Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7-9, 13, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim; Oh Su et al. (US 20160146393 A1) in view of Lerner; Alexander N. et al. (US 20210025048 A1). Kim teaches a semiconductor process chamber (“chemical material coating or deposition installation or a semiconductor manufacturing installation”; not shown; [0005]) comprising: a chamber (“chemical material coating or deposition installation or a semiconductor manufacturing installation”; not shown; [0005]) configured to accommodate a wafer; and a gas supplier (“pipe”; throughout) comprising: a gas line (“pipe”; throughout-Applicant’s 410); a heating jacket (21; Figure 2; [0042]-”...may be formed in a bare wire form or in an insulation-coated form.”-Applicant’s 430) adjacent to the gas line (“pipe”; throughout-Applicant’s 410); and a heating jacket cover (44a,b; Figure 2-Applicant’s 440) adjacent to the heating jacket (21; Figure 2; [0042]-”...may be formed in a bare wire form or in an insulation-coated form.”-Applicant’s 430) – claim 1
Kim further teaches:
The semiconductor process chamber (“chemical material coating or deposition installation or a semiconductor manufacturing installation”; not shown; [0005]) of claim 1, wherein the heating jacket cover (44a,b; Figure 2-Applicant’s 440) comprises a second layer (22; Figure 2 - “cloth”) adjacent to the heating jacket (21; Figure 2; [0042]-”...may be formed in a bare wire form or in an insulation-coated form.”-Applicant’s 430), and wherein the second layer (22; Figure 2 - “cloth”) comprises an air pocket layer (22; Figure 2 - air pockets in “cloth”), as claimed by claim 6
wherein the second layer (22; Figure 2 - “cloth”) is adjacent to a portion of the heating jacket (21; Figure 2; [0042]-”...may be formed in a bare wire form or in an insulation-coated form.”-Applicant’s 430) - claim 7
The semiconductor process chamber (“chemical material coating or deposition installation or a semiconductor manufacturing installation”; not shown; [0005]) of claim 1, further comprising a gas line cover (41; Figure 2; [0038], [0052]-PTFE-Applicant’s 420) between the heating jacket (21; Figure 2; [0042]-”...may be formed in a bare wire form or in an insulation-coated form.”-Applicant’s 430) and the gas line (“pipe”; throughout-Applicant’s 410), as claimed by claim 13
The semiconductor process chamber (“chemical material coating or deposition installation or a semiconductor manufacturing installation”; not shown; [0005]) of claim 1, wherein the heating jacket (21; Figure 2; [0042]-”...may be formed in a bare wire form or in an insulation-coated form.”-Applicant’s 430) comprise a heating wire and rubber material (”...may be formed in a bare wire form or in an insulation-coated form.; [0042]) or a textured material, as claimed by claim 15
A semiconductor process chamber (“chemical material coating or deposition installation or a semiconductor manufacturing installation”; not shown; [0005]) comprising: a chamber (“chemical material coating or deposition installation or a semiconductor manufacturing installation”; not shown; [0005]) configured to accommodate a wafer; wherein the gas supplier (“pipe”; throughout) comprises:a gas line (“pipe”; throughout-Applicant’s 410); a heating jacket (21; Figure 2; [0042]-”...may be formed in a bare wire form or in an insulation-coated form.”-Applicant’s 430) adjacent to the gas line (“pipe”; throughout-Applicant’s 410); and a heating jacket cover (44a,b; Figure 2-Applicant’s 440) adjacent to the heating jacket (21; Figure 2; [0042]-”...may be formed in a bare wire form or in an insulation-coated form.”-Applicant’s 430), and wherein the heating jacket cover (44a,b; Figure 2-Applicant’s 440) comprises:a first layer (44b; “resin layers”; [0048]-[0049]; Figure 2) adjacent to the heating jacket (21; Figure 2; [0042]-”...may be formed in a bare wire form or in an insulation-coated form.”-Applicant’s 430); and a second layer (22; Figure 2 - “cloth”) adjacent to the first layer (44b; “resin layers”; [0048]-[0049]; Figure 2) – claim 16
Kim does not teach a showerhead in Kim’s chamber (“chemical material coating or deposition installation or a semiconductor manufacturing installation”; not shown; [0005]). As a result, Kim does not teach:
