DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-2, 11, 14-15, 21-35 are currently pending and have been examined in this application. Claim 3-10, 12-13, 16-20 are Canceled. Claim 21-35 are New.
This action is made FINAL in response to the “amendment” and “remarks” filed 12/26/2025.
Claim Objections
A series of singular dependent claims is permissible in which a dependent claim refers to a preceding claim which, in turn, refers to another preceding claim.
A claim which depends from a dependent claim should not be separated by any claim which does not also depend from said dependent claim. It should be kept in mind that a dependent claim may refer to any preceding independent claim. In general, applicant's sequence will not be changed. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Claim 11 now depends upon non-preceding Claim 25 which is improper.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 2/12/2024 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(3)(i) because it does not include a concise explanation of the relevance, as it is presently understood by the individual designated in 37 CFR 1.56(c) most knowledgeable about the content of the information, of each reference listed that is not in the English language. No translation or explanation of relevance has been provided for two references therein. It has been placed in the application file, but the lined through portions of the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 14-15, 21-24, 31-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cotton (US20160327535).
Claim 1:
Cotton explicitly teaches:
A combine harvester comprising: a plurality of working units configured to perform one or more harvested material processing operations, wherein the plurality of working units comprise at least one separator and at least one cleaning device, wherein one or both of the at least one separator or the at least one cleaning device comprises at least one grain loss sensor; and
(Cotton) – “In the example shown in FIG. 1, mobile machine 102 illustratively (and by way of example only) includes one or more processors 116, control system 118, controlled systems 120 and communication component 122. It can also include grain loss monitor system 124, data store 126, grain loss sensors 128, and one or more other sensors 130. Further it can include user interface component 132, user interface device 134, and it can include a wide variety of other items 136. Data store 126 can store grain loss target ranges 138, historic loss data 140, and a wide variety of other data 142. Grain loss sensors 128 can illustratively include one or more shoe loss sensors 146, one or more separator loss sensors 148, and it can include other grain loss sensors 150.” (Para 0016)
“FIG. 2 shows one example of a pictorial illustration in which mobile machine 102 is a combine. FIG. 2 also shows a number of the items illustrated in FIG. 1, deployed on the combine. It can be seen in FIG. 2 that combine 102 illustratively includes an operator compartment 190, a header 192, a cutter generally indicated at 194, a thresher generally indicated at 195, a set of ground engaging wheels 198, a separator 200, a spreader 202, an elevator 204, a clean grain tank indicated by arrow 206 and a spout 208. In operation, combine 102 illustratively travels in the direction generally indicated by arrow 210. Header 192 engages the product being harvested and gathers it toward cutter 194. After it is cut, it is moved toward thresher 195 where it is threshed, and then moved to separator 196. The grain falls to cleaning shoe 200 and the clean grain is moved by elevator 204 into clean grain tank 206. Tailings can be passed back to thresher 195 where they are re-threshed. Material other than grain (such as stalks, husks, etc.) can be chopped and removed from machine 102 by spreader 202.” (Para 0026)
“FIG. 2 also shows that, in one example, combine 102 includes a ground speed sensor 212, one or more cleaning shoe loss sensors 146, one or more separator loss sensors 148, a clean grain camera 220 and a tailings camera 144.” (Para 0027)
a driver assistance system comprising a grain loss sensor setting assistant configured to:
determine and adjust a grain loss sensor sensitivity of the at least one grain loss sensor of the one or both of the at least one separator or the at least one cleaning device; and
(Cotton) – “Grain loss monitor system 124 illustratively includes loss level setting component 152, recent loss display generator 154, individual loss sensor display generator 156, loss aggregator 158, current loss display generator 160, sensitivity setting 162, balance setting component 164, settings change display generator 166, and it can include other items 168.” (Para 0017)
“In the example shown in FIG. 1, mobile machine 102 illustratively (and by way of example only) includes one or more processors 116, control system 118, controlled systems 120 and communication component 122. It can also include grain loss monitor system 124, data store 126, grain loss sensors 128, and one or more other sensors 130. Further it can include user interface component 132, user interface device 134, and it can include a wide variety of other items 136. Data store 126 can store grain loss target ranges 138, historic loss data 140, and a wide variety of other data 142. Grain loss sensors 128 can illustratively include one or more shoe loss sensors 146, one or more separator loss sensors 148, and it can include other grain loss sensors 150.” (Para 0016)
determine, by the driver assistance system in response to a dialog with an operator in one or more dialog steps in which the operator provides input, the grain loss sensor sensitivity to be set for the at least one grain loss sensor of the one or both of the at least one separator or the at least one cleaning device.
(Cotton) – “Grain loss monitor system 124 illustratively includes loss level setting component 152, recent loss display generator 154, individual loss sensor display generator 156, loss aggregator 158, current loss display generator 160, sensitivity setting 162, balance setting component 164, settings change display generator 166, and it can include other items 168.” (Para 0017)
“Sensitivity setting component 162 can be actuated by user 106 to change the sensitivity of the displayed grain loss (or its resolution). Balance setting component 164 can be actuated to change how loss aggregator 158 treats the various sensor signals in generating the aggregate loss metric. For instance, it can change an affect that the sensor signal from each of the different grain loss sensors 128 has on the aggregate, or overall grain loss metric.” (Para 0021)
“The user input can also be provided to sensitivity setting component 162. It can be used to reset the sensitivity of the display (or the resolution of the display). Detecting a sensitivity adjustment input is indicated by block 334.” (Para 0048)
“The user input mechanisms (such as mechanisms 344 in FIG. 4E-1) may also include a sensitivity user input mechanism 350. When the user actuates this, a display can be generated in which the user can modify the sensitivity (or resolution) of the user interface display screen. This illustratively causes sensitivity setting component 162 to modify the display to adjust the vertical loss range displayed to include more or less of the overall sensor readings. This provides a higher or lower resolution display so that the user can display more fine-grained or more course-grained loss results. Adjusting the sensitivity is indicated by block 352 in the flow diagram of FIG. 3.” (Para 0055)
Examiner Note: Per BRI, a dialog/dialog steps may correspond with any user interaction with an interface. This understanding will be applied throughout the claims. The adjusting of sensitivity by input from the user corresponds with determine, by the driver assistance system in response to a dialog with an operator in one or more dialog steps in which the operator provides input because the component changes the sensitivity based on user input.
