DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 2, filed 11/21/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 11 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the current amendments to the claims.
Claim Objections
The numbering of claims is not in accordance with 37 CFR 1.126 which requires the original numbering of the claims to be preserved throughout the prosecution. When claims are canceled, the remaining claims must not be renumbered. When new claims are presented, they must be numbered consecutively beginning with the number next following the highest numbered claims previously presented (whether entered or not).
The second instance of misnumbered claim 22 been renumbered 23.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 22-23, claim 22 recites the limitation “The system of claim 1.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because claim 1 is directed to a method of online power management for a hybrid powertrain. Claim 23 refers to “The system of claim 22.” For the purposes of examination claim 22 is being interpreted as depending from the method of claim 1 and claim 23 is being interpreted as depending from the method of claim 22.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 9-15 and 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sujan (US Patent Application Publication 2015/0361915) in view of Hayakawa (US Patent Application Publication 2015/0344024) in view of Sujan (US Patent Application Publication 2015/0330500), hereinafter Sujan ‘500, in view of Lasocki (Empirical Study on the Efficiency of an LPG-Supplied Range Extender for Electric Vehicles) in view of Ulrey (US Patent Application Publication 2015/0302670) and further in view of Klomp (US Patent Number 4,932,374).
Regarding claims 1 and 9-10, Sujan discloses a method of online power management for a powertrain, the method comprising:
when the power management of the hybrid powertrain is paused [0035] [0042],
a controller comprising one or more processors [0023]; and
operating during a first time period, by the controller, the powertrain at a first speed of a plurality of speeds for a first designated power level of a plurality of designated power levels [0035];
sending a first torque request determined based on the first speed and the first designated power level [0035];
receiving, by the controller, a first set of data collected during the first time period when the powertrain is operated at the first speed for the first designated power level at a steady state [0029] [0031] [0040]; and
determining, by the controller, a first brake-thermal-efficiency of a plurality of brake-thermal-efficiencies [0029] [0040].
Sujan does not disclose the powertrain is a hybrid powertrain for a hybrid vehicle and is thus silent on receiving, by the controller, a first set of measurement data collected during the first time period when the hybrid powertrain is operated at the first speed for the first designated power level at a steady state, the first set of measurement data comprising fuel flow rate data; and determining, by the controller, the first brake-thermal-efficiency of the plurality of brake-thermal-efficiencies based on the first set of measurement data, wherein each BTE of the plurality of BTEs is determined using a ratio of electrical power output by a generator of the hybrid powertrain to a fuel flow rate of an engine of the hybrid powertrain. Sujan is silent on the controller performing the pausing of the power management of the powertrain while it is in operation and therefore does not disclose wherein pausing a power management comprises sending a command to pause the power management of the hybrid powertrain.
Hayakawa discloses a power management method for a hybrid powertrain comprising the step of pausing, by a controller (174), a power management of the hybrid powertrain when the hybrid powertrain is in operation, wherein pausing a power management comprises sending a command to pause the power management of the hybrid powertrain [0044].
Hayakawa teaches that stopping management of the power supplied to the powertrain during a deceleration operation can result in a deceleration that meets the driver’s expectations [0075]. Hayakawa teaches that a hybrid vehicle improves over an internal combustion engine by adding the ability to operate using a motor generator.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Sujan for use with a hybrid vehicle as disclosed by Hayakawa to add the additional functionality of powering a vehicle with a motor generator with or in place of an engine. Furthermore, it would have been obvious combine the controller disclosed by Hayakawa for use with the powertrain disclosed by Sujan so that power management of the powertrain is paused during its operation because this can improve driveability by meeting the driver’s expectations during a deceleration operation.
Sujan, as modified by Hayakawa, does not disclose the first set of measurement data comprising fuel flow rate data and does not disclose determining the first brake-thermal-efficiency based on the first set of measurement data, wherein each BTE of the plurality of BTEs is determined using a ratio of electrical power output by a generator of the hybrid powertrain to a fuel flow rate of an engine of the hybrid powertrain.
