DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-8 are pending as amended on 6 April 2026.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims and the remarks/arguments have been entered and fully considered.
Response to Amendment and Arguments
Applicant’s amendment overcomes the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph of claim 2. The rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment overcomes the rejection of claims 1 and 5-8 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) over US2022/0059909A1(Lee), the rejection of claim 2 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Lee in view of US2015/0372277A1 (Honda), and the rejection of claims 3 and 4 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Lee in view of US2020/0168872A1(Fu). The rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments in light of the amendment have been fully considered but are moot as they do not apply to the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US2015/0056491A1(Zhao).
Regarding claim 1, Zhao teaches a separator for a lithium battery ([0044]) comprises a porous substrate; and an organic/inorganic composite porous coating coated on at least one surface of the porous substrate; the organic/inorganic composite porous coating comprises inorganic particles and organic particles with at least two swelling degrees ([0007]), wherein the organic/inorganic composite porous coating may be an island-planar shape, the island-planar shape comprises island regions and planar regions, taking an average swelling degree as a reference, the organic particles with the swelling degree not less than the average swelling degree are mainly distributed on a surface of the island regions, thus close to 100wt.% of the island, which meets the claimed discrete second regions; and the inorganic particles and the organic particles with the swelling degree less than the average swelling degree are mainly distributed inside the island regions and on the planar regions ([0008] and Fig. 1), which meets the first region; and the coating has one thickness thus anticipates same coating thickness of different region ([0058]).
Regarding claim 2, Zhao teaches the organic particles include polyvinylidene fluoride ([0022]).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Zhao teaches exemplified the inorganic particles in an amount of 28 g mixed with 2.66 g of organic particles of less swelling and 0.06 parts of adhesive ([0057]), thus about 91% of inorganic particles and 8.6% of particles in the planar region, respectively, estimated by the examiner, which meets the claimed amount of inorganic particles and first polymer, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao in view of US Patent 5989743 (Yamashita).
The teachings of Zhao are set forth above.
Zhao further teaches forming a secondary battery by winding the separator, a positive electrode and a negative electrode together ([0055]), which meets battery/module/pack/apparatus.
Zhao teaches that the existence of the island regions provides spaces for expansion of the electrochemical device so as to excellently solve the deformation problem of the battery ([0015] and [0048]).
Zhao does not expressly discloses that the island region is provided at a corner of an innermost circle of the winding assembly.
Yamashita teaches in a wound battery, the innermost portion of separator sustains a largest stress as compared to other portions of the wound battery dues to deformation (col. 8, line 20-25 and col. 16, line 40-45).
At the time the invention was made it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to place the island region of the separator at a corner of the an innermost cycle of the wound assembly to solve the deformation problem since the innermost portion of separator of a wound battery sustains a largest stress as compared to other portions of the wound battery dues to deformation as evidenced by Yamashita (col. 8, line 20-25 and col. 16, line 40-45).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AIQUN LI/Ph.D., Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766