DETAILED ACTION
MONITORING OF ACOUSTIC EVENTS ON A SUBSTRATE
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed 01-21-2026 has been entered. Claims 6,10-14,16-20 are currently pending and have been examined. Claims 1-5,7-9,15 have been cancelled. Claims 18-20 have been newly added. Applicant’s amendment overcome 101 rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office action mailed 10-01-2025. The previous rejection has been updated due to applicant’s amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 01-21-2026, with respect to the
rejection(s) of claim(s) 6 and 14 their dependent claims under 35 U.S.C.103 have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection (as necessitated by
amendment) relies on a different combination of prior art references, not applied in the
prior rejection of record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6,10-14,16 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US6488569B1) cited in IDS in view of Wang et al (2) (US20190143474A1) cited in IDS, Harada (JPH08082666A) cited in IDS, Underbrink (US20150346314A1) cited in IDS.
Regarding claim 6, Wang teaches
a platen (12, figure 1) to support a polishing pad (14, figure 1);
a carrier head (16, figure 1) to hold a surface of a substrate against the polishing pad;
a motor (32, figure 1; col 3 lines 44-47 and col 3 lines 49-52) to generate relative motion between the platen and the carrier head so as to polish an overlying layer on the substrate;
an array of acoustic sensors (32, figure 1; col 3 lines 44-47 and col 3 lines 39-52) arranged within the carrier head to receive acoustic signals from the surface of the substrate; and
Wang fails to teach a controller configured to repeatedly scan a region across the substrate by varying over time respective phase shifts applied to the received acoustic signals received from respective acoustic sensors of the array of acoustic sensors, sum the phase-shifted received acoustic signals to generate a summed signal that selectively represents acoustic activity at the region on the substrate, the varying over time of the respective phase shifts thus generating a plurality of summed signals that represent acoustic activity at the region as the region scans across the substrate, detect a position on the substrate at which a polishing endpoint has been reached based on the plurality of summed signals.
Wang(2) discloses a system and method for monitoring chemical mechanical polishing of a wafer, a process controller that is configured to control the operation of the apparatus by using a set of microphones to detect sound and transmit an electrical signal based on the detected sound. The system includes a signal processor to process the electrical signal to detect the sound source position (see abstract, para 0035 and 0036).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang to include a controller configured to detect a position on the substrate at which a polishing endpoint has been reached based on received acoustic signals based on the teachings of Wang(2). This modification reduces the need for periodic optical observation of the wafer during the CMP process, and periodically stop the process and inspect the wafer to determine an endpoint has been reached. (see para 0005, 0015 of Wang(2)).
Harada discloses a method to improve estimation accuracy of the distance and direction of a signal source by using beamforming processing. (abstract; Next, the operation of the passive ranging apparatus will be described. Signal X received by each receiver element of receiver array AA1 (t) to X ANA (t) are beamforming processing units 1-A Is output to The beamforming processing unit 1-A performs beamforming on each of the input signals so as to have the maximum sensitivity in the signal direction, and outputs the signals as a signal S A (t) to the correlation time difference measurement processing unit 2-1. The signals X B1 (t) to X BNB (t) received by each of the receiver elements of the receiver array B are output to the beamforming processing unit 1-B. The beamforming processing unit 1-B performs beamforming on each of the input signals so as to have the maximum sensitivity in the signal direction, and obtains the correlation time difference measurement processing units 2-1 and 2- as the signal S B (t). Output to 2. The signals X C1 (t) to X CNC (t) received by the respective wave receiver elements of the wave receiver array C are beam forming processing unit 1. Output to -C. The beamforming processing unit 1-C performs beamforming on each input signal so that the signal direction has the maximum sensitivity, and outputs the signal S C (t) to the correlation time difference measurement processing unit 2-2. The correlation time difference measurement processing unit 2-1 calculates the arrival time difference τ 1 between the input signals S A (t) and S B (t) and outputs it to the range calculation unit 4. In the correlation time difference measurement processing unit 2-2, the input signal S The arrival time difference τ 2 between B (t) and S C (t) is calculated and output to the range calculation unit 4. The wave receiver position register 3 records the mounting position of each wave receiver array, and outputs the position information to the range calculator 4. The range calculator 4 calculates the signal)
Underbrink (US20150346314A1) discloses a system and method of determining a characteristic of a noise source where method includes scanning a region, summing phase-shifted acoustic signals, (para 0035-0041).
