Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claims 1-4, 6, 10-13, 15, 19, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kishimoto et al. (US20110104521).
2. Regarding claims 1-4, 6, Kishimoto teaches a battery information sampling assembly (see Fig. below), comprising: a battery sampling controller; and a flexible printed circuit board, wherein the flexible printed circuit board is configured to collect information of a corresponding cell, and the flexible printed circuit board is connected with the battery sampling controller (see Fig. below).
3. Regarding claims 10-13, 15, 19, 20, Kishimoto teaches a battery module, comprising: a cell; a battery support disposed on the cell (As illustrated in FIG. 13, in this example, a spacer SP1 is fitted between an end surface E1 of a battery block 10Ba and an end surface E2 of a battery block 10Bb [0176]; As illustrated in FIGS. 14 (a) to 14 (c), the spacer SP1 includes a plate member 810 in a substantially rectangular shape and four supporting bars 820 [0177]); and a battery information sampling assembly, wherein the battery information sampling assembly comprises: a battery sampling controller; and a flexible printed circuit board is configured to collect information of a corresponding cell, and the flexible printed circuit board is connected with the battery sampling controller (see Figs. below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 5, 7-9, 14, 16, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kishimoto et al. (US20110104521) in view of Okachi et al.
(US 20050118463).
5. Regarding claims 5, 7-9, 14, 16, 17 and 18, the complete discussion of Kishimoto as applied to claim 1 is incorporated herein.
6. Kishimoto teaches a reinforcing plate configured to reinforce a connection between the flexible printed circuit board and the plug, wherein the reinforcing plate is disposed on a back side of the flexible printed circuit board (The printed circuit board 21 is mounted on the base plate attachment, portion 92b in the one end surface frame 92 by a screw. The battery module 100 includes the battery block 10BB and the printed circuit board 21 [0116]).
4. Kishimoto teaches a first side of the flexible printed circuit board is connected with the plug; and a second side of the flexible printed circuit board is connected with the reinforcing plate (the pair of end surface frames 92 includes a flat portion 92 a, four base plate attachment portions 92 b, and four connection portions 92 c. The connection portions 92 c are provided at four corners of the flat portion 92 a [0114]).
7. Kishimoto teaches wherein the flexible printed circuit board is welded to the battery sampling controller; and the plug is welded to the flexible printed circuit board (The one end of each of the conductor lines 51 exposed to the lower surface is electrically connected to the attachment portion 42, 46 in the bus bar 40, 40 a by soldering or welding, for example [0136]; The other ends of the conductor lines 52 in the FPC board 50 are connected to the corresponding connection terminals 22 by soldering or welding [0138]).
8. Okachi teaches connector 25 is disposed adjacent to one end of the control circuit-board 23 and can be connected with the plug connector 105 of the electronic apparatus 100. Furthermore, the control circuit-board 23 is provided with four attachment holes 23a which are separated by a predetermined distance in the longitudinal direction of the control circuit-board 23 and correspond to the four respective insertion holes 21a of the protection sheet 21 [0079] for the benefit of contributing to the compactness of the battery pack [0082].
9. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kishimoto with Okachi’s teachings for the benefit of contributing to the compactness of the battery pack.
Conclusion
/OLATUNJI A GODO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752