DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendments on 3/2/2026 have been reviewed and entered. Claims 1, 11, and 17 have been amended, and claims 4-5 have been canceled by the Applicant. Claim 6 was canceled previously. Accordingly, claims 1-3 and 7-20 remain for examination.
Because the Applicant has canceled claims 4-5, 35. U.S.C. 112(a) rejections set forth in the final office action are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 17:
on line 7-8 it is recited that “… removing the structure of sacrificial material by causing a physical change to the structure of sacrificial at a temperature below 300°C…”. The disclosure does not support the temperature range “below 300°C”, as the ranges provided in the Specification document are “about 400 °C” ([0062]), “about 219 °C”([0062]), and “at most 500 °C”([0062] and [0077]). Therefore, the range “below 300°C” presents a new subject matter that is not described in the Specification. For the purpose of examination, the temperature range is interpreted to be “below 300° C” as phrased in the claim.
on lines 11-12 of claim 17, it is recited that “… the sublimation process is performed using a monomer-based sacrificial material with a boiling point below 400°C…”. There is no description of such a material limitation and process in Specification or Drawings (see paragraph [0067] for relevant section of the disclosure). Therefore, this material and the process present a new subject matter that is not described in the Specification. For the purpose of examination, this process and material are interpreted as phrased in the claim.
on line 13, a pressure range of “below 10 Torr”. The disclosure does not support this pressure range, as there is no quantitative pressure information given in the Specification. Therefore, the range “below 10 Torr” presents a new subject matter that is not described in the Specification. For the purpose of examination, the pressure range is interpreted to be “in vacuum” to be consistent with the Specification.
Claims 18-20 are rejected, because these claims depend on claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maik (DE 102016114197 A1) in view of Harnack (US 2005/0048414 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Maik teaches a method (Figs. 3A-C, [0166]-[0171]) comprising:
forming a structure of a monomer (pattern of sacrificial material 202o, Figs. 3A-B, [0168], “…the sacrificial material 202o ….may comprise or be formed from … a monomer …” ([[0318])) on a first section (plurality of regions 204, Figs. 3A-B) ) of the layer (substrate 102, Figs. 3A-B) adjacent to the first section (plurality of regions 204) is not covered by the structure of monomer (sacrificial material 202o, Fig. 3A-B: sacrificial material 202o is only on the plurality of regions 204);
depositing a material (target material 202t, Fig. 3A-B, [0169]: target material 202t is deposited, [0145]) on (i) the structure of monomer (sacrificial material 202o on the plurality of regions 204, Fig. 3A) that is on the first section (plurality of regions 204, Figs. 3A-B) of the layer (substrate 102, Figs. 3A-B) and (ii) the second section (regions between the plurality of regions 204, Figs. 3A-B) of the layer (substrate 102, Figs. 3A-B); and
removing the structure of monomer (sacrificial material 202o, Figs. 3C, [0170]: sacrificial material 202o is removed) and removing remnant of the material (portions of the target material 202t on the sacrificial material 202o, see Illustrative Fig. 1, which is a modified version of Malik’s Figs 3A and C) that was on the structure of monomer (sacrificial material 202o, Illustrative Fig. 1: sacrificial layer 202o is absent everywhere after removal therefore it is removed during or after sublimation process (the Examiner notes that a similar removal of the remnants of the material and the structure of monomer at the same time during sublimation process is also disclosed by the Applicant in paragraph [0022] of the Specification: “any remnants of the material that were above the sacrificial material lifts off from the structure along with the sacrificial material.”. The claim language does not specify the order of these removal processes).
Maik, however, does not teach (Maik teaches forming the structure of the monomer with a shadow mask that is over the layer (see final office action), but not on the layer) that
forming the structure of the monomer on the first section of the layer comprises
forming a mask on the second section of the layer, wherein the mask has an opening above the first section of the layer;
depositing the structure of the monomer on the mask and the first section of the layer through the opening on the mask; and
removing the mask along with the structure of the monomer thereon.
