DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 9-10, 17, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-8, 11, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2002/0105435 (Yee) (cited by Applicant) in view of
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2006/0190140 (Soni).
Claim 1:
The cited prior art describes a method, comprising: (Yee: “This invention relates generally to electric power meters and more particularly to an electric power meter that contains a temperature sensor and a controller.” Paragraph 0001; “FIG. 1 illustrates an electric energy metering system 100 according to the present invention. The electric energy metering system 100 is adapted to measure the amount of electrical energy used within a customer premises such as a house, apartment, commercial building or factory. Further, according to principles of the present invention, the electric energy metering system is adapted to shut off power when temperature conditions dictate to reduce the likelihood of fires; and to comply with regulatory rules when disconnecting power for non-payment of energy charges.” Paragraph 0012; “In one embodiment, the controller 112 is a microprocessor that is capable of performing actions based on input data according to preprogrammed instructions.” Paragraph 0021)
determining that electricity supplied to a service site is restricted; (Yee: “At step 605, the electric energy metering system determines whether a customer is eligible for electrical power disconnection under a primary criteria. This could occur, for example, if the customer fails to pay for electrical power. If the customer is not eligible for power disconnection under the primary criteria, the process ends.” Paragraph 0051; “Some regulatory agencies governing the utility industry or government entities such as state or local governments have rules governing when electrical power may be disconnected. As an example, power disconnection may be forbidden when the average daily temperature or the nighttime temperature is below a certain level and/or power disconnection may be forbidden at certain times of year (e.g., during the winter months). Other factors such as medical needs or income level of the customer may also be considered when determining the rules for disconnecting electrical power from a customer. The electrical energy metering system 100 of FIG. 1 is operable to test these criteria before electrical power is disconnected. For example, the controller 112 can use temperature information from the temperature sensor 114 to estimate the outside temperature, can also track the time of day and date, or determine whether it is day or night by using the photo sensor 116.” Paragraph 0048)
Yee does not explicitly describe a threshold value and a consumption value as described below. However, Soni teaches the threshold value and the consumption value as described below.
determining a threshold value, wherein determining the threshold value comprises:
obtaining an ambient temperature at the service site; and (Yee: see the temperature sensor 114 as illustrated in figure 1; “It should be noted that the temperature measured by the temperature sensor 114 is a function of the outside temperature and power flowing through the power meter 102. However, the controller 112 can estimate the amount of heat produced by the power flowing through the power meter 102 and use this to correct the temperature from the temperature sensor 114 to estimate the outside temperature. Alternatively, the power meter 102 may contain two temperature sensors, one internal temperature sensor for measuring the heat within the device and the other one, located on or near the outside of the power meter 102, for measuring the outside temperature.” Paragraph 0049)
basing the threshold value at least in part on the ambient temperature; (Yee: “If the customer is eligible for power disconnection under the primary criteria, at step 607 the electric energy metering system 100 determines if a secondary criteria for disconnecting the electrical power to the customer premises has been met. The secondary criteria could be based on rules from a regulatory agency, state or local law or by the policy of the electric utility. The secondary criteria could be based on, for example, the date, the time of day, the outdoor temperature, whether it was day or night, the medical needs of the customer, the income level of the customer or the customers past record of payment.” Paragraph 0051) (Soni: “Another advantage of DSL is that it allows the utility to reach an agreement with a customer over the level of service. If the customer is a delinquent bill payer, the utility can negotiate a limited level of continued service with the customer until the delinquency is cleared up. Similarly, during high peak demand periods, the utility and customer can have an agreement as to the level of service during identified peak periods whereby the customer agrees to limit his electricity usage for a set interval (e.g., 4 P.M.-10 P.M., if the temperature exceeds 100.degree. F. or the heat index exceeds 105.degree. F.). The utility can then issue commands to DSI 10 to trip if, for example, a 40 amp long-time over current limit is exceeded, or if a 50 amp instantaneous over current limit is exceeded. In either event, if the customers exceeds their agreed to level of use (whether intentionally or not), the utility can automatically shut-off service through a command from master station 20 to DSI 10 for a fixed period of time (e.g., 1 hr), and then automatically restore the service with a second command.” Paragraph 0035)
determining if a consumption level at the service site exceeds the threshold value; and (Soni: “Similarly, during high peak demand periods, the utility and customer can have an agreement as to the level of service during identified peak periods whereby the customer agrees to limit his electricity usage for a set interval (e.g., 4 P.M.-10 P.M., if the temperature exceeds 100.degree. F. or the heat index exceeds 105.degree. F.). The utility can then issue commands to DSI 10 to trip if, for example, a 40 amp long-time over current limit is exceeded, or if a 50 amp instantaneous over current limit is exceeded.” Paragraph 0035) (Yee: “If, at step 409, the power meter temperature is determined not to exceed the shut off threshold (i.e., the power meter temperature is somewhere between the alarm and shut off thresholds), the controller at step 419 determines a maximum instantaneous power value associated with the power meter 102. In one embodiment, the controller 112 monitors the instantaneous power based on information reported from the power measurement sensor 108 when the temperature is above the alarm threshold.” Paragraph 0045)