Claim 14:
Cotton explicitly teaches:
A method for determining and adjusting a grain loss sensor sensitivity of at least one grain loss sensor of a combine harvester, the method comprising: operating the combine harvester, wherein the combine harvester comprises at least one separator and at least one cleaning device for performing at least one harvested material processing operation, wherein one or both of the at least one separator or the at least one cleaning device comprises at least one grain loss sensor, wherein the combine harvester comprises a driver assistance system;
(Cotton) – “In the example shown in FIG. 1, mobile machine 102 illustratively (and by way of example only) includes one or more processors 116, control system 118, controlled systems 120 and communication component 122. It can also include grain loss monitor system 124, data store 126, grain loss sensors 128, and one or more other sensors 130. Further it can include user interface component 132, user interface device 134, and it can include a wide variety of other items 136. Data store 126 can store grain loss target ranges 138, historic loss data 140, and a wide variety of other data 142. Grain loss sensors 128 can illustratively include one or more shoe loss sensors 146, one or more separator loss sensors 148, and it can include other grain loss sensors 150.” (Para 0016)
“FIG. 2 shows one example of a pictorial illustration in which mobile machine 102 is a combine. FIG. 2 also shows a number of the items illustrated in FIG. 1, deployed on the combine. It can be seen in FIG. 2 that combine 102 illustratively includes an operator compartment 190, a header 192, a cutter generally indicated at 194, a thresher generally indicated at 195, a set of ground engaging wheels 198, a separator 200, a spreader 202, an elevator 204, a clean grain tank indicated by arrow 206 and a spout 208. In operation, combine 102 illustratively travels in the direction generally indicated by arrow 210. Header 192 engages the product being harvested and gathers it toward cutter 194. After it is cut, it is moved toward thresher 195 where it is threshed, and then moved to separator 196. The grain falls to cleaning shoe 200 and the clean grain is moved by elevator 204 into clean grain tank 206. Tailings can be passed back to thresher 195 where they are re-threshed. Material other than grain (such as stalks, husks, etc.) can be chopped and removed from machine 102 by spreader 202.” (Para 0026)
“FIG. 2 also shows that, in one example, combine 102 includes a ground speed sensor 212, one or more cleaning shoe loss sensors 146, one or more separator loss sensors 148, a clean grain camera 220 and a tailings camera 144.” (Para 0027)
determining and adjusting, using a grain loss sensor setting assistant of the driver assistance system, a grain loss sensor sensitivity of the at least one grain loss sensor of the one or both of the at least one separator or the at least one cleaning device; and
(Cotton) – “Grain loss monitor system 124 illustratively includes loss level setting component 152, recent loss display generator 154, individual loss sensor display generator 156, loss aggregator 158, current loss display generator 160, sensitivity setting 162, balance setting component 164, settings change display generator 166, and it can include other items 168.” (Para 0017)
“In the example shown in FIG. 1, mobile machine 102 illustratively (and by way of example only) includes one or more processors 116, control system 118, controlled systems 120 and communication component 122. It can also include grain loss monitor system 124, data store 126, grain loss sensors 128, and one or more other sensors 130. Further it can include user interface component 132, user interface device 134, and it can include a wide variety of other items 136. Data store 126 can store grain loss target ranges 138, historic loss data 140, and a wide variety of other data 142. Grain loss sensors 128 can illustratively include one or more shoe loss sensors 146, one or more separator loss sensors 148, and it can include other grain loss sensors 150.” (Para 0016)
determining, by the driver assistance system in response to in a dialog with an operator in one or more dialog steps in which the operator provides input, the grain loss sensor sensitivity to be set for the at least one grain loss sensor of the one or both of the at least one separator or the at least one cleaning device.
(Cotton) – “Grain loss monitor system 124 illustratively includes loss level setting component 152, recent loss display generator 154, individual loss sensor display generator 156, loss aggregator 158, current loss display generator 160, sensitivity setting 162, balance setting component 164, settings change display generator 166, and it can include other items 168.” (Para 0017)
“Sensitivity setting component 162 can be actuated by user 106 to change the sensitivity of the displayed grain loss (or its resolution). Balance setting component 164 can be actuated to change how loss aggregator 158 treats the various sensor signals in generating the aggregate loss metric. For instance, it can change an affect that the sensor signal from each of the different grain loss sensors 128 has on the aggregate, or overall grain loss metric.” (Para 0021)
“The user input can also be provided to sensitivity setting component 162. It can be used to reset the sensitivity of the display (or the resolution of the display). Detecting a sensitivity adjustment input is indicated by block 334.” (Para 0048)
“The user input mechanisms (such as mechanisms 344 in FIG. 4E-1) may also include a sensitivity user input mechanism 350. When the user actuates this, a display can be generated in which the user can modify the sensitivity (or resolution) of the user interface display screen. This illustratively causes sensitivity setting component 162 to modify the display to adjust the vertical loss range displayed to include more or less of the overall sensor readings. This provides a higher or lower resolution display so that the user can display more fine-grained or more course-grained loss results. Adjusting the sensitivity is indicated by block 352 in the flow diagram of FIG. 3.” (Para 0055)
Examiner Note: Per BRI, a dialog/dialog steps may correspond with any user interaction with an interface. This understanding will be applied throughout the claims.
Claim 15:
Cotton, in combination with the respective secondary reference, teaches the respective limitations of Claim 14. Cotton further teaches:
wherein the grain loss sensor setting assistant determines the grain loss sensor sensitivity in the one or more dialog steps by accounting for one or both of retrievable or presettable data relating to one or both of the combine harvester or a harvested material processing operation.
(Cotton) – “Grain loss monitor system 124 illustratively includes loss level setting component 152, recent loss display generator 154, individual loss sensor display generator 156, loss aggregator 158, current loss display generator 160, sensitivity setting 162, balance setting component 164, settings change display generator 166, and it can include other items 168.” (Para 0017)
“Sensitivity setting component 162 can be actuated by user 106 to change the sensitivity of the displayed grain loss (or its resolution). Balance setting component 164 can be actuated to change how loss aggregator 158 treats the various sensor signals in generating the aggregate loss metric. For instance, it can change an affect that the sensor signal from each of the different grain loss sensors 128 has on the aggregate, or overall grain loss metric.” (Para 0021)
“The user input can also be provided to sensitivity setting component 162. It can be used to reset the sensitivity of the display (or the resolution of the display). Detecting a sensitivity adjustment input is indicated by block 334.” (Para 0048)
“The user input mechanisms (such as mechanisms 344 in FIG. 4E-1) may also include a sensitivity user input mechanism 350. When the user actuates this, a display can be generated in which the user can modify the sensitivity (or resolution) of the user interface display screen. This illustratively causes sensitivity setting component 162 to modify the display to adjust the vertical loss range displayed to include more or less of the overall sensor readings. This provides a higher or lower resolution display so that the user can display more fine-grained or more course-grained loss results. Adjusting the sensitivity is indicated by block 352 in the flow diagram of FIG. 3.” (Para 0055)
Examiner Note: per BRI, “retrievable or presettable data” may correspond with a wide variety of data sources including at least sensor data.
Claim 21:
Cotton, in combination with the respective secondary reference, teaches the respective limitations of Claim 1. Cotton further teaches:
wherein, predicate to the operator providing input, the driver assistance system is configured to determine whether the combine harvester is in a respective state in which to determine and set the grain loss sensor sensitivity; and responsive to the driver assistance system determining that the combine harvester is not in the respective state, the driver assistance system is configured to output a request to the operator to put the combine harvester in the respective state.
