DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is responsive to the amendment and remarks filed on 08/20/2026. Claims 1, 8, 9, 16, 20 and 24 have been amended. Claims 2, 10, 17, 22, 23 and 25 have been cancelled. Claims 1, 3, 5, 7–9, 11, 13, 15, 16, 18, 20, 21 and 24 are currently pending and under examination.
Response to Arguments
In regards to the previous rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103:Applicant’s arguments filed 08/20/2026 have been fully considered. The arguments directed to the amended “same one side” and left-side/right-side limitations are moot in view of the new ground of rejection in view of Gupta et al. (US 20140153773 A1), and the remaining arguments are not persuasive, as set forth below.
Applicant argues on pages 9–10 of the Remarks that Nourbakhsh’s “percept pair” “is a combination of features detected on opposite sides of DERVISH” and therefore does not teach that each edge pair “corresponds to two consecutive wall edges that are located on a same one side of the driving device.” Applicant’s arguments with respect to this amended limitation have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on Nourbakhsh for the teaching specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues on page 10 of the Remarks that “Nourbakhsh never discloses or suggests a ‘cumulative quantity’ of the percept pairs, much less comparing such a quantity with another quantity, such as ‘a previously stored edge pair quantity corresponding to a destination,’” and that Nourbakhsh “only describes progressing each state by comparing one single percept pair at a time.” Examiner respectfully disagrees. Claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification, and limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. The claims do not require any particular counter or data format; they require data that comprises a cumulative quantity of edge pairs identified along the route and stopping based on that quantity being equal to a stored quantity corresponding to the destination. Nourbakhsh’s robot generates a percept pair for each feature detected as it “moves down the hallway” (Nourbakhsh, p. 3), and each such percept progresses the robot’s state along the stored topological map: “Whenever DERVISH detects a percept, it looks at the topological map to determine its most likely position. As long as this new state corresponds to a node along the path, it continues execution without interruption, even if it missed some earlier expected percepts. DERVISH stops and replans when it is no longer on the path because it either has overshot the turn or is actually on a different hallway than previously assumed.” (Nourbakhsh, p. 7) The rejection of this limitation over Nourbakhsh is maintained.
Applicant argues on page 11 of the Remarks that Borenstein’s “long vertical edges, such as doors and wall junctions” (Borenstein, p. 174) do not disclose identifying a cumulative quantity of edge pairs “on a same one side of the driving device,” or comparing that quantity to a stored quantity. Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because Borenstein is not relied upon for these teachings. As set forth below, the same-one-side limitation is taught by Gupta (para. [0059], [0052]), and the cumulative quantity and the stop based on its equality to the stored quantity are taught by Nourbakhsh (p. 3, p. 7). Borenstein is relied upon for obtaining an image while rotating in place, the room number information, and determining arrival from the image (Borenstein, Ch. 7, pp. 174–175), which Applicant does not separately dispute. One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejection is based on a combination of references.
Applicant argues on pages 13–14 of the Remarks, with respect to claim 16, that Nourbakhsh’s percept pair “is a single construct that spans both sides of DERVISH,” never “corresponds to two vertical side edges of a room door on a same side of the driving device,” and that Nourbakhsh is silent about “the left-side cumulative quantity being equal to a left-side destination edge pair quantity corresponding to a destination” and “the right-side cumulative quantity being equal to a right-side destination edge pair quantity corresponding to the destination.” Applicant’s arguments with respect to these amended limitations are moot because the new ground of rejection relies on Gupta for them. Gupta determines “the number of doors in the right side and the left side of the area” from parallel line pairs that “correspond to side edges of a door” (see at least Gupta, para. [0059]), and matches “the number of doors on each side of a hallway” against a stored topological representation (see at least Gupta, para. [0061]; see also para. [0057]). Nourbakhsh remains relied upon only for stopping the movement of the driving device (Nourbakhsh, p. 7), and Borenstein for determining arrival based on the at least one image (Borenstein, Ch. 7, p. 175).
