DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 7 and 13 and dependent claim 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to one neural network training another without significantly more.
The claim(s) recite(s)
1.A processor comprising: one or more circuits to use one or more first neural networks to train one or more second neural networks to perform according to one or more performance metrics.
7. A method, comprising: using one or more first neural networks to train one or more second neural networks to perform according to one or more performance metrics.
13. A system, comprising: one or more processors to use one or more first neural networks to train one or more second neural networks to perform according to one or more performance metrics.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there is not recited practical application. There is simply a neural network training another neural network. There is no recitation of how a neural network is trained and there is no recitation of what the other neural network is trained to do. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because only two neural networks are recited and they are simply generic computing components with no specifics as to how or why they function and there are no specific recited about any specialized hardware or computing components. Without any specific recitation of what the neural networks do, the claim is directed to the abstract idea of a computing component training another computing component with no specific recited task. The training of a neural network by another neural network without any recitation of data, intent or outcome is essentially a purely mathematical relationship with no recited practical application. There is no integration into a practical application because there is no recitation of what the computing components do. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 merely recites a kind of neural network but does not recite a function or task performed by the neural network. Claim 6 is also rejected under 101 as being directed to an abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “poorly” in claim 5 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “poorly” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11, 13-16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by USPN 2021/0174072 to Zhang et al.
With regard to claim 1, Zhang discloses a processor (paragraphs [0017]-[0019], [0161]-[0162] Fig. 9, processor 1001 comprising:
one or more circuits to use one or more first neural networks (Fig. 7, neural networks model 30g and 30h) to train one or more second neural networks to perform according to one or more performance metrics (Fig. 7, neural network sample generative model 30d generates synthetic facial images by exaggerating facial expressions to create exaggerated images of facial micro-expressions, The neural networks 30g and 30h are used to train the generative model 30d by calculating error function 30k, which consists of loss values for the models and adjusting the weights of the models thereby training the generative models. See paragraphs [0107]-[0109]).
With regard to claim 2, Zhang discloses the processor of claim 1, wherein: the one or more second neural networks are to perform facial recognition (Fig. 7, neural networks 30g and 30h recognize facial expressions); and the one or more first neural networks are to generate synthetic data based (Fig. 7, neural network sample generative model 30d consisting of models 30b and 30c are used to generates synthetic facial images by exaggerating facial expressions to create exaggerated images of facial micro-expressions), at least in part, on the one or more performance metrics of the one or more second neural networks performing facial recognition using one or more images (The neural networks 30g and 30h are used to train the generative model 30d by calculating error function 30k, which consists of loss values for the models and adjusting the weights of the models thereby training the generative models. See paragraphs [0107]-[0109]).
With regard to claim 3, Zhang discloses the processor of claim 1, wherein the one or more first neural networks are to generate one or more synthetic images based, at least part, on the one or more performance metrics to train the one or more second neural networks (The neural networks 30g and 30h are used to train the generative model 30d by calculating error function 30k, which consists of loss values for the models and adjusting the weights of the models thereby training the generative models. The loss values are considered to be the performance metrics used to train the models by adjusting the weights. See paragraphs [0107]-[0109]).
With regard to claim 4, Zhang discloses the processor of claim 1, wherein the one or more second neural networks are to be trained to perform facial recognition based on one or more synthetic images generated by the one or more first neural networks and one or more other images (The neural networks 30g and 30h are used to train the generative model 30d by calculating error function 30k, which consists of loss values for the models and adjusting the weights of the models thereby training the generative models. The loss values are considered to be the performance metrics used to train the models by adjusting the weights. See paragraphs [0107]-[0109]).
With regard to claim 5, Zhang discloses the processor of claim 1, wherein the one or more performance metrics comprises information indicating which group of images having facial features or attributes where the one or more second neural networks have performed poorly on (The neural networks 30g and 30h are used to train the generative model 30d by calculating error function 30k, which consists of loss values for the models and adjusting the weights of the models thereby training the generative models. The loss values are considered to be the performance metrics used to train the models by adjusting the weights. See paragraphs [0107]-[0109]. The training continues until the loss values are low enough. This is interpreted as images where the neural networks have “performed poorly.”).
With regard to claim 6, Zhang discloses the processor of claim 1, wherein the one or more second neural networks comprise one or more Generative Adversarial Networks (GANs) (paragraph [0072], “Therefore, the image augmentation model may correspond to a sample generative model in an adversarial network, and the adversarial network includes the sample generative model and a sample discriminative model.”).
