one of, a cycle number criterion, a fatigue criterion, a thermal loading criterion, an energy criterion, or a chemical degradation criterion. ([0069] “a duration or distance traveled by the vehicle since the battery was last serviced may be retrieved. In addition, the rate of degradation of the battery at the last service, as well as the nature/cause of degradation at the last service may also be retrieved. For example, it may be determined if the battery degraded due to a temperature issue (e.g., due to overheating), due to aging, due to a higher than expected rate of wear and tear, due to a vehicle event/accident, etc.”, and [0094] “a duration or distance traveled by the vehicle since the air filter was last serviced may be retrieved. In addition, the rate of degradation of the air filter at the last service, as well as the nature/cause of degradation at the last service may also be retrieved. For example, it may be determined if the air filter degraded due to due to aging, due to a higher than expected rate of wear and tear, due to poor air quality, due to a vehicle event/accident, etc.”)
Regarding claim 19, Jammoussi et al. in view of Tabata et al., Naziri et al., and Zhang
discloses The method of claim 18,
Jammoussi et al. discloses wherein the system controller is further structured to calculate
the SOH term for at least one of the plurality of components via a stored fatigue model. ([0069] “the method includes estimating and/or measuring temperature conditions. These include, for example, ambient temperature, battery temperature, etc. At 504, the method includes retrieving the service history of the battery to determine when the battery was last serviced. The last service of the battery may include the battery being replaced, repaired, or reset. For example, a duration or distance traveled by the vehicle since the battery was last serviced may be retrieved. In addition, the rate of degradation of the battery at the last service, as well as the nature/cause of degradation at the last service may also be retrieved. For example, it may be determined if the battery degraded due to a temperature issue (e.g., due to overheating), due to aging, due to a higher than expected rate of wear and tear, due to a vehicle event/accident, etc., and [0094] “the method includes estimating and/or measuring engine conditions. These may include, for example, engine temperature conditions such as engine temperature, air temperature, ambient temperature, etc. At 804, the method includes retrieving the service history of the air filter to determine when the air filter was last serviced. The last service of the air filter may include the air filter being replaced, repaired, or reset. For example, a duration or distance traveled by the vehicle since the air filter was last serviced may be retrieved. In addition, the rate of degradation of the air filter at the last service, as well as the nature/cause of degradation at the last service may also be retrieved. For example, it may be determined if the air filter degraded due to due to aging, due to a higher than expected rate of wear and tear, due to poor air quality, due to a vehicle event/accident, etc.”)
Regarding claim 20, Jammoussi et al. in view of Tabata et al., Naziri et al., and Zhang
discloses The method of claim 19,
Jammoussi et al. discloses wherein the electric-drive machine includes an electric drive
system, ([0020] “vehicle system 5 may be a hybrid electric vehicle system.”, and [0037] “Electric machine 52 may be a motor or a motor/generator.”) and the operating characteristic of at least one of the components is runtime-independent of the electric drive system. ([0049] “estimating and/or measuring vehicle operating conditions. These may include, for example, vehicle speed, engine speed, pedal position, driver torque demand, ambient conditions (such as ambient temperature, pressure, and humidity), boost pressure, battery state of charge, manifold air flow, exhaust air-fuel ratio, transmission gear selection, driving mode (e.g., electric or engine mode; sport, performance or economy mode), etc.”, and [0050] “the method includes selecting a component for assessment. A component may be periodically assessed. Therein the selecting of a component may be based on a time or distance of vehicle travel elapsed since a last assessment of the component…the selecting may be based on an active request received from the operator. This may be in addition to, or independent of, the periodic assessment. For example, an operator may request prognosis of a system battery before embarking on a planned travel route.”)