based on the consumption level exceeding the threshold value, and based on the electricity supplied to the service site being restricted, turning off electricity at the service site. (Yee: “If both the primary and secondary criteria have been met, then at step 609, the power to the customer premises is disconnected.” Paragraph 0051) (Soni: “Similarly, during high peak demand periods, the utility and customer can have an agreement as to the level of service during identified peak periods whereby the customer agrees to limit his electricity usage for a set interval (e.g., 4 P.M.-10 P.M., if the temperature exceeds 100.degree. F. or the heat index exceeds 105.degree. F.). The utility can then issue commands to DSI 10 to trip if, for example, a 40 amp long-time over current limit is exceeded, or if a 50 amp instantaneous over current limit is exceeded. In either event, if the customers exceeds their agreed to level of use (whether intentionally or not), the utility can automatically shut-off service through a command from master station 20 to DSI 10 for a fixed period of time (e.g., 1 hr), and then automatically restore the service with a second command.” Paragraph 0035)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Yee, namely, an electric power meter with a temperature sensor and a controller, with the known techniques of Soni, namely, an electrical meter with a smart disconnect switch, would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system. Accordingly, applying the teachings of Yee to control power using various inputs with the teachings of Soni to control power using various inputs would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved power meter (i.e., the combination of the references provides for a power meter to disconnect service based on various inputs based on the teachings of a power meter with disconnect based on various inputs in Yee and the teachings of a power meter with disconnect based on various inputs in Soni).
Claim 6:
Yee does not explicitly describe a threshold value and a consumption value as described below. However, Soni teaches the threshold value and the consumption value as described below.
The cited prior art describes the method of claim 1, wherein:
the consumption level comprises:
a peak consumption level lasting less than a minute; and (Soni: “Similarly, during high peak demand periods, the utility and customer can have an agreement as to the level of service during identified peak periods whereby the customer agrees to limit his electricity usage for a set interval (e.g., 4 P.M.-10 P.M., if the temperature exceeds 100.degree. F. or the heat index exceeds 105.degree. F.). The utility can then issue commands to DSI 10 to trip if, for example, a 40 amp long-time over current limit is exceeded, or if a 50 amp instantaneous over current limit is exceeded.” Paragraph 0035)
a sustained consumption level lasting over a minute; and (Soni: “Similarly, during high peak demand periods, the utility and customer can have an agreement as to the level of service during identified peak periods whereby the customer agrees to limit his electricity usage for a set interval (e.g., 4 P.M.-10 P.M., if the temperature exceeds 100.degree. F. or the heat index exceeds 105.degree. F.). The utility can then issue commands to DSI 10 to trip if, for example, a 40 amp long-time over current limit is exceeded, or if a 50 amp instantaneous over current limit is exceeded.” Paragraph 0035)
the threshold value comprises:
a first value to be compared to the peak consumption level; and (Soni: “Similarly, during high peak demand periods, the utility and customer can have an agreement as to the level of service during identified peak periods whereby the customer agrees to limit his electricity usage for a set interval (e.g., 4 P.M.-10 P.M., if the temperature exceeds 100.degree. F. or the heat index exceeds 105.degree. F.). The utility can then issue commands to DSI 10 to trip if, for example, a 40 amp long-time over current limit is exceeded, or if a 50 amp instantaneous over current limit is exceeded.” Paragraph 0035) (Yee: “If, at step 409, the power meter temperature is determined not to exceed the shut off threshold (i.e., the power meter temperature is somewhere between the alarm and shut off thresholds), the controller at step 419 determines a maximum instantaneous power value associated with the power meter 102. In one embodiment, the controller 112 monitors the instantaneous power based on information reported from the power measurement sensor 108 when the temperature is above the alarm threshold.” Paragraph 0045)
a second value to be compared to the sustained consumption level. (Soni: “Similarly, during high peak demand periods, the utility and customer can have an agreement as to the level of service during identified peak periods whereby the customer agrees to limit his electricity usage for a set interval (e.g., 4 P.M.-10 P.M., if the temperature exceeds 100.degree. F. or the heat index exceeds 105.degree. F.). The utility can then issue commands to DSI 10 to trip if, for example, a 40 amp long-time over current limit is exceeded, or if a 50 amp instantaneous over current limit is exceeded.” Paragraph 0035) (Yee: “If, at step 409, the power meter temperature is determined not to exceed the shut off threshold (i.e., the power meter temperature is somewhere between the alarm and shut off thresholds), the controller at step 419 determines a maximum instantaneous power value associated with the power meter 102. In one embodiment, the controller 112 monitors the instantaneous power based on information reported from the power measurement sensor 108 when the temperature is above the alarm threshold.” Paragraph 0045)
Soni and Yee are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 7:
Yee does not explicitly describe a threshold value as described below. However, Soni teaches the threshold value as described below.
