DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim(s) 10 – 12, 14 – 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (10,825,393) in view of JEON (2021/0057393) and further in view of Shin et al. (10069109).
With regard to claim 10, Kim et al. disclose a display device (for example, see figs. 4, 5), comprising:
a substrate (100) including a plurality of sub-pixels (referred to as “A” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 4 below); a plurality of transistors (Tdr1, Tdr2) disposed in each of the plurality of sub-pixels (A); first and second assembly electrodes (AE1, AE2) disposed in each of the plurality of sub-pixels (A) and spaced apart from each other;
an insulating layer (160) covering (cover the bottom or side surface) the first and second assembly electrodes (AE1, AE2); and
a plurality of light emitting elements (referred to as “B” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 4 below) disposed on (on the bottom) the insulating layer (160) between the first and second assembly electrodes (AE1, AE2) and including a first electrode (E1), a first semiconductor layer (310), a light emitting layer (330), a second semiconductor layer (350), a second electrode (E1);
wherein the insulating layer (160) is disposed between the first assembly electrode (AE1) and the plurality of light emitting elements (B), and between the second assembly electrode (AE2) and the plurality of light emitting elements (B).
Kim et al. do not clearly disclose a magnetic layer, wherein the magnetic layer is disposed between the first electrode and the first semiconductor layer, and wherein the plurality of light emitting elements have a cross-sectional width increasing from one side where the magnetic layer is disposed to an opposite side.
However, JEON disclose at least one magnetic layer (131, fig. 12 or 131, 132, fig. 13) is disposed between the at least one first electrode (121) and the first semiconductor layer (111), and wherein the light emitting element (100A) has a cross-sectional area increasing from one side (a bottom side) where the at least one magnetic layer (131) is disposed to an opposite side (a top side). (for example, see fig. 12 of JEON).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Kim et al.’s device to have a magnetic layer, wherein the magnetic layer is disposed between the first electrode and the first semiconductor layer, and wherein the plurality of light emitting elements have a cross-sectional width increasing from one side where the magnetic layer is disposed to an opposite side as taught by JEON in order to enhance an excellent color due to its characteristics of self-emission of the light emitting device for enhancing a stability operation of the semiconductor device, as is known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Kim et al. do not clearly disclose the insulating layer (160) is passivation layer.
However, Shin et al. disclose an insulating layer (340) is passivation layer. (for example, see fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Kim et al. and JEON’s device to have the insulating layer is passivation layer as taught by Shin et al. in order to protect the organic light emitting devices from moisture or oxygen for enhancing a stability operation of the semiconductor device, as is known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
With regard to claim 11, JEON discloses the light emitting element (100A) is a vertical type light emitting element in which the at least one first electrode (121), the at least one magnetic layer (131), the first semiconductor layer (111), the light emitting layer (112), the second semiconductor layer (113), and the second electrode (122) are stacked in this sequence.
With regard to claim 12, Kim et al. disclose the first electrode (E1/E2) is electrically connected to the first and second assembly electrodes (AE1, AE2), and wherein the second electrode (E2/E1) is electrically connected to the plurality of transistors (Tdr1, Tdr2).
With regard to claim 14, JEON discloses a second reflective layer (a bonding layer 134, made of a metal material having at least reflective characteristic, functioning as a second reflective layer) disposed between the at least one magnetic layer (131) and the first semiconductor layer (111).
With regard to claim 15, JEON discloses the second reflective layer (134) is formed of a material (Al material, for example, see paragraph [0172] having higher reflectance than the magnetic layer (the magnetic layer 131 made of Ni, Fe, for example, see paragraph [0173]). because JEON’s layers 131, 134 is formed of the same material of applicant’s layers, respectively, so the magnetic and reflective layers of JEON have the same functions as the claimed invention.
3. Claim(s) 16 – 19, 21, 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (10,825,393) in view of JEON (2021/0057393).