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jammoussi et al. (US 20180202398 A1) in view of Tabata et al. (US 20210125420 A1), in view of Naziri et al. (US 20230229155 A1), in view of Zhang et al. (US 20240169771 A1), and further in view of Lee et al. (US 20120296512 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Jammoussi et al. in view of Tabata et al., Naziri et al., and Zhang et al.
discloses The method of claim 3
Zhang et al. teaches the plurality of components includes an electric traction motor
associated with a thermal loading operating characteristic,… and calculating an SOH term includes calculating an SOH term for the electric traction motor via a stored thermal fatigue model ([0045] “One or more stator health indicators are now described. The temperature of the stator with respect to the coolant temperature (T.sub.stator_wrt_clnt) of the electric motor 102 is an indicator of stator health and can be calculated as the error (difference) between the measured or estimated stator temperature and the coolant (drive unit fluid) temperature. The stator and rotor temperatures can be estimated based on coolant temperature and a motor thermal model according to one or more embodiments described herein. The motor thermal model is based on motor power losses (stator and rotor iron loss and coper loss), heat transfer coefficients, which are based on coolant temperature and flow rates, and thermal capacitance. The power losses are based on motor speed, motor currents through the q-axis (I.sub.q) and d-axis (I.sub.d) and DC voltage.”)
However, Jammoussi et al. in combination with Tabata et al., Naziri et al., and Zhang et al.
fails to explicitly disclose an electric power device associated with a chemical degradation operating characteristic; … and calculating an SOH term for the electric power device via a stored chemical degradation model.
Lee et al. teaches an electric power device associated with a chemical degradation
operating characteristic; … and calculating an SOH term for the electric power device via a stored chemical degradation model. (Abstract “A system for managing mobility of an electrically-powered vehicle. The system includes a monitoring module comprising a plurality of sensors. Each of the plurality of sensors is configured to sense the status of at least one feature of each of the electrically-powered vehicle, an environment in which the electrically-powered vehicle is residing, and a state of health of a battery of the electrically-powered vehicle. A mobility analysis module estimates mobility of the electric-powered vehicle based on the sensed status, and a telematics module displays the sensed statuses, the estimated mobility, or both.”, Figures 7 - 9, and [0040] “a battery maintenance system 134 in accordance with one embodiment of the present invention are shown. The battery maintenance system 134 includes a plurality of modules 166, 168, 170, 172, 174, 176, 178, 180, 182, 194, each operably coupled to a sensor associated with the EV 22. Each sensor evaluates, or receives, a signal representative of a functioning component of the EV 22. Thus, a portion of the modules may be configured to evaluate a bias voltage (module 172), an electrical current (module 174), a temperature (module 176), or an electrochemical impedance (module 178) with respect to the status and performance of the EV battery 52.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date
of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify the system of Jammoussi et al. in combination with Tabata et al., Naziri et al., and Zhang et al. to incorporate evaluating an electrochemical impedance with respect to the status and performance of the electric vehicle battery as taught by Lee et al. for the purpose of accurately determining the state of health and performance of the battery, improving the monitoring system of an electric motor.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jammoussi et al. (US 20180202398 A1) in view of Tabata et al. (US 20210125420 A1), in view of Naziri et al. (US 20230229155 A1), and further in view of Newman et al. (US 20180188332 A1, cited in IDS filed on 9/19/2024).
Regarding claim 7, Jammoussi et al. in view of Tabata et al. and Naziri et al. discloses The
method of claim 6
However, Jammoussi et al. in combination with Tabata et al. and Naziri et al. fails to
explicitly disclose producing on a display a graphical representation of the plurality of different continued service capacities.
Newman et al. teaches producing on a display a graphical representation of the plurality of
different continued service capacities. (Abstract “a vehicle is described with the ability to gather State of Charge (SOC) information as well as State of Health (SOH) information for one or more batteries in a vehicle and then display both SOC and SOH information to a driver of the vehicle as well as other interested parties. The displayed SOH information may be accompanied by suggestions to modify driving and/or charging behaviors that will improve or contribute to a slower degradation in the SOH of the batteries.”, and [0083] “information that may be displayed on the instrument panel 400 include, without limitation, a count of the number of charges (e.g., for a lifetime of a battery or since some predetermined event), charging conditions (e.g., environmental conditions around the time of a battery charge), driving conditions (e.g., acceleration information, deceleration information, route information, etc.), battery temperature history (in table or graphical form), predicted SOH, historical SOH, a count of the number of fast charges (e.g., in total or as a ratio of the total number of charges), suggested charge schedule, max power history, internal resistance history, suggested HVAC settings, voltage history, a count of the number of regular charges (e.g., in total or as a ratio of the total number of charges), impedance history, and the like. …The SOH display 1104 may correspond to one of many display options available via the panel 400. The information presented in the SOH display 1104 may be presented as raw data, in a graphical format, or as an SOH calculation that accounts for some or all of the presented data. Furthermore, any suggestions to improve SOH performance may be presented to the user in a different portion of the instrument panel 400 or in such a way that the suggestion is more prominent to the driver (e.g., as bolded font, at a higher location of the display, etc.). The user may be allowed to navigate or toggle through the various types of information presented in the SOH display 1104”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date
of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify the system of Jammoussi et al. in combination with Tabata et al. and Naziri et al. to incorporate displaying a graphical representation relating to vehicle components (e.g. batteries) state of health (SOH) as taught by Newman et al. for the purpose of providing a more detailed information relating to the state of health of the components to the user, increasing user’s usability.