Sujan ‘500 discloses receiving, by a controller (150), a first set of measurement data collected during a first time period when a hybrid powertrain is operated at the first speed for the first designated power level, the first set of measurement data comprising fuel flow rate data [0023, 0031-0032, 0035, 0045, the controller 150 includes the transmission module 160 that receives vehicle operation data 171 that includes data used to map BTEs as a function of BSFC values for different operating points of an engine]; and
determining, by the controller, a first brake-thermal-efficiency of a plurality of brake-thermal-efficiencies based on the first set of measurement data, wherein each BTE of the plurality of BTEs is determined using a ratio of electrical power of the hybrid powertrain to a fuel flow rate of an engine of the hybrid powertrain [0023, 0045, as shown in Equations (1) and (2) the brake-thermal-efficiencies are determined using the ratio of electrical power to the fuel flow rate of the engine].
Sujan ‘500 teaches that determining each BTE using equation (2) which includes a ratio of electric power of the hybrid powertrain to a fuel flow rate of an engine of the hybrid powertrain is one of a number of equations, formulas and processes that can be used to calculate the parameter [0045]. Sujan ‘500 teaches that determining the BTEs can be used to adjust the transmission of the powertrain when the BTEs relative to BSFC values change relative to normal, thereby enhancing vehicle driveability [0060].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the first brake-thermal-efficiency disclosed by Sujan using the ratio disclosed by Sujan ‘500 because it has been known in the art that this is one of a finite number of solutions for calculating the BTE and the calculation produces an expected result that aligns with other calculation equations, formulas and processes and furthermore because it can be used to adjust the powertrain to enhance vehicle driveability.
Sujan ‘500 teaches that the vehicle containing the engine may be a hybrid vehicle [0023] but does not explicitly disclose the electrical power being a power output by a generator. Thus, Sujan, as modified by Hayakawa and Sujan ‘500, does not disclose the electrical power being output by a generator.
Lasocki discloses a hybrid vehicle that comprises an on-board generator and discloses receiving a first set of measurement data collected during a first time period when the hybrid powertrain is operated at a first speed for a first designated power level at a steady state, the first set of measurement data comprising fuel flow rate data [the vehicle and its on-board generator shown in Figure 2] [pages 6-7, section 2.3 Experimental Procedure]; and
determining a first brake-thermal-efficiency of a plurality of brake-thermal-efficiencies based on the first set of measurement data, wherein each BTE of the plurality of BTEs is determined using electrical power output by a generator [pages 12-13, Tables 6-7].
Lasocki teaches a specific type of hybrid vehicle termed extended range electric vehicles have an electric propulsion system and battery sized in such a way that the engine is not required for vehicle operation as long as battery energy is available [page 2]. This hybrid vehicle type possesses the benefits of a vehicle that only uses an electric motor operating in a zero emission driving mode while absolving the driver of the fear of running out of battery energy [page 2].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the extended range hybrid electric vehicle disclosed by Lasocki as the hybrid vehicle disclosed by Sujan, as modified by Hayakawa and Sujan ‘500, where the electric power output as a variable used to determine the BTE is the power output of a generator because Lasocki teaches that an extended range electric vehicle is designed so that the vehicle may be propelled solely by the generator, thereby obtaining the benefits of zero emissions while allowing the vehicle to operate using the engine thereby preventing range anxiety for the driver.
Sujan does not disclose wherein the steady state comprises a predetermined criteria being met, and wherein the predetermined criteria comprises an engine torque feedback criteria, the predetermined criteria having a deviation within a predefined bound for at least a predefined duration.
Ulrey discloses receiving a first set of measurement data collected during a time period when a powertrain is operated at steady state, the first set of measurement data comprising fuel flow rate data, wherein the steady state comprises a predetermined criteria being met, and wherein the predetermined criteria comprises an engine torque feedback criteria, the predetermined criteria having a deviation within a predefined bound for at least a predefined duration [0060, 0074, the average steady state fuel economy reading MPG_SS_avg is determined when the vehicle is traveling under steady state conditions defined by no significant changes in vehicle acceleration or vehicle altitude while the vehicle travels at a first speed, the fuel economy is calculated every time entry conditions are met, as shown in steps 604, 616 and 618 of Figure 6 MPG_SS_avg = ROLAV(Vs_2/FFR) where FFR is existing fuel flow rate],
wherein the predefined duration is between 5-10 seconds [0011, 0031-0032, the entry conditions for calculating the existing fuel flow rate FFR includes the time since the last calculation being greater than or equal to a predetermined threshold of, for example, 5 seconds].