Applicant argues on pages 11 and 14 of the Remarks that dependent claims 3, 5, 7, 8, 11, 13, 15, 18, 20, 21 and 24 are allowable by virtue of their dependency. This argument is not persuasive because independent claims 1, 9 and 16 remain rejected for the reasons above. The dependent claims are rejected as set forth below. Therefore, the rejection of claims 1, 3, 5, 7–9, 11, 13, 15, 16, 18, 20, 21 and 24 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 is maintained, with Gupta newly applied to the amended limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7–9, 11, 13, 15, 16, 18, 20, 21 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ebrahimi Afrouzi et al. (US 20210089040 A1) in view of Borenstein et al. (“Mobile Robot Positioning: Sensors and Techniques,” Chapter 7 – Landmark Navigation, 1996), further in view of Nourbakhsh et al. (“DERVISH: An Office-Navigating Robot,” AI Magazine, 1995), and further in view of Gupta et al. (US 20140153773 A1), hereinafter referred to as Ebrahimi Afrouzi, Borenstein, Nourbakhsh and Gupta respectively.
Regarding claims 1 and 9, Ebrahimi Afrouzi discloses
An autonomous driving control apparatus comprising: (“Some embodiments may provide an autonomous or semi-autonomous robot including communication, mobility, actuation, and processing elements.” para. [0240])
at least one sensor; one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, (“a processor, a memory storing instructions that when executed by the processor effectuates robotic operations, a controller, a plurality of sensors (e.g., tactile sensor, obstacle sensor, temperature sensor, imaging sensor, light detection and ranging (LIDAR) sensor, camera, depth sensor, time-of-flight (TOF) sensor, TSSP sensor, optical tracking sensor, sonar sensor, ultrasound sensor, laser sensor, light emitting diode (LED) sensor, etc.)” para. [0240])
after stopping the movement of the driving device, (“In some embodiments, the processor may smoothen a path with systematic discrepancies between odometry (Odom) and an OTS due to momentum of the robot (e.g., when the robot stops rotating).” para. [0536])
Ebrahimi Afrouzi does not explicitly disclose
obtain, using the at least one sensor, at least one image while rotating the driving device in place, wherein the at least one image comprises room number information; and
determine, based on the at least one image, that the driving device has reached the destination, wherein the driving device is determined to have reached the destination when the room number information matches a room number corresponding to the destination.
However, Borenstein does teach obtain, using the at least one sensor, at least one image while rotating the driving device in place(“navigation module… consists of a custom-made pan-and-tilt table, a CCD camera…” Ch. 7, p. 174), wherein the at least one image comprises room number information; and (“…natural landmarks such as alphanumeric signs, semi-permanent structures, or doorways.” Ch. 7, p. 175) determine, based on the at least one image, that the driving device has reached the destination, wherein the driving device is determined to have reached the destination when the room number information matches a room number corresponding to the destination (“This expected appearance is then used in a coarse-to-fine normalized correlation-based matching algorithm that yields the robot's relative distance and bearing with regard to that landmark.” Ch. 7, p. 175).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the autonomous robot of Ebrahimi Afrouzi to also include capturing images with a camera on a pan-and-tilt mount while turning in place and recognizing alphanumeric room signs by matching them against expected landmark appearance to confirm arrival, as taught by Borenstein, with a reasonable expectation of success. Borenstein uses natural landmarks such as alphanumeric signs and doorways, matched by a correlation-based algorithm, to fix the robot’s position relative to a known landmark, which would let Ebrahimi Afrouzi’s robot confirm that it is at the intended room rather than relying on odometry alone. (With regard to this reasoning, see at least Borenstein, Ch. 7, pp. 174–175.)