Based on the teachings of Harada and Underbrink, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Wang to include a controller configured to repeatedly scan a region across the substrate by varying over time respective phase shifts applied to the received acoustic signals received from respective acoustic sensors of the array of acoustic sensors, sum the phase-shifted received acoustic signals to generate a summed signal that selectively represents acoustic activity at the region on the substrate, the varying over time of the respective phase shifts thus generating a plurality of summed signals that represent acoustic activity at the region as the region scans across the substrate detect a position on the substrate at which a polishing endpoint has been reached based on the plurality of summed signals. This modification would help improve the process of determining the specific position and characteristic of a sound source. (see Harada abstract and Underbrink para 0035-0045).
Regarding claim 10, modified Wang teaches wherein the controller is configured to, for each respective position of a plurality of positions of the region as region is repeatedly scanned across the substrate, monitor summed signals for a change that represents a polishing endpoint at the respective position corresponding to the respective summed signal. (see Harada abstract and and Wang para 0035-0040)
Regarding claim 11, modified Wang teaches
wherein the polishing endpoint comprises removal of a layer being polished to expose an underlying layer (see Wang col 6 lines 55-64).
Regarding claim 12, modified Wang teaches
wherein the controller is further configured to, prior to detecting a polishing endpoint in a zone, denoise the received acoustic signals from the array of acoustic sensors (see Wang col 6 lines 27-40 discloses band pass filter to eliminate low frequency components related to background noise).
Regarding claim 13, modified Wang teaches
wherein the array of acoustic sensors includes five or more acoustic sensors (see Wang col 5 lines 60-65).
Regarding claim 14, Wang
holding a substrate (18, figure 1)with a carrier head (16, figure 1) and bringing the surface of a substrate into contact with a polishing pad (14, figure 1);
generating relative motion between the substrate and the polishing pad (col 3 lines 35-55);
monitoring acoustic signals from the substrate from a plurality of sensors in the carrier head (col 3 lines 18-27, col 4 lines 9-30,col 4 lines 55-65).
Wang fails to teach repeatedly scanning a region across the substrate by varying over time respective phase shifts applied to respective acoustic signals received from respective acoustic sensors of the plurality of acoustic sensors;
summing the phase-shifted acoustic signals to generate a summed signal that selectively represents acoustic activity at the region on the substrate, the varying over time of the respective phase shifts thus generating a plurality of summed signals that represent acoustic activity at the region as the region scans across the substrate;
detecting a position on the substrate at which a polishing endpoint has been reached based the plurality of summed signals; and
modifying one or more polishing parameters to adjust the polishing operation based on a position on the substrate at which a polishing endpoint has been reached.
Wang(2) discloses a system and method for monitoring chemical mechanical polishing of a wafer, a process controller that is configured to control the operation of the apparatus by using a set of microphones to detect sound and transmit an electrical signal based on the detected sound. The system includes a signal processor to process the electrical signal to detect the sound source position (see abstract, para 0035 and 0036).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang to include a step of calculating a position of an acoustic event on the surface of the substrate based on the acoustic signals received from the plurality of sensors based on the teachings of Wang(2). This modification reduces the need for periodic optical observation of the wafer during the CMP process, and periodically stop the process and inspect the wafer to determine an endpoint has been reached. (see para 0005, 0015 of Wang(2).)
