DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I claims 1-8 in the reply filed on 11 February 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 9-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11 February 2026.
Claim Interpretation
In the instant case, the following limitations are deemed to invoke 112(f):
Instant claim1: means of a heat transfer medium
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: means of heat transfer medium in claims 4-6.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the waste heat" in line 13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
As to claim 3, the recitation “wherein the waste heat generated by the electrolysis reaction is transferred to the make-up water and/or is transferred to the condensate, or is transferred to a mixture of the make-up water and the condensate” is indefinite due to the combined “and/or” and the separate “or” because the recitation of “transferred to a mixture of the make-up water and condensate” is merely repetitive of the “and” part of the previous option.
As to claim 5, the recitation “….through a heat exchanger” is unclear due to the dependency on claim 4 if another heat exchanger is required of the heat exchange of claim 4 is further limited in instant claim 5.
As to claim 6, the recitation “….is effected by a heat pump” is unclear due to the dependency on claim 4 if another heat exchanger is required of the heat exchange of claim 4 is further limited in instant claim 5.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the condensate" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eberhard et al (EP0084815 A2 with citations drawn towards the translation provided via Espacenet) in view of Lach et al (US 2023/0175685 A1).
As to claim 1, Eberhard discloses a method comprising:
- generating at least one product gas by an electrolysis reaction by an electrolyzer (#14 [0012]);
-providing a water-containing medium to generate steam (Feedwater tank 9 [0010]);
- supplying a water-containing medium to a steam generating device, and generating steam from the water- containing medium in the steam generating device (#2 [0010]);
- transferring at least part of the waste heat generated during the electrolysis reaction to the water-containing medium by means of a heat transfer medium before the water-containing medium is supplied to the degassing device (#8 [0018] via conduits 14b.
Eberhard fails to explicitly disclose.
- supplying the water-containing medium to a degassing device, and degassing the water-containing medium in the degassing device;
- supplying a portion of the steam generated in the steam generating device to the degassing device, wherein degassing of the water- containing medium is effected by the supplied steam;
Lach disclose a steam generator (#12) comprising a deaerator (#38) which removes gasses before supplying the water to the inlet of the steam generator ([0046]) where a portion of the steam generated in the steam generating device is supplies to the degassing device, wherein degassing of the water- containing medium is effected by the supplied steam ([0043],[0045]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used a deaerator and steam supply to the deaerator as taught by Lach on the water feed line in Eberhard in order to remove non-condensable gases and heat the water before entry into the steam generator (Lach [0045]).
As to claim 2, Eberhard discloses wherein the water- containing medium is provided in the form of a condensate by condensation of the steam after use of the steam in a steam user. (Fig. 1 # 6 condensate to #7 pump through 8 into water tank 9).
As to claim 3, Eberhard discloses wherein the waste heat is transferred to the condensate (Fig. 1 #14b to #8).
As to claims 4 and 5, Eberhard discloses wherein the transfer of waste heat by means of the heat transfer medium is effected by a heat exchanger (#8 preheater which necessarily exchanges the heat with 14b) to the make-up water, producing a preheated make-up water (via transfer to 9 which becomes the make up water for the steam generator 2).
As to claims 7 and 8, Eberhard discloses wherein a first portion of the heat transfer medium is used to transfer waste heat to the water-containing medium, and a second portion of the heat transfer medium is re-cooled and afterwards used to cool the electrolyser. (Fig. 1 via 14b going from the electrolyzer and 14b returning to the electrolyzer via coolant pump 14c) wherein the heat transfer medium is re-cooled after the waste heat has been transferred to the water- containing medium and is afterwards used to cool the electrolyser. (via piping 14b to electrolyzer).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eberhard, as modified by Lach, as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Rueger et al (US 2018/0287179 A1).
As to claim 6, Eberhard, as modified by Lach, fails to explicitly disclose wherein the transfer of waste heat by means of the heat transfer medium is effected by a heat pump to a mixture of the preheated make-up water and the condensate.
Rueger discloses coupling a heat pump (#64) to a water feed line (#51) utilizing low temperature heat to preheat feed water into a steam generator (#53 Fig. 6 [0123]).
Thus the prior art Eberhard, as modified by Lach, differs only by the specific type of heat transfer means. The specific use of heat exchangers are known from Rueger for use with electrolysis systems and steam generators.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have used a heat pump as taught by Rueger to preheat the feedwater in Eberhard, as modified by Lach, because they are compact units which provides the predictable result of utilizing low temperature heat to preheat feedwater for a steam generator (See MPEP 2144.07 and 2143 A)
Conclusion
/LOUIS J RUFO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795