Claims 10 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 20240169771 A1) in view of Jammoussi et al. (US 20180202398 A1), and further in view of Naziri et al. (US 20230229155 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang et al. discloses An electric-drive machine comprising:
a frame; (Figure 1, 100)
ground-engaging elements coupled to the frame; (Figure 1, 104)
a plurality of components including an electric traction motor coupled to at least one of the ground-engaging elements, ([0003] “receiving data from an electric motor of a vehicle, the electric motor comprising a stator and a rotor.”, and [0033] “The electric motor 102 can be mechanically coupled to a wheel 104”) and an electric power device; ([0033] “The electric motor 102 receives electric power from a rechargeable energy storage system (RESS) 106, which can include one or more batteries for storing electric power.”)
a service interval scheduling system including a plurality of sensors, ([0054] “where it is determined whether sensors that are used to calculate motor health indicators are detecting normal readings.”) and a computerized system controller structured to: receive, at least in part from one or more of the plurality of sensors, a plurality of monitoring signals each being indicative of an operating characteristic upon which a state of health (SOH) of a respective one of the plurality of components is dependent; calculate an SOH term for each one of the plurality of components based on the plurality of monitoring signals ([0037] “a health indicator is a rotor demagnetization state of health (SOH) figure of merits (FOMs), which can be used to detect motor abnormality relating to a rotor.”, [0043] “The values output by the electric motor controller 210 are input into a health signals engine 304, which may be embodied in the electric motor controller 210 and/or in another controller and/or system.”, [0044] “The health signals engine 304 determines motor health indicators, such as rotor and/or stator health indicators.”, [0054] “the method 400 proceeds to block 406, where it is determined whether degradation of the electric motor 102 has occurred based on the motor health indicators (e.g., a change in motor torque (T.sub.m) indicates degradation).”, [0055] “checks degradation of stator health indicators as described herein. This can be trend analysis for the change in the temperature of the stator with respect to the coolant, for example. This process (block 408) can be repeated if no degradation is found. However, if stator degradation is indicated, the method 400 proceeds to block 412 where a corrective action is taken (e.g., cause the vehicle to navigate to a safe location) and/or an alert is issued indicating the stator abnormality.”, [0056] “checks degradation of rotor health indicators as described herein. This can be trend analysis for demagnetization state of health, for example. This process (block 410) can be repeated if no degradation is found. However, if rotor degradation is indicated, the method 400 proceeds to block 414 where a corrective action is taken (e.g., cause the vehicle to navigate to a safe location) and/or an alert is issued indicating the rotor abnormality.”, and see at least Figure 3A). Examiner Notes: The Examiner interprets SOH terms to mean signals, value representations, or information representing/reflecting/indicative (of) a state of health.
Zhang et al. fails to explicitly disclose a plurality of stored SOH degradation progression profiles for each respective one of the plurality of components; and output a plurality of SOH reporting signals each based on a respective one of the SOH terms and being indicative of a plurality of different continued service capacities among the plurality of components.
