DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-11 and 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van De Groenendaal et al. (US PG Pub No. 2018/0026904 A1, hereinafter Groenendaal) in view of Gray (US Pat No. 10,048,871).
Regarding claim 1, Groenendaal teaches a processor, comprising: one or more circuits to:
receive,
generate a binding policy, based at least in part, on the one
cause performance of a software workload using a selected subset of one or more processing resources of a
Groenendaal does not teach receive, via an interface, a selection of one non-uniform memory access (NUMA) binding option of a plurality of different NUMA binding options.
Gray teaches an interface to select a subset of one or more processors of a non-uniform memory access (NUMA) node to perform a software workload based, at least in part, on one or more user-specified parameters provided to the interface (col 2 line 35 to col 3 line 35, wherein a user-level tool (i.e. interface) is provided to allow users to assign new and/or pre-existing or executing processes to NUMA resources and can provide for achieving desirable NUMA affinity and the performance benefits). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include an interface for selecting NUMA resources to be assigned. One would be motivated by the desire to predefine sets of NUMA resources to be allocated as taught by Gray (Abstract).
Regarding claim 2, Gray teaches wherein the user plurality of different NUMA binding options indicate one or more criteria for binding a process of the software workload to one or more of the one or more processing resources (col 3 lines 11-61).
Regarding claim 3, Gray does not teach wherein said software workload is a machine learning workload.
It is old and known to perform machine learning workload using NUMA systems. For example, Radke teaches using NUMA processing nodes for performing machine learning tasks ([0015]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention that the software workload is a machine learning workload. One would be motivated by the desire to utilize Gray for performing common tasks including machine learning workloads.
Regarding claim 4, Gray teaches wherein said software workload comprises at least one process to be bound to one or more of the subset of one or more processing resources (col 3 lines 11-61).
Regarding claims 8-11, and 15-18, they are the system and medium claims of claims 1-4 above.
Claim(s) 5, 12, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van De Groenendaal et al. (US PG Pub No. 2018/0026904 A1, hereinafter Groenendaal) in view of Gray (US Pat No. 10,048,871), further in view of Zhao et al. (US Pat No. 10,325,343).
Regarding claim 5, Gray does not teach wherein the subset of one or more processing resources is selected based, at least in part, on nearness of one or more of the subset of one or more central processing units (CPUs) to a graphics processing unit (GPU).
Zhao teaches the use of interconnects between CPUs and GPUs in NUMA nodes (col 11 lines 47 to col 12 line 8). Zhao teaches that static hardware factors, i.e. topology, can impact performance GPU services provided by GPU server node, such as the types of GPUs implemented in the GPU server node, the manner in which the GPUs are connected to CPUs and other GPUs, the distance of the communication path between a GPU and a network adapter (col 11 lines 50-56). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention that the subset of processors is selected based, at least in part, on nearness of one or more of the subset of one or more processors to a GPU. One would be motivated by the desire to account for performance factors based on GPU distance as taught by Zhao.
Regarding claims 12 and 19, they are the system and medium claims of claim 5 above.
Claim(s) 6-7, 13-14, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van De Groenendaal et al. (US PG Pub No. 2018/0026904 A1, hereinafter Groenendaal) in view of Gray (US Pat No. 10,048,871) further in view of Ganguly et al. (US PG Pub No. 2022/0214825 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Gray does not teach wherein the subset of the one or more processing resources is selected based, at least in part, on a cache shared by one or more of the subset of the one or more processing resources.
Ganguly teaches defining multiple NUMA zones wherein each NUMA zone comprises of a socket, the processors within it, and the attached physical memory module, i.e. cache ([0006]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention that the subset of processors is selected based, at least in part, on a cache shared by one or more of the subset of one or more processors. One would be motivated by the desire to reduce the cost of access latency as taught by Ganguly.
Regarding claim 7, Gray does not teach wherein the subset of the one or more processing resources is selected based, at least in part, on a socket shared by one or more of the subset of the one or more processing resources.
Ganguly teaches defining multiple NUMA zones wherein each NUMA zone comprises of a socket, the processors within it, and the attached physical memory module ([0006]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention that the subset of processors is selected based, at least in part, on a cache shared by one or more of the subset of one or more processors. One would be motivated by the desire to reduce the cost of access latency as taught by Ganguly.
Regarding claims 13-14 and 20, they are the system and medium claims of claims 6-7 above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Eric C Wai/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2195