(Cotton) – “Grain loss monitor system 124 illustratively includes loss level setting component 152, recent loss display generator 154, individual loss sensor display generator 156, loss aggregator 158, current loss display generator 160, sensitivity setting 162, balance setting component 164, settings change display generator 166, and it can include other items 168.” (Para 0017)
“Control system 118 illustratively receives inputs from various sensors 128-130. Sensors 130 can sense a wide variety of variables and provide sensor signals to system 118. System 118 illustratively generates control signals that are provided to control the controlled systems 120. Controlled systems 120 can be electrical systems, mechanical systems, hydraulic systems, pneumatic systems, air-over-hydraulic systems, or other systems. These systems can perform harvesting functions and a wide variety of other functions.” (Para 0018)
“Grain loss sensors 128 can provide sensor signals not only to control system 118, but to grain loss monitor system 124. System 124 generates a grain loss display showing current, and recent, grain loss.” (Para 0019)
“Loss aggregator 158 can aggregate the signals from the various grain loss sensors 128 to obtain an aggregate loss metric value that indicates an aggregate grain loss. Recent loss display generator 154 and current loss display generator 160 generate a display showing a current grain loss level that is occurring in machine 102, as well as a recent history of grain loss that occurred in machine 102.” (Para 0020)
“Sensitivity setting component 162 can be actuated by user 106 to change the sensitivity of the displayed grain loss (or its resolution). Balance setting component 164 can be actuated to change how loss aggregator 158 treats the various sensor signals in generating the aggregate loss metric. For instance, it can change an affect that the sensor signal from each of the different grain loss sensors 128 has on the aggregate, or overall grain loss metric.” (Para 0021)
“Loss level setting component 152 illustratively generates a user experience that allows the user to set a current grain loss level as a desired grain loss level. It resets a target grain loss range 138 around the current grain loss level on a visual display.” (Para 0022)
“The target range can be a pre-determined, stored target range or it can be one set by the operator or user 106. As is described in greater detail below, loss level setting component 152 illustratively generates a user interface display, with user input mechanisms that allow user 106 to set the target range for the overall loss. Therefore, the instantaneous, current loss, and the recent history of the overall loss can be displayed relative to the target range. Displaying the instantaneous, current overall loss level relative to a stored loss target range is indicated by block 268. Displaying it relative to a loss target range that was set by the operator is indicated by block 270. The loss level can be displayed as a continuous display, such as a line or trace graph or a series of discrete readings displayed in close proximity relative to one another. This is indicated by block 272. The overall loss level can have color-coded portions indicating whether it is above, within, or below the target range. This is indicated by block 274. It can be displayed along with settings change indicators that identify, on the continuous display, when harvester settings were changed. This will allow the operator to see what affect the settings change has had on the overall loss level detected. Displaying the settings change indicator is indicated by block 276 in FIG. 3. The display can include other visual indicia or other indicia (such as audio outputs, haptic outputs, etc.). This is indicated by block 278.” (Para 0037)
“The user input can also be provided to sensitivity setting component 162. It can be used to reset the sensitivity of the display (or the resolution of the display). Detecting a sensitivity adjustment input is indicated by block 334.” (Para 0048)
“The user input mechanisms (such as mechanisms 344 in FIG. 4E-1) may also include a sensitivity user input mechanism 350. When the user actuates this, a display can be generated in which the user can modify the sensitivity (or resolution) of the user interface display screen. This illustratively causes sensitivity setting component 162 to modify the display to adjust the vertical loss range displayed to include more or less of the overall sensor readings. This provides a higher or lower resolution display so that the user can display more fine-grained or more course-grained loss results. Adjusting the sensitivity is indicated by block 352 in the flow diagram of FIG. 3.” (Para 0055)
Examiner Note: per BRI, “respective state” may correspond with a wide variety of states. As such, output a request to the operator to put the combine harvester in the respective state may correspond with the generation of user interfaces above.
Claim 22
Cotton, in combination with the respective secondary reference, teaches the respective limitations of Claim 21. Cotton further teaches:
wherein the respective state is one of harvested material processing operation or the harvested material processing operation by the combine harvester is not under stationary conditions.
(Cotton) – “Grain loss monitor system 124 illustratively includes loss level setting component 152, recent loss display generator 154, individual loss sensor display generator 156, loss aggregator 158, current loss display generator 160, sensitivity setting 162, balance setting component 164, settings change display generator 166, and it can include other items 168.” (Para 0017)
“Control system 118 illustratively receives inputs from various sensors 128-130. Sensors 130 can sense a wide variety of variables and provide sensor signals to system 118. System 118 illustratively generates control signals that are provided to control the controlled systems 120. Controlled systems 120 can be electrical systems, mechanical systems, hydraulic systems, pneumatic systems, air-over-hydraulic systems, or other systems. These systems can perform harvesting functions and a wide variety of other functions.” (Para 0018)
“Grain loss sensors 128 can provide sensor signals not only to control system 118, but to grain loss monitor system 124. System 124 generates a grain loss display showing current, and recent, grain loss.” (Para 0019)
“Loss aggregator 158 can aggregate the signals from the various grain loss sensors 128 to obtain an aggregate loss metric value that indicates an aggregate grain loss. Recent loss display generator 154 and current loss display generator 160 generate a display showing a current grain loss level that is occurring in machine 102, as well as a recent history of grain loss that occurred in machine 102.” (Para 0020)
“Sensitivity setting component 162 can be actuated by user 106 to change the sensitivity of the displayed grain loss (or its resolution). Balance setting component 164 can be actuated to change how loss aggregator 158 treats the various sensor signals in generating the aggregate loss metric. For instance, it can change an affect that the sensor signal from each of the different grain loss sensors 128 has on the aggregate, or overall grain loss metric.” (Para 0021)
“Loss level setting component 152 illustratively generates a user experience that allows the user to set a current grain loss level as a desired grain loss level. It resets a target grain loss range 138 around the current grain loss level on a visual display.” (Para 0022)
“The target range can be a pre-determined, stored target range or it can be one set by the operator or user 106. As is described in greater detail below, loss level setting component 152 illustratively generates a user interface display, with user input mechanisms that allow user 106 to set the target range for the overall loss. Therefore, the instantaneous, current loss, and the recent history of the overall loss can be displayed relative to the target range. Displaying the instantaneous, current overall loss level relative to a stored loss target range is indicated by block 268. Displaying it relative to a loss target range that was set by the operator is indicated by block 270. The loss level can be displayed as a continuous display, such as a line or trace graph or a series of discrete readings displayed in close proximity relative to one another. This is indicated by block 272. The overall loss level can have color-coded portions indicating whether it is above, within, or below the target range. This is indicated by block 274. It can be displayed along with settings change indicators that identify, on the continuous display, when harvester settings were changed. This will allow the operator to see what affect the settings change has had on the overall loss level detected. Displaying the settings change indicator is indicated by block 276 in FIG. 3. The display can include other visual indicia or other indicia (such as audio outputs, haptic outputs, etc.). This is indicated by block 278.” (Para 0037)
“The user input can also be provided to sensitivity setting component 162. It can be used to reset the sensitivity of the display (or the resolution of the display). Detecting a sensitivity adjustment input is indicated by block 334.” (Para 0048)
“The user input mechanisms (such as mechanisms 344 in FIG. 4E-1) may also include a sensitivity user input mechanism 350. When the user actuates this, a display can be generated in which the user can modify the sensitivity (or resolution) of the user interface display screen. This illustratively causes sensitivity setting component 162 to modify the display to adjust the vertical loss range displayed to include more or less of the overall sensor readings. This provides a higher or lower resolution display so that the user can display more fine-grained or more course-grained loss results. Adjusting the sensitivity is indicated by block 352 in the flow diagram of FIG. 3.” (Para 0055)
Examiner Note: The current grain loss display demonstrates that this operation is done during a harvesting operation, which corresponds with both a harvested material processing operation and not stationary.