Ebrahimi Afrouzi does not explicitly disclose
obtain, using the at least one sensor and while a driving device is being autonomously controlled, data about a driving route of the driving device, the data comprising a cumulative quantity of edge pairs identified along the driving route,
stop a movement of the driving device based on the cumulative quantity of the edge pairs identified along the driving route being equal to a previously stored edge pair quantity corresponding to a destination;
However, Nourbakhsh does teach obtain, using the at least one sensor and while a driving device is being autonomously controlled, data about a driving route of the driving device, the data comprising a cumulative quantity of edge pairs identified along the driving route,(“As DERVISH moves down the hallway… it continually compares its side sonar readings… If DERVISH detects any of these three features [closed doors, open doors, open hallways], it combines it with the feature on the other side… to generate a percept pair…” p. 3) stop a movement of the driving device based on the cumulative quantity of the edge pairs identified along the driving route being equal to a previously stored edge pair quantity corresponding to a destination (“Whenever DERVISH detects a percept, it looks at the topological map to determine its most likely position. As long as this new state corresponds to a node along the path, it continues execution without interruption, even if it missed some earlier expected percepts. DERVISH stops and replans when it is no longer on the path because it either has overshot the turn or is actually on a different hallway than previously assumed.” p. 7; “the robot knows its initial and final locations and has a map of the world, it constructs only one path to the goal and begins to traverse this path. Whenever DERVISH detects a percept, it looks at the topological map to determine its most likely position.” p. 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the autonomous robot of Ebrahimi Afrouzi to also include tracking the features detected along a hallway against a stored topological map and stopping on reaching the stored destination, as taught by Nourbakhsh, with a reasonable expectation of success. Nourbakhsh localizes an office robot by the sequence of hallway features it detects along a single stored path to a known goal, which gives Ebrahimi Afrouzi’s robot a way to reach a room in a hallway that does not depend on accumulated odometry error. (With regard to this reasoning, see at least Nourbakhsh, p. 3 and p. 7.)
Ebrahimi Afrouzi, Borenstein and Nourbakhsh do not explicitly disclose
wherein each edge pair of the identified edge pairs corresponds to two consecutive wall edges that are located on a same one side of the driving device, the same one side being one of a left side of the driving device or a right side of the driving device;
However, Gupta does teach wherein each edge pair of the identified edge pairs corresponds to two consecutive wall edges that are located on a same one side of the driving device, the same one side being one of a left side of the driving device or a right side of the driving device(“Such a parallel line pair may correspond to side edges of a door.” para. [0059]; “At block 640, the processor may identify right and left sides of the space (e.g., a hallway) captured in the image.” para. [0059]; “At block 650, the number of doors in the right side and the left side of the area may be determined based, at least in part, on the number of parallel line pairs detected at block 630. For example, three such lines pairs in the left side may correspond to three doors in the left wall of a hallway.” para. [0059]; “Assuming that an individual door comprises two parallel edges, this aspect of door edges may provide a way for a processor, for example, to detect a number of doors or their relative locations in an image.” para. [0052]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hallway-feature tracking of Ebrahimi Afrouzi, Borenstein and Nourbakhsh to also include identifying each feature as the pair of parallel side edges of a door located on one side (left or right) of the device, as taught by Gupta, with a reasonable expectation of success. Gupta separates the doors on the left wall from those on the right wall and identifies each from its two parallel edges, which avoids pairing features across the hallway and gives a door count for each wall that can be checked against stored map data. Gupta is analogous art because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem the inventor faced, namely determining where a moving device is in a building hallway by counting doors on the left and right sides and matching the counts to stored map information. (With regard to this reasoning, see at least Gupta, para. [0052], [0059], [0061].)
Regarding claims 3, 11 and 18,
Ebrahimi Afrouzi does not explicitly disclose
rotate the driving device in place such that the destination is within directional range of the at least one sensor.
However, Borenstein does teach rotate the driving device in place such that the destination is within directional range of the at least one sensor (“navigation module… consists of a custom-made pan-and-tilt table, a CCD camera…” Ch. 7, p. 174).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the autonomous robot of Ebrahimi Afrouzi to also include turning the camera toward the landmark, as taught by Borenstein, with a reasonable expectation of success. Borenstein mounts its CCD camera on a pan-and-tilt table so that the landmark can be brought into the camera’s field of view, which is what lets the room sign at the destination be imaged. (With regard to this reasoning, see at least Borenstein, Ch. 7, p. 174.)
Regarding claims 5 and 13,
Ebrahimi Afrouzi does not explicitly disclose
cause the driving device to stop rotating based on the room number information matching a room number corresponding to the destination.