Jammoussi et al. teaches a plurality of stored SOH degradation progression profiles for each respective one of the plurality of components; ([0007] “the remaining life of a vehicle component may be accurately predicted without relying on computationally intensive algorithms. By using data sensed on-board the vehicle, in association with vehicle driving statistics, the state of health of a component may be calculated more accurately.” , [0039] “The various vehicle components may need to be periodically serviced and diagnosed. In addition, based on their service or degradation history, the remaining life of each component may vary. For example, the controller may intermittently diagnose and recursively estimate a remaining life of the vehicle system battery, the intake air filter…a vehicle controller may be configured to use an algorithm to make a statistical prediction regarding the remaining life of the component based on a previous history of degradation behavior of the component, sensed data for parameters relating to the component, as well as based on mapped vehicle driving statistics (such as real-time vehicle driving statistics, or those compiled over a current vehicle drive cycle).”, and [0048] “estimating the remaining life of a vehicle component. Instructions for carrying out method 300 and the rest of the methods included herein may be executed by a controller based on instructions stored on a memory of the controller and in conjunction with signals received from sensors of the engine system, such as the sensors described above with reference to FIG. 1. The controller may employ actuators of the vehicle system and engine system to diagnose component state of health”). Examiner Notes: The Examiner interprets SOH terms to mean signals, value representations, or information representing/reflecting/indicative (of) a state of health.
output a plurality of SOH reporting signals each based on a respective one of the SOH terms and being indicative of a plurality of different continued service capacities among the plurality of components each representative of a different relative extent of component health or service life consumed; and ([0090] “The controller may then convert the predicted state of degradation into an estimate of time or duration remaining before the battery needs to be serviced for display to a vehicle operator”, and [0106] “The controller may predict the degradation state of the air filter based on the smaller than expected spread of airflow readings and convert the predicted degradation state into an estimate of time or duration remaining before the air filter needs to be serviced for display to a vehicle operator.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify the system of Zhang et al. to incorporate previous history of degradation behavior of the components and displaying information relating to estimate time/duration remaining of the components as taught by Jammoussi et al. for the purpose of accurately estimating the state of health of the vehicle components and providing the user information related to the remaining life so that the user can easily understand the remaining life of the vehicle components and appropriately replace the vehicle components as needed.
However, Zhang et al. in combination with Jammoussi et al. fails to explicitly disclose output a service interval scheduling signal providing a recommended service timing bundling service specific to two or more of the plurality of components based on the corresponding two or more different continued service capacities.
Naziri et al. teaches output a service interval scheduling signal providing a
recommended service timing bundling service specific to two or more of the plurality of components based on the corresponding two or more different continued service capacities. (Figure 3, and [0016] “The inspection system may schedule a repair and/or maintenance action of the powered system at a scheduled time within the window time range. For example, the scheduled time of repair and/or maintenance (e.g., a scheduled repair time) may occur on the timeline prior to the expected failure time and after the window start time. For example, the control system may schedule repair and/or maintenance of the powered system at a time ahead of the expected failure time based on the determined expected failure time of the powered system. In one or more embodiments, the inspection system may determine plural different expected failure times for plural different components of the powered system. The control system of the inspection system may schedule the repair and/or maintenance of one or more of the plural different components at the scheduled time based on an earliest expected failure time.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date
of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify the system of Zhang et al. in combination with Jammoussi et al. to incorporate scheduled maintenance for a plurality of components as taught by Naziri et al. for the purpose of efficiently scheduling required maintenance(s).
Regarding claim 16, Zhang et al. in view of Jammoussi et al. and Naziri et al. discloses The
electric-drive machine of claim 10
Zhang et al. discloses an off-highway truck. ([0033] “FIG. 1 shows a vehicle 100 according to one or more embodiments described herein. The vehicle 100 can be a car, a truck, a van, a bus, a motorcycle, a boat, or any other type of automobile.”). Examiner notes: One of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that “a truck” or “any other type of automobile” would have obviously include all known kind of trucks including “an off-highway truck”.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 20240169771 A1) in view of Jammoussi et al. (US 20180202398 A1), in view of Naziri et al. (US 20230229155 A1), and further in view of Lee et al. (US 20120296512 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Zhang et al. in view of Jammoussi et al. and Naziri et al. discloses The
electric-drive machine of claim 10
Zhang et al. discloses wherein the operating characteristics include a thermal loading characteristic upon which the SOH of the electric traction motor is dependent, and ([0045] “One or more stator health indicators are now described. The temperature of the stator with respect to the coolant temperature (T.sub.stator_wrt_clnt) of the electric motor 102 is an indicator of stator health and can be calculated as the error (difference) between the measured or estimated stator temperature and the coolant (drive unit fluid) temperature. The stator and rotor temperatures can be estimated based on coolant temperature and a motor thermal model according to one or more embodiments described herein. The motor thermal model is based on motor power losses (stator and rotor iron loss and coper loss), heat transfer coefficients, which are based on coolant temperature and flow rates, and thermal capacitance. The power losses are based on motor speed, motor currents through the q-axis (I.sub.q) and d-axis (I.sub.d) and DC voltage.”)
