DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on (8/6/2023), is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims (1-20) were examined in a Non-Final on 10/01/2025. This office action is in response to Applicants submission of 1/2/2026. Claims 1-8 and 10-20 are pending and being examined.
Response to Amendment and arguments
Applicant’s arguments are related to the latest amendment. As discussed below, it is noted that the amendment is improper. However, heaters in different groups for specific control of regions on the chuck were known. Also, to one of ordinary skill in the art, omission of an element with a corresponding omission of function would have been obvious.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The limitation “wherein the plurality of first heaters are distributed only in some areas of a plurality of areas of the ESC and the plurality of second heaters are distributed over all areas of the plurality of areas of the ESC, and wherein the plurality of first heaters and the plurality of second heaters do not overlap each other in a height direction of the ESC” in claim 1 and similar limitations in claims 17 and 18 require that the first heaters and second heaters do not overlap. The specification does not support this since first heaters 210 overlap with second heaters 220 since both occupy regions 330 and 340 (See Fig 3, Fig 4 and Fig 5). Moreover, if any heater group is distributed over all area, there will be overlap from other “some areas”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaneko et al (US 20180350569) in view of Kaname Miwa (JP 2016-189425).
A substrate treating apparatus (Fig 2) comprising:
a housing (120);
a substrate support unit (16) disposed within the housing and supporting a substrate using an electrostatic chuck (ESC) (20);
a shower head unit (34) disposed in the housing and supplying a process gas in a direction in which the substrate is positioned;
a plasma generating unit (62, 64) exciting the process gas into a plasma state so that the substrate is treated; and
an ESC temperature control unit (20) provided in the substrate support unit and controlling a temperature of the electrostatic chuck,
wherein the ESC temperature control unit includes:
a plurality of first heaters (26b);
a plurality of second heaters (26c) providing power different from that of the first heaters; and
a control module controlling the first heaters (Fig 4, 71) and the second heaters (72), and
the control module independently controls the first heaters (Fig 4, 71) and the second heaters (Fig 4, 72).
It is noted that the controller controls power to first and /or second heaters on the basis of comparing actual temperature distribution with respect to target temperature distribution in a feedback loop (See Para 85, 87, 89) where actual temperature distribution comes from temperature sensors either below the stage as in Fig 4 or infrared sensors as in Fig 9 (IRC). The target temperature distribution is a required in-plane distribution which is required by the process being conducted (Par 24). The power applied to individual heaters could be DC or AC (Para 77, 80) and includes sensors to monitor power to each heater in first heaters or second heaters. First or second heaters could be disposed above or below with respect to each other (Para 61). The heaters are disposed in plurality of regions as disclosed in (Fig 5 and 6). Also tied to the controller is coolant flow for temperature reduction, when necessary, by the process.
Regarding the limitation “wherein the plurality of first heaters are distributed only in some areas of a plurality of areas of the ESC and the plurality of second heaters are distributed over all areas of the plurality of areas of the ESC, and wherein the plurality of first heaters and the plurality of second heaters do not overlap each other in a height direction of the ESC’ as above, some heaters (26c) are located in center of the chuck only while other heaters (26b) are located over all areas (Fig 4).
Further, regarding having some heaters in particular region only, it is noted that omission of an element with a corresponding omission of function is within the level of ordinary skill. In re Wilson 153 USPQ 740 (CCPA 1967); In re Portz 145 USPQ 397 (CCPA 1965); In re Larson 144 USPQ 347 (CCPA 1965); In re Karlson 136 USPQ 184 (CCPA 1963); In re Listen 58 USPQ 481 (CCPA 1943); In re Porter 20 USPQ 298 (CCPA 1934).
Still further, first heaters (Fig 4, 33) are located in periphery of the chuck only while second heaters (35) are located throughout in Kaname Miwa.
Since heater group in some area only would provide ability to additional control over those specific regions having such facility in Kaneko et al before the filing date of this application would have been obvious.
Limitations of claim 2 and 11 are disclosed as above.
Regarding claim 3 the order of controlling first or second heaters would according to process requirements. The apparatus disclose would allow such function.
Regarding claim 4 the feedback control depends upon the error which would be represented by an offset.
Regarding claim 5 CD distribution would control required temperature distribution and would be a function disclosed to be within the capability of the disclosed apparatus.
Regarding claim 6 both AC and DC are disclosed as operating the heaters.
Regarding claim 7 independent control of heaters would allow such function.
Regarding claim 8 regions (n+1) are disclosed as one surrounding an inner one (n).
Regarding claims 10, 12 first and second heaters could be interchangeable and therefore could be more or less.
Regarding claims 13, 15 and 16 temperature measurement is disclosed in Fig 4 and 9. In Fig 9 it is above.
Regarding claim 14 feedback control of heaters based on the temperature measurement is disclosed as discussed above.
Regarding claims 17-20, Fig 2 discloses housing, substrate support, ESC, showerhead, plasma generation unit (62, 64), plurality of independently controllable heaters, power being DC or AC and configurable disposition are disclosed as above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee et al (US 20210366696) discloses an electrostatic chuck including plurality of heater across plurality of regions and coolant control in its base (Fig 2 and 3).
Uefuji et al (US 20180286732) discloses an electrostatic chuck including plurality of heater across plurality of regions and coolant control in its base (Fig 31).
Kim et al (US 20170271190) disclose upper heater section (Fig 6, 160) in peripheral region only and lower heater section (Fig 5, 150) all over the chuck.
Parkhe et al (US 20150228513) discloses main resistive heater and pixel heaters for heating specific regions requiring additional heat (Fig 8 and description).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
RAM N. KACKAR
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1716
/RAM N KACKAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716