However, Borenstein does teach cause the driving device to stop rotating based on the room number information matching a room number corresponding to the destination (“This expected appearance is then used in a coarse-to-fine normalized correlation-based matching algorithm that yields the robot's relative distance and bearing with regard to that landmark.” Ch. 7, p. 175).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the autonomous robot of Ebrahimi Afrouzi to also include ending the search rotation once the imaged sign matches the expected landmark, as taught by Borenstein, with a reasonable expectation of success. Borenstein’s correlation-based match yields the robot’s distance and bearing to the landmark, so once the match is found there is nothing left to search for and continuing to turn would only move the sign out of view. (With regard to this reasoning, see at least Borenstein, Ch. 7, p. 175.)
Regarding claim 7, Ebrahimi Afrouzi discloses provide, based on the determination that the driving device has reached the destination, a notification indicating arrival of the driving device at the destination (“a notification that the robot has reached a particular location” para. [0822]).
Regarding claim 8,
Ebrahimi Afrouzi does not explicitly disclose
wherein a first cumulative quantity value of the edge pairs identified along the driving route corresponds to a first room accessible from a building hallway, wherein a second cumulative quantity value of the edge pairs identified along the driving route corresponds to a second room accessible from the building hallway, wherein edge pair data previously stored in the memory comprises at least one of: edge pair information for one or more left rooms accessible from the building hallway, edge pair information for one or more right rooms accessible from the building hallway, or room number information for the one or more left rooms and the one or more right rooms, and wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the autonomous driving control apparatus to stop the movement of the driving device further based on the edge pair data previously stored in the memory.
However, Nourbakhsh does teach wherein a first cumulative quantity value of the edge pairs identified along the driving route corresponds to a first room accessible from a building hallway, wherein a second cumulative quantity value of the edge pairs identified along the driving route corresponds to a second room accessible from the building hallway, wherein edge pair data previously stored in the memory comprises at least one of: edge pair information for one or more left rooms accessible from the building hallway, edge pair information for one or more right rooms accessible from the building hallway, or room number information for the one or more left rooms and the one or more right rooms, and wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the autonomous driving control apparatus to stop the movement of the driving device further based on the edge pair data previously stored in the memory (“As DERVISH moves down the hallway… it continually compares its side sonar readings… If DERVISH detects any of these three features [closed doors, open doors, open hallways], it combines it with the feature on the other side… to generate a percept pair…” p. 3; “Whenever DERVISH detects a percept, it looks at the topological map to determine its most likely position. As long as this new state corresponds to a node along the path, it continues execution without interruption, even if it missed some earlier expected percepts. DERVISH stops and replans when it is no longer on the path because it either has overshot the turn or is actually on a different hallway than previously assumed.” p. 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the autonomous robot of Ebrahimi Afrouzi to also include associating each point reached along the hallway with a room on a stored map and stopping according to that stored map data, as taught by Nourbakhsh, with a reasonable expectation of success. Nourbakhsh’s topological map records the doors on each side of each hallway, so each successive percept along the path identifies the next room the robot has reached and lets the robot stop at the stored goal. (With regard to this reasoning, see at least Nourbakhsh, p. 3 and p. 7.)
Regarding claim 15, Ebrahimi Afrouzi discloses providing, based on a determination that the driving device has reached the destination, a notification indicating arrival of the driving device at the destination, (“a notification that the robot has reached a particular location” para. [0822])
Ebrahimi Afrouzi does not explicitly disclose
wherein a first cumulative quantity value of the edge pairs identified along the driving route corresponds to a first room accessible from a corridor, and wherein a second cumulative quantity value of the edge pairs identified along the driving route corresponds to a second room accessible from the corridor.
However, Nourbakhsh does teach wherein a first cumulative quantity value of the edge pairs identified along the driving route corresponds to a first room accessible from a corridor, and wherein a second cumulative quantity value of the edge pairs identified along the driving route corresponds to a second room accessible from the corridor (“As DERVISH moves down the hallway… it continually compares its side sonar readings… If DERVISH detects any of these three features [closed doors, open doors, open hallways], it combines it with the feature on the other side… to generate a percept pair…” p. 3; “Whenever DERVISH detects a percept, it looks at the topological map to determine its most likely position. As long as this new state corresponds to a node along the path, it continues execution without interruption, even if it missed some earlier expected percepts. DERVISH stops and replans when it is no longer on the path because it either has overshot the turn or is actually on a different hallway than previously assumed.” p. 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the autonomous robot of Ebrahimi Afrouzi to also include relating each successive feature count along a corridor to a particular room, as taught by Nourbakhsh, with a reasonable expectation of success. Nourbakhsh progresses the robot’s position node by node along the corridor on its stored map as each percept is detected, so each step of the count corresponds to a known room, which tells the robot which room it has reached before it reports arrival. (With regard to this reasoning, see at least Nourbakhsh, p. 3 and p. 7.)