However, Zhang et al. in combination with Jammoussi et al. and Naziri et al. fails to explicitly disclose a chemical degradation characteristic upon which the SOH of the electric power device is dependent.
Lee et al. teaches a chemical degradation characteristic upon which the SOH of the electric power device is dependent. (Abstract “A system for managing mobility of an electrically-powered vehicle. The system includes a monitoring module comprising a plurality of sensors. Each of the plurality of sensors is configured to sense the status of at least one feature of each of the electrically-powered vehicle, an environment in which the electrically-powered vehicle is residing, and a state of health of a battery of the electrically-powered vehicle. A mobility analysis module estimates mobility of the electric-powered vehicle based on the sensed status, and a telematics module displays the sensed statuses, the estimated mobility, or both.”, Figures 7 - 9, and [0040] “a battery maintenance system 134 in accordance with one embodiment of the present invention are shown. The battery maintenance system 134 includes a plurality of modules 166, 168, 170, 172, 174, 176, 178, 180, 182, 194, each operably coupled to a sensor associated with the EV 22. Each sensor evaluates, or receives, a signal representative of a functioning component of the EV 22. Thus, a portion of the modules may be configured to evaluate a bias voltage (module 172), an electrical current (module 174), a temperature (module 176), or an electrochemical impedance (module 178) with respect to the status and performance of the EV battery 52.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date
of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify the system of Zhang et al. in combination with Jammoussi et al. and Naziri et al. to incorporate evaluating an electrochemical impedance with respect to the status and performance of the electric vehicle battery as taught by Lee et al. for the purpose of accurately determining the state of health and performance of the battery, improving the monitoring system of an electric motor.
Regarding claim 12, Zhang et al. in view of Jammoussi et al., Naziri et al., and Lee et al.
discloses The electric-drive machine of claim 11
Zhang et al. discloses wherein the stored SOH degradation progression profile for the
electric traction motor includes a stored thermal fatigue model, and ([0045] “The motor thermal model is based on motor power losses (stator and rotor iron loss and coper loss), heat transfer coefficients, which are based on coolant temperature and flow rates, and thermal capacitance. The power losses are based on motor speed, motor currents through the q-axis (I.sub.q) and d-axis (I.sub.d) and DC voltage.”, [0054] “the method 400 proceeds to block 406, where it is determined whether degradation of the electric motor 102 has occurred based on the motor health indicators (e.g., a change in motor torque (T.sub.m) indicates degradation)., [0055] “checks degradation of stator health indicators as described herein. This can be trend analysis for the change in the temperature of the stator with respect to the coolant”)
Lee et al. teaches the stored SOH degradation progression profile for the electric power
device includes a stored chemical degradation model. . (Abstract “A system for managing mobility of an electrically-powered vehicle. The system includes a monitoring module comprising a plurality of sensors. Each of the plurality of sensors is configured to sense the status of at least one feature of each of the electrically-powered vehicle, an environment in which the electrically-powered vehicle is residing, and a state of health of a battery of the electrically-powered vehicle. A mobility analysis module estimates mobility of the electric-powered vehicle based on the sensed status, and a telematics module displays the sensed statuses, the estimated mobility, or both.”, Figures 7 - 9, and [0040] “a battery maintenance system 134 in accordance with one embodiment of the present invention are shown. The battery maintenance system 134 includes a plurality of modules 166, 168, 170, 172, 174, 176, 178, 180, 182, 194, each operably coupled to a sensor associated with the EV 22. Each sensor evaluates, or receives, a signal representative of a functioning component of the EV 22. Thus, a portion of the modules may be configured to evaluate a bias voltage (module 172), an electrical current (module 174), a temperature (module 176), or an electrochemical impedance (module 178) with respect to the status and performance of the EV battery 52.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date
of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify the system of Zhang et al. in combination with Jammoussi et al., Naziri et al., and Lee et al. to incorporate the teachings of Lee et al. for the same reasons stated in the motivation statement of claim 11.