The cited prior art describes the method of claim 1, wherein setting the threshold value additionally comprises:
setting the threshold value based at least in part on time of day; and (Soni: “Another advantage of DSL is that it allows the utility to reach an agreement with a customer over the level of service. If the customer is a delinquent bill payer, the utility can negotiate a limited level of continued service with the customer until the delinquency is cleared up. Similarly, during high peak demand periods, the utility and customer can have an agreement as to the level of service during identified peak periods whereby the customer agrees to limit his electricity usage for a set interval (e.g., 4 P.M.-10 P.M., if the temperature exceeds 100.degree. F. or the heat index exceeds 105.degree. F.). The utility can then issue commands to DSI 10 to trip if, for example, a 40 amp long-time over current limit is exceeded, or if a 50 amp instantaneous over current limit is exceeded. In either event, if the customers exceeds their agreed to level of use (whether intentionally or not), the utility can automatically shut-off service through a command from master station 20 to DSI 10 for a fixed period of time (e.g., 1 hr), and then automatically restore the service with a second command.” Paragraph 0035)
adjusting the threshold value at least once in a 24-hour period. (Yee: “If the customer is eligible for power disconnection under the primary criteria, at step 607 the electric energy metering system 100 determines if a secondary criteria for disconnecting the electrical power to the customer premises has been met. The secondary criteria could be based on rules from a regulatory agency, state or local law or by the policy of the electric utility. The secondary criteria could be based on, for example, the date, the time of day, the outdoor temperature, whether it was day or night, the medical needs of the customer, the income level of the customer or the customers past record of payment.” Paragraph 0051) (Soni: “Another advantage of DSL is that it allows the utility to reach an agreement with a customer over the level of service. If the customer is a delinquent bill payer, the utility can negotiate a limited level of continued service with the customer until the delinquency is cleared up. Similarly, during high peak demand periods, the utility and customer can have an agreement as to the level of service during identified peak periods whereby the customer agrees to limit his electricity usage for a set interval (e.g., 4 P.M.-10 P.M., if the temperature exceeds 100.degree. F. or the heat index exceeds 105.degree. F.). The utility can then issue commands to DSI 10 to trip if, for example, a 40 amp long-time over current limit is exceeded, or if a 50 amp instantaneous over current limit is exceeded. In either event, if the customers exceeds their agreed to level of use (whether intentionally or not), the utility can automatically shut-off service through a command from master station 20 to DSI 10 for a fixed period of time (e.g., 1 hr), and then automatically restore the service with a second command.” Paragraph 0035)
Soni and Yee are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 8:
The cited prior art describes a network device for use in an electricity system, comprising: (Yee: “This invention relates generally to electric power meters and more particularly to an electric power meter that contains a temperature sensor and a controller.” Paragraph 0001; “FIG. 1 illustrates an electric energy metering system 100 according to the present invention. The electric energy metering system 100 is adapted to measure the amount of electrical energy used within a customer premises such as a house, apartment, commercial building or factory. Further, according to principles of the present invention, the electric energy metering system is adapted to shut off power when temperature conditions dictate to reduce the likelihood of fires; and to comply with regulatory rules when disconnecting power for non-payment of energy charges.” Paragraph 0012; “In one embodiment, the controller 112 is a microprocessor that is capable of performing actions based on input data according to preprogrammed instructions.” Paragraph 0021)
a processor; (Yee: “In one embodiment, the controller 112 is a microprocessor that is capable of performing actions based on input data according to preprogrammed instructions.” Paragraph 0021)
Yee does not explicitly describe memory, a threshold value, and a consumption value as described below. However, Soni teaches the memory, the threshold value, and the consumption value as described below.