Regarding claim 16, Ebrahimi Afrouzi discloses
A non-volatile computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause an autonomous driving control apparatus to: (“Some embodiments may provide an autonomous or semi-autonomous robot including communication, mobility, actuation, and processing elements.” para. [0240]; “a processor, a memory storing instructions that when executed by the processor effectuates robotic operations, a controller, a plurality of sensors (e.g., tactile sensor, obstacle sensor, temperature sensor, imaging sensor, light detection and ranging (LIDAR) sensor, camera, depth sensor, time-of-flight (TOF) sensor, TSSP sensor, optical tracking sensor, sonar sensor, ultrasound sensor, laser sensor, light emitting diode (LED) sensor, etc.)” para. [0240])
after stopping the movement of the driving device, (“In some embodiments, the processor may smoothen a path with systematic discrepancies between odometry (Odom) and an OTS due to momentum of the robot (e.g., when the robot stops rotating).” para. [0536])
Ebrahimi Afrouzi does not explicitly disclose
obtain, using the at least one sensor, at least one image while rotating the driving device in place, wherein the at least one image comprises room number information; and
However, Borenstein does teach obtain, using the at least one sensor, at least one image while rotating the driving device in place(“navigation module… consists of a custom-made pan-and-tilt table, a CCD camera…” Ch. 7, p. 174), wherein the at least one image comprises room number information; and (“…natural landmarks such as alphanumeric signs, semi-permanent structures, or doorways.” Ch. 7, p. 175)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the autonomous robot of Ebrahimi Afrouzi to also include capturing images with a camera on a pan-and-tilt mount while turning in place and recognizing alphanumeric room signs by matching them against expected landmark appearance to confirm arrival, as taught by Borenstein, with a reasonable expectation of success. Borenstein uses natural landmarks such as alphanumeric signs and doorways, matched by a correlation-based algorithm, to fix the robot’s position relative to a known landmark, which would let Ebrahimi Afrouzi’s robot confirm that it is at the intended room rather than relying on odometry alone. (With regard to this reasoning, see at least Borenstein, Ch. 7, pp. 174–175.)
Ebrahimi Afrouzi does not explicitly disclose
obtain, using at least one sensor and while the autonomous driving control apparatus is autonomously controlling a driving device, data about a driving route of the driving device,
stop a movement of the driving device
However, Nourbakhsh does teach obtain, using at least one sensor and while the autonomous driving control apparatus is autonomously controlling a driving device, data about a driving route of the driving device, (“As DERVISH moves down the hallway… it continually compares its side sonar readings… If DERVISH detects any of these three features [closed doors, open doors, open hallways], it combines it with the feature on the other side… to generate a percept pair…” p. 3) stop a movement of the driving device(“Whenever DERVISH detects a percept, it looks at the topological map to determine its most likely position. As long as this new state corresponds to a node along the path, it continues execution without interruption, even if it missed some earlier expected percepts. DERVISH stops and replans when it is no longer on the path because it either has overshot the turn or is actually on a different hallway than previously assumed.” p. 7; “the robot knows its initial and final locations and has a map of the world, it constructs only one path to the goal and begins to traverse this path. Whenever DERVISH detects a percept, it looks at the topological map to determine its most likely position.” p. 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the autonomous robot of Ebrahimi Afrouzi to also include tracking the features detected along a hallway against a stored topological map and stopping on reaching the stored destination, as taught by Nourbakhsh, with a reasonable expectation of success. Nourbakhsh localizes an office robot by the sequence of hallway features it detects along a single stored path to a known goal, which gives Ebrahimi Afrouzi’s robot a way to reach a room in a hallway that does not depend on accumulated odometry error. (With regard to this reasoning, see at least Nourbakhsh, p. 3 and p. 7.)
