DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (Pat#6477447) in view of Renken et al (Pat# 7,855,549).
As to claim 20, Lin discloses a measurement wafer as shown in figure 5B comprising: a pressure-sensitive features (PSF2)distributed across a surface of a test wafer (W1) in a geometric pattern, wherein the pressure-sensitive feature (PSF2) includes a pressure-sensitive material responsive to application of pressure, wherein the pressure sensitive material comprises at least one of a deformable material (A2) or a color-changing material (B2).
Renken et al disclose a plurality of sensor (124) disposed on a wafer (see column 5, lines 3-20) for detecting various processing conductions .
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to use each pressure sensitive feature (PSF2) as taught by Lin as each of a plurality of sensor in the device of Renken et al for sensing pressure at different locations on the wafer.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-19 are allowed. The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for allowance: The prior art does not disclose a system having a combination of a robot; a measurement device including a plate, wherein the plate includes a plurality of nominal measurement features, wherein the measurement device includes a plurality of cameras, wherein the robot is configured to transfer a test wafer between a chuck of a process tool and the measurement device, wherein the test wafer includes a plurality of pressure-sensitive features distributed across the test wafer, wherein a respective pressure-sensitive features is markable by a respective pin of a plurality of pins of the chuck; a controller including one or more processors and a memory medium, wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute program instructions stored on the memory medium, wherein the program instructions are configured to cause the one or more processors to: direct the robot to place the test wafer onto the plurality of pins of the chuck of the proc tool such that each pressure-sensitive feature is marked by a corresponding pin of the plurality of pins; direct the plurality of cameras of the measurement device to acquire a plurality of calibration images of the plurality of nominal measurement features of the plate of the measurement device, wherein the plurality of nominal measurement features correspond to nominal locations of the plurality of pins of the chuck; direct the robot to transfer the test wafer to the measurement device; direct the plurality of cameras to acquire a plurality of measurement images of a plurality of markings formed on the plurality of pressure-sensitive; and determine a misalignment vector between the test wafer and the chuck by comparing the plurality of measurement images of the plurality of markings formed on the plurality of pressure-sensitive features to the plurality of calibration images of the plurality of nominal measurement features as recited in claim 1. Claims 2-16 depend on allowed claim 1, they are also allowed accordingly.
The prior art does not disclose a method having combined method steps of providing a test wafer including a plurality of pressure-sensitive features distributed across the test wafer; placing, with a robot, the test wafer onto a plurality of pins of a chuck of a process tool to form a plurality of markings on the plurality of pressure-sensitive features, wherein a respective marking is formed on a respective pressure- sensitive feature; acquiring, with a plurality of
cameras, a plurality of calibration images of a plurality of nominal measurement features formed
on a plate of a measurement device, the plurality of nominal measurement features
corresponding to nominal locations of the plurality of pins of the chuck; transferring, with the
robot, the test wafer from the chuck of the process tool to the plate of the measurement device;
acquiring, with the plurality of cameras, a plurality of measurement images of the plurality of
markings formed on the plurality of pressure-sensitive features; and determining a misalignment
vector between the test wafer and the chuck by comparing the plurality of measurement images
of the plurality of markings formed on the plurality of pressure-sensitive features to the plurality
of calibration images of the plurality of nominal measurement features formed on the plate of the
measurement device as recited in claim 17. Claims 18-19 depend on allowed claim 17, they
are also allowed accordingly.
payment of the issue fee and, to avoid processing delays, should preferably accompany the issue
fee. Such submissions should be clearly labeled "Comments on Statement of Reasons for
Allowance."
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chong et al (Pat# 7,382,142) disclose High Density Interconnect System Having Rapid Fabrication Cycle.
Chiesl (Pat# 6,770,505) discloses Arrangement For Measuring Pressure On A Semiconductor Wafer And An Associated Method For Fabricating A Semiconductor Wafer
/VINH P NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858