a shower head on an upper side of the chamber (“chemical material coating or deposition installation or a semiconductor manufacturing installation”; not shown; [0005]) and comprising a plurality of nozzles (Applicant’s 310; Figure 1); wherein the shower head comprises a gas supplier (“pipe”; throughout) configured to supply gas to the shower head – claim 1, 16
The semiconductor process chamber (“chemical material coating or deposition installation or a semiconductor manufacturing installation”; not shown; [0005]) of claim 6, wherein the shower head further comprises a connection portion configured to supply gas supplied from the gas supplier (“pipe”; throughout) to a nozzle supplier, wherein the gas supplier (“pipe”; throughout) is connected to the connection portion, and wherein the second layer (22; Figure 2 - “cloth”) is adjacent to a portion of the heating jacket (21; Figure 2; [0042]-”...may be formed in a bare wire form or in an insulation-coated form.”-Applicant’s 430) connected to the connection portion, as claimed by claim 7
The semiconductor process chamber (“chemical material coating or deposition installation or a semiconductor manufacturing installation”; not shown; [0005]) of claim 6, wherein the shower head further comprises a connection portion configured to supply gas supplied from the gas supplier (“pipe”; throughout) to a nozzle supplier, wherein the gas supplier (“pipe”; throughout) is connected to the connection portion, and wherein a thickness of Kim’s second layer (22; Figure 2 - “cloth”) increases in a direction toward the connection portion, as claimed by claim 8.
The semiconductor process chamber (“chemical material coating or deposition installation or a semiconductor manufacturing installation”; not shown; [0005]) of claim 6, wherein a thickness of the air pocket layer (22; Figure 2 - air pockets in “cloth”) is greater than or equal to 20% or and less than or equal to 50% of a thickness of the heating jacket (21; Figure 2; [0042]-”...may be formed in a bare wire form or in an insulation-coated form.”-Applicant’s 430), as claimed by claim 9
Lerner also teaches wafer processing system (Figure 1,4) including a shower head (116; Figure 1,4; 200; Figure 2) on an upper side of the chamber (104; Figure 1) and comprising a plurality of nozzles (226; Figure 2; [0039]-Applicant’s 310; Figure 1); wherein the shower head (116; Figure 1,4; 200; Figure 2) comprises a heated (172, 170, 132, 124; Figure 1) gas supplier (173, 171, 128, 120; Figure 1) configured to supply gas to the shower head – claim 1, 16.
Lerner further teaches:
a shower head (116; Figure 1,4; 200; Figure 2) on an upper side of the chamber (104; Figure 1) and comprising a plurality of nozzles (226; Figure 2; [0039]-Applicant’s 310; Figure 1); wherein the shower head (116; Figure 1,4; 200; Figure 2) comprises a gas supplier (173, 171, 128, 120; Figure 1) configured to supply gas to the shower head (116; Figure 1,4; 200; Figure 2) – claim 1, 16
The semiconductor process chamber (104; Figure 1)of claim 6, wherein the shower head (116; Figure 1,4; 200; Figure 2) further comprises a connection portion (108; Figure 3) configured to supply gas supplied from the gas supplier (173, 171, 128, 120; Figure 1) to a nozzle supplier (405; Figure 4), wherein the gas supplier (173, 171, 128, 120; Figure 1) is connected to the connection portion (108; Figure 3) - claim 7
The semiconductor process chamber (104; Figure 1)of claim 6, wherein the shower head (116; Figure 1,4; 200; Figure 2) further comprises a connection portion (108; Figure 3) configured to supply gas supplied from the gas supplier (173, 171, 128, 120; Figure 1) to a nozzle supplier (405; Figure 4), wherein the gas supplier (173, 171, 128, 120; Figure 1) is connected to the connection portion (108; Figure 3) – claim 8
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Lerner to replace Lerner’s gas supplier (173, 171, 128, 120; Figure 1) with Kim’s gas supplier (“pipe”; throughout) at optimized insulation thicknesses.
Motivation for Lerner to replace Lerner’s gas supplier (173, 171, 128, 120; Figure 1) with Kim’s gas supplier (“pipe”; throughout) at optimized insulation thicknesses is to at least improve “heat insulation” as taught by Kim ([0020]).