Harnack, on the other hand, teaches a method for patterning organic materials (Fig. 1), wherein the method includes
forming the structure of the monomer (water soluble material A pattern, Fig. 1, [0034]: “water-soluble material "A" is selected from the group comprising … organic monomers, that can form thin layers.”) on the first section (regions on the substrate that are covered by the water-soluble material in Fig. 1-Step 3) of the layer (substrate, Fig. 1-Step 3 (substrate is not labeled in Fig. 1), [0127]) comprising:
forming a mask (photoresist pattern, Fig. 1-Step 1, [0123]) on the second section of the layer (the regions that are covered by the photoresist pattern, Fig. 1-Step 1, [0123]), wherein the mask (photoresist pattern, Fig. 1-Step 1) has an opening (regions between the photoresist pattern, Fig. 1-Step 1) above the first section of the layer (regions between the photoresist pattern, Fig. 1-Step 1, which also correspond to regions on the substrate that are covered by the water-soluble material in Fig. 1-Step 3);
depositing the structure of the monomer (water soluble material, Fig. 1-Step 2, [0126]) on the mask (photoresist pattern, Fig. 1-Step 2) and the first section of the layer (regions on the substrate that are covered by the water-soluble material in Fig. 1-Step 3) through the opening on the mask (regions between the photoresist pattern, Fig. 1-Step 2); and
removing the mask (photoresist pattern, Fig. 1-Steps 2-3, [0127]) along with the structure of the monomer (water soluble material on the photoresist pattern, Fig. 1-Steps 2-3) thereon.
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would know that the methods of Harnack and Maik for forming the monomer structure are both known and alternative techniques in forming patterned structures. Therefore, selection of a known method among finite number of alternatives for its suitability of obtaining a predictable result supports a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2143(I)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to form the structure of the monomer in the method of Maik by using the method of Harnack to be able to form the structure of monomer reliably.
Regarding claim 12, Maik In view of Harnack teaches the method of claim 11, wherein
Maik further teaches that the structure of monomer (sacrificial material 202o on regions 204, Fig. 3A-B, [0168]) is removed without using a chemical etch process or photolithography ([00179]: sacrificial layer 202o is removed by converting it to a gaseous state).
Regarding claim 13, Maik in view of Harnack teaches the method of claim 11, wherein
Maik further teaches that removing the structure of monomer (sacrificial material 202o on regions 204, Fig. 3A-B, [0168]) comprises causing a physical change of the structure of monomer ([0179]: sacrificial layer 202o is converted to a gaseous state), to thereby removing the structure of monomer ([0179]: sacrificial layer 202o is removed by converting it to a gaseous state).
Regarding claim 14, Maik in view of Harnack teaches the method of claim 11, wherein
Maik further teaches that removing the structure of monomer (sacrificial layer 202o, Fig. 3A-C) comprises evaporating and/or sublimating the structure of monomer ([0179]: sacrificial layer 202o is removed by converting it to a gaseous state, i.e. by sublimation).
Regarding claim 15, Maik in view of Harnack teaches the method of claim 11, wherein
Maik further teaches that the material (target material 202t, Fig. 3A-B, [0169]) remains on the second section (regions between regions 204, Figs. 3A-B) of the layer (substrate 102, Figs. 3A-C, [0166]: Fig. 3C shows that the material remains on the second section).
Regarding claim 16, Maik in view of Harnack teaches the method of claim 11, wherein
Maik further teaches that the material (target material 202t, Fig. 3A-B, [0169]) is a dielectric material or a conductive material ([0044]: “… the target material may … be formed from a metal.”).