With regard to claim 7, the discussion of claim 1 applies.
With regard to claim 8, Zhang discloses the method of claim 7, further comprising:
wherein the one or more first neural networks are to use the one or more performance metrics to generate one or more synthetic images (The neural networks 30g and 30h are used to train the generative model 30d by calculating error function 30k, which consists of loss values for the models and adjusting the weights of the models thereby training the generative models. The loss values are considered to be the performance metrics used to train the models by adjusting the weights. See paragraphs [0107]-[0109].),
wherein the one or more performance metrics comprise information from one or more groups of images having one or more facial features that cause the second neural network to misidentify the one or more facial features (paragraphs [0036]-[0043], and Fig. 2, 10b, 10c, 10d, 10e, 10f, 10g, 10h, 10k; Facial features are recognized and exaggerated in order to better recognize facial expressions. If the facial features and corresponding expressions are misidentified or poorly then the loss values or performance metrics discussed in paragraphs [0107]-[0109] will require the facial expression recognition and synthetic image generation to adjusts weights to continue training the neural networks).
With regard to claim 9, Zhang discloses the method of claim 7, further comprising: using the one or more second neural networks to perform facial recognition;
calculating the one or more performance metrics of the one or more second neural networks (If the facial features and corresponding expressions are misidentified or poorly then the loss values or performance metrics discussed in paragraphs [0107]-[0109] will require the facial expression recognition and synthetic image generation to adjusts weights to continue training the neural networks);
identifying, based at least in part on the one or more performance metrics, a group of images where the one or more performance metrics are below a defined threshold (paragraphs [0107]-[0109], When the loss values are large enough to continue to train and adjust the weights of the neural networks, this is interpreted as a performance metric being below a threshold of satisfaction); and
generating, by the one or more first neural networks, one or more synthetic images associated with the identified one or more groups of images (paragraphs [0107]-[0109], When the loss values are large enough to continue to train and adjust the weights of the neural networks, this is interpreted as a performance metric being below a threshold of satisfaction. The generative neural networks then continue to train the system and generate synthetic images with the determined adjusted weights).
With regard to claim 10, Zhang discloses the method of claim 7, further comprising:
identifying a set of images from one or more training images used to train the one or more second neural networks that are below a quantity threshold, wherein the set of images comprises images of a specific group (If the facial features and corresponding expressions are misidentified or poorly then the loss values or performance metrics discussed in paragraphs [0107]-[0109] will require the facial expression recognition and synthetic image generation to adjusts weights to continue training the neural networks);
causing the one or more first neural networks to generate one or more synthetic images having facial features that correspond to the facial features of the set of images (If the facial features and corresponding expressions are misidentified or poorly then the loss values or performance metrics discussed in paragraphs [0107]-[0109] will require the facial expression recognition and synthetic image generation to adjusts weights to continue training the neural networks by generating additional synthetic images); and
using the one or more synthetic images and the one or more training images to train the one or more second neural networks (paragraphs [0107]-[0109], The additional generated synthetic images are used to continue training the models).
With regard to claim 11, Zhang discloses the method of claim 7, further comprising: using the one or more second neural networks to perform pattern recognition (Fig. 2, model 20c is considered to recognize the pattern of different facial features and the exaggerated pattern of facial features to generate a facial expression matching the determine facial feature pattern. See also paragraphs [0036]-[0042]); and
using the one or more first neural networks to generate synthetic data, based least in part on, the one or more performance metrics of the one or more second neural networks performing pattern recognition of one or more images (paragraphs [0036]-[0042], the performance or loss values of the facial expression recognition of 20 c is used to adjust the weights of the facial feature exaggeration components).
With regard to claim 13, the discussion of claim 1 applies.
With regard to claim 14, Zhang discloses the system of claim 13, wherein the one or more processors are to:
cause the one or more first neural networks to generate one or more synthetic images to train the one or more second neural networks (Fig. 7, The neural networks 30g and 30h are used to train the generative model 30d by calculating error function 30k, which consists of loss values for the models and adjusting the weights of the models thereby training the generative models. The loss values are considered to be the performance metrics used to train the models by adjusting the weights. See paragraphs [0107]-[0109]),
wherein the one or more synthetic images are generated based, at least in part, on the one or more performance metrics of the one or more second neural networks performing facial recognition on one or more other images (Fig. 7, The neural networks 30g and 30h are used to train the generative model 30d by calculating error function 30k, which consists of loss values for the models and adjusting the weights of the models thereby training the generative models. The loss values are considered to be the performance metrics used to train the models by adjusting the weights. See paragraphs [0107]-[0109]).