Ulrey, as discussed above, teaches that steady state conditions involve no significant changes in vehicle acceleration or vehicle altitude but does not explicitly disclose the engine torque feedback having a deviation within a predefined bound. Klomp teaches that steady state driving conditions exist in a predefined bound of a range of light engine loads, whereas during large changes in acceleration or altitude is in the bound of maximum engine loads (Col. 1, lines 48-59). Thus, the existing fuel flow rate measured by Ulrey to determine the average steady state fuel economy reading is collected while the engine torque is within a predefined bound of light engine loads.
Ulrey teaches that fuel measurements may be inaccurate when the measurements are performed outside of a steady state condition [0074, 0083]. Inaccurate fuel measurements may, for example, reduce or eliminate the utility of in-vehicle displays of fuel economy for a driver, which are based on measured fuel flow rate [0002].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to obtain the first set of measurement data disclosed by Sujan according to the criteria disclosed by Ulrey because this criteria prevents inaccurate fuel measurements, which, for example, ensure downstream calculations such as fuel economy based on the fuel measurements are also accurate.
Regarding claim 2, Sujan further discloses the method further comprising selecting, by the controller, a BTE from the plurality of BTEs for first designated power level of the plurality of designated power levels, the selected BTE corresponding to a speed [0035].
Regarding claim 3, Sujan further discloses the method further comprising adjusting, by the controller, the power management based on the selected BTE with the corresponding speed for the first designated power level of the plurality of designated power levels [0035] [0042].
Regarding claim 4, Sujan further discloses wherein the selected BTE is a maximum value of the plurality of BTEs for the first designated power level of the plurality of designated power levels [0035].
Regarding claim 5, Sujan further discloses when the power management of the hybrid powertrain is paused [0035] [0042],
operating during a second time period different from the first time period, by the controller, the powertrain at a first speed of a plurality of speeds for a first designated power level of a plurality of designated power levels, the second speed being different from the first speed, the second designated power level being different from the first designated power level [0035-0036];
sending a second torque request determined based on the second speed and the second designated power level [0035-0036];
receiving, by the controller, a second set of data collected during the second time period when the powertrain is operated at the second speed for the first designated power level at a steady state [0029] [0031] [0040]; and
determining, by the controller, a second BTE of a plurality of second BTEs [0029] [0040].
Sujan does not disclose receiving, by the controller, a second set of measurement data collected during the second time period when the hybrid powertrain is operated at the second speed for the second designated power level at a steady state, the second set of measurement data comprising fuel flow rate data; and determining the second BTE based on the second set of measurement data.
Sujan ‘500 discloses a method comprising receiving, by a controller (150), a set of measurement data collected during a time period when a powertrain is operated at a speed for a designated power level at a steady state, the set of measurement data comprising fuel flow rate data [0023, 0031-0032, 0035, 0045]; and
determining, by the controller, a BTE of a plurality of BTEs based on the set of measurement data [0023, 0031-0032, 0035, 0045].
Sujan ‘500 teaches that teaches that determining a plurality of BTEs can be used to adjust the transmission of the powertrain when the BTEs relative to BSFC values change relative to normal, thereby enhancing vehicle driveability [0060].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the second brake-thermal-efficiency disclosed by Sujan using the ratio disclosed by Sujan ‘500 because it has been known in the art that this is one of a finite number of solutions for calculating the BTE and the calculation produces an expected result that aligns with other calculation equations, formulas and processes and furthermore because it can be used to adjust the powertrain to enhance vehicle driveability.
Regarding claims 11, 19 and 21, Sujan discloses a system of online power management for a powertrain, the system comprising:
one or more memories having instructions [0023, 0025]; and
one or more processors configured to execute the instructions to perform operations [0025] comprising:
pausing power management of the powertrain when the powertrain is in operation and when the power management of the powertrain is paused [0035] [0042],
a controller comprising one or more processors [0023]; and
operating the powertrain at a first speed of a plurality of speeds for a first designated power level of a plurality of designated power levels during a first time period [0035];
sending a first torque request determined based on the first speed and the first designated power level [0035];
receiving a first set of data collected during the first time period when the powertrain is operated at the first speed for the first designated power level at a steady state [0029] [0031] [0040]; and
determining a first brake-thermal-efficiency of a plurality of brake-thermal-efficiencies [0029] [0040].