Regarding claim 17, Maik teaches a method comprising:
forming a structure of a sacrificial material (pattern of sacrificial material 202o, Figs. 3A-B, [0168]) on a first section (plurality of regions 204, Figs. 3A-B, [0168]) of a layer (substrate 102, Figs. 3A-B, [0166]), wherein a second section (regions between the plurality of regions 204, Figs. 3A-B) of the layer (substrate 102, Figs. 3A-B) adjacent to the first section (plurality of regions 204, Figs. 3A-B) is not covered by the structure of sacrificial material (sacrificial material 202o, Fig. 3A-B, [0168]: only regions 204 are covered by the sacrificial layer 202o);
depositing a first material (target material 202t, Fig. 3A-B, [0169]: target material to be structured is deposited, [0061]) on (i) the structure of sacrificial material (pattern of sacrificial material 202o, Figs. 3A-B: target material 202t cover the sacrificial material 202o) and (ii) the second section (regions between the plurality of regions 204 on the substrate 102, Figs. 3A-B: target material 202t is on the entire surface of the substrate 102) of the layer (substrate 102, Figs. 3A-B); and
removing (Fig. 3C) the structure of sacrificial material (pattern of sacrificial material 202o, Figs. 3A-C) by causing a physical change ([0170]: sacrificial layer is converted from a solid state to a gaseous state during removal) to the structure of sacrificial material (sacrificial material 202o) at a temperature below 300°C ([0175]-[00176]: “less than about 300°C”), and removing portions of a second material (portions of the target material 202t on the sacrificial material 202o, Figs. 3A-C (see also Illustrative Fig. 1) that was on the structure of sacrificial material (pattern of sacrificial material 202o on the plurality of regions 204, Fig. 3A-C), wherein the physical change comprises sublimation of the sacrificial material ([0170]: sacrificial layer is converted from a solid state to a gaseous state during removal) under a controlled vacuum environment ([0032]: “According to various embodiments, the (e.g. pulsed) irradiation can be carried out in a vacuum” and laser irradiation causes transition of the sacrificial material to gaseous phase ([0179])), wherein the sublimation process (conversion from a solid state to a gaseous state, [0170]) is performed using a monomer-based sacrificial material (same material as sacrificial material 202o, [318]: “…the sacrificial material 202o ….may comprise or be formed from … a monomer …”) with a boiling point below 400°C ([0175]-[00176]: “less than about 300°C”), and wherein the sublimation process is performed in a vacuum environment ([0032]: “According to various embodiments, the (e.g. pulsed) irradiation can be carried out in a vacuum.”) (see 35 U.S.C. 112(a) rejection above) in vacuum ([0032]: “According to various embodiments, the (e.g. pulsed) irradiation can be carried out in a vacuum.”) to ensure selective removal of the sacrificial material (sacrificial material 202o, Fig. 3A-C) without affecting the first material (target material 202t between the sacrificial material 202o is not affected by the sublimation process, Fig. 3A-C), and wherein the sacrificial material (sacrificial material 202o, Figs. 3A-C) removal process is performed without using photolithography or chemical etchants ([0179]: sacrificial layer is converted from a solid state to a gaseous state during removal by laser irradiation);
wherein the sacrificial material (sacrificial material 202o, Figs. 3A-B) is selected to have a sublimation temperature lower than the deposition temperature of the first material ([0041]: “According to various embodiments, a temperature at which the sacrificial material transitions into a gaseous aggregate state may be smaller than a temperature at which the target material transitions to a gaseous aggregate state”, and therefore the deposition temperature of the target material should be lower than the sublimation temperature of target material (otherwise the deposition would not be possible)), ensuring compatibility during the deposition process.
Maik, however, does not teach that
forming the structure of the sacrificial material on the first section of the layer comprises forming a mask on the second section of the layer, wherein the mask has an opening above the first section of the layer;
depositing the structure of the sacrificial material on (i) the mask and (ii) the first section of the layer through the opening of the mask; and
removing the mask along with the structure of the sacrificial material thereon.
Harnack, on the other hand, teaches a method for patterning organic materials (Fig. 1), wherein the method includes
forming the structure of the sacrificial material (water soluble material A pattern, Fig. 1, [0034]: “water-soluble material "A" is selected from the group comprising … organic monomers, that can form thin layers.”) on the first section (regions on the substrate that are covered by the water-soluble material in Fig. 1-Step 3) of the layer (substrate, Fig. 1-Step 3 (substrate is not labeled in Fig. 1), [0127]) comprises forming a mask (photoresist pattern, Fig. 1-Step 1, [0123]) on the second section of the layer (the regions that are covered by the photoresist pattern, Fig. 1-Step 1, [0123]), wherein the mask (photoresist pattern, Fig. 1-Step 1) has an opening (regions between the photoresist pattern, Fig. 1-Step 1) above the first section of the layer (regions between the photoresist pattern, Fig. 1-Step 1, which also correspond to regions on the substrate that are covered by the water-soluble material in Fig. 1-Step 3);
depositing the structure of the sacrificial material (water soluble material, Fig. 1-Step 2, [0126]) on (i) the mask (photoresist pattern, Fig. 1-Step 2) and (ii) the first section of the layer (regions on the substrate that are covered by the water-soluble material in Fig. 1-Step 3) through the opening on the mask (regions between the photoresist pattern, Fig. 1-Step 2); and
removing the mask (photoresist pattern, Fig. 1-Steps 2-3, [0127]) along with the structure of the sacrificial material (water soluble material on the photoresist pattern, Fig. 1-Steps 2-3) thereon.
