DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6-8, 16, 17, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Austrheim et al. (US 2021/0032036). Austrheim discloses a system/method, comprising: a storage structure (1), comprising: a grid formed of a first set of rails (111) extending in a first horizontal direction and a second set of rails (112) extending in a second horizontal direction, the grid defining a plurality of grid spaces (122); and a charging station (40) disposed above the grid, the charging station including a first charging terminal and a second charging terminal (see paras. 0186-0187); and a robot (3), comprising: a body (generally at 3) coupled to a wheel assembly including at least four wheels (19, 20), defining a footprint of the robot and arranged to move the body along the first set of rails and along the second set of rails; and a chassis (27) coupled to the body, the chassis having a first battery compartment (see Fig. 20) and a second battery compartment (see Fig. 20), wherein, when the chassis and the charging station engage one another, the chassis is arranged to both release a first battery module, disposed entirely within the footprint of the robot, from the first battery compartment and receive a second battery module within the second battery compartment and entirely within the footprint of the robot, and the charging station is arranged to both receive the first battery module within the first charging terminal and release the second battery module from the second charging terminal (see paras. 0172-0178, 0186, and 0207). The battery chassis is disposed at least partially within the body and the first battery module is accessible through an access opening defined in the body (see Fig. 20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US 2022/0158466) in view of Austrheim (US 2021/0147145).
Regarding claims 1-3, Choi discloses a robot (see para. 0068), comprising: a body (300 and see paras. 0072-0073) and a wheel assembly (390), the wheel assembly defining a footprint of the robot; a battery chassis (310) coupled to the body and having a first battery compartment (311) and a second battery compartment (312); and a first battery module (501) disposed within the first battery compartment and entirely within the footprint of the robot (see Figs. 2A-2C and paras. 0072-0073), wherein when the battery chassis engages with a charging station, the battery chassis is arranged to both release the first battery module from the first battery compartment and to receive a second battery module (502) within the second battery compartment and entirely within the footprint of the robot (see Figs. 2A-2C). The battery chassis is disposed within the body (see Fig. 2A) and the first battery module is accessible through an access opening defined in the body (see Figs. 2A and B).
Regarding claim 1, Choi discloses all the limitations of the claim, but it does not disclose that the wheel assembly includes at least four wheels, the wheel assembly defining a footprint and the battery chassis entirely within the footprint of the at least four wheels of the robot. However, in Paragraph 0072, Choi explicitly states, “According to various embodiments, the number or positions of the wheels, or a shape of the first housing 301 are not limited to the example shown in FIGS. 2A and 2B, and may be implemented differently.” Austrheim ‘145 discloses a similar robot which includes a robot having a body (13) and a wheel assembly including at least four wheels (201’, 201’’,201’’’, 201’’’’, 202’,202’’,202’’’,202’’’’) the wheel assembly defining a foot print of the robot, and a battery chassis (see Fig. 9, generally at 213’ and 213’’), having a battery chassis having a first battery compartment (see Fig. 9, generally at 213’) and a second battery compartment (see Fig. 9, generally at 213’’), entirely within the footprint of the four wheels of the robot (see Fig. 9) for the purpose of providing a stable robot which can traverse a rail system. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention, to modify Choi by having the wheel assembly include at least four wheels, the wheel assembly defining a footprint, and the battery chassis entirely within the footprint of the robot, as disclosed by Austrheim ‘145, for the purpose of providing a stable robot which can traverse a rail system.
Regarding claim 3, Choi discloses all the limitations of the claim, but it does not disclose that the first battery compartment is located above the second battery compartment. However, in Paragraph 0072, Choi explicitly states, “According to various embodiments, the number or positions of the wheels, or a shape of the first housing 301 are not limited to the example shown in FIGS. 2A and 2B, and may be implemented differently.” Austrheim ‘145 discloses a similar robot which includes a battery chassis having a first battery compartment (see Fig. 9, generally at 213’) located above a second battery compartment (see Fig. 9, generally at 213’’) for the purpose of providing a robot having a small footprint. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention, to modify Choi by having the first battery compartment located above the second battery compartment, as disclosed by Austrheim, for the purpose of providing a robot having a small footprint.
Regarding claims 16-20, Choi discloses a method comprising engaging a robot including a wheel assembly with a charging station, the wheel assembly defining a footprint, whereby the engaging step causes: a first battery module disposed entirely within the footprint of the robot to be removed from a first battery compartment; and a second battery module from the charging station to be transferred to a second battery compartment and entirely within the footprint of the robot, the second battery compartment being different than the first battery compartment. The first battery module is depleted, and the second battery module is charged (see para. 0009). The removing step and the transferring step occur simultaneously (see Figs. 2A and 2B). The first battery is transferred to a first charging terminal (421) of the charging station. The removing step includes breaking a mechanical, magnetic or electromagnetic connection (321) between the first battery module and the first battery compartment. Choi discloses all the limitations of the claims, but it does not disclose that the wheel assembly includes at least four wheels defining a footprint and the first battery module and second battery module disposed entirely within the footprint of the robot. However, in Paragraph 0072, Choi explicitly states, “According to various embodiments, the number or positions of the wheels, or a shape of the first housing 301 are not limited to the example shown in FIGS. 2A and 2B, and may be implemented differently.” Austrheim ‘145 discloses a similar robot which includes a robot having a body (13) and a wheel assembly including at least four wheels (201’, 201’’,201’’’, 201’’’’, 202’,202’’,202’’’,202’’’’) defining a footprint of the robot, and having a first battery module (see Fig. 9, generally at 213’) and a second battery module (see Fig. 9, generally at 213’’), entirely within the footprint of the robot (see Fig. 9) for the purpose of providing a stable robot which can traverse a rail system. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention, to modify Choi by having the wheel assembly include at least four wheels defining a footprint, and the first battery module and second battery module disposed entirely within the footprint of the robot, as disclosed by Austrheim ‘145, for the purpose of providing a stable robot which can traverse a rail system.
Claim(s) 3 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Austrheim et al. (US 2021/0032036) in view of Austrheim (US 2021/0147145). Austrheim ‘036 discloses all the limitations of the claim, but it does not disclose that the first battery compartment is located above the second battery compartment. Rather, Austrheim ‘036 discloses that the battery compartments are side-by-side. However, Austrheim ‘145 discloses a similar robot including a first battery compartment (see Fig. 9 at 213’) located above a second battery compartment (see Fig. 9 at 213’’) for the purpose of reducing the horizontal size of the robot. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention, to modify Austrheim ‘036 by having the first battery compartment located above the second battery compartment, as disclosed by Austrheim ‘145, for the purpose of reducing the horizontal size of the robot.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, and 9-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant’s remarks regarding Choi are moot in view of the new ground of rejection.
The applicant states that Austrheim discloses interactions with different charging stations rather than an engagement in which the vehicle both releases one battery and receives another. The examiner disagrees with the applicant. At least in para. 0186, Austrheim discloses engaging with a single charging station in which the vehicle both releases one battery and receives another. All the limitations required by at least claims 1, 8, and 16 are disclosed by Austrheim.
Regarding the applicant’s remarks that Austrheim does not disclose simultaneously depositing one battery while receiving another, the examiner notes that the claim requiring this limitation is not rejected utilizing the Austrheim reference.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hognaland et al. (WO 2017/220627), which is incorporated by reference by US 2021/0032036, discloses a charging station that both receives a battery and deposits a battery.
/PATRICK H MACKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653