Sujan does not disclose the first set of measurement data comprising fuel flow rate data. Sujan does not disclose the powertrain is a hybrid powertrain for a hybrid vehicle and is thus silent on determining the first brake-thermal-efficiency based on the first set of measurement data, wherein each BTE of the plurality of BTEs is determined using a ratio of electrical power output by a generator of the hybrid powertrain to a fuel flow rate of an engine of the hybrid powertrain, wherein pausing a power management comprises sending a command to pause the power management of the hybrid powertrain.
Hayakawa discloses a power management method for a hybrid powertrain comprising the step of pausing, by a controller (174), a power management of the hybrid powertrain when the hybrid powertrain is in operation, wherein pausing a power management comprises sending a command to pause the power management of the hybrid powertrain [0044].
Hayakawa teaches that stopping management of the power supplied to the powertrain during a deceleration operation can result in a deceleration that meets the driver’s expectations [0075]. Hayakawa teaches that a hybrid vehicle improves over an internal combustion engine by adding the ability to operate using a motor generator.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Sujan for use with a hybrid vehicle as disclosed by Hayakawa to add the additional functionality of powering a vehicle with a motor generator with or in place of an engine. Furthermore, it would have been obvious combine the controller disclosed by Hayakawa for use with the powertrain disclosed by Sujan so that power management of the powertrain is paused during its operation because this can improve driveability by meeting the driver’s expectations during a deceleration operation.
Sujan, as modified by Hayakawa, does not disclose the first set of measurement data comprising fuel flow rate data and does not disclose determining the first brake-thermal-efficiency based on the first set of measurement data, wherein each BTE of the plurality of BTEs is determined using a ratio of electrical power output by a generator of the hybrid powertrain to a fuel flow rate of an engine of the hybrid powertrain.
Sujan ‘500 discloses receiving a first set of measurement data collected during a first time period when a hybrid powertrain is operated at the first speed for the first designated power level, the first set of measurement data comprising fuel flow rate data [0023, 0031-0032, 0035, 0045, the controller 150 includes the transmission module 160 that receives vehicle operation data 171 that includes data used to map BTEs as a function of BSFC values for different operating points of an engine]; and
determining a first brake-thermal-efficiency of a plurality of brake-thermal-efficiencies based on the first set of measurement data, wherein each BTE of the plurality of BTEs is determined using a ratio of electrical power of the hybrid powertrain to a fuel flow rate of an engine of the hybrid powertrain [0023, 0045, as shown in Equations (1) and (2) the brake-thermal-efficiencies are determined using the ratio of electrical power to the fuel flow rate of the engine].
Sujan ‘500 teaches that determining each BTE using equation (2) which includes a ratio of electric power of the hybrid powertrain to a fuel flow rate of an engine of the hybrid powertrain is one of a number of equations, formulas and processes that can be used to calculate the parameter [0045]. Sujan ‘500 teaches that determining the BTEs can be used to adjust the transmission of the powertrain when the BTEs relative to BSFC values change relative to normal, thereby enhancing vehicle driveability [0060].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the first brake-thermal-efficiency disclosed by Sujan using the ratio disclosed by Sujan ‘500 because it has been known in the art that this is one of a finite number of solutions for calculating the BTE and the calculation produces an expected result that aligns with other calculation equations, formulas and processes and furthermore because it can be used to adjust the powertrain to enhance vehicle driveability.
Sujan ‘500 teaches that the vehicle containing the engine may be a hybrid vehicle [0023] but does not explicitly disclose the electrical power being a power output by a generator. Thus, Sujan, as modified by Hayakawa and Sujan ‘500, does not disclose the electrical power being output by a generator.
Lasocki discloses a hybrid vehicle that comprises an on-board generator and discloses receiving a first set of measurement data collected during a first time period when the hybrid powertrain is operated at a first speed for a first designated power level at a steady state, the first set of measurement data comprising fuel flow rate data [the vehicle and its on-board generator shown in Figure 2] [pages 6-7, section 2.3 Experimental Procedure]; and
determining a first brake-thermal-efficiency of a plurality of brake-thermal-efficiencies based on the first set of measurement data, wherein each BTE of the plurality of BTEs is determined using electrical power output by a generator [pages 12-13, Tables 6-7].
