DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 improperly recite the Markush group in the form of “selected from A, B and C”, which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear which members of the group are part of the claimed invention. A proper Markush groups may be recited as "...selected from the group consisting of A, B and C" or "...selected from A, B or C." See MPEP § 2173.05(h).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US2022/0059909A1(Lee).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches a separator comprises a porous substrate layer ([0079] and [0092]), a coating layer in a first region of the substrate layer and a polymer adhesive layer in a second region of the substate layer ([0090], [0091], [0096] and Fig. 7A), wherein the coating layer in the first region may include a combination of a ceramic and a binder such as a fluoropolymer material ([0090] and [0092]), and the thickness of the coating layer in the first region is equal to the thickness of the adhesive layer in the second region (Fig. 7A and [0097]).
Lee further teaches that the second region contains only the adhesive layer (Fig 7A and [0097]), thus 100% of the adhesive polymer, which meets the claimed content of the second polymer.
Regarding claims 5-8, Lee teaches an electronic device comprises a battery pack ([0042] and Fig. 1), wherein the battery pack comprises a secondary battery cell, which meets a battery module, wherein the secondary battery has a winding-type electrode assembly comprising the separator([0009]-[0010], Fig. 4 and Fig. 7B) , and wherein the adhesive layer region of the separator is located at the inner circle of the winding structure (Fig. 7B, 745).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of US2015/0372277A1 (Honda).
The teachings of Lee are set forth above.
Lee further teaches the adhesive layer comprises a polymer that has an adhesive force when exposed to heat or pressure ([0096]).
Lee does not teach the instantly claimed polymer.
Honda teaches that polyvinylidene fluoride can be coated to a separator to ensure sufficient mechanical properties of an adhesive layer, even after being subjected to pressure bonding or hot pressing ([0058]).
At the time the invention was made it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the polyvinylidene fluoride of Honda in the adhesive layer of Lee. The rationale to do so would have been the motivation provided by the teachings of Honda that to do so would predictably ensure sufficient mechanical properties of an adhesive layer when exposed to pressure and hot pressing ([0058]), which is desirable in Lee ([0096]).
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of US2020/0168872A1(Fu), which is listed in Applicant’s information disclosure statement.
The teachings of Lee are set forth above.
While teaching the coating layer in the first region may include a combination of a ceramic and a polymer binder material ([0090] and [0092]), Lee does not teach the instantly claimed weight content of the ceramic particle, neither that of the polymer.
Fu teaches a separator coating layer over a porous substrate comprises an inorganic alumina and a binder polyacrylonitrile in a ratio of 91:9 by mass ([0007], [0046] and [0082]), i.e., 91% of ceramic particles and 10% polymer binder, which meets the claimed weight content of the ceramic particle and the polymer, respectively.
Fu teaches that such coating provides high thermal stability and a strong binding effect, binding the inorganic particles together, or binding the separator and the electrodes together ([0044] and [0046]).
At the time the invention was made it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the relative content of ceramic particles and polymer binder of Fu, in the coating layer of Lee. The rationale to do so would have been the motivation provided by the teachings of Fu that to do so would predictably provide high thermal stability and a strong binding effect ([0044] and [0046]).
Conclusion
/AIQUN LI/ Ph.D., Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766