Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by International Patent Publication No. WO 2021/201294 to Kageyama (“Kageyama” citing to U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0223620 as its English language equivalent). Kageyama discloses laminate materials for use as packaging materials in batteries/electrical storage devices. Kageyama at Abstract. Comparative Example 2 of Kageyama includes an aluminum foil barrier layer with a nylon base layer laminated to one side of the aluminum foil. On the other side of the aluminum foil a dual-film heat sealing layer is provided, with a first film of maleic anhydride modified polypropylene and an innermost layer of random polypropylene. Id. at paragraph [0140]. Polypropylene is a polyolefin. Id. at paragraph [0104]. The innermost heat sealing layer surface of the laminate of Kageyama’s Comparative Example 2 has a Martens hardness of 24.4 N/mm2 as obtained with a Vickers indenter. Id. at Table 1 and paragraph [0144]. Martens hardness is a universal hardness, the value of which can be accurately obtained with either a Vickers indenter or a Berkovitch indenter. Accordingly, the disclosure in Kageyama that its Comparative Example 2 has a Martens hardness of 24.4 N/mm2 as measured with a Vickers indenter is found to establish that the Comparative Example 2 would inherently have a Martens hardness of 24.4N/mm2 when measured with a Berkovitch indenter. See, e.g., U.S. Patent No. 9,122,183 at col 7, line 62 to col. 8, line 3 and U.S. Patent No. 9,152,109 at paragraph [0120]..
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kageyama. Kageyama is applied as described above. First addressing claims 4 and 5, like comparative Example 2 of Kageyama, its inventive samples include a metal foil barrier layer (3) with a base layer (1) corresponding to the recited substrate layer formed on its outer surface and polyolefin-based heat-sealable layer (4) corresponding to the recited heat-fusible resin layer on its inner surface of the metal foil. The inner surface preferable has a Martens hardness of 25 N/mm2 or higher, a range sharing an endpoint of the recited range which thereby renders the recited range obvious. Id. at paragraphs [0043 and [0159]. These laminate material are used to form the outer packaging for a battery/electrical storage device by deep-drawing the laminate to mold the laminate to a shape for receiving the battery. Id. at paragraph [0136].
Further regarding claim 3, Kageyama discloses including a known slipping agent on the surface of the heat sealing layer in order to improve moldability, with known amide-based slipping agents being preferred. Id. at paragraphs [0110]-[0112]. Kageyama discloses that fatty-acid based amide is a known amide-based slipping agent useful in its invention, and thus its choice for use on the heat sealing layer is considered to be nothing more than the obvious use of a known material for its intended purpose. Id. at paragraph [0066]. Kageyama does not disclose the amount of slipping agent to include in a weight-to-weight basis, instead disclosing a weight-to-surface area amount. To the extent the amount disclosed in Kageyama does not inherently correspond to the recited weight-to-weight amount, the Office finds that arriving at the recited amount is nothing more than the product of routine experimentation to achieve a desired moldability of the laminate.
Similarly, regarding claim 2, although Kageyama does not disclose a coefficient of dynamic friction of its heat sealing layer, it does disclose incorporating a slipping agent in this layer to reduce friction and improve moldability. Thus, the Office finds that to the extent the coefficient of dynamic friction of its heat sealing layer doesn’t inherently fall within the recited range, the range amounts to nothing more than the product of routine experimentation to arrive at a material having a desired moldability.
/WYATT P MCCONNELL/Examiner, Art Unit 1727