one or more memory devices in communication with the processor; (Soni: see the memory in the DSI 10 as described in paragraph 0032)
statements defined in the one or more memory devices and executable by the processor, wherein execution by the processor to perform actions comprising: (Yee: “In one embodiment, the controller 112 is a microprocessor that is capable of performing actions based on input data according to preprogrammed instructions.” Paragraph 0021)
determining that electricity supplied to a service site is restricted; (Yee: “At step 605, the electric energy metering system determines whether a customer is eligible for electrical power disconnection under a primary criteria. This could occur, for example, if the customer fails to pay for electrical power. If the customer is not eligible for power disconnection under the primary criteria, the process ends.” Paragraph 0051; “Some regulatory agencies governing the utility industry or government entities such as state or local governments have rules governing when electrical power may be disconnected. As an example, power disconnection may be forbidden when the average daily temperature or the nighttime temperature is below a certain level and/or power disconnection may be forbidden at certain times of year (e.g., during the winter months). Other factors such as medical needs or income level of the customer may also be considered when determining the rules for disconnecting electrical power from a customer. The electrical energy metering system 100 of FIG. 1 is operable to test these criteria before electrical power is disconnected. For example, the controller 112 can use temperature information from the temperature sensor 114 to estimate the outside temperature, can also track the time of day and date, or determine whether it is day or night by using the photo sensor 116.” Paragraph 0048)
determining a threshold value, wherein determining the threshold value comprises:
obtaining an ambient temperature at the service site; and (Yee: see the temperature sensor 114 as illustrated in figure 1; “It should be noted that the temperature measured by the temperature sensor 114 is a function of the outside temperature and power flowing through the power meter 102. However, the controller 112 can estimate the amount of heat produced by the power flowing through the power meter 102 and use this to correct the temperature from the temperature sensor 114 to estimate the outside temperature. Alternatively, the power meter 102 may contain two temperature sensors, one internal temperature sensor for measuring the heat within the device and the other one, located on or near the outside of the power meter 102, for measuring the outside temperature.” Paragraph 0049)
basing the threshold value at least in part on the ambient temperature; (Yee: “If the customer is eligible for power disconnection under the primary criteria, at step 607 the electric energy metering system 100 determines if a secondary criteria for disconnecting the electrical power to the customer premises has been met. The secondary criteria could be based on rules from a regulatory agency, state or local law or by the policy of the electric utility. The secondary criteria could be based on, for example, the date, the time of day, the outdoor temperature, whether it was day or night, the medical needs of the customer, the income level of the customer or the customers past record of payment.” Paragraph 0051) (Soni: “Another advantage of DSL is that it allows the utility to reach an agreement with a customer over the level of service. If the customer is a delinquent bill payer, the utility can negotiate a limited level of continued service with the customer until the delinquency is cleared up. Similarly, during high peak demand periods, the utility and customer can have an agreement as to the level of service during identified peak periods whereby the customer agrees to limit his electricity usage for a set interval (e.g., 4 P.M.-10 P.M., if the temperature exceeds 100.degree. F. or the heat index exceeds 105.degree. F.). The utility can then issue commands to DSI 10 to trip if, for example, a 40 amp long-time over current limit is exceeded, or if a 50 amp instantaneous over current limit is exceeded. In either event, if the customers exceeds their agreed to level of use (whether intentionally or not), the utility can automatically shut-off service through a command from master station 20 to DSI 10 for a fixed period of time (e.g., 1 hr), and then automatically restore the service with a second command.” Paragraph 0035)
determining if a consumption level at the service site exceeds the threshold value; and (Soni: “Similarly, during high peak demand periods, the utility and customer can have an agreement as to the level of service during identified peak periods whereby the customer agrees to limit his electricity usage for a set interval (e.g., 4 P.M.-10 P.M., if the temperature exceeds 100.degree. F. or the heat index exceeds 105.degree. F.). The utility can then issue commands to DSI 10 to trip if, for example, a 40 amp long-time over current limit is exceeded, or if a 50 amp instantaneous over current limit is exceeded.” Paragraph 0035) (Yee: “If, at step 409, the power meter temperature is determined not to exceed the shut off threshold (i.e., the power meter temperature is somewhere between the alarm and shut off thresholds), the controller at step 419 determines a maximum instantaneous power value associated with the power meter 102. In one embodiment, the controller 112 monitors the instantaneous power based on information reported from the power measurement sensor 108 when the temperature is above the alarm threshold.” Paragraph 0045)
based on the consumption level exceeding the threshold value, and based on the electricity supplied to the service site being restricted, turning off electricity at the service site. (Yee: “If both the primary and secondary criteria have been met, then at step 609, the power to the customer premises is disconnected.” Paragraph 0051) (Soni: “Similarly, during high peak demand periods, the utility and customer can have an agreement as to the level of service during identified peak periods whereby the customer agrees to limit his electricity usage for a set interval (e.g., 4 P.M.-10 P.M., if the temperature exceeds 100.degree. F. or the heat index exceeds 105.degree. F.). The utility can then issue commands to DSI 10 to trip if, for example, a 40 amp long-time over current limit is exceeded, or if a 50 amp instantaneous over current limit is exceeded. In either event, if the customers exceeds their agreed to level of use (whether intentionally or not), the utility can automatically shut-off service through a command from master station 20 to DSI 10 for a fixed period of time (e.g., 1 hr), and then automatically restore the service with a second command.” Paragraph 0035)
Soni and Yee are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 11:
The cited prior art describes the network device as recited in claim 8, wherein the networked device comprises: an electricity meter; or a headend device. (Yee: “This invention relates generally to electric power meters and more particularly to an electric power meter that contains a temperature sensor and a controller.” Paragraph 0001; “FIG. 1 illustrates an electric energy metering system 100 according to the present invention. The electric energy metering system 100 is adapted to measure the amount of electrical energy used within a customer premises such as a house, apartment, commercial building or factory. Further, according to principles of the present invention, the electric energy metering system is adapted to shut off power when temperature conditions dictate to reduce the likelihood of fires; and to comply with regulatory rules when disconnecting power for non-payment of energy charges.” Paragraph 0012; “In one embodiment, the controller 112 is a microprocessor that is capable of performing actions based on input data according to preprogrammed instructions.” Paragraph 0021)
Claim 14:
Yee does not explicitly describe a threshold value and a consumption value as described below. However, Soni teaches the threshold value and the consumption value as described below.