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would know that the methods of Harnack and Maik for forming the sacrificial structure are both known and alternative techniques in forming patterned structures. Therefore, selection of a known method among finite number of alternatives for its suitability of obtaining a predictable result supports a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2143(I)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to form the structure of the monomer in the method of Maik by using the method of Harnack to be able to form the structure of monomer reliably.
Regarding claim 18, Maik in view of Harnack teaches the method of claim 17, wherein
Maik further teaches that causing the physical change to the structure of sacrificial material (sacrificial material 202o, Figs. 3A-B, [0168]) comprises:
evaporating and/or sublimating the structure of sacrificial material ([00179]: sacrificial layer 202o is removed by converting it to a gaseous state).
Regarding claim 20, Maik in view of Harnack teaches the method of claim 17, wherein
Maik further teaches that the sacrificial material (sacrificial material 202o, Figs. 3A-B, [0168]) comprises a monomer ([318]: “…the sacrificial material 202o …. may comprise or be formed from … a monomer …”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-3 and 7-10 are allowed.
Claim 1 is allowed, because the references of the Prior Art of record and considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure and examiner’s knowledge does not teach or render obvious, as least to the skilled artisan, the instant invention regarding the limitation that “the removal of remnants occurs after the sublimation process” as recited in claim 1, in combination with the remaining structural components of the claim.
The combination of Maik (DE 102016114197 A1) and Harnack (US 2005/0048414 A1) is identified as the closest prior art to the invention disclosed in claim 1. Accordingly, Maik teaches a method (Figs. 3A-C, [0166]-[0171]) comprising:
forming a plurality of islands of first material (sacrificial material 202o on the plurality of regions 204, Figs. 3A-B, [0168]) on a plurality of first sections (plurality of regions 204, Fig. 3A-B, [0168]) of a layer (substrate 102, Figs. 3A-B, [0166]), wherein a plurality of second sections (regions between the plurality of regions 204, Figs. 3A-B) of the layer (substrate 102, Figs. 3A-B) are not covered by the first material (sacrificial material 202o, Fig. 3A-B: only the plurality of regions 204 are covered by the sacrificial layer 202o);
depositing a second material (target material 202t, Fig. 3A-B, [0169]: target material to be structured is deposited ([0061])) on (i) the plurality of islands of first material (sacrificial material 202o, Figs. 3A: target material 202t covers the sacrificial material 202o) and (ii) the plurality of second sections of the layer (regions between the plurality of regions 204 on the substrate 102, Figs. 3A-B) that are not covered by the plurality of islands of first material (sacrificial material 202o); and
evaporating and/or sublimating ([0170]: “The removal of the sacrificial material 202o can take place through the target material 202t. For this purpose, the sacrificial material 202o can be converted, for example, into a gaseous aggregate state, ...”) the plurality of islands of first material (sacrificial material 202o, Figs. 3A-C) and removing remnants of the second material (see the remnants of the second material as labeled in Illustrative Fig. 1, which is annotated version of Maik’s Figs. 3A (before evaporation/sublimation) and 3C (after evaporation/sublimation); the remnants of the second material is completely gone in Fig. 3C) that were on the plurality of islands of the first material (sacrificial material 202o, Illustrative Fig. 1), such that the second material (target material 202t, Illustrative Fig. 1) remains on the plurality of second sections of the layer (regions between the plurality of regions 204, labeled as second sections in Illustrative Fig. 1), to thereby form a pattern of the second material (pattern of target material 202t, Illustrative Fig. 1 (3C portion) and Fig. 3B) on the layer (the substrate 102, Illustrative Fig. 1 and Fig, 3B).
Maik, however, does not teach that
the removal of remnants occurs after the sublimation process; and
forming the plurality of islands of first material on the plurality of first sections of the layer comprises:
forming a mask on the plurality of second sections of the layer, wherein the mask has openings above the plurality of first sections of the layer;
depositing the first material on (i) the mask and (ii) the plurality of first sections of the layer through the openings of the mask; and
removing the mask along with the first material thereon.