Ebrahimi Afrouzi, Borenstein and Nourbakhsh do not explicitly disclose
wherein the data comprises a left-side cumulative quantity of left edge pairs identified along the driving route on a left side of the driving device, wherein the data further comprises a right-side cumulative quantity of right edge pairs identified along the driving route on a right side of the driving device, and wherein each edge pair of the left edge pairs and the right edge pairs corresponds to two vertical side edges of a room door on a same side of the driving device;
Nourbakhsh teaches stopping the movement of the robot but does not teach based on the left-side cumulative quantity being equal to a left-side destination edge pair quantity corresponding to a destination, and based on the right-side cumulative quantity being equal to a right-side destination edge pair quantity corresponding to the destination;
determine based on the left-side cumulative quantity being equal to the left-side destination edge pair quantity corresponding to the destination, based on the right-side cumulative quantity being equal to the right-side destination edge pair quantity corresponding to the destination,
However, Gupta does teach wherein the data comprises a left-side cumulative quantity of left edge pairs identified along the driving route on a left side of the driving device, wherein the data further comprises a right-side cumulative quantity of right edge pairs identified along the driving route on a right side of the driving device, and wherein each edge pair of the left edge pairs and the right edge pairs corresponds to two vertical side edges of a room door on a same side of the driving device (“Such a parallel line pair may correspond to side edges of a door.” para. [0059]; “At block 640, the processor may identify right and left sides of the space (e.g., a hallway) captured in the image.” para. [0059]; “At block 650, the number of doors in the right side and the left side of the area may be determined based, at least in part, on the number of parallel line pairs detected at block 630. For example, three such lines pairs in the left side may correspond to three doors in the left wall of a hallway.” para. [0059]; “Assuming that an individual door comprises two parallel edges, this aspect of door edges may provide a way for a processor, for example, to detect a number of doors or their relative locations in an image.” para. [0052]). Nourbakhsh teaches stopping the movement of the robot but does not teach based on the left-side cumulative quantity being equal to a left-side destination edge pair quantity corresponding to a destination, and based on the right-side cumulative quantity being equal to a right-side destination edge pair quantity corresponding to the destination (“the number of doors on each side of a hallway or approximate positions of doors, distances between doors, and so on may also be considered during a process of matching a topological representation of an area captured in an image and a stored topological representation of an area.” para. [0061]; “two topological representations containing similar or at least approximately similar numbers or relative positions of doors on respective sides of a walkway may be considered to be matching.” para. [0057]; “merely a count of certain visible features (e.g., doorways) may be used as a representation in some embodiments. For example, a certain hallway may be represented by a quantity, such as the quantity 5 indicating that 5 doorways and/or intersecting hallways are visible.” para. [0030]) determine based on the left-side cumulative quantity being equal to the left-side destination edge pair quantity corresponding to the destination, based on the right-side cumulative quantity being equal to the right-side destination edge pair quantity corresponding to the destination (“the number of doors on each side of a hallway or approximate positions of doors, distances between doors, and so on may also be considered during a process of matching a topological representation of an area captured in an image and a stored topological representation of an area.” para. [0061]; “two topological representations containing similar or at least approximately similar numbers or relative positions of doors on respective sides of a walkway may be considered to be matching.” para. [0057]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hallway-feature tracking of Ebrahimi Afrouzi, Borenstein and Nourbakhsh to also include keeping a separate count of door edge pairs on the left wall and on the right wall and treating the location as matched when each side’s count agrees with the stored count for that side, as taught by Gupta, with a reasonable expectation of success. Gupta matches “the number of doors on each side of a hallway” against a stored topological representation, so checking both sides lets the robot tell apart two hallway positions that have the same total number of doors but a different left/right arrangement. Gupta describes the counts as matching when they are “similar or at least approximately similar”; requiring each side’s count to be exactly equal to the stored count is the strictest of the few tolerances available for comparing two whole-number door counts, and choosing it would have been an obvious design choice with predictable results. (With regard to this reasoning, see at least Gupta, para. [0057], [0059], [0061].)