Claim 23:
Cotton, in combination with the respective secondary reference, teaches the respective limitations of Claim 21. Cotton further teaches:
wherein, responsive to determining that the combine harvester is in the respective state or responsive to determining that the combine harvester is not in the respective state and that the operator has provided input that the combine harvester has been put into the respective state, the driver assistance system is configured to: receive input, from the operator, of a grain loss target to be achieved during a harvested material processing operation; a working width of an attachment mounted on the combine harvester; or a yield of the combine harvester.
(Cotton) – “Grain loss monitor system 124 illustratively includes loss level setting component 152, recent loss display generator 154, individual loss sensor display generator 156, loss aggregator 158, current loss display generator 160, sensitivity setting 162, balance setting component 164, settings change display generator 166, and it can include other items 168.” (Para 0017)
“Sensitivity setting component 162 can be actuated by user 106 to change the sensitivity of the displayed grain loss (or its resolution). Balance setting component 164 can be actuated to change how loss aggregator 158 treats the various sensor signals in generating the aggregate loss metric. For instance, it can change an affect that the sensor signal from each of the different grain loss sensors 128 has on the aggregate, or overall grain loss metric.” (Para 0021)
“The target range can be a pre-determined, stored target range or it can be one set by the operator or user 106. As is described in greater detail below, loss level setting component 152 illustratively generates a user interface display, with user input mechanisms that allow user 106 to set the target range for the overall loss. Therefore, the instantaneous, current loss, and the recent history of the overall loss can be displayed relative to the target range. Displaying the instantaneous, current overall loss level relative to a stored loss target range is indicated by block 268. Displaying it relative to a loss target range that was set by the operator is indicated by block 270. The loss level can be displayed as a continuous display, such as a line or trace graph or a series of discrete readings displayed in close proximity relative to one another. This is indicated by block 272. The overall loss level can have color-coded portions indicating whether it is above, within, or below the target range. This is indicated by block 274. It can be displayed along with settings change indicators that identify, on the continuous display, when harvester settings were changed. This will allow the operator to see what affect the settings change has had on the overall loss level detected. Displaying the settings change indicator is indicated by block 276 in FIG. 3. The display can include other visual indicia or other indicia (such as audio outputs, haptic outputs, etc.). This is indicated by block 278.” (Para 0037)
“The user input can also be provided to sensitivity setting component 162. It can be used to reset the sensitivity of the display (or the resolution of the display). Detecting a sensitivity adjustment input is indicated by block 334.” (Para 0048)
“The user input mechanisms (such as mechanisms 344 in FIG. 4E-1) may also include a sensitivity user input mechanism 350. When the user actuates this, a display can be generated in which the user can modify the sensitivity (or resolution) of the user interface display screen. This illustratively causes sensitivity setting component 162 to modify the display to adjust the vertical loss range displayed to include more or less of the overall sensor readings. This provides a higher or lower resolution display so that the user can display more fine-grained or more course-grained loss results. Adjusting the sensitivity is indicated by block 352 in the flow diagram of FIG. 3.” (Para 0055)
Claim 24:
Cotton, in combination with the respective secondary reference, teaches the respective limitations of Claim 23. Cotton further teaches:
wherein, responsive to the operator entering one or more of the grain loss target to be achieved during a harvested material processing operation, the working width of an attachment mounted on the combine harvester, or the yield of the combine harvester, the driver assistance system is configured to: receive, from the operator, one or both of dimensions of a grain loss pan or a placement position of the grain loss pan.
(Cotton) – “Settings change display generator 166 illustratively generates visual indicia that indicate when, on the grain loss display, settings were changed on mobile machine 102. For instance, where mobile machine 102 is a combine, the visual indicia indicating a settings change may indicate a point at which the concave clearance or threshing speed were changed, or where the cleaning fan speed, chaffer position, or sieve positions were changed, among other things.” (Para 0024)
“FIG. 4H shows yet another example of how grain loss can be displayed on a different type of display device by system 124. FIG. 4H shows one example of a user interface display 360 that can be generated on a larger display device, such as on a 10-inch screen, for instance. It can be seen in display 360 that a variety of different settings can be displayed, along with user input mechanisms for adjusting those settings. This is shown generally at 362. For instance, the settings are displayed for concave clearance, threshing speed, cleaning fan speed, chaffer position and sieve position. User input mechanisms are provided for adjusting all of those settings.” (Para 0058)
Claim 31: Rejected for the same reasons as Claim 21
Claim 32: Rejected for the same reasons as Claim 23
Claim 33: Rejected for the same reasons as Claim 24
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 11, 25-30, 34-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cotton (US20160327535) in view of Missotten (US20190223375).
Claim 2:
Cotton, in combination with the respective secondary reference, teaches the respective limitations of Claim 1. Cotton further teaches:
wherein the grain loss sensor setting assistant is configured to determine the grain loss sensor sensitivity in the one or more dialog steps by accounting for one or both of retrievable or presettable data relating to one or both of the combine harvester or a harvested material processing operation; and
(Cotton) – “Grain loss monitor system 124 illustratively includes loss level setting component 152, recent loss display generator 154, individual loss sensor display generator 156, loss aggregator 158, current loss display generator 160, sensitivity setting 162, balance setting component 164, settings change display generator 166, and it can include other items 168.” (Para 0017)
“Sensitivity setting component 162 can be actuated by user 106 to change the sensitivity of the displayed grain loss (or its resolution). Balance setting component 164 can be actuated to change how loss aggregator 158 treats the various sensor signals in generating the aggregate loss metric. For instance, it can change an affect that the sensor signal from each of the different grain loss sensors 128 has on the aggregate, or overall grain loss metric.” (Para 0021)
“The user input can also be provided to sensitivity setting component 162. It can be used to reset the sensitivity of the display (or the resolution of the display). Detecting a sensitivity adjustment input is indicated by block 334.” (Para 0048)
“The user input mechanisms (such as mechanisms 344 in FIG. 4E-1) may also include a sensitivity user input mechanism 350. When the user actuates this, a display can be generated in which the user can modify the sensitivity (or resolution) of the user interface display screen. This illustratively causes sensitivity setting component 162 to modify the display to adjust the vertical loss range displayed to include more or less of the overall sensor readings. This provides a higher or lower resolution display so that the user can display more fine-grained or more course-grained loss results. Adjusting the sensitivity is indicated by block 352 in the flow diagram of FIG. 3.” (Para 0055)
Examiner Note: per BRI, “retrievable or presettable data” may correspond with a wide variety of data sources including at least sensor data.
wherein, responsive to the grain loss sensor setting assistant determining one or both of the combine harvester is not in the harvested material processing operation or the harvested material processing operation by the combine harvester is not under stationary conditions, the grain loss sensor setting assistant is configured [to generate an instruction to the operator to control the combine harvester].