Harada discloses a method to improve estimation accuracy of the distance and direction of a signal source by using beamforming processing. (abstract; Next, the operation of the passive ranging apparatus will be described. Signal X received by each receiver element of receiver array AA1 (t) to X ANA (t) are beamforming processing units 1-A Is output to The beamforming processing unit 1-A performs beamforming on each of the input signals so as to have the maximum sensitivity in the signal direction, and outputs the signals as a signal S A (t) to the correlation time difference measurement processing unit 2-1. The signals X B1 (t) to X BNB (t) received by each of the receiver elements of the receiver array B are output to the beamforming processing unit 1-B. The beamforming processing unit 1-B performs beamforming on each of the input signals so as to have the maximum sensitivity in the signal direction, and obtains the correlation time difference measurement processing units 2-1 and 2- as the signal S B (t). Output to 2. The signals X C1 (t) to X CNC (t) received by the respective wave receiver elements of the wave receiver array C are beam forming processing unit 1. Output to -C. The beamforming processing unit 1-C performs beamforming on each input signal so that the signal direction has the maximum sensitivity, and outputs the signal S C (t) to the correlation time difference measurement processing unit 2-2. The correlation time difference measurement processing unit 2-1 calculates the arrival time difference τ 1 between the input signals S A (t) and S B (t) and outputs it to the range calculation unit 4. In the correlation time difference measurement processing unit 2-2, the input signal S The arrival time difference τ 2 between B (t) and S C (t) is calculated and output to the range calculation unit 4. The wave receiver position register 3 records the mounting position of each wave receiver array, and outputs the position information to the range calculator 4. The range calculator 4 calculates the signal)
Underbrink (US20150346314A1) discloses a system and method of determining a characteristic of a noise source where method includes scanning a region, summing phase-shifted acoustic signals. (para 0007-0012 0035-0042).
Based on the teachings of Harada and Underbrink, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Wang to include repeatedly scanning a region across the substrate by varying over time respective phase shifts applied to respective acoustic signals received from respective acoustic sensors of the plurality of acoustic sensors;
summing the phase-shifted acoustic signals to generate a summed signal that selectively represents acoustic activity at the region on the substrate, the varying over time of the respective phase shifts thus generating a plurality of summed signals that represent acoustic activity at the region as the region scans across the substrate;
detecting a position on the substrate at which a polishing endpoint has been reached based the plurality of summed signals; and
modifying one or more polishing parameters to adjust the polishing operation based on a position on the substrate at which a polishing endpoint has been reached. This modification would help improve the process of determining the specific position and characteristic of a sound source. (see Harada abstract and Underbrink para 0035-0045).
Regarding claim 16, modified Wang teaches
wherein the plurality of sensors monitor acoustic signals in a frequency range from 10 kHz to 200 kHz (see Wang col 6 lines 35-40).
Regarding claim 18, modified Wang teaches wherein the array of acoustic sensors includes three or more acoustic sensors (see Wang col 5 lines 60-65).
Claim(s) 17 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US6488569B1) cited in IDS in view of Wang et al (2) (US20190143474A1) cited in IDS , Harada (JPH08082666A) cited in IDS, Underbrink (US20150346314A1) cited in IDS as applied to claim 6 and 14 further in view Yavelberg (US 20150360343 A1)
Regarding claims 17 and 19, modified Wang teaches all limitations stated above, but fails to teach wherein the acoustic sensor is a passive acoustic sensor.
Yavekverg teaches chemical mechanical polishing carrier that has a passive acoustic sensor (para 0041).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Wang wherein the acoustic sensor is a passive acoustic sensor based on the teachings of Yavekverg. This modification would help ensure the sensor can perform in-situ detection/measurement. (see Yavekverg para 0041).
Regarding claim 20, modified Wang teaches wherein the controller is configured to monitor acoustic signals from the acoustic sensors in a frequency range from 10 kHz to 200 kHz. (see Wang col 6 lines 35-40)
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SARAH AKYAA FORDJOUR/ Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723