Harnack, on the other hand, teaches a method for patterning organic materials (Fig. 1), wherein the method includes
forming the plurality of islands (water soluble material A pattern, which is a monomer as the sacrificial layer pf Maik, Fig. 1, [0034]: “water-soluble material "A" is selected from the group comprising … organic monomers, that can form thin layers.”) on the first sections (regions on the substrate that are covered by the water-soluble material in Fig. 1-Step 3) of the layer (substrate, Fig. 1-Step 3 (substrate is not labeled in Fig. 1), [0127]) comprises:
forming a mask (photoresist pattern, Fig. 1-Step 1, [0123]) on the plurality of second sections of the layer (the regions that are covered by the photoresist pattern, Fig. 1-Step 1, [0123]), wherein the mask (photoresist pattern, Fig. 1-Step 1) has openings (regions between the photoresist pattern, Fig. 1-Step 1) above the plurality of first sections of the layer (regions between the photoresist pattern, Fig. 1-Step 1, which also correspond to regions on the substrate that are covered by the water-soluble material in Fig. 1-Step 3);
depositing the first material (water soluble material, Fig. 1-Step 2, [0126]) on (i) the mask (photoresist pattern, Fig. 1-Step 2) and (ii) the plurality of first sections of the layer (regions on the substrate that are covered by the water-soluble material in Fig. 1-Step 3) through the openings on the mask (regions between the photoresist pattern, Fig. 1-Step 2); and
removing the mask (photoresist pattern, Fig. 1-Steps 2-3, [0127]) along with the first material (water soluble material on the photoresist pattern, Fig. 1-Steps 2-3) thereon.
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would know that the methods of Harnack and Maik for forming the sacrificial structure are both known and alternative techniques in forming patterned structures. Therefore, selection of a known method among finite number of alternatives for its suitability of obtaining a predictable result supports a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2143(I)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to form the structure of the monomer in the method of Maik by using the method of Harnack to be able to form the structure of monomer reliably. Thus, the combination of Maik and Harnack teaches all the limitations of claim 1, except that
the removal of remnants occurs after the sublimation process.
In Maik, the removal of the remnants happens at the same time as the sublimations process ([0171]: “When removing the sacrificial material 202o, a portion of the target material 202t may optionally be removed” which corresponds to Fig. 3c). Otherwise, Maik does not provide any other method or reason to remove the remnants. Accordingly, there has been no motivation or prior art identified that can modify Maik to include a removal process after sublimation to remove the remnants.
Another relevant prior art to the claimed invention is Branton (US 2009/0173716 A1) which also teaches a method for forming plurality of islands via a sublimation process (Figs. 1D-E).
Accordingly, claim 1 is allowable, as the references of the Prior Art of record considered pertinent to the applicant' s disclosure and examiner' s knowledge does not teach or render obvious, at least to the skilled artisan, the instant invention regarding the limitation that “the removal of remnants occurs after the sublimation process”, when this limitation is accompanied by the remaining limitations of the claim 1.
Claims 2-3 and 7-10 are also allowed, because these claims inherit the allowable subject matter from claim 1.
Claim 19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and if the 35 U.S.C. rejections are overcome.
Claim 19, disclosing the limitation that
“removing portions of the second material that was on the structure of sacrificial material comprises:
removing, using compressed gas, portions of the second material that was on the structure of sacrificial material.”
would be allowable if this limitation is incorporated in a claim combining claims 17 and 19, and if the 35 U.S.C. 112 rejection of claim 17 is overcome.
Regarding the closest prior art, the combination of Maik and Harnack teaches all the limitation of claim 17 (see claim 17 rejection above), but does not teach the limitations above. Kim (KR 100821836 B1), on the other hand, teaches a method for cleaning the remnants on the surface of the sample after removal of poly metal dielectric (PMD) layer by spraying compressed air on the sample (lines 133-135, and 161-162). However, the remnants in the method of Kim are not due to a sublimation process, and there is no indication in Maik in view of Harnack that any remnants remain on the surface after sublimation. Therefore, even though a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention could intend to use compressed air for general cleaning of the surface of the sample for removing any contaminants, such a cleaning process is not motivated for removing the portions of the second material that was on the structure of the sacrificial material. Further prior art search did not lead to a prior art which suggests requirement of compressed air-based removal of materials equivalent to the portions of the second material on the sacrificial material. Accordingly, claim 19 is objected.