Lasocki teaches a specific type of hybrid vehicle termed extended range electric vehicles have an electric propulsion system and battery sized in such a way that the engine is not required for vehicle operation as long as battery energy is available [page 2]. This hybrid vehicle type possesses the benefits of a vehicle that only uses an electric motor operating in a zero emission driving mode while absolving the driver of the fear of running out of battery energy [page 2].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the extended range hybrid electric vehicle disclosed by Lasocki as the hybrid vehicle disclosed by Sujan, as modified by Hayakawa and Sujan ‘500, where the electric power output as a variable used to determine the BTE is the power output of a generator because Lasocki teaches that an extended range electric vehicle is designed so that the vehicle may be propelled solely by the generator, thereby obtaining the benefits of zero emissions while allowing the vehicle to operate using the engine thereby preventing range anxiety for the driver.
Sujan does not disclose wherein the steady state comprises a predetermined criteria being met, and wherein the predetermined criteria comprises an engine torque feedback criteria, the predetermined criteria having a deviation within a predefined bound for at least a predefined duration.
Ulrey discloses receiving a first set of measurement data collected during a time period when a powertrain is operated at steady state, the first set of measurement data comprising fuel flow rate data, wherein the steady state comprises a predetermined criteria being met, and wherein the predetermined criteria comprises an engine torque feedback criteria, the predetermined criteria having a deviation within a predefined bound for at least a predefined duration [0060, 0074, the average steady state fuel economy reading MPG_SS_avg is determined when the vehicle is traveling under steady state conditions defined by no significant changes in vehicle acceleration or vehicle altitude while the vehicle travels at a first speed, the fuel economy is calculated every time entry conditions are met, as shown in steps 604, 616 and 618 of Figure 6 MPG_SS_avg = ROLAV(Vs_2/FFR) where FFR is existing fuel flow rate],
wherein the predefined duration is between 5-10 seconds [0011, 0031-0032, the entry conditions for calculating the existing fuel flow rate FFR includes the time since the last calculation being greater than or equal to a predetermined threshold of, for example, 5 seconds].
Ulrey, as discussed above, teaches that steady state conditions involve no significant changes in vehicle acceleration or vehicle altitude but does not explicitly disclose the engine torque feedback having a deviation within a predefined bound. Klomp teaches that steady state driving conditions exist in a predefined bound of a range of light engine loads, whereas during large changes in acceleration or altitude is in the bound of maximum engine loads (Col. 1, lines 48-59). Thus, the existing fuel flow rate measured by Ulrey to determine the average steady state fuel economy reading is collected while the engine torque is within a predefined bound of light engine loads.
Ulrey teaches that fuel measurements may be inaccurate when the measurements are performed outside of a steady state condition [0074, 0083]. Inaccurate fuel measurements may, for example, reduce or eliminate the utility of in-vehicle displays of fuel economy for a driver, which are based on measured fuel flow rate [0002].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to obtain the first set of measurement data disclosed by Sujan according to the criteria disclosed by Ulrey because this criteria prevents inaccurate fuel measurements, which, for example, ensure downstream calculations such as fuel economy based on the fuel measurements are also accurate.
Regarding claim 12, Sujan further discloses the operations further comprising selecting, by the controller, a BTE from the plurality of BTEs for first designated power level of the plurality of designated power levels, the selected BTE corresponding to a speed [0035].
Regarding claim 13, Sujan further discloses the operations further comprising adjusting, by the controller, the power management based on the selected BTE with the corresponding speed for the first designated power level of the plurality of designated power levels [0035] [0042].
Regarding claim 14, Sujan further discloses wherein the selected BTE is a maximum value of the plurality of BTEs for the first designated power level of the plurality of designated power levels [0035].
Regarding claim 15, Sujan further discloses when the power management of the hybrid powertrain is paused [0035] [0042],
operating the powertrain at a second speed of a plurality of speeds for a second designated power level of a plurality of designated power levels during a second time period different from the first time period, the second speed being different from the first speed, the second designated power level being different from the first designated power level [0035-0036];
sending a second torque request determined based on the second speed and the second designated power level [0035-0036];
receiving a second set of data collected during the second time period when the powertrain is operated at the second speed for the first designated power level at a steady state [0029] [0031] [0040]; and
determining a second BTE of a plurality of second BTEs [0029] [0040].
Sujan does not disclose receiving, by the controller, a second set of measurement data collected during the second time period when the hybrid powertrain is operated at the second speed for the second designated power level at a steady state, the second set of measurement data comprising fuel flow rate data; and determining the second BTE based on the second set of measurement data.