Claims 2-6, 10-12, 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim; Oh Su et al. (US 20160146393 A1) in view of Lerner; Alexander N. et al. (US 20210025048 A1) as demonstrated by Tianchen Xiao et al (Polym. Bull. (2017) 74:4561-4575). Kim and Lerner are discussed above.
Kim does not provide spectral properties for Kim’s first layer (44b; “resin layers”; [0048]-[0049]; Figure 2) comprising a heat reflection coating layer (44b; “polyimide”; Figure 2; as demonstrated by Xiao et al).
Xiao et al demonstrates that polyimide provides thermal reflection (1/transmittance; Figure 2) for infrared wavelengths. As a result, Kim teaches, as supported by Xiao where noted:
The semiconductor process chamber (“chemical material coating or deposition installation or a semiconductor manufacturing installation”; not shown; [0005]) of claim 1, wherein the heating jacket cover (44a,b; Figure 2-Applicant’s 440) comprises a first layer (44b; “resin layers”; [0048]-[0049]; Figure 2) adjacent to the heating jacket (21; Figure 2; [0042]-”...may be formed in a bare wire form or in an insulation-coated form.”-Applicant’s 430), and wherein the first layer (44b; “resin layers”; [0048]-[0049]; Figure 2) comprises a heat reflection coating layer (44b; “polyimide”; Figure 2; as demonstrated by Xiao et al), as claimed by claim 2
The semiconductor process chamber (“chemical material coating or deposition installation or a semiconductor manufacturing installation”; not shown; [0005]) of claim 1, wherein the heating jacket cover (44a,b; Figure 2-Applicant’s 440) comprises: a first layer (44b; “resin layers”; [0048]-[0049]; Figure 2) adjacent to the heating jacket (21; Figure 2; [0042]-”...may be formed in a bare wire form or in an insulation-coated form.”-Applicant’s 430); and a second layer (22; Figure 2 - “cloth”) adjacent to the first layer (44b; “resin layers”; [0048]-[0049]; Figure 2), wherein the first layer (44b; “resin layers”; [0048]-[0049]; Figure 2) comprises a heat reflection coating layer (44b; “polyimide”; Figure 2; as demonstrated by Xiao et al), and wherein the second layer (22; Figure 2 - “cloth”) comprises an air pocket layer (22; Figure 2 - air pockets in “cloth”), as claimed by claim 10
The semiconductor process chamber (“chemical material coating or deposition installation or a semiconductor manufacturing installation”; not shown; [0005]) of claim 16, wherein the first layer (44b; “resin layers”; [0048]-[0049]; Figure 2) comprises a heat reflection coating layer (44b; “polyimide”; Figure 2; as demonstrated by Xiao et al), and wherein the second layer (22; Figure 2 - “cloth”) comprises an air pocket layer (22; Figure 2 - air pockets in “cloth”), as claimed by claim 17
Kim does not teach a showerhead in Kim’s chamber (“chemical material coating or deposition installation or a semiconductor manufacturing installation”; not shown; [0005]). As a result, Kim does not teach:
The semiconductor process chamber (“chemical material coating or deposition installation or a semiconductor manufacturing installation”; not shown; [0005]) of claim 2, wherein the shower head further comprises a connection portion configured to supply gas supplied from the gas supplier (“pipe”; throughout) to a nozzle supplier, wherein the gas supplier (“pipe”; throughout) is connected to the connection portion, and wherein the first layer (44b; “resin layers”; [0048]-[0049]; Figure 2) is adjacent to a portion of the heating jacket (21; Figure 2; [0042]-”...may be formed in a bare wire form or in an insulation-coated form.”-Applicant’s 430) connected to the connection portion, as claimed by claim 3
The semiconductor process chamber (“chemical material coating or deposition installation or a semiconductor manufacturing installation”; not shown; [0005]) of claim 2, wherein the shower head further comprises a connection portion configured to supply gas supplied from 26 the gas supplier (“pipe”; throughout) to a nozzle supplier, wherein the gas supplier (“pipe”; throughout) is connected to the connection portion, and wherein a thickness of the first layer (44b; “resin layers”; [0048]-[0049]; Figure 2) increases in a direction toward the connection portion, as claimed byclaim 4