Response to Arguments
It has been acknowledged that the applicant amended claims 1, 11, and 17 and canceled claims 4-5 per response dated 3/2/2026. Applicants’ arguments with respect to claims have been fully considered.
Applicant argues in substance:
Maik does not disclose the amended “mask-on-second-section(s) / openings-above-first-section(s)” formation sequence. … Accordingly, Maik fails to disclose each and every limitation of the amended independent claims.
The Examiner agrees with the Applicant on that Maik does not teach the “mask-on-second-section(s) / openings-above-first-section(s)” formation sequence”. Therefore, considering the limitations associated with this formation sequence render claims 1, 11, and 17 overcome the rejections of independent claims 1, 11, and 17 based on Maik (DE 102016114197 A1). However, as detailed in the office action above, the combination of Maik with a new prior art, Harnack (US 2005/0048414 A1), teaches such a formation sequence, and has been used to examine claims.
Applicant further respectfully maintains the previously presented distinction over Maik regarding removal of the second material that was on the islands/structure of the first material.
As previously addressed in the record, the Office relied on Maik Figures 3A–3C for teaching removal of sacrificial material to form a pattern. However, as discussed, Maik describes sacrificial material 2020 being buried by target material 202t (see, e.g., Maik para. [0168] as previously cited), and then removing sacrificial material 2020 to form a pattern (see, e.g., Maik para. [0171] as previously cited). The amended independent claims require not only removal of the first (sacrificial) material (e.g., by evaporation and/or sublimation), but also “removing remnants of the [second] material that were on the plurality of islands of the [first] material” (or analogous language in Claims 11 and 17), such that the second material remains on the second section(s) of the layer.
Stated differently, the claims require removal from the island/structure locations of (i) the first material and (ii) the second material remnants that were on that first material. Maik, as applied by the Office, does not teach this two-material removal from the island/structure locations in the manner now claimed. Therefore, Maik does not anticipate the amended independent claims.
While the Examiner understands the point the Applicant is making, the Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant on the interpretation of Maik. As the Applicant also indicated, the method of Maik considered in the examination is the one presented in Figs. 3A-C. The Examiner agrees with the Applicant on that the sacrificial layer 202o is embedded in the target material 202t in Figs. 3A-B. However, after sublimation, the final form of the structure is the one shown in Fig. 3C (indicated as 300c), which is the figure the Examiner considers as the outcome of Maik’s method. The comparison of Fig. 3B and 3C clearly shows that the sacrificial material 202o and the portion of the target material 202t, which was on the sacrificial material 202o in Fig 3B, are missing in Fig. 3C. Therefore, these materials are removed. There is no explicit statement in Maik that states that the target material which was over the sacrificial material remains after sublimation. The only hint comes from paragraph [0171], which the Applicant also cited, stating: “When removing the sacrificial material 202o, a portion of the target material 202t may optionally be removed or at least deformed. This may increase the surface area of the patterned layer 202.”, which is consistent with Fig, 3C, which can only form as illustrated if portions of the target material on the sacrificial material are removed. Therefore, the Examiner retains his view that Maik teaches the removal of both the sacrificial layer and the target layer which was on the sacrificial layer.
However, the Examiner notes that the removal process of the remnants as now further clarified in amended claim 1 (“the removal of remnants occurs after the sublimation process”) is not taught by Maik, which rendered claim 1 allowable. Also, considering the comments of the Applicant, the Examiner withdraws the rejection on claim 19, as Maik does not hint removal of the remnants after the sublimation process. Claims 11 and 17, which do not include this limitation, however, remain rejected.
For the purpose of compact prosecution, the Examiner notes, however, that incorporating allowable subject matter from claim 1 or claim 19 into claims 11 and 17 might make independent claim 11 and 17 also allowable.
The Examiner is available for an interview at Applicant’s convenience if the Applicant would like to discuss the application.
Conclusion
/ILKER NMN OZDEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/William B Partridge/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812