The cited prior art describes the network device as recited in claim 8, wherein the consumption level and the threshold value are each based at least in part on factors comprising:
a sustained consumption level; and (Soni: “Similarly, during high peak demand periods, the utility and customer can have an agreement as to the level of service during identified peak periods whereby the customer agrees to limit his electricity usage for a set interval (e.g., 4 P.M.-10 P.M., if the temperature exceeds 100.degree. F. or the heat index exceeds 105.degree. F.). The utility can then issue commands to DSI 10 to trip if, for example, a 40 amp long-time over current limit is exceeded, or if a 50 amp instantaneous over current limit is exceeded.” Paragraph 0035)
a peak consumption level. (Soni: “Similarly, during high peak demand periods, the utility and customer can have an agreement as to the level of service during identified peak periods whereby the customer agrees to limit his electricity usage for a set interval (e.g., 4 P.M.-10 P.M., if the temperature exceeds 100.degree. F. or the heat index exceeds 105.degree. F.). The utility can then issue commands to DSI 10 to trip if, for example, a 40 amp long-time over current limit is exceeded, or if a 50 amp instantaneous over current limit is exceeded.” Paragraph 0035)
Soni and Yee are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 15:
Yee does not explicitly describe a threshold value as described below. However, Soni teaches the threshold value as described below.
The cited prior art describes the network device as recited in claim 8, wherein setting the threshold value additionally comprises:
setting the threshold value based at least in part on time of day; and (Soni: “Another advantage of DSL is that it allows the utility to reach an agreement with a customer over the level of service. If the customer is a delinquent bill payer, the utility can negotiate a limited level of continued service with the customer until the delinquency is cleared up. Similarly, during high peak demand periods, the utility and customer can have an agreement as to the level of service during identified peak periods whereby the customer agrees to limit his electricity usage for a set interval (e.g., 4 P.M.-10 P.M., if the temperature exceeds 100.degree. F. or the heat index exceeds 105.degree. F.). The utility can then issue commands to DSI 10 to trip if, for example, a 40 amp long-time over current limit is exceeded, or if a 50 amp instantaneous over current limit is exceeded. In either event, if the customers exceeds their agreed to level of use (whether intentionally or not), the utility can automatically shut-off service through a command from master station 20 to DSI 10 for a fixed period of time (e.g., 1 hr), and then automatically restore the service with a second command.” Paragraph 0035)
adjusting the threshold value at least once in a 24-hour period. (Yee: “If the customer is eligible for power disconnection under the primary criteria, at step 607 the electric energy metering system 100 determines if a secondary criteria for disconnecting the electrical power to the customer premises has been met. The secondary criteria could be based on rules from a regulatory agency, state or local law or by the policy of the electric utility. The secondary criteria could be based on, for example, the date, the time of day, the outdoor temperature, whether it was day or night, the medical needs of the customer, the income level of the customer or the customers past record of payment.” Paragraph 0051) (Soni: “Another advantage of DSL is that it allows the utility to reach an agreement with a customer over the level of service. If the customer is a delinquent bill payer, the utility can negotiate a limited level of continued service with the customer until the delinquency is cleared up. Similarly, during high peak demand periods, the utility and customer can have an agreement as to the level of service during identified peak periods whereby the customer agrees to limit his electricity usage for a set interval (e.g., 4 P.M.-10 P.M., if the temperature exceeds 100.degree. F. or the heat index exceeds 105.degree. F.). The utility can then issue commands to DSI 10 to trip if, for example, a 40 amp long-time over current limit is exceeded, or if a 50 amp instantaneous over current limit is exceeded. In either event, if the customers exceeds their agreed to level of use (whether intentionally or not), the utility can automatically shut-off service through a command from master station 20 to DSI 10 for a fixed period of time (e.g., 1 hr), and then automatically restore the service with a second command.” Paragraph 0035)
Soni and Yee are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 16:
Yee does not explicitly describe media, a threshold value, and a consumption value as described below. However, Soni teaches the media, the threshold value, and the consumption value as described below.