The semiconductor process chamber (“chemical material coating or deposition installation or a semiconductor manufacturing installation”; not shown; [0005]) of claim 2, wherein a thickness of the heat reflection coating layer (44b; “polyimide”; Figure 2; as demonstrated by Xiao et al) is less than or equal to 10% of a thickness of the heating jacket (21; Figure 2; [0042]-”...may be formed in a bare wire form or in an insulation-coated form.”-Applicant’s 430), as claimed by claim 5
The semiconductor process chamber (“chemical material coating or deposition installation or a semiconductor manufacturing installation”; not shown; [0005]) of claim 10, wherein the shower head further comprises a connection portion configured to supply gas supplied from the gas supplier (“pipe”; throughout) to a nozzle supplier, wherein the gas supplier (“pipe”; throughout) is connected to the connection portion, and wherein the first layer (44b; “resin layers”; [0048]-[0049]; Figure 2) and the second layer (22; Figure 2 - “cloth”) are adjacent to a portion of the heating jacket (21; Figure 2; [0042]-”...may be formed in a bare wire form or in an insulation-coated form.”-Applicant’s 430) connected to the connection portion, as claimed by claim 11
The semiconductor process chamber (“chemical material coating or deposition installation or a semiconductor manufacturing installation”; not shown; [0005]) of claim 10, wherein the shower head further comprises a connection portion configured to supply gas supplied from the gas supplier (“pipe”; throughout) to a nozzle supplier, wherein the gas supplier (“pipe”; throughout) is connected to the connection portion, and wherein a thickness of the first layer (44b; “resin layers”; [0048]-[0049]; Figure 2) and a thickness of the second layer (22; Figure 2 - “cloth”)increase in a direction toward the connection portion, as claimed by claim 12
The semiconductor process chamber (“chemical material coating or deposition installation or a semiconductor manufacturing installation”; not shown; [0005]) of claim 17, wherein the shower head further comprises a connection portion configured to supply gas supplied from the gas supplier (“pipe”; throughout) to a nozzle supplier, wherein the gas supplier (“pipe”; throughout) is connected to the connection portion, and wherein the first layer (44b; “resin layers”; [0048]-[0049]; Figure 2) and the second layer (22; Figure 2 - “cloth”) are adjacent to a portion of the heating jacket (21; Figure 2; [0042]-”...may be formed in a bare wire form or in an insulation-coated form.”-Applicant’s 430) connected to the connection portion, as claimed by claim 18
The semiconductor process chamber (“chemical material coating or deposition installation or a semiconductor manufacturing installation”; not shown; [0005]) of claim 17, wherein the shower head further comprises a connection portion configured to supply gas supplied from the gas supplier (“pipe”; throughout) to a nozzle supplier, wherein the gas supplier (“pipe”; throughout) is connected to the connection portion, and wherein a thickness of the first layer (44b; “resin layers”; [0048]-[0049]; Figure 2) and a thickness of the second layer (22; Figure 2 - “cloth”) increase in a direction toward the connection portion, as claimed by claim 19
The semiconductor process chamber (“chemical material coating or deposition installation or a semiconductor manufacturing installation”; not shown; [0005]) of claim 17, wherein a thickness of the air pocket layer (22; Figure 2 - air pockets in “cloth”) is greater than or equal to 20% or and less than or equal to 50% of a thickness of the heating jacket (21; Figure 2; [0042]-”...may be formed in a bare wire form or in an insulation-coated form.”-Applicant’s 430), as claimed by claim 20
Lerner is discussed above and further teaches:
The semiconductor process chamber (104; Figure 1) of claim 2, wherein the shower head (116; Figure 1,4; 200; Figure 2) further comprises a connection portion (108; Figure 3) configured to supply gas supplied from the gas supplier (173, 171, 128, 120; Figure 1) to a nozzle supplier (405; Figure 4), wherein the gas supplier (173, 171, 128, 120; Figure 1) is connected to the connection portion (108; Figure 3) - claim 3