Sujan ‘500 discloses a method comprising receiving, by a controller (150), a second set of measurement data collected during the second time period when a powertrain is operated at a second speed for a second designated power level at a steady state, the second set of measurement data comprising fuel flow rate data [0023, 0031-0032, 0035, 0045]; and
determining, by the controller, a second BTE of a plurality of BTEs based on the second set of measurement data [0023, 0031-0032, 0035, 0045].
Sujan ‘500 teaches that teaches that determining a plurality of BTEs can be used to adjust the transmission of the powertrain when the BTEs relative to BSFC values change relative to normal, thereby enhancing vehicle driveability [0060].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the second brake-thermal-efficiency disclosed by Sujan using the ratio disclosed by Sujan ‘500 because it has been known in the art that this is one of a finite number of solutions for calculating the BTE and the calculation produces an expected result that aligns with other calculation equations, formulas and processes and furthermore because it can be used to adjust the powertrain to enhance vehicle driveability.
Regarding claim 20, Sujan further discloses wherein the plurality of designated power levels comprise a base power level and a set of incremental values having a constant increment between two adjacent power levels [0035].
Claim(s) 6-8 and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sujan (US Patent Application Publication 2015/0361915) in view of Hayakawa (US Patent Application Publication 2015/0344024) in view of Sujan (US Patent Application Publication 2015/0330500), hereinafter Sujan ‘500, and further in view of Lasocki (Empirical Study on the Efficiency of an LPG-Supplied Range Extender for Electric Vehicles) n view of Ulrey (US Patent Application Publication 2015/0302670) in view of Klomp (US Patent Number 4,932,374) and further in view of Bauerle (US Patent Application Publication 2011/0178654).
Regarding claims 6-8, Sujan, as modified Hayakawa, Sujan ‘500 and Lasocki, disclose the method of claim 1 as discussed above but do not disclose receiving, by the controller, an indication of a refueling event; and
wherein pausing a power management comprises pausing the power management after receiving an indication of a refueling event;
evaluating, by the controller, one or more prerequisite conditions; and
wherein pausing a power management further comprises pausing the power management after the one or more prerequisite conditions are met;
wherein the one or more prerequisite conditions comprise state-of-charge of a battery of the hybrid powertrain proximate to a predetermined threshold.
Bauerle discloses receiving, by a controller (14), an indication of a refueling event [0039-0040];
pausing a power management of a hybrid powertrain after receiving an indication of a refueling event [0039];
evaluating, by the controller, one or more prerequisite conditions [0039]; and
wherein pausing a power management further comprises pausing the power management after the one or more prerequisite conditions are met [0039];
wherein the one or more prerequisite conditions comprise state-of-charge of a battery (12) of the hybrid powertrain proximate to a predetermined threshold [0039].
Bauerle teaches that in vehicles with series-type hybrid powertrains it is important to determine the prerequisite conditions of the level of fuel in the fuel tank and the state of charge of the battery because pausing power management of the powertrain under a low fuel condition could hinder the ability to subsequently recharge the battery [0039].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the conditions for pausing the power management disclosed by Bauerle with the controller disclosed by Sujan to preserve the ability to recharge the battery under all operating conditions of the hybrid powertrain.
Regarding claims 16-18, Sujan, as modified by Hayakawa, Sujan ‘500 and Lasocki, disclose the system of claim 11 as discussed above but do not disclose receiving, by the controller, an indication of a refueling event; and
wherein pausing a power management comprises pausing the power management after receiving an indication of a refueling event;
evaluating, by the controller, one or more prerequisite conditions; and
wherein pausing a power management further comprises pausing the power management after the one or more prerequisite conditions are met;
wherein the one or more prerequisite conditions comprise state-of-charge of a battery of the hybrid powertrain proximate to a predetermined threshold.
Bauerle discloses receiving, by a controller (14), an indication of a refueling event [0039-0040];
pausing a power management of a hybrid powertrain after receiving an indication of a refueling event [0039];
evaluating, by the controller, one or more prerequisite conditions [0039]; and
wherein pausing a power management further comprises pausing the power management after the one or more prerequisite conditions are met [0039];
wherein the one or more prerequisite conditions comprise state-of-charge of a battery (12) of the hybrid powertrain proximate to a predetermined threshold [0039].