The cited prior art describes one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, configure a computing device to perform actions comprising: (Yee: “This invention relates generally to electric power meters and more particularly to an electric power meter that contains a temperature sensor and a controller.” Paragraph 0001; “FIG. 1 illustrates an electric energy metering system 100 according to the present invention. The electric energy metering system 100 is adapted to measure the amount of electrical energy used within a customer premises such as a house, apartment, commercial building or factory. Further, according to principles of the present invention, the electric energy metering system is adapted to shut off power when temperature conditions dictate to reduce the likelihood of fires; and to comply with regulatory rules when disconnecting power for non-payment of energy charges.” Paragraph 0012; “In one embodiment, the controller 112 is a microprocessor that is capable of performing actions based on input data according to preprogrammed instructions.” Paragraph 0021) (Soni: see the memory in the DSI 10 as described in paragraph 0032)
determining that electricity supplied to a service site is restricted; (Yee: “At step 605, the electric energy metering system determines whether a customer is eligible for electrical power disconnection under a primary criteria. This could occur, for example, if the customer fails to pay for electrical power. If the customer is not eligible for power disconnection under the primary criteria, the process ends.” Paragraph 0051; “Some regulatory agencies governing the utility industry or government entities such as state or local governments have rules governing when electrical power may be disconnected. As an example, power disconnection may be forbidden when the average daily temperature or the nighttime temperature is below a certain level and/or power disconnection may be forbidden at certain times of year (e.g., during the winter months). Other factors such as medical needs or income level of the customer may also be considered when determining the rules for disconnecting electrical power from a customer. The electrical energy metering system 100 of FIG. 1 is operable to test these criteria before electrical power is disconnected. For example, the controller 112 can use temperature information from the temperature sensor 114 to estimate the outside temperature, can also track the time of day and date, or determine whether it is day or night by using the photo sensor 116.” Paragraph 0048)
determining a threshold value, wherein determining the threshold value comprises:
obtaining an ambient temperature at the service site; and (Yee: see the temperature sensor 114 as illustrated in figure 1; “It should be noted that the temperature measured by the temperature sensor 114 is a function of the outside temperature and power flowing through the power meter 102. However, the controller 112 can estimate the amount of heat produced by the power flowing through the power meter 102 and use this to correct the temperature from the temperature sensor 114 to estimate the outside temperature. Alternatively, the power meter 102 may contain two temperature sensors, one internal temperature sensor for measuring the heat within the device and the other one, located on or near the outside of the power meter 102, for measuring the outside temperature.” Paragraph 0049)
basing the threshold value at least in part on the ambient temperature; (Yee: “If the customer is eligible for power disconnection under the primary criteria, at step 607 the electric energy metering system 100 determines if a secondary criteria for disconnecting the electrical power to the customer premises has been met. The secondary criteria could be based on rules from a regulatory agency, state or local law or by the policy of the electric utility. The secondary criteria could be based on, for example, the date, the time of day, the outdoor temperature, whether it was day or night, the medical needs of the customer, the income level of the customer or the customers past record of payment.” Paragraph 0051) (Soni: “Another advantage of DSL is that it allows the utility to reach an agreement with a customer over the level of service. If the customer is a delinquent bill payer, the utility can negotiate a limited level of continued service with the customer until the delinquency is cleared up. Similarly, during high peak demand periods, the utility and customer can have an agreement as to the level of service during identified peak periods whereby the customer agrees to limit his electricity usage for a set interval (e.g., 4 P.M.-10 P.M., if the temperature exceeds 100.degree. F. or the heat index exceeds 105.degree. F.). The utility can then issue commands to DSI 10 to trip if, for example, a 40 amp long-time over current limit is exceeded, or if a 50 amp instantaneous over current limit is exceeded. In either event, if the customers exceeds their agreed to level of use (whether intentionally or not), the utility can automatically shut-off service through a command from master station 20 to DSI 10 for a fixed period of time (e.g., 1 hr), and then automatically restore the service with a second command.” Paragraph 0035)