(Cotton) – “Grain loss monitor system 124 illustratively includes loss level setting component 152, recent loss display generator 154, individual loss sensor display generator 156, loss aggregator 158, current loss display generator 160, sensitivity setting 162, balance setting component 164, settings change display generator 166, and it can include other items 168.” (Para 0017)
“Sensitivity setting component 162 can be actuated by user 106 to change the sensitivity of the displayed grain loss (or its resolution). Balance setting component 164 can be actuated to change how loss aggregator 158 treats the various sensor signals in generating the aggregate loss metric. For instance, it can change an affect that the sensor signal from each of the different grain loss sensors 128 has on the aggregate, or overall grain loss metric.” (Para 0021)
“The target range can be a pre-determined, stored target range or it can be one set by the operator or user 106. As is described in greater detail below, loss level setting component 152 illustratively generates a user interface display, with user input mechanisms that allow user 106 to set the target range for the overall loss. Therefore, the instantaneous, current loss, and the recent history of the overall loss can be displayed relative to the target range. Displaying the instantaneous, current overall loss level relative to a stored loss target range is indicated by block 268. Displaying it relative to a loss target range that was set by the operator is indicated by block 270. The loss level can be displayed as a continuous display, such as a line or trace graph or a series of discrete readings displayed in close proximity relative to one another. This is indicated by block 272. The overall loss level can have color-coded portions indicating whether it is above, within, or below the target range. This is indicated by block 274. It can be displayed along with settings change indicators that identify, on the continuous display, when harvester settings were changed. This will allow the operator to see what affect the settings change has had on the overall loss level detected. Displaying the settings change indicator is indicated by block 276 in FIG. 3. The display can include other visual indicia or other indicia (such as audio outputs, haptic outputs, etc.). This is indicated by block 278.” (Para 0037)
“The user input can also be provided to sensitivity setting component 162. It can be used to reset the sensitivity of the display (or the resolution of the display). Detecting a sensitivity adjustment input is indicated by block 334.” (Para 0048)
“The user input mechanisms (such as mechanisms 344 in FIG. 4E-1) may also include a sensitivity user input mechanism 350. When the user actuates this, a display can be generated in which the user can modify the sensitivity (or resolution) of the user interface display screen. This illustratively causes sensitivity setting component 162 to modify the display to adjust the vertical loss range displayed to include more or less of the overall sensor readings. This provides a higher or lower resolution display so that the user can display more fine-grained or more course-grained loss results. Adjusting the sensitivity is indicated by block 352 in the flow diagram of FIG. 3.” (Para 0055)
“FIG. 2 shows one example of a pictorial illustration in which mobile machine 102 is a combine. FIG. 2 also shows a number of the items illustrated in FIG. 1, deployed on the combine. It can be seen in FIG. 2 that combine 102 illustratively includes an operator compartment 190, a header 192, a cutter generally indicated at 194, a thresher generally indicated at 195, a set of ground engaging wheels 198, a separator 200, a spreader 202, an elevator 204, a clean grain tank indicated by arrow 206 and a spout 208. In operation, combine 102 illustratively travels in the direction generally indicated by arrow 210. Header 192 engages the product being harvested and gathers it toward cutter 194. After it is cut, it is moved toward thresher 195 where it is threshed, and then moved to separator 196. The grain falls to cleaning shoe 200 and the clean grain is moved by elevator 204 into clean grain tank 206. Tailings can be passed back to thresher 195 where they are re-threshed. Material other than grain (such as stalks, husks, etc.) can be chopped and removed from machine 102 by spreader 202.” (Para 0026)
Examiner Note: Bracketed text not explicitly taught by primary reference, but is taught by non-primary reference later in the rejection.
Cotton does not explicitly teach:
generate an instruction to the operator to control the combine harvester
Missotten, in the same field of endeavor of combine control, teaches:
generate an instruction to the operator to control the combine harvester
(Missotten) – “Furthermore, the crop flow information that is displayed in the animation provides an automatically generated visual indication about conditions prevailing in the harvester. As will be discussed below, these visual indications of the performance of the harvester can, in at least some examples, provide information as a prompt for human interaction with the harvester, for example to reduce crop losses and/or to be able to identify events that could lead to a malfunction of the harvester.” (Para 0040)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the Combine of Cotton with the controller for a harvester of Missotten. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, because “Generating display information for an animation of crop flow in this way can improve user operability of the harvester. Amongst other things, this can advantageously result in reduced crop losses during operation of the harvester.” (Missotten Para 0005)
Claim 25:
Cotton, in combination with the respective secondary reference, teaches the respective limitations of Claim 24. Cotton further teaches:
wherein, responsive to the operator entering one or both of dimensions of a grain loss pan or a placement position of the grain loss pan, the driver assistance system is configured to: [output to the operator an instruction] to initiate a deposit of the grain loss pan.
(Cotton) – “In the example shown in FIG. 1, mobile machine 102 illustratively (and by way of example only) includes one or more processors 116, control system 118, controlled systems 120 and communication component 122. It can also include grain loss monitor system 124, data store 126, grain loss sensors 128, and one or more other sensors 130. Further it can include user interface component 132, user interface device 134, and it can include a wide variety of other items 136. Data store 126 can store grain loss target ranges 138, historic loss data 140, and a wide variety of other data 142. Grain loss sensors 128 can illustratively include one or more shoe loss sensors 146, one or more separator loss sensors 148, and it can include other grain loss sensors 150.” (Para 0016)
“Grain loss monitor system 124 illustratively includes loss level setting component 152, recent loss display generator 154, individual loss sensor display generator 156, loss aggregator 158, current loss display generator 160, sensitivity setting 162, balance setting component 164, settings change display generator 166, and it can include other items 168.” (Para 0017)
“FIG. 2 shows one example of a pictorial illustration in which mobile machine 102 is a combine. FIG. 2 also shows a number of the items illustrated in FIG. 1, deployed on the combine. It can be seen in FIG. 2 that combine 102 illustratively includes an operator compartment 190, a header 192, a cutter generally indicated at 194, a thresher generally indicated at 195, a set of ground engaging wheels 198, a separator 200, a spreader 202, an elevator 204, a clean grain tank indicated by arrow 206 and a spout 208. In operation, combine 102 illustratively travels in the direction generally indicated by arrow 210. Header 192 engages the product being harvested and gathers it toward cutter 194. After it is cut, it is moved toward thresher 195 where it is threshed, and then moved to separator 196. The grain falls to cleaning shoe 200 and the clean grain is moved by elevator 204 into clean grain tank 206. Tailings can be passed back to thresher 195 where they are re-threshed. Material other than grain (such as stalks, husks, etc.) can be chopped and removed from machine 102 by spreader 202.” (Para 0026)
Examiner Note: Bracketed text not explicitly taught by primary reference, but is taught by non-primary reference later in the rejection.