With regard to claim 16, Kim et al. disclose a display device (for example, see figs. 4, 5), comprising:
a substrate (100) including a plurality of sub-pixels (referred to as “A” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 4 below); a plurality of transistors (Tdr1, Tdr2) disposed in each of the plurality of sub-pixels (A);
a plurality of transistors (Tdr1, Tdr2) disposed in each of the plurality of sub-pixels (A);
a planarization layer (110) on the plurality of transistors (Tdr1, Tdr2);
a lower layer (150) disposed on the planarization layer (110) and in each of the plurality of
sub-pixels;
a plurality of light emitting elements (as shown in fig. 4) disposed in each of the plurality of sub-pixels (A) and including a first semiconductor layer (310), a light emitting layer (330), a second semiconductor layer (350), first and second electrodes (E1, E2).
Kim et al. do not clearly disclose the lower layer to be a lower reflective layer disposed in each of the plurality of sub-pixels; and a plurality of light emitting elements disposed in each of the plurality of sub-pixels on the lower reflective layer, and at least one magnetic layer, wherein the at least one magnetic layer is disposed between the at least one first electrode and the first semiconductor layer, and wherein the plurality of light emitting elements have a cross-sectional width increasing from one side where the magnetic layer is disposed to an opposite side.
However, JEON disclose the lower layer (a bonding layer 134, made of a metal material having at least reflective characteristic, functioning as a lower reflective layer) to be a lower reflective layer disposed in each of the plurality of sub-pixels (as shown in fig. 13 below); and a plurality of light emitting elements (100A) disposed in each of the plurality of sub-pixels on the lower reflective layer (134), and at least one magnetic layer (131, fig. 12 or 131, 132, fig. 13), wherein the at least one magnetic layer (131, fig. 12 or 131, 132, fig. 13) is disposed between the at least one first electrode (121) and the first semiconductor layer (111), and wherein the light emitting element (100A) has a cross-sectional width (width X1, X2 as shown in fig. 12 below) increasing from one side (a bottom side) where the at least one magnetic layer (131) is disposed to an opposite side (a top side). (for example, see fig. 12 or 13 of JEON).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Kim et al.’s device to have a lower reflective layer disposed in each of the plurality of sub-pixels; and a plurality of light emitting elements disposed in each of the plurality of sub-pixels on the lower reflective layer, and at least one magnetic layer, wherein the at least one magnetic layer is disposed between the at least one first electrode and the first semiconductor layer, and wherein the plurality of light emitting elements have a cross-sectional width increasing from one side where the magnetic layer is disposed to an opposite side as taught by JEON in order to enhance a high light efficiency for an excellent color due to its characteristics of self-emission of the light emitting device and enhancing a stability operation of the semiconductor device, as is known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
With regard to claim 17, JEON discloses the at least one magnetic layer (132, fig. 13) is disposed between the second electrode (122) and the second semiconductor layer (the light emitting device 100A inherently having the second semiconductor layer); the plurality of light emitting elements are configured as vertical type light emitting elements in which the at least one first electrode (121), the first semiconductor layer (111), the light emitting layer (112), the second semiconductor layer (113), and the second electrode (122) are stacked in this sequence.
With regard to claim 18, JEON discloses the at least one magnetic layer (131, 132, figs. 12, 13) includes: at least one first magnetic layer (131, fig. 12) disposed between the at least one first electrode (121, fig. 12) and the first semiconductor layer (111); and a second magnetic layer (132, fig. 13 wherein the light emitting device 100A, fig. 12 is a portion of the structure as shown in fig. 13) disposed between the second electrode (122) and the second semiconductor layer (113, fig. 12, 13).
With regard to claim 19, Kim et al. disclose the light emitting element is a lateral type light emitting element, the one first electrode (E1 or E2) are disposed on a portion of the first semiconductor layer (310), and the second electrode (E1 or E2) are disposed on another portion of the first semiconductor layer (310). (figs. 4, 5 of Kim et al.)
Kim et al. do not clearly disclose at least one first magnetic layer is one first magnetic layer, and the one first magnetic layer and the one first electrode are disposed on a portion of the first semiconductor layer, and the second magnetic layer and the second electrode are disposed on another portion of the first semiconductor layer.
