DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 06/05/2023 has been considered.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 06/05/2023 are acceptable.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure and the specification filed on 06/05/2023 are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 8, 9, 11, 13, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Choi (US 2013/0000978).
Regarding claim 1, Choi discloses:
A semiconductor package comprising:
a lower structure (120, ¶0058, figure 1a is being considered while inverted for the current interpretation) including a first lower conductive pad (140, ¶0058) disposed on an upper surface thereof;
a first semiconductor chip (110, ¶0059) disposed on the lower structure (110), the first semiconductor chip (110) including a first chip conductive pad (130, ¶058) disposed on a lower surface thereof;
a solder ball (150, ¶0058) connecting the first lower conductive pad (140) and the first chip conductive pad (130);
a photosensitive insulating layer filling a space between the lower structure and the first semiconductor chip (epoxy resin is disclosed as bonding the chip to the substrate ¶0119); and
a first organic insulating layer 160 (¶0058, ¶0045, covering a side surface of the first chip conductive pad (130).
Regarding claim 3, Choi further discloses:
wherein the first organic insulating layer (160) extends to cover a side surface of the solder ball (150, figure 1b).
Regarding claim 5, Choi further discloses:
wherein the photosensitive insulating layer includes an epoxy resin (¶0119)
Regarding claim 8, Choi further discloses:
wherein the first organic insulating layer (160) surrounds the first chip conductive pad (130).
Regarding claim 9, Choi discloses:
A semiconductor package comprising:
a first semiconductor chip (120) including a first chip conductive pad (140) disposed on an upper surface thereof (fig. 1a is being considered while inverted for the current interpretation);
at least one second semiconductor chip (110) disposed on the first semiconductor chip, the at least one second semiconductor chip including a second chip conductive pad (130) disposed on a lower surface thereof;
a solder ball (150) connecting the first chip conductive pad to the second chip conductive pad;
a photosensitive insulating layer filling a space between the first semiconductor chip and the at least one second semiconductor chip (¶0119); and
a first organic insulating layer (160) covering a side surface of the second chip conductive pad (130).
Regarding claim 11, Choi further discloses:
wherein the first organic insulating layer (160) extends to cover a side surface of the solder ball (150, figure 1b).
Regarding claim 13, Choi further discloses:
wherein the photosensitive insulating layer includes an epoxy resin (¶0119)
Regarding claim 16, Choi further discloses:
wherein the first organic insulating layer (160) surrounds the first chip conductive pad (130).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 17, the prior art does not disclose “a second photosensitive insulating layer filling a space between the second semiconductor chips; a first organic insulating layer covering a side surface of the first chip upper conductive pad; a second organic insulating layer covering a side surface of the second chip lower conductive pad; and a third organic insulating layer covering a side surface of the second chip upper conductive pad” in combination with the remaining claimed features.
Regarding claims 2 and 10, the prior art does not disclose “ “further including a second organic insulating layer covering a side surface of the first lower conductive pad” in combination with the remaining claimed features.
Regarding claim 4 and 12, the prior art does not disclose “a second organic insulating layer covering a side surface of the first lower conductive pad and in contact with the first organic insulating layer” in combination with the remaining claimed features.
Regarding claims 6 and 14, the prior art does not disclose “wherein: the epoxy resin is a novolac resin, the dissolution inhibitor is diazonaphthoquinone, the curing agent is an imidazole derivative, and the filler is silica” in combination with the remaining claimed features.
Regarding claims 7 and 15, the prior at does not disclose “wherein the first organic insulating layer includes an imidazole derivative” in combination with the remaining claimed features.
Conclusion
/WILLIAM A HARRISTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899