determining if a consumption level at the service site exceeds the threshold value; and(Soni: “Similarly, during high peak demand periods, the utility and customer can have an agreement as to the level of service during identified peak periods whereby the customer agrees to limit his electricity usage for a set interval (e.g., 4 P.M.-10 P.M., if the temperature exceeds 100.degree. F. or the heat index exceeds 105.degree. F.). The utility can then issue commands to DSI 10 to trip if, for example, a 40 amp long-time over current limit is exceeded, or if a 50 amp instantaneous over current limit is exceeded.” Paragraph 0035) (Yee: “If, at step 409, the power meter temperature is determined not to exceed the shut off threshold (i.e., the power meter temperature is somewhere between the alarm and shut off thresholds), the controller at step 419 determines a maximum instantaneous power value associated with the power meter 102. In one embodiment, the controller 112 monitors the instantaneous power based on information reported from the power measurement sensor 108 when the temperature is above the alarm threshold.” Paragraph 0045)
based on the consumption level exceeding the threshold value, and based on the electricity supplied to the service site being restricted, turning off electricity at the service site. (Yee: “If both the primary and secondary criteria have been met, then at step 609, the power to the customer premises is disconnected.” Paragraph 0051) (Soni: “Similarly, during high peak demand periods, the utility and customer can have an agreement as to the level of service during identified peak periods whereby the customer agrees to limit his electricity usage for a set interval (e.g., 4 P.M.-10 P.M., if the temperature exceeds 100.degree. F. or the heat index exceeds 105.degree. F.). The utility can then issue commands to DSI 10 to trip if, for example, a 40 amp long-time over current limit is exceeded, or if a 50 amp instantaneous over current limit is exceeded. In either event, if the customers exceeds their agreed to level of use (whether intentionally or not), the utility can automatically shut-off service through a command from master station 20 to DSI 10 for a fixed period of time (e.g., 1 hr), and then automatically restore the service with a second command.” Paragraph 0035)
Soni and Yee are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Claims 4-5, 12-13, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2002/0105435 (Yee) (cited by Applicant) in view of
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2006/0190140 (Soni) and further in view of
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0123998 (King).
Claim 4:
Yee and Soni do not explicitly describe waiting for a period of time or reconnecting as described below. However, King teaches the waiting for a period of time and reconnecting as described below.
The cited prior art describes the method of claim 1, additionally comprising:
waiting for a period of time; (King: “carrying out time delays” paragraph 0057)
reconnecting electricity to the service site; (King: “sending actuation signals to the service disconnect switch 116 to disconnect and/or reconnect the power lines 104 from or to the electrical load 106” paragraph 0057)
measuring a second consumption level; (King: “calculating and determining values (e.g., power) based upon the sensed values” paragraph 0057)
determining if the second consumption level exceeds the threshold value; and (King: “comparing the sensed or determined values to the one or more threshold values in memory 110” paragraph 0057)
if the second consumption level exceeds the threshold value, then turning off electricity at the service site. (King: “sending actuation signals to the service disconnect switch 116 to disconnect and/or reconnect the power lines 104 from or to the electrical load 106” paragraph 0057; “In other embodiments, the one or more thresholds can be one or more voltage thresholds, and when the measured voltage delivered by the power lines 104 and sensed by the sensor 116 falls outside of the conditions established by the one or more voltage thresholds stored in the memory 110, the automated disconnection is initiated.” Paragraph 0048)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Yee, namely, an electric power meter with a temperature sensor and a controller, with the known techniques of Soni, namely, an electrical meter with a smart disconnect switch, and the known techniques of King, namely, an electrical meter with power disconnection, would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system. Accordingly, applying the teachings of Yee to control power using various inputs with the teachings of Soni to control power using various inputs and the teachings of King to control power connection and disconnection using various inputs and parameters would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved power meter (i.e., the combination of the references provides for a power meter to disconnect and connect service based on various inputs and parameters based on the teachings of a power meter with disconnect based on various inputs in Yee and the teachings of a power meter with disconnect based on various inputs in Soni and the teachings of a power meter with disconnect and connect based on various inputs and parameters in King).
Claim 5:
Yee and Soni do not explicitly describe waiting for a period of time or reconnecting as described below. However, King teaches the waiting for a period of time and reconnecting as described below.
