CTNF 18/206,990 CTNF 93490 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/07/2023 has been considered by the examiner. Specification 07-29 AIA The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the chemical structure formulae (see for example pages 20-21, 26, 55, and 104) and synthesis drawings (see for examples page 95) are of poor resolution . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim s 17 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities: in claims 17 and 20 the chemical structure formulae are of poor resolution . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-5, 8, 10-11, 14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1) and 102(a)(2 ) as being anticipated by Lee et al. WO-2017111439-A1 (hereinafter "Lee-WO" and see English language machine translation referred to herein as "Lee-MT") . Regarding claims 1-5, 8, 10-11, 14, and 17 , Lee discloses an organic electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer, a light emitting layer, an electron transport layer, and a cathode (Lee-MT, page 21 of 47, lines 18-20) comprising a compound of Formula 1 in a hole injection / transport layer (Lee-MT, page 17 of 47, lines 35-36) for use in full color organic light emitting panel (Lee-MT, page 17 of 47, lines 39-41). Lee discloses examples of the compound of Formula 1 including compound J-60 PNG media_image1.png 132 192 media_image1.png Greyscale (Lee-WO, page 34), which is a boron-based compound represented by Formula 1 wherein: X is O; ring CY 1 is C 20 polycyclic group in which five cyclic groups are condensed with each other; ring Ar 2 and Ar 3 are each a C 6 carbocyclic group (a benzene group); L 1 is a C 6 carbocyclic group (a benzene group) that is unsubstituted and L 2 and L 3 are each a single bond; a1 to a3 are each 1; R 1 is in each case a C 1 alkyl group (a methyl group) and R 2 and R 3 are each hydrogen; b1 is 4 and b2 and b3 are each 5; R 10a is not required to be present; and Q 1 to Q 3 are not required to be present . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-22-aia AIA Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. WO-2017111439-A1 (hereinafter "Lee-WO" and see English language machine translation referred to herein as "Lee-MT") as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of US-20050116291-A1 ("Koo") and Yoon et al. US-20190305227-A1 (hereinafter "Yoon") . Regarding claim 9 , Lee discloses the organic electroluminescent device as described above with respect to claim 8 . Lee does not specifically disclose wherein the organic electroluminescent device further comprises: a thin-film transistor electrically connected to the light-emitting device; and a color filter, a color conversion layer, a touch screen layer, a polarizing layer, or any combination thereof. Koo teaches provides an apparatus for use in a display device in which gradation is displayed easily by optimizing heat treatment conditions of thin film transistors (¶ [0011]). Koo teaches an organic electroluminescence display device comprising a thin film transistor comprising an active layer formed on an insulating substrate and equipped with source regions and drain regions, and a protection film formed on a surface of an insulating substrate having the thin film transistor and equipped with a via hole for exposing a part of the source electrode or the drain electrode, wherein an organic emitting device is electrically coupled to the thin film transistor through the via hole (¶ [0013]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate thin film transistor comprising an active layer formed on an insulating substrate and equipped with source regions and drain regions, and a protection film formed on a surface of an insulating substrate having the thin film transistor and equipped with a via hole for exposing a part of the source electrode or the drain electrode, wherein an organic light emitting device of Lee is electrically coupled to the thin film transistor through the via hole, based on the teaching of Koo. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide an apparatus for use in a display device in which gradation is displayed easily by optimizing heat treatment conditions of thin film transistors, as taught by Koo. Yoon teaches an organic light emission display device including a color filter (¶ [0114]). Yoon teaches that adopting the color filter may allow the organic light emission display device to render a full color range (¶ [0114]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a color filter into the device of Lee in view of Koo, based on the teaching of Yoon. The motivation for doing so would have been to allow for the device to render a full color range, as taught by Yoon. The modified device of Lee in view of Koo and Yoon comprises a thin-film transistor electrically connected to the device and a color filter . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 6-7, 12-13, 15-16, and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art, exemplified by Lee et al. WO-2017111439-A1, teaches an organic electroluminescent device comprising a compound of Formula 1 in a hole injection / transport layer (Lee-MT, page 17 of 47, lines 35-36) and discloses examples of the compound of Formula 1 including compound J-60 PNG media_image1.png 132 192 media_image1.png Greyscale (Lee-WO, page 34), which is a boron-based compound represented by Formula 1. However, Lee does not teach wherein the device further comprises a capping layer outside the first and/or second electrode and the compound is in the capping layer. Further, Lee does not exemplify a compound as claimed wherein CY 1 is a naphthalene group, a phenanthrene group, an anthracene group, a triphenylene group, a pyrene group, a tetracene group, a chrysene group, or a pentacene group, wherein the compound satisfies at least one selected from condition 2A and 3A or at least one selected from condition 2B and 3B or Condition R, G, or B, or wherein the compound is represented by Formula 1-1 in which CY 2 and CY 3 are fused polycyclic groups instead of a benzene group as in the compound of Lee. Further, the prior art does not provide a reason to modify the device to further comprise a capping layer outside the first and/or second electrode where the compound is in the capping layer, or to modify the compound of Formula 1 of Lee such that CY 1 is a naphthalene group, a phenanthrene group, an anthracene group, a triphenylene group, a pyrene group, a tetracene group, a chrysene group, or a pentacene group and/or the compound is represented by Formula 1-1 to arrive at the claimed device and compound of claims 6-7, 12-13, 15-16, and 18-20 with a reasonable expectation of success . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure : Otsu et al. WO-2005062675-A1 teaches a compound of a formula 1 PNG media_image2.png 169 173 media_image2.png Greyscale (page 4) and teaches examples of the compound of formula 1 including compound 31 PNG media_image3.png 182 171 media_image3.png Greyscale (page 10) . Contact Information Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Elizabeth M. Dahlburg whose telephone number is 571-272-6424. The examiner can normally be reached Monday through Thursday, 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. ET, and alternate Fridays. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jennifer Boyd can be reached at 571-272-7783. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ELIZABETH M. DAHLBURG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786 Application/Control Number: 18/206,990 Page 2 Art Unit: 1786 Application/Control Number: 18/206,990 Page 3 Art Unit: 1786 Application/Control Number: 18/206,990 Page 4 Art Unit: 1786 Application/Control Number: 18/206,990 Page 5 Art Unit: 1786 Application/Control Number: 18/206,990 Page 6 Art Unit: 1786 Application/Control Number: 18/206,990 Page 7 Art Unit: 1786 Application/Control Number: 18/206,990 Page 8 Art Unit: 1786