Bauerle teaches that in vehicles with series-type hybrid powertrains it is important to determine the prerequisite conditions of the level of fuel in the fuel tank and the state of charge of the battery because pausing power management of the powertrain under a low fuel condition could hinder the ability to subsequently recharge the battery [0039].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the conditions for pausing the power management disclosed by Bauerle with the controller disclosed by Sujan to preserve the ability to recharge the battery under all operating conditions of the hybrid powertrain.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sujan (US Patent Application Publication 2015/0361915) in view of Hayakawa (US Patent Application Publication 2015/0344024) in view of Sujan (US Patent Application Publication 2015/0330500), hereinafter Sujan ‘500, in view of Lasocki (Empirical Study on the Efficiency of an LPG-Supplied Range Extender for Electric Vehicles) in view of Ulrey (US Patent Application Publication 2015/0302670) in view of Klomp (US Patent Number 4,932,374) and further in view of Szczepanski (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0191075).
Regarding claim 22, Sujan, as modified by Hayakawa, Sujan ‘500 and Lasocki, disclose the method of claim 1 as discussed above but do not disclose wherein the predetermined criteria further comprises a lambda control criteria.
Szczepanski discloses receiving a first set of measurement data collected during a time period when a powertrain is operated at steady state, the first set of measurement data comprising fuel flow rate data, wherein the steady state comprises a predetermined criteria being met, and wherein the predetermined criteria comprises lambda control criteria, the predetermined criteria having a deviation within a predefined bound for at least a predefined duration [0036, the controller sequentially obtains fuel flow rate data for each cylinder, respectively, when each cylinder is operated independently] [0042, the fuel flow rate data is obtained according to the criteria that the lambda value of the cylinder is within a first threshold value within a predetermined period of time after adjusting the fuel or air flow rate into the cylinder].
Szczepanski teaches that the engine not meeting the lambda control criteria indicates one or more of the cylinders is defective and requires servicing, such as due to a fuel injector being out of alignment or having a component out of tolerance [0040-0041].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to obtain the first set of measurement data according to the criteria disclosed by Szczepanski to ensure that the measured fuel flow rate and calculations resulting from the measured fuel flow rate are obtained when the engine does not have a defect that affects the measurement.
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sujan (US Patent Application Publication 2015/0361915) in view of Hayakawa (US Patent Application Publication 2015/0344024) in view of Sujan (US Patent Application Publication 2015/0330500), hereinafter Sujan ‘500, in view of Lasocki (Empirical Study on the Efficiency of an LPG-Supplied Range Extender for Electric Vehicles) in view of Ulrey (US Patent Application Publication 2015/0302670) in view of Klomp (US Patent Number 4,932,374) in view of Szczepanski (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0191075) and further in view of Snow (US Patent Number 5,259,186).
Regarding claim 23, Sujan et al. disclose the method of claim 22 as discussed above but do not disclose wherein the predetermined criteria further comprises at least one of a knock control criteria and a fueling estimate criteria.
Snow discloses receiving a first set of measurement data collected during a time period when a powertrain is operated at steady state, the first set of measurement data comprising fuel flow rate data, wherein the steady state comprises a predetermined criteria being met, and wherein the predetermined criteria comprises a fueling estimate criteria, the predetermined criteria having a deviation within a predefined bound for at least a predefined duration, wherein the predefined duration is between 5-10 seconds (Col. 2, lines 60-65; Col. 3, lines 9-23).
Snow teaches that several seconds of constant fuel flow at a flow rate above 20% of the maximum rated fuel flow is normally required for a mass flow meter to generate a mass flow signal accurate enough for engine control use (Col. 1, lines 23-26).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to obtain the first set of measurement data disclosed by Sujan according to the criteria disclosed by Snow because it has been known in the art that predetermined criteria specified by Snow produces data accurate enough for engine control use.
Conclusion
should be directed to JOSHUA CAMPBELL whose telephone number is (571) 272-8215. The examiner
can normally be reached on Monday - Friday 9:00 AM – 5:00 PM.
Lindsay M. Low can be reached on (571) 272-1196. The fax phone number for the organization where
this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained
from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available
through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-
direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic
Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer
Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR
CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JOSHUA CAMPBELL/
Examiner, Art Unit 3747
/LOGAN M KRAFT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3747