JEON discloses the at least one first electrode (121, fig. 12) is one first electrode and the at least one first magnetic layer (131, fig. 12) is one first magnetic layer, and the one first magnetic layer (131) and the one first electrode (121) are disposed on (on a bottom surface) a portion of the first semiconductor layer (111, fig. 12), and the second magnetic layer (132, fig. 13) and the second electrode (122) are disposed on another portion (a top portion) of the first semiconductor layer (the light emitting device 100A, fig. 13 is formed as shown in fig. 12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Kim et al.’s device to have at least one first magnetic layer is one first magnetic layer, and the one first magnetic layer and the one first electrode are disposed on a portion of the first semiconductor layer, and the second magnetic layer and the second electrode are disposed on another portion of the first semiconductor layer as taught by JEON in order to enhance a high light efficiency for an excellent color due to its characteristics of self-emission of the light emitting device and enhancing a stability operation of the semiconductor device, as is known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
With regard to claim 21, Kim et al. disclose the first electrode (E2) is electrically connected to a low potential power supply line (a common line CL functioning as a low potential supply), and wherein the second electrode (E1) is electrically connected to the transistor (Tdr).
With regard to claim 22, Kim et al. disclose a reflective layer (layer AE1, AE2 having a reflection characteristic, functioning as a reflective layer) surrounding at least a side surface of the first semiconductor layer (310).
4. Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (10,825,393) in view of JEON (2021/0057393) and Shin et al. (10069109) and further in view of Ota et al. (11133431).
With regard to claim 13, Kim et al., JEON and Shin do not clearly disclose a first reflective layer surrounding side surfaces of the first semiconductor layer, the light emitting layer, and the second semiconductor layer.
However, Ota et al. disclose a first reflective layer (40) surrounding side surfaces of the first semiconductor layer (22), the light emitting layer (10), and the second semiconductor layer (21). (for example, see fig. 3 of Ota et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Kim et al. and JEON’s device to have a first reflective layer surrounding side surfaces of the first semiconductor layer, the light emitting layer, and the second semiconductor layer as taught by Ota et al. in order to enhance a high light efficiency of the light emitting device for enhancing a stability operation of the semiconductor device, as is known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
5. Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (10,825,393) in view of JEON (2021/0057393) and further in view of Chien et al. (10886438).
With regard to claim 23, JEON discloses the second electrode (122) in contact with the at least one magnetic layer (132), but do not clearly disclose the second electrode has an uneven portion.
Chien et al. disclose the second electrode (116) has an uneven portion (102b). (for example, see fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Kim et al. and JEON’s device to have the light emitting element is a lateral type light emitting element, the one first electrode are disposed on a portion of the first semiconductor layer, and the second electrode are disposed on another portion of the first semiconductor layer as taught by Chien et al. in order to enhance a high light efficiency for enhancing a stability operation of the semiconductor device, as is known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claims 1, 9 are allowable over the prior art of record, because none of these references disclose or can be combined to yield the claimed invention such as the at least first electrode is two first electrodes and the at least one first magnetic layer is two first magnetic layers, wherein the light emitting element is an NPN type light emitting element in which the two first magnetic layers and the two first electrodes are disposed on a portion of the first semiconductor layer, and the second magnetic layer and the second magnetic layer are disposed on another portion of the first semiconductor layer as recited in claim 1.
7. Claim 20 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 20 is allowable over the prior art of record, because none of these references disclose or can be combined to yield the claimed invention such as the at least first electrode is two first electrodes and the at least one first magnetic layer is two first magnetic layers, wherein the plurality of light emitting elements are configured as an NPN type light emitting element in which the two first magnetic layers and the two first electrodes are disposed on a portion of the first semiconductor layer, and the second magnetic layer and the second magnetic layer are disposed on another portion of the first semiconductor layer as recited in claim 20.
Response to Amendment
8. Applicant's arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
9. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action.
/TAN N TRAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812