The cited prior art describes the method of claim 1, additionally comprising:
waiting for a period of time; (King: “carrying out time delays” paragraph 0057)
determining an update of the ambient temperature; (Yee: see the temperature sensor 114 as illustrated in figure 1; “It should be noted that the temperature measured by the temperature sensor 114 is a function of the outside temperature and power flowing through the power meter 102. However, the controller 112 can estimate the amount of heat produced by the power flowing through the power meter 102 and use this to correct the temperature from the temperature sensor 114 to estimate the outside temperature. Alternatively, the power meter 102 may contain two temperature sensors, one internal temperature sensor for measuring the heat within the device and the other one, located on or near the outside of the power meter 102, for measuring the outside temperature.” Paragraph 0049)
determining a second threshold value based at least in part on the update of the ambient temperature; (Yee: “If the customer is eligible for power disconnection under the primary criteria, at step 607 the electric energy metering system 100 determines if a secondary criteria for disconnecting the electrical power to the customer premises has been met. The secondary criteria could be based on rules from a regulatory agency, state or local law or by the policy of the electric utility. The secondary criteria could be based on, for example, the date, the time of day, the outdoor temperature, whether it was day or night, the medical needs of the customer, the income level of the customer or the customers past record of payment.” Paragraph 0051) (Soni: “Another advantage of DSL is that it allows the utility to reach an agreement with a customer over the level of service. If the customer is a delinquent bill payer, the utility can negotiate a limited level of continued service with the customer until the delinquency is cleared up. Similarly, during high peak demand periods, the utility and customer can have an agreement as to the level of service during identified peak periods whereby the customer agrees to limit his electricity usage for a set interval (e.g., 4 P.M.-10 P.M., if the temperature exceeds 100.degree. F. or the heat index exceeds 105.degree. F.). The utility can then issue commands to DSI 10 to trip if, for example, a 40 amp long-time over current limit is exceeded, or if a 50 amp instantaneous over current limit is exceeded. In either event, if the customers exceeds their agreed to level of use (whether intentionally or not), the utility can automatically shut-off service through a command from master station 20 to DSI 10 for a fixed period of time (e.g., 1 hr), and then automatically restore the service with a second command.” Paragraph 0035)
reconnecting electricity to the service site; (King: “sending actuation signals to the service disconnect switch 116 to disconnect and/or reconnect the power lines 104 from or to the electrical load 106” paragraph 0057)
determining a second consumption level; (King: “calculating and determining values (e.g., power) based upon the sensed values” paragraph 0057)
determining if the second consumption level exceeds the second threshold value; and (King: “comparing the sensed or determined values to the one or more threshold values in memory 110” paragraph 0057)
if the second consumption level exceeds the second threshold value, then turning off electricity at the service site. King: “sending actuation signals to the service disconnect switch 116 to disconnect and/or reconnect the power lines 104 from or to the electrical load 106” paragraph 0057; “In other embodiments, the one or more thresholds can be one or more voltage thresholds, and when the measured voltage delivered by the power lines 104 and sensed by the sensor 116 falls outside of the conditions established by the one or more voltage thresholds stored in the memory 110, the automated disconnection is initiated.” Paragraph 0048)
Soni, Yee, and King are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 4.
Claim 12:
Claim 12 is substantially similar to claim 4 and is rejected for the same reasons and rational as claim 4.
12. The network device as recited in claim 8, wherein the actions additionally comprise:
waiting for a period of time;
reconnecting electricity to the service site; measuring a second consumption level;
determining if the second consumption level exceeds the threshold value; and
based on the second consumption level exceeding the threshold value, turning off electricity at the service site.
Claim 13:
Claim 13 is substantially similar to claim 5 and is rejected for the same reasons and rational as claim 5.
13. The network device as recited in claim 8, wherein the actions additionally comprise:
waiting for a period of time;
determining an update of the ambient temperature;
determining a second threshold value based at least in part on the update of the ambient temperature;
reconnecting electricity to the service site;
determining a second consumption level;
determining if the second consumption level exceeds the second threshold value; and
if the second consumption level exceeds the second threshold value, then turning off electricity at the service site.
Claim 18:
Claim 14 is substantially similar to claim 4 and is rejected for the same reasons and rational as claim 4.
18. One or more computer-readable media as recited in claim 16, additionally comprising:
waiting for a period of time;
reconnecting electricity to the service site;
measuring a second consumption level;
determining if the second consumption level exceeds the threshold value;
based on the second consumption level exceeding the threshold value, turning off electricity at the service site.
Claim 19:
Claim 19 is substantially similar to claim 5 and is rejected for the same reasons and rational as claim 5.
19. One or more computer-readable media as recited in claim 16, additionally comprising:
waiting for a period of time;
determining an update of the ambient temperature;
determining a second threshold value based at least in part on the update of the ambient temperature;
reconnecting electricity to the service site;
determining a second consumption level;
determining if the second consumption level exceeds the second threshold value; and
if the second consumption level exceeds the second threshold value, then turning off electricity at the service site.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0145544 describes a selective disconnection of electrical service to end customers.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0089960 describes disaggregating electrical loads.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2007/0299562 describes temperature based load management.
/Christopher E. Everett/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2117