Regarding claim 20,
Ebrahimi Afrouzi does not explicitly disclose
cause the driving device to stop rotating based on the room number information matching a room number corresponding to the destination,
However, Borenstein does teach cause the driving device to stop rotating based on the room number information matching a room number corresponding to the destination (“This expected appearance is then used in a coarse-to-fine normalized correlation-based matching algorithm that yields the robot's relative distance and bearing with regard to that landmark.” Ch. 7, p. 175).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the autonomous robot of Ebrahimi Afrouzi to also include ending the search rotation once the imaged sign matches the expected landmark, as taught by Borenstein, with a reasonable expectation of success. Borenstein’s correlation-based match yields the robot’s distance and bearing to the landmark, so once the match is found there is nothing left to search for and continuing to turn would only move the sign out of view. (With regard to this reasoning, see at least Borenstein, Ch. 7, p. 175.)
Ebrahimi Afrouzi does not explicitly disclose
wherein a first cumulative quantity value of edge pairs identified along the driving route corresponds to a first room accessible from a corridor, and wherein a second cumulative quantity value of the edge pairs identified along the driving route corresponds to a second room accessible from the corridor.
However, Nourbakhsh does teach wherein a first cumulative quantity value of edge pairs identified along the driving route corresponds to a first room accessible from a corridor, and wherein a second cumulative quantity value of the edge pairs identified along the driving route corresponds to a second room accessible from the corridor (“As DERVISH moves down the hallway… it continually compares its side sonar readings… If DERVISH detects any of these three features [closed doors, open doors, open hallways], it combines it with the feature on the other side… to generate a percept pair…” p. 3; “Whenever DERVISH detects a percept, it looks at the topological map to determine its most likely position. As long as this new state corresponds to a node along the path, it continues execution without interruption, even if it missed some earlier expected percepts. DERVISH stops and replans when it is no longer on the path because it either has overshot the turn or is actually on a different hallway than previously assumed.” p. 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the autonomous robot of Ebrahimi Afrouzi to also include relating each successive feature count along a corridor to a particular room, as taught by Nourbakhsh, with a reasonable expectation of success. Nourbakhsh progresses the robot’s position node by node along the corridor on its stored map as each percept is detected, so each step of the count corresponds to a known room at which the search rotation for the room sign can be performed. (With regard to this reasoning, see at least Nourbakhsh, p. 3 and p. 7.)
Regarding claim 21,
Ebrahimi Afrouzi does not explicitly disclose
wherein the driving device is determined to have reached the destination when the room number information matches a room number corresponding to the destination.
However, Borenstein does teach wherein the driving device is determined to have reached the destination when the room number information matches a room number corresponding to the destination(“…natural landmarks such as alphanumeric signs, semi-permanent structures, or doorways.” Ch. 7, p. 175; “This expected appearance is then used in a coarse-to-fine normalized correlation-based matching algorithm that yields the robot's relative distance and bearing with regard to that landmark.” Ch. 7, p. 175).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the autonomous robot of Ebrahimi Afrouzi to also include confirming arrival when an imaged alphanumeric sign matches the expected landmark, as taught by Borenstein, with a reasonable expectation of success. A room sign is a fixed, unique marker of each room, so matching it confirms the robot is at the intended room and not a neighboring one with a similar door layout. (With regard to this reasoning, see at least Borenstein, Ch. 7, p. 175.)
Regarding claim 24,
Ebrahimi Afrouzi does not explicitly disclose
wherein the two vertical side edges in each edge pair of the left edge pairs and the right edge pairs are two vertical parallel edges spaced apart from each other at a predetermined distance.
However, Borenstein does teach wherein the two vertical side edges in each edge pair of the left edge pairs and the right edge pairs are two vertical parallel edges spaced apart from each other at a predetermined distance (“Most computer vision-based natural landmarks are long vertical edges, such as doors and wall junctions…” Ch. 7, p. 174).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the autonomous robot of Ebrahimi Afrouzi to also include detecting doors as long vertical edges, as taught by Borenstein, with a reasonable expectation of success. The two side edges of a door are vertical, parallel and separated by the door’s width, which is fixed for a given building, so using that edge geometry gives the vision system a reliable cue for recognizing a door. (With regard to this reasoning, see at least Borenstein, Ch. 7, p. 174.)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.A./Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/Fadey S. Jabr/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668