Election/Restrictions
Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 4/27/2026. Applicant has elected Group II, corresponding to claims 1-14.
The examiner acknowledges the applicant’s cancellation of claims 15-20.
Invention Group II, corresponding to cancelled claims 15-20, is withdrawn from further consideration.
The examiner also acknowledges new 21-26, which are deemed to be included in the elected Group II grouping.
Specification
The specification submitted 6/6/2023 has been accepted by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings submitted on 6/6/2023 have been accepted by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US # 20180145036) in view of Foster (US # 20120320558).
Regarding Claim 1, Kim (US # 20180145036) teaches an apparatus (Figs. 8-10 and corresponding text), comprising:
a circuit board substrate (2500);
a package comprising a semiconductor die (120) and a redistribution layer (142) over the semiconductor die mounted to the circuit board substrate; and
a first component (125) mounted to the redistribution layer over the semiconductor die (shown in Fig. 9).
Although Kim discloses much of the claimed invention, it does not explicitly teach the apparatus, comprising a shielding structure mounted to the circuit board substrate over the package and the first component.
Nonetheless the prior art at the time the application was filed renders such non-explicit feature differences obvious, as explained below.
For example, Foster is in the same or analogous field, and it teaches an apparatus, (see Fig. 4 and corresponding text) comprising a shielding structure (18) mounted to a circuit board substrate (14) over electrical components (12) and over a molding layer (16).
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that modifying the apparatus of Kim with the shielding structure suggested by Foster would be obvious. Specifically, the modification suggested by Foster would be to employ an apparatus of claim 1, comprising a shielding structure mounted to the circuit board substrate over the package and the first component. The rationale for this obvious modification is that a shielding structure provides a reduction in EM interference generated by nearby components. This would have been apparent to a person having ordinary skill in the art in reading both references because the existence and benefits of EM shielding layers are well known in the art (see MPEP 2144.01).
Regarding Claim 2, Kim (US # 20180145036) teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein: the first component comprises at least one of a resistor, a capacitor, or an inductor ([0083]).
Regarding Claim 3, Foster, as applied to claim 1, teaches the apparatus of claim 1, comprising: a molding layer (16) over the package and the first component, wherein the shielding structure (18) is over the molding layer.
Regarding Claim 4, Foster, as applied to claim 1, teaches the apparatus of claim 1, comprising: a second component (“third component”) mounted to the circuit board substrate and not covered by the shielding structure (see [0093]).
Regarding Claim 21, Foster, as applied to claim 1, teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein: the shielding structure comprises a metal lid ([0075-76] features 166 and features 160 surround the component 12).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US # 20180145036) in view of Foster (US # 20120320558) and further in view of Lee (US # 20240355643).
Regarding Claim 5, although Kim in view of Foster discloses much of the claimed invention, it does not explicitly teach the apparatus of claim 4, wherein: the second component comprises at least one of an antenna, a crystal, or a filter.
Nonetheless the prior art at the time the application was filed renders such non-explicit feature differences obvious, as explained below.
For example, Lee is in the same or analogous field, and it teaches apparatus, wherein: a component (205) comprises at least one of an antenna, a crystal, or a filter ([0024] teaches antennas).
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that modifying the unshielded components of Kim in view of Foster with the unshielded antenna suggested by Lee would be obvious. Specifically, the modification suggested by Lee would be to employ an apparatus of claim 4, wherein: the second component comprises at least one of an antenna, a crystal, or a filter. The rationale for this obvious modification is that an antenna without an EM shield provides wireless communication functions.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US # 20180145036) in view of Foster (US # 20120320558) and further in view of Hurwitz (US # 20170213793).
Regarding Claim 6, although Kim in view of Foster discloses much of the claimed invention, it does not explicitly teach the apparatus of claim 1, comprising a wire bond connected to the redistribution layer and the circuit board substrate.
Nonetheless the prior art at the time the application was filed renders such non-explicit feature differences obvious, as explained below.
For example, Hurwitz is in the same or analogous field, and it teaches that wire bond pads are a known alternative connection method at the redistribution layer end of a package for attachment to a PCB ([0018, 41]).