With regard to claim 15, Zhang discloses the system of claim 13, wherein the one or more processors are to further: select a reference image; and use the one or more first neural networks to synthetically generate variations of the reference image to train the one or more second neural networks (Fig. 2, neural network models 20a and 20b are used synthetically generate variations of the reference image 10a in order to exaggerate a facial expression for recognition).
With regard to claim 16, Zhang discloses the system of claim 13, wherein the one or more processors are to:
use the one or more second neural networks to perform object classification (Fig. 2 neural network model 20c performs object classification by detecting and recognizing facial components or objects in order to detect and classify a facial expression); and
use the one or more first neural networks to generate synthetic data based, at least in part, on the one or more performance metrics of the one or more second neural networks performing object classification of one or more images (Fig. 7, The neural networks 30g and 30h are used to train the generative model 30d by calculating error function 30k, which consists of loss values for the models and adjusting the weights of the models thereby training the generative models. The loss values are considered to be the performance metrics used to train the models by adjusting the weights. See paragraphs [0107]-[0109]).
With regard to claim 18, Zhang discloses the system of claim 13, wherein the one or more processors cause the one or more first neural networks to generate one or more synthetic images of higher quality than one or more images initially used to train the one or more second neural networks Fig. 7, The neural networks 30g and 30h are used to train the generative model 30d by calculating error function 30k, which consists of loss values for the models and adjusting the weights of the models thereby training the generative models. The loss values are considered to be the performance metrics used to train the models by adjusting the weights. See paragraphs [0107]-[0109]. Adjusting the weights of the models that generate the synthetic images is interpreted as causing the model to generate syn thetic images of higher quality. The training is recursive and the quality of the synthetic images should increase over time with each iterative of weight adjustment).
With regard to claim 19, Zhang discloses the system of claim 13, wherein the one or more performance metrics comprises information indicating which types of features result in the one or more second neural networks misidentifying faces (paragraphs [0036]-[0043], and Fig. 2, 10b, 10c, 10d, 10e, 10f, 10g, 10h, 10k; Facial features are recognized and exaggerated in order to better recognize facial expressions. If the facial features and corresponding expressions are misidentified or poorly then the loss values or performance metrics discussed in paragraphs [0107]-[0109] will require the facial expression recognition and synthetic image generation to adjusts weights to continue training the neural networks).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of USPNs 2021/0174072 to Zhang et al. and 2023/0368502 to Ranganathan et al.
With regard to claims 12 and 17, Zhang discloses the method of claim 7, but does not disclose further comprising: determining a reference image associated with an identity;
filtering one or more synthetic images generated by the one or more first neural networks by comparing the one or more synthetic images with the reference image; and
discarding a synthetic image from the one or more synthetic images that comprise facial features that are different with the identity of the reference image.
Ranganathan discloses a system for training a facial image recognition by generating synthetic images in the form of altered facial images of a reference facial image of a specific person (See Fig. 1B). The system then attempts to recognize the image as the image of the person after the image has been synthetically altered (See Fig. 1C).
Facial images are then attempted to be recognized and based on the comparison the face is recognized as the known person (paragraphs [0017]-[0020]). If the image does not match the synthetic image then the person is not considered to be identified a the registered reference image person. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before time of filing to use the synthetic image generation taught by Ranganathn in combination with the facial feature recognition of Zhang in order to determine a robust facial verification system.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of USPNs 2021/0174072 to Zhang et al. and 2024/0326825 to Quintao Severgnini et al.
With regard to claim 20, Zhang discloses the system of claim 13, but does not disclose wherein the one or more processors are to the use one or more second neural networks to perform facial recognition in an autonomous vehicle.
Monitoring facial images and facial expressions of people inside vehicles is well known in the art. Quintao Severgnini discloses monitoring an occupant of the vehicle to recognize the face of the occupant as well as the emotional response to the occupant through facial expression recognition. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before time of filing to use the facial recognition taught by Zhang in the environment of monitoring the face of an autonomous vehicle as taught by Quintao Severgnini in order to observe and track the occupant’s emotional state.
Contact Information
/WESLEY J TUCKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2661