Cotton does not explicitly teach:
output to the operator an instruction
Missotten, in the same field of endeavor of combine control, teaches:
output to the operator an instruction
(Missotten) – “Furthermore, the crop flow information that is displayed in the animation provides an automatically generated visual indication about conditions prevailing in the harvester. As will be discussed below, these visual indications of the performance of the harvester can, in at least some examples, provide information as a prompt for human interaction with the harvester, for example to reduce crop losses and/or to be able to identify events that could lead to a malfunction of the harvester.” (Para 0040)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the Combine of Cotton with the controller for a harvester of Missotten. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, because “Generating display information for an animation of crop flow in this way can improve user operability of the harvester. Amongst other things, this can advantageously result in reduced crop losses during operation of the harvester.” (Missotten Para 0005)
Claim 26:
Cotton, in combination with the respective secondary reference, teaches the respective limitations of Claim 25. Cotton further teaches:
wherein, responsive to outputting to the operator an instruction to initiate a deposit of the grain loss pan, the driver assistance system is configured to: receive, by the operator, activation of an actuating element in order to initiate a depositing device to automatically deposit the grain loss pan on ground or an agricultural area.
(Cotton) – “User input mechanisms 114 can be displayed on user interface displays 112. Therefore, they can be touch sensitive display elements, icons, links, etc. Other user input mechanisms 108 can be a whole host of user input mechanisms that can be used to control machine 102. These can include such things as switches, levers, push buttons, keypads, pedals, joysticks, etc.” (Para 0014)
“In the example shown in FIG. 1, mobile machine 102 illustratively (and by way of example only) includes one or more processors 116, control system 118, controlled systems 120 and communication component 122. It can also include grain loss monitor system 124, data store 126, grain loss sensors 128, and one or more other sensors 130. Further it can include user interface component 132, user interface device 134, and it can include a wide variety of other items 136. Data store 126 can store grain loss target ranges 138, historic loss data 140, and a wide variety of other data 142. Grain loss sensors 128 can illustratively include one or more shoe loss sensors 146, one or more separator loss sensors 148, and it can include other grain loss sensors 150.” (Para 0016)
“Grain loss monitor system 124 illustratively includes loss level setting component 152, recent loss display generator 154, individual loss sensor display generator 156, loss aggregator 158, current loss display generator 160, sensitivity setting 162, balance setting component 164, settings change display generator 166, and it can include other items 168.” (Para 0017)
“FIG. 2 shows one example of a pictorial illustration in which mobile machine 102 is a combine. FIG. 2 also shows a number of the items illustrated in FIG. 1, deployed on the combine. It can be seen in FIG. 2 that combine 102 illustratively includes an operator compartment 190, a header 192, a cutter generally indicated at 194, a thresher generally indicated at 195, a set of ground engaging wheels 198, a separator 200, a spreader 202, an elevator 204, a clean grain tank indicated by arrow 206 and a spout 208. In operation, combine 102 illustratively travels in the direction generally indicated by arrow 210. Header 192 engages the product being harvested and gathers it toward cutter 194. After it is cut, it is moved toward thresher 195 where it is threshed, and then moved to separator 196. The grain falls to cleaning shoe 200 and the clean grain is moved by elevator 204 into clean grain tank 206. Tailings can be passed back to thresher 195 where they are re-threshed. Material other than grain (such as stalks, husks, etc.) can be chopped and removed from machine 102 by spreader 202.” (Para 0026)
“Clean grain camera 220 illustratively provides a video image indicative of the quality of the grain being deposited in clean grain tank 206.” (Para 0030)
Examiner Note: Per BRI, “an agricultural area” may correspond to any area relevant to the operation of a combine including clean grain tank. The unloading of harvested crops from a combine is a basic function of the machine.
Claim 27:
Cotton, in combination with the respective secondary reference, teaches the respective limitations of Claim 26. Cotton further teaches:
wherein the operator triggers one or both of: a measurement for determining the grain losses of one or both of the separator or the cleaning device; or a measurement for determining the yield of the combine harvester.
(Cotton) – “Grain loss monitor system 124 illustratively includes loss level setting component 152, recent loss display generator 154, individual loss sensor display generator 156, loss aggregator 158, current loss display generator 160, sensitivity setting 162, balance setting component 164, settings change display generator 166, and it can include other items 168.” (Para 0017)
“Sensitivity setting component 162 can be actuated by user 106 to change the sensitivity of the displayed grain loss (or its resolution). Balance setting component 164 can be actuated to change how loss aggregator 158 treats the various sensor signals in generating the aggregate loss metric. For instance, it can change an affect that the sensor signal from each of the different grain loss sensors 128 has on the aggregate, or overall grain loss metric.” (Para 0021)
“Once grain loss monitor system 124 detects user interaction relative to the display, it can perform an action based on the detected user interaction. This is indicated by block 340 in FIG. 3. For example, when a level setting input is detected, loss level setting component 152 controls user interface component 152 to display the user interface display so that the instantaneous grain loss level indicator 300 (shown in FIGS. 4B-1 to 4D-3) appears to snap to the center of the vertical axis in the target range indicated by indicator 304. The historical grain loss indicator 302 also visually displaces in the same direction (either up or down on the display) by an equal amount as indicator 300, giving the impression that the entire line has shifted vertically by an amount corresponding to that by which the instantaneous indicator 300 shifted. Snapping the instantaneous indicator 300 and the historical indicator 302 to the center of the target range 304 is indicated by block 342 in the flow diagram of FIG. 3. FIGS. 4E-1 to 4F-2 illustrate one example of this.” (Para 0050)
“Yield monitor 218 can be a sensor that senses yield. In one example, it can sense mass flow through elevator 204. It can provide an output signal indicative of this, to indicate the particular yield. This can be measured in bushels per hour, bushels per hectare, tons per hour or in other units.” (Para 0031)
Claim 11:
Cotton, in combination with the respective secondary reference, teaches the respective limitations of Claim 25. Cotton further teaches:
wherein the dialog of the grain loss sensor setting assistant comprises at least one dialog step E in which: the operator selects a metric for inputting an amount of loss grains determined using the grain loss pan; the operator inputs a determined amount of loss grains; and actual grain losses are displayed to the operator.