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that modifying the RDL connections of Kim in view of Foster with the wire bonds suggested by Hurwitz would be obvious. Specifically, the modification suggested by Lee would be to employ an apparatus of claim 1, comprising a wire bond connected to the redistribution layer and the circuit board substrate. The rationale for this obvious modification is that a wire bond is identified in the prior art as a known, equivalent alternative interconnection method and the substitution involves routine engineering skill and predictable results.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US # 20180145036) in view of Foster (US # 20120320558) and further in view of Han (US # 20240363550).
Regarding Claim 22, although Kim in view of Foster discloses much of the claimed invention, it does not explicitly teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein: the shielding structure comprises: a seed layer; and a plated layer over the seed layer.
Nonetheless the prior art at the time the application was filed renders such non-explicit feature differences obvious, as explained below.
For example, Han is in the same or analogous field, and it teaches an apparatus wherein: a shielding structure comprises: a seed layer (rear metal layer 520); and a plated layer over the seed layer ([0056-58]).
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that modifying the shielding of Kim in view of Foster with the seed layer and plated layer suggested by Han would be obvious. Specifically, the modification suggested by Han would be to employ an apparatus of claim 1, wherein: the shielding structure comprises: a seed layer; and a plated layer over the seed layer. The rationale for this obvious modification is that a shielding structure being formed with a seed layer provides uniform thickness and minimized conductivity.
Claims 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US # 20180145036) in view of Foster (US # 20120320558) and further in view of Jenq (US # 20230187378).
Regarding Claim 23, although Kim in view of Foster discloses much of the claimed invention, it does not explicitly teach the apparatus of claim 3, wherein: the shielding structure comprises: a wire layer embedded in the molding layer; and a cap over the molding layer and contacting the wire layer.
Nonetheless the prior art at the time the application was filed renders such non-explicit feature differences obvious, as explained below.
For example, Jenq is in the same or analogous field, and it teaches an apparatus of claim 3, wherein: a shielding structure (see Fig. 9 and corresponding text) comprises: a wire layer (130) embedded in a molding layer (140); and a cap (150) over the molding layer and contacting the wire layer (shown; see also [0024-26]).
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that modifying the shielding of Kim in view of Foster with the wire and cap suggested by Jenq would be obvious. Specifically, the modification suggested by Han would be to employ an apparatus of claim 3, wherein: the shielding structure comprises: a wire layer embedded in the molding layer; and a cap over the molding layer and contacting the wire layer. The rationale for this obvious modification is that a shielding structure being formed with a wire and cap provides convenient alignment and miniaturization shortcomings of conventional shields ([0003, 4, 28]).
Regarding Claim 24, Jenq, as applied to claim 23, teaches apparatus of claim 23, wherein: the wire layer comprises a vertical wire bond (shown in Fig. 7-8; see also [0017]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-14 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding Claim 10, although the prior art shows substantial features of the claimed invention, the prior art reviewed by the examiner neither teaches nor reasonably suggests all the claimed limitations, including a material region embedded in at least one of the passivation layer or the redistribution layer in a wire bonding site, wherein the material region comprises a first material stiffer than a second material of the passivation layer.
Claims 11-14 are dependent on claim 10.
Claims 7-9 and 25-26 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claim 7, although the prior art shows substantial features of the claimed invention, the prior art reviewed by the examiner neither teaches nor reasonably suggests all the claimed limitations, including the redistribution layer is at least partially embedded in the passivation layer, and the redistribution layer directly contacts the molding layer under a portion of the wire bond contacting the redistribution layer.
Regarding Claim 8, although the prior art shows substantial features of the claimed invention, the prior art reviewed by the examiner neither teaches nor reasonably suggests all the claimed limitations, including the package comprises a material region embedded in the molding layer under a portion of the wire bond contacting the redistribution layer, and the material region comprises a first material stiffer than a second material of the passivation layer.
Claim 9 is dependent on claim 8.
Claims 25 and 26 are dependent on claim 8.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER A JOHNSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899