DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-12 and 29 in the reply filed on December 18, 2025 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on July 18, 2023 has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
Nine sheets for formal drawings were filed June 6, 2023 and have been accepted by the Examiner.
Specification
Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sano et al. (“Crosstalk-Managed High Capacity Long Haul Multicore Fiber…” from Applicant’s July 18, 2023 Information Disclosure Statement).
Regarding claim 1, Sano discloses a system for bidirectionally linking optical transceivers (Fig. 3c; abstract), comprising: a first optical transceiver including a first transmitter optical port and a first receiver optical port (“Tx”, “Rx” on one side); a second optical transceiver including a second transmitter optical port and a second receiver optical port (“Tx”, “Rx” on opposite side); and a multicore optical fiber (Fig. 4) including a common cladding, a first core disposed in the common cladding, and a second core disposed in the common cladding, wherein, the first transmitter optical port is operatively coupled to the second receiver optical port by the first core of the multicore optical fiber, and the first receiver optical port is operatively coupled to the second transmitter optical port by the second core of the multicore optical fiber (see “II. Crosstalk Managed Transmission Using Propagation Direction Interleaving”).
Regarding claim 2, Sano discloses the first core and the second core of the multicore optical fiber are arranged in a 1 x2 configuration in Fig. 4.
Regarding claim 9, Sano discloses the multicore optical fiber further includes a third core and a fourth core each disposed in the common cladding, and further comprising: a third transceiver including a third transmitter optical port and a third receiver optical port; and a fourth transceiver including a fourth transmitter optical port and a fourth receiver optical port, wherein, the third transmitter optical port is operatively coupled to the fourth receiver optical port by the third core of the multicore optical fiber, and the third receiver optical port is operatively coupled to the fourth transmitter optical port by the fourth core of the multicore optical fiber in Figs. 3c and 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sano et al. (“Crosstalk-Managed High Capacity Long Haul Multicore Fiber…” from Applicant’s July 18, 2023 Information Disclosure Statement).
Regarding claim 5, Sano teaches the claimed invention except for specifically stating the inter-core distance. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to arrive at the claimed inter-core distance, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claims 3, 4, 6-8, 10-12 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sano et al. (“Crosstalk-Managed High Capacity Long Haul Multicore Fiber…” from Applicant’s July 18, 2023 Information Disclosure Statement) in view of Hayashi (US 2013/0243381 A1).
Regarding claims 3, 4 and 12, Sano teaches the claimed invention except for specifically stating each core having a step index core and a trench assisted core design. Hayashi discloses a multicore optical fiber (100 in Fig. 1), wherein each of the first core and the second core of the multicore optical fiber has a core relative refractive index of less than 0.4% (Fig. 2; paragraph 0203 discloses characteristics of Example (i) with Δ1=0.26%), a core radius larger than 4 µm (Example (i) has 2a = 12.8 µm, a = 6.4 µm), a core alpha of greater than 5 (Fig. 2 and paragraph 0181 disclose step index core, which is known to require a core alpha greater than 5), and the multicore optical fiber further includes: a first inner cladding and a second inner cladding (120) that respectively encircle the first core and the second core, and that each have a relative refractive index of 0% (paragraph 0203 discloses Example (i) with Δ2=0%) and a radius between 8 µm and 12 µm (see Fig. 1 showing Ra = a/b; since Ra = 0.6 and a = 6.4 µm, b = 10.67 µm); and a first trench region and a second trench region (130) that respectively encircle the first inner cladding and the second inner cladding, and that each have a relative refractive index of less than -0.2% (paragraph 0203 discloses Example (i) with Δ3=-0.55%) and a radius between 12 µm and 20 µm (see Fig. 1 showing Rb = b/c; since Ra = 0.819 and b = 10.67 µm, c = 13.03 µm); wherein the common cladding (140) surrounds the first trench region and the second trench region. Since both inventions relate to optical fibers, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have found it obvious to use the multicore fiber disclosed by Hayashi in the system of Sano for the purpose of ensuring sufficient transmission capacity in each core with a reduced transmission loss.
Regarding claims 6 and 29, the proposed combination of Sano and Hayashi teaches the claimed invention except for specifically stating a protective coating. However, Hayashi discloses a multicore fiber comprising a coating covering the cladding (paragraph 0177). As such, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have found it obvious to use a coating surrounding the common cladding for the purpose of providing protection to the optical fiber. Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to arrive at the claimed diameters in order to reduce the size of the fiber, and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claims 7 and 8, the proposed combination of Sano and Hayashi teaches the claimed invention except for specifically stating the mode field diameter, cable cutoff wavelength and crosstalk. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to arrive at the claimed mode field diameter, cable cutoff wavelength and crosstalk in order to ensure sufficient transmission capacity while reducing crosstalk, and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 10, Hayashi further discloses each of the first core and the second core of the multicore optical fiber has a core relative refractive index of less than 0.45% (Fig. 2; paragraph 0203 discloses characteristics of Example (i) with Δ1=0.26%) and a core alpha of greater than 5 (Fig. 2 and paragraph 0181 disclose step index core, which is known to require a core alpha greater than 5). The proposed combination of Sano and Hayashi teaches the claimed invention except for specifically stating a core radius less than 5 µm. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to arrive at the claimed core diameter in order to reduce the size of the fiber, and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 11, Hayashi further discloses a core alpha of greater than 5 (Fig. 2 and paragraph 0181 show a step index core, which is known to require a core alpha greater than 5). The proposed combination of Sano and Hayashi teaches the claimed invention except for specifically stating a core alpha less than 12. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to arrive at the claimed core alpha in order to reduce crosstalk between fibers, and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Conclusion
Any inquiry of a general or clerical nature should be directed to the Technology Center 2800 receptionist at telephone number (571) 272-1562.
Chris H. Chu
/CHRIS H CHU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874 January 15, 2026