(Cotton) – “Grain loss monitor system 124 illustratively includes loss level setting component 152, recent loss display generator 154, individual loss sensor display generator 156, loss aggregator 158, current loss display generator 160, sensitivity setting 162, balance setting component 164, settings change display generator 166, and it can include other items 168.” (Para 0017)
“In the example shown in FIG. 1, mobile machine 102 illustratively (and by way of example only) includes one or more processors 116, control system 118, controlled systems 120 and communication component 122. It can also include grain loss monitor system 124, data store 126, grain loss sensors 128, and one or more other sensors 130. Further it can include user interface component 132, user interface device 134, and it can include a wide variety of other items 136. Data store 126 can store grain loss target ranges 138, historic loss data 140, and a wide variety of other data 142. Grain loss sensors 128 can illustratively include one or more shoe loss sensors 146, one or more separator loss sensors 148, and it can include other grain loss sensors 150.” (Para 0016)
“Sensitivity setting component 162 can be actuated by user 106 to change the sensitivity of the displayed grain loss (or its resolution). Balance setting component 164 can be actuated to change how loss aggregator 158 treats the various sensor signals in generating the aggregate loss metric. For instance, it can change an affect that the sensor signal from each of the different grain loss sensors 128 has on the aggregate, or overall grain loss metric.” (Para 0021)
“The target range can be a pre-determined, stored target range or it can be one set by the operator or user 106. As is described in greater detail below, loss level setting component 152 illustratively generates a user interface display, with user input mechanisms that allow user 106 to set the target range for the overall loss. Therefore, the instantaneous, current loss, and the recent history of the overall loss can be displayed relative to the target range. Displaying the instantaneous, current overall loss level relative to a stored loss target range is indicated by block 268. Displaying it relative to a loss target range that was set by the operator is indicated by block 270. The loss level can be displayed as a continuous display, such as a line or trace graph or a series of discrete readings displayed in close proximity relative to one another. This is indicated by block 272. The overall loss level can have color-coded portions indicating whether it is above, within, or below the target range. This is indicated by block 274. It can be displayed along with settings change indicators that identify, on the continuous display, when harvester settings were changed. This will allow the operator to see what affect the settings change has had on the overall loss level detected. Displaying the settings change indicator is indicated by block 276 in FIG. 3. The display can include other visual indicia or other indicia (such as audio outputs, haptic outputs, etc.). This is indicated by block 278.” (Para 0037)
“The user input can also be provided to sensitivity setting component 162. It can be used to reset the sensitivity of the display (or the resolution of the display). Detecting a sensitivity adjustment input is indicated by block 334.” (Para 0048)
“The user input mechanisms (such as mechanisms 344 in FIG. 4E-1) may also include a sensitivity user input mechanism 350. When the user actuates this, a display can be generated in which the user can modify the sensitivity (or resolution) of the user interface display screen. This illustratively causes sensitivity setting component 162 to modify the display to adjust the vertical loss range displayed to include more or less of the overall sensor readings. This provides a higher or lower resolution display so that the user can display more fine-grained or more course-grained loss results. Adjusting the sensitivity is indicated by block 352 in the flow diagram of FIG. 3.” (Para 0055)
Claim 28
Cotton, in combination with the respective secondary reference, teaches the respective limitations of Claim 27. Cotton further teaches:
wherein the operator is triggered to perform the measurement for determining the grain losses of one or both of the separator or the cleaning device or the measurement for determining the yield of the combine harvester by: outputting an instruction to the operator to trigger the measurement for determining the grain losses of one or both of the separator or the cleaning device or the measurement for determining the yield of the combine harvester.
(Cotton) – “Grain loss monitor system 124 illustratively includes loss level setting component 152, recent loss display generator 154, individual loss sensor display generator 156, loss aggregator 158, current loss display generator 160, sensitivity setting 162, balance setting component 164, settings change display generator 166, and it can include other items 168.” (Para 0017)
“In the example shown in FIG. 1, mobile machine 102 illustratively (and by way of example only) includes one or more processors 116, control system 118, controlled systems 120 and communication component 122. It can also include grain loss monitor system 124, data store 126, grain loss sensors 128, and one or more other sensors 130. Further it can include user interface component 132, user interface device 134, and it can include a wide variety of other items 136. Data store 126 can store grain loss target ranges 138, historic loss data 140, and a wide variety of other data 142. Grain loss sensors 128 can illustratively include one or more shoe loss sensors 146, one or more separator loss sensors 148, and it can include other grain loss sensors 150.” (Para 0016)
“Sensitivity setting component 162 can be actuated by user 106 to change the sensitivity of the displayed grain loss (or its resolution). Balance setting component 164 can be actuated to change how loss aggregator 158 treats the various sensor signals in generating the aggregate loss metric. For instance, it can change an affect that the sensor signal from each of the different grain loss sensors 128 has on the aggregate, or overall grain loss metric.” (Para 0021)
“The target range can be a pre-determined, stored target range or it can be one set by the operator or user 106. As is described in greater detail below, loss level setting component 152 illustratively generates a user interface display, with user input mechanisms that allow user 106 to set the target range for the overall loss. Therefore, the instantaneous, current loss, and the recent history of the overall loss can be displayed relative to the target range. Displaying the instantaneous, current overall loss level relative to a stored loss target range is indicated by block 268. Displaying it relative to a loss target range that was set by the operator is indicated by block 270. The loss level can be displayed as a continuous display, such as a line or trace graph or a series of discrete readings displayed in close proximity relative to one another. This is indicated by block 272. The overall loss level can have color-coded portions indicating whether it is above, within, or below the target range. This is indicated by block 274. It can be displayed along with settings change indicators that identify, on the continuous display, when harvester settings were changed. This will allow the operator to see what affect the settings change has had on the overall loss level detected. Displaying the settings change indicator is indicated by block 276 in FIG. 3. The display can include other visual indicia or other indicia (such as audio outputs, haptic outputs, etc.). This is indicated by block 278.” (Para 0037)
“The user input can also be provided to sensitivity setting component 162. It can be used to reset the sensitivity of the display (or the resolution of the display). Detecting a sensitivity adjustment input is indicated by block 334.” (Para 0048)
“The user input mechanisms (such as mechanisms 344 in FIG. 4E-1) may also include a sensitivity user input mechanism 350. When the user actuates this, a display can be generated in which the user can modify the sensitivity (or resolution) of the user interface display screen. This illustratively causes sensitivity setting component 162 to modify the display to adjust the vertical loss range displayed to include more or less of the overall sensor readings. This provides a higher or lower resolution display so that the user can display more fine-grained or more course-grained loss results. Adjusting the sensitivity is indicated by block 352 in the flow diagram of FIG. 3.” (Para 0055)
Examiner Note: Per BRI, the generation of interfaces corresponds with outputting an instruction.
Claim 29
Cotton, in combination with the respective secondary reference, teaches the respective limitations of Claim 28. Cotton further teaches:
wherein the dialog of the grain loss sensor setting assistant comprises an additional dialog step in which: the grain loss sensor sensitivity of the one or both of the at least one separator or the at least one cleaning device is displayed to the operator; and
(Cotton) – “Grain loss monitor system 124 illustratively includes loss level setting component 152, recent loss display generator 154, individual loss sensor display generator 156, loss aggregator 158, current loss display generator 160, sensitivity setting 162, balance setting component 164, settings change display generator 166, and it can include other items 168.” (Para 0017)
“Sensitivity setting component 162 can be actuated by user 106 to change the sensitivity of the displayed grain loss (or its resolution). Balance setting component 164 can be actuated to change how loss aggregator 158 treats the various sensor signals in generating the aggregate loss metric. For instance, it can change an affect that the sensor signal from each of the different grain loss sensors 128 has on the aggregate, or overall grain loss metric.” (Para 0021)
“The user input can also be provided to sensitivity setting component 162. It can be used to reset the sensitivity of the display (or the resolution of the display). Detecting a sensitivity adjustment input is indicated by block 334.” (Para 0048)
“The user input mechanisms (such as mechanisms 344 in FIG. 4E-1) may also include a sensitivity user input mechanism 350. When the user actuates this, a display can be generated in which the user can modify the sensitivity (or resolution) of the user interface display screen. This illustratively causes sensitivity setting component 162 to modify the display to adjust the vertical loss range displayed to include more or less of the overall sensor readings. This provides a higher or lower resolution display so that the user can display more fine-grained or more course-grained loss results. Adjusting the sensitivity is indicated by block 352 in the flow diagram of FIG. 3.” (Para 0055)
the operator adjusts the grain loss sensor sensitivity displayed.