The semiconductor process chamber (104; Figure 1) of claim 2, wherein the shower head (116; Figure 1,4; 200; Figure 2) further comprises a connection portion (108; Figure 3) configured to supply gas supplied from the gas supplier (173, 171, 128, 120; Figure 1) to a nozzle supplier (405; Figure 4), wherein the gas supplier (173, 171, 128, 120; Figure 1) is connected to the connection portion (108; Figure 3) - claim 4
The semiconductor process chamber (104; Figure 1) of claim 10, wherein the shower head (116; Figure 1,4; 200; Figure 2) further comprises a connection portion (108; Figure 3) configured to supply gas supplied from the gas supplier (173, 171, 128, 120; Figure 1) to a nozzle supplier (405; Figure 4), wherein the gas supplier (173, 171, 128, 120; Figure 1) is connected to the connection portion (108; Figure 3) - claim 11
The semiconductor process chamber (104; Figure 1) of claim 10, wherein the shower head (116; Figure 1,4; 200; Figure 2) further comprises a connection portion (108; Figure 3) configured to supply gas supplied from the gas supplier (173, 171, 128, 120; Figure 1) to a nozzle supplier (405; Figure 4), wherein the gas supplier (173, 171, 128, 120; Figure 1) is connected to the connection portion (108; Figure 3) - claim 12
The semiconductor process chamber (104; Figure 1) of claim 17, wherein the shower head (116; Figure 1,4; 200; Figure 2) further comprises a connection portion (108; Figure 3) configured to supply gas supplied from the gas supplier (173, 171, 128, 120; Figure 1) to a nozzle supplier (405; Figure 4), wherein the gas supplier (173, 171, 128, 120; Figure 1) is connected to the connection portion (108; Figure 3) - claim 18
The semiconductor process chamber (104; Figure 1) of claim 17, wherein the shower head (116; Figure 1,4; 200; Figure 2) further comprises a connection portion (108; Figure 3) configured to supply gas supplied from the gas supplier (173, 171, 128, 120; Figure 1) to a nozzle supplier (405; Figure 4), wherein the gas supplier (173, 171, 128, 120; Figure 1) is connected to the connection portion (108; Figure 3) - claim 19
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Lerner to replace Lerner’s gas supplier (173, 171, 128, 120; Figure 1) with Kim’s gas supplier (“pipe”; throughout) at optimized insulation thicknesses.
Motivation for Lerner to replace Lerner’s gas supplier (173, 171, 128, 120; Figure 1) with Kim’s gas supplier (“pipe”; throughout) at optimized insulation thicknesses is to at least improve “heat insulation” as taught by Kim ([0020]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim; Oh Su et al. (US 20160146393 A1) and Lerner; Alexander N. et al. (US 20210025048 A1) in view of Kimoto; Tomohisa et al. (US 20200182390 A1). Kim and Lerner are discussed above. Kim’s gas line cover (41; Figure 2; [0038], [0052]-PTFE-Applicant’s 420) comprises PTFE. As a result, Kim does not teach the semiconductor process chamber (“chemical material coating or deposition installation or a semiconductor manufacturing installation”; not shown; [0005]) of claim 13, wherein Kim’s gas line cover (41; Figure 2; [0038], [0052]-PTFE-Applicant’s 420) comprises an aluminum block, as claimed by claim 14.
Kimoto teaches using aluminum for gas piping components ([0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Kim to use aluminum for Kim’s gas line cover (41; Figure 2; [0038], [0052]-PTFE-Applicant’s 420) as taught by Kimoto.
Motivation for Kim to use aluminum for Kim’s gas line cover (41; Figure 2; [0038], [0052]-PTFE-Applicant’s 420) as taught by Kimoto is for “heat conducting” as taught by Kimoto ([0033]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Heated gas delivery piping common to the art include US 20120009728 A1, US 20030084848 A1, and US 20130062338 A1
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Examiner Rudy Zervigon whose telephone number is (571) 272- 1442. The examiner can normally be reached on a Monday through Thursday schedule from 8am through 6pm EST. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Any Inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the Chemical and Materials Engineering art unit receptionist at (571) 272-1700. If the examiner cannot be reached please contact the examiner's supervisor, Parviz Hassanzadeh, at (571) 272- 1435.
/Rudy Zervigon/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716