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 20240169771 A1) in view of Jammoussi et al. (US 20180202398 A1), in view of Naziri et al. (US 20230229155 A1), and further in view of Newman et al. (US 20180188332 A1, cited in IDS filed on 9/19/2024).
Regarding claim 13, Zhang et al. in view Jammoussi et al. and Naziri et al. discloses The
electric-drive machine of claim 10
Jammoussi et al. teaches comprising a display, ([0076] “the controller may display the
estimated time/distance remaining till component degradation to the vehicle operator, for example, on a display on the center console of the vehicle.”)
However, Zhang et al. in combination with Jammoussi et al. and Naziri et al. fails to explicitly
disclose the system controller is further structured to produce on the display a graphical representation of the plurality of different continued service capacities.
Newman et al. teaches the system controller is further structured to produce on the display a graphical representation of the plurality of different continued service capacities. (Abstract “a vehicle is described with the ability to gather State of Charge (SOC) information as well as State of Health (SOH) information for one or more batteries in a vehicle and then display both SOC and SOH information to a driver of the vehicle as well as other interested parties. The displayed SOH information may be accompanied by suggestions to modify driving and/or charging behaviors that will improve or contribute to a slower degradation in the SOH of the batteries.”, and [0083] “information that may be displayed on the instrument panel 400 include, without limitation, a count of the number of charges (e.g., for a lifetime of a battery or since some predetermined event), charging conditions (e.g., environmental conditions around the time of a battery charge), driving conditions (e.g., acceleration information, deceleration information, route information, etc.), battery temperature history (in table or graphical form), predicted SOH, historical SOH, a count of the number of fast charges (e.g., in total or as a ratio of the total number of charges), suggested charge schedule, max power history, internal resistance history, suggested HVAC settings, voltage history, a count of the number of regular charges (e.g., in total or as a ratio of the total number of charges), impedance history, and the like. …The SOH display 1104 may correspond to one of many display options available via the panel 400. The information presented in the SOH display 1104 may be presented as raw data, in a graphical format, or as an SOH calculation that accounts for some or all of the presented data. Furthermore, any suggestions to improve SOH performance may be presented to the user in a different portion of the instrument panel 400 or in such a way that the suggestion is more prominent to the driver (e.g., as bolded font, at a higher location of the display, etc.). The user may be allowed to navigate or toggle through the various types of information presented in the SOH display 1104”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date
of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify the system of Zhang et al. in combination with Jammoussi et al. and Naziri et al. to incorporate displaying a graphical representation relating to vehicle components (e.g. batteries) state of health (SOH) as taught by Newman et al. for the purpose of providing a more detailed information relating to the state of health of the components to the user, increasing user’s usability.
Regarding claim 14, Zhang et al. in view of Jammoussi et al., Naziri et al., and Newman et al.
discloses Theelectric-drive machine of claim 13
Jammoussi et al. teaches wherein each one of the plurality of different continued service
capacities, is at least one of time-based, cycle number-based, wear-based, or consumption based. ([0039] “The various vehicle components may need to be periodically serviced and diagnosed. In addition, based on their service or degradation history, the remaining life of each component may vary. For example, the controller may intermittently diagnose and recursively estimate a remaining life of the vehicle system battery, the intake air filter.”, Figure 5, and [0069] “the rate of degradation of the battery at the last service, as well as the nature/cause of degradation at the last service may also be retrieved. For example, it may be determined if the battery degraded due to a temperature issue (e.g., due to overheating), due to aging, due to a higher than expected rate of wear and tear, due to a vehicle event/accident, etc.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date
of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify the system of Zhang et al. in combination with Jammoussi et al., Naziri et al., and Newman et al. to incorporate determining the remaining distance/time before degradation of the vehicle components based on age and rate of wear and tear as taught by Jammoussi et al. for the purpose of accurately estimating the remaining life or the state of heath of a vehicle component (s).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MISA H NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/ANNE MARIE ANTONUCCI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666