(Cotton) – “Grain loss monitor system 124 illustratively includes loss level setting component 152, recent loss display generator 154, individual loss sensor display generator 156, loss aggregator 158, current loss display generator 160, sensitivity setting 162, balance setting component 164, settings change display generator 166, and it can include other items 168.” (Para 0017)
“Sensitivity setting component 162 can be actuated by user 106 to change the sensitivity of the displayed grain loss (or its resolution). Balance setting component 164 can be actuated to change how loss aggregator 158 treats the various sensor signals in generating the aggregate loss metric. For instance, it can change an affect that the sensor signal from each of the different grain loss sensors 128 has on the aggregate, or overall grain loss metric.” (Para 0021)
“The user input can also be provided to sensitivity setting component 162. It can be used to reset the sensitivity of the display (or the resolution of the display). Detecting a sensitivity adjustment input is indicated by block 334.” (Para 0048)
“The user input mechanisms (such as mechanisms 344 in FIG. 4E-1) may also include a sensitivity user input mechanism 350. When the user actuates this, a display can be generated in which the user can modify the sensitivity (or resolution) of the user interface display screen. This illustratively causes sensitivity setting component 162 to modify the display to adjust the vertical loss range displayed to include more or less of the overall sensor readings. This provides a higher or lower resolution display so that the user can display more fine-grained or more course-grained loss results. Adjusting the sensitivity is indicated by block 352 in the flow diagram of FIG. 3.” (Para 0055)
Claim 30
Cotton, in combination with the respective secondary reference, teaches the respective limitations of Claim 29. Cotton further teaches:
wherein the dialog of the grain loss sensor setting assistant comprises a further dialog step, in which the operator confirms the grain loss sensor sensitivity displayed; or wherein the operator adjusts or rejects the grain loss sensor sensitivity of the one or both of the at least one separator or the at least one cleaning device.
(Cotton) – “Grain loss monitor system 124 illustratively includes loss level setting component 152, recent loss display generator 154, individual loss sensor display generator 156, loss aggregator 158, current loss display generator 160, sensitivity setting 162, balance setting component 164, settings change display generator 166, and it can include other items 168.” (Para 0017)
“Sensitivity setting component 162 can be actuated by user 106 to change the sensitivity of the displayed grain loss (or its resolution). Balance setting component 164 can be actuated to change how loss aggregator 158 treats the various sensor signals in generating the aggregate loss metric. For instance, it can change an affect that the sensor signal from each of the different grain loss sensors 128 has on the aggregate, or overall grain loss metric.” (Para 0021)
“The user input can also be provided to sensitivity setting component 162. It can be used to reset the sensitivity of the display (or the resolution of the display). Detecting a sensitivity adjustment input is indicated by block 334.” (Para 0048)
“The user input mechanisms (such as mechanisms 344 in FIG. 4E-1) may also include a sensitivity user input mechanism 350. When the user actuates this, a display can be generated in which the user can modify the sensitivity (or resolution) of the user interface display screen. This illustratively causes sensitivity setting component 162 to modify the display to adjust the vertical loss range displayed to include more or less of the overall sensor readings. This provides a higher or lower resolution display so that the user can display more fine-grained or more course-grained loss results. Adjusting the sensitivity is indicated by block 352 in the flow diagram of FIG. 3.” (Para 0055)
Claim 34: Rejected for the same reasons as Claims 25-26
Claim 35: Rejected for the same reasons as Claims 27-28
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 102 & 103 rejections mailed 09/26/2025 have been considered but are not convincing.
Specifically, with regard to Claim 1, applicant argues:
“In this regard, Cotton teaches that the user determines the sensitivity (via input of the user display screen). Specifically, Cotton teaches that the user entirely determines the sensitivity.
In contrast, claim 1 recites that "the grain loss sensor sensitivity" is determined by the driver assistance system based on input from the operator. In this way, the driver assistance7
system has additional intelligence to generate the grain loss sensor sensitivity not found in Cotton. More specifically, the claims recite a sequence of steps not taught or suggested by the cited references. As one example, the driver assistance system determines whether the combine harvester is in a respective state (e.g., "harvested material processing operation or the harvested material processing operation by the combine harvester is not under stationary conditions"); if not, the operator is requested to put the combine into the respective state. See claims 21-22. This is unlike Cotton, which simply assumes that the machine is in the predetermined state (without any checking or requesting the operator to put the combine into the respective state). See para. [0033] ("In the example shown in FIG. 3, it is assumed that mobile machine 102 is operating and is conducting a harvesting operation.")
After the combine harvester is in the proper respective state, in the sequence, the driver assistance system receives input. See claim 23 ("a grain loss target to be achieved during a harvested material processing operation; a working width of an attachment mounted on the combine harvester; or a yield of the combine harvester."). Again, after which, the operator is prompted for additional information. See claim 24 ("receive, from the operator, one or both of dimensions of a grain loss pan or a placement position of the grain loss pan").
Further, the sequence continues as claimed in which: the driver assistance system
"output[s] to the operator an instruction to initiate a deposit of the grain loss pan" (claim 25); "receive, by the operator, activation of an actuating element in order to initiate a depositing device to automatically deposit the grain loss pan on ground or an agricultural area" (claim 26); "the operator trigger[ring] one or both of. a measurement for determining the grain losses of one or both of the separator or the cleaning device; or a measurement for determining the yield of the combine harvester" (claim 27); and providing the operator the opportunity to adjust the determined the grain loss sensor sensitivity (see claim 29). In this regard, unlike a one-way determination as recited in Cotton (in which the user inputs the specificity), the claims recite a detailed back-and-forth not taught or suggested by the cited art.”
However, this is not convincing. Specifically, the arguments rely on an alleged order of operations which is not present in the claims. Many of the arguments, despite being directed towards Claim 1, point to dependent claims as proof that Cotton fails to teach the limitations of Claim 1. It is unclear how a dependent claim could be evidence for the allowability of an independent claim. Even were the arguments regarding the steps found in the dependent claims convincing, which they are not, it would not render Claim 1 allowable without amendment. Applicant appears to allege that the entirety of the processes described in the dependent claims must be completed before the grain loss sensor sensitivity is determined by the driver assistance system. However, this is neither claimed in Claim 1 nor in any of the dependent claims. As written, there is no claimed causality between any of the processes of the dependent claims and the setting of the grain loss sensitivity. In actuality, all claim 1 requires is that the driver assistance system determine a grain loss sensitivity in response to a user input. This is clearly taught by Cotton as fully elaborated in the updated rejection rationale.
The arguments regarding Claim 14 and all dependent Claims are unconvincing for similar reasons as shown above.
Therefore, all outstanding claims remain rejected over the prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Baumgarten (US20100217474) teaches a similar agricultural driver assistance system.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID RUBEN PEDERSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3658
/Ramon A. Mercado/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3658