DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 5, filed on July 9, 2026, with respect to a typographical error in claim 8 have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the claim amendments. The objection to claim 8 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5-8, filed on July 9, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of U.S. Patent No. 10,096,763 B2 to Iwamoto.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 7-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2009/098840 A1 to Shimizu et al. in view of U.S. Patent No. 10,096,763 B2 to Iwamoto.
Shimizu et al. clearly teaches an Elastic Boundary Device, comprising:
a piezoelectric layer (2) including lithium tantalate (LiTaO3; see page 3) or lithium niobate (LiNbO3; see page 2);
a dielectric substance (3) on the piezoelectric layer (see Figures 1, 3, and 4); and
an IDT electrode (4) on the dielectric substance (see Figures 1, 3, and 4);
wherein the dielectric substance being one dielectric substance selected from the group consisting of TiO2, TaO2, MnO2, GeO2, RuO2, OsO2, IrO2, SnO2, and PbO2.
However, it fails to disclose an electrode portion of the IDT electrode including an epitaxial film.
Iwamoto discloses an Elastic Wave Device and Method for Manufacturing Same, comprising:
an IDT electrode (14) portion of the IDT electrode including an epitaxial film (see column 7, lines 5-19).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to epitaxially grow an IDT electrode film as disclosed by Iwamoto on the electrode of the Elastic Boundary Device disclosed by Shimizu et al., for the purpose of providing a layer of “oriented film has high stress-induced migration resistance” (see column 7, lines 21 and 22).
With regards to claim 2, Shimizu et al. discloses:
the dielectric substance being one dielectric substance selected from the group consisting of TiO2, TaO2, MnO2, and GeO2.
With regards to claim 3, Shimizu et al. discloses:
the dielectric substance being TiO2.
With regards to claim 4, Shimizu et al. discloses:
the electrode portion of the IDT electrode is in contact with the dielectric substance (see Figures 1, 3, and 4).
With regards to claim 7, Shimizu et al. discloses:
an intermediate layer on a side opposite to a side on which the dielectric substance is located (see Figures 1, 3, and 4); and
a support substrate on a side of the intermediate layer which is opposite to a side of the intermediate layer on which the piezoelectric layer is located (see Figures 1, 3, and 4);
wherein the intermediate layer includes a low-acoustic velocity film including a low-acoustic velocity material through which a bulk wave propagates at an acoustic velocity lower than an acoustic velocity at which a bulk wave propagates through the piezoelectric layer.
With regards to claim 8, Shimizu et al. discloses:
the intermediate layer further includes a high-acoustic velocity film interposed between the low-acoustic velocity film and the support substrate, the high-acoustic velocity film being a high-acoustic velocity material through which a bulk wave propagates at an acoustic velocity higher than an acoustic velocity at which an acoustic wave propagates through the piezoelectric layer.
With regards to claim 9, Shimizu et al. discloses:
the support substrate includes a high-acoustic velocity material through which a bulk wave propagates at an acoustic velocity higher than an acoustic velocity at which an acoustic wave propagates through the piezoelectric layer.
With regards to claim 10, Shimizu et al. discloses:
the piezoelectric layer being a piezoelectric substrate including lithium tantalate (LiTaO3; see page 3) or lithium niobate (LiNbO3; see page 2).
With regards to claim 11, Shimizu et al. discloses:
the support substate includes silicon.
With regards to claim 12, Shimizu et al. discloses:
the support substrate including a semiconductor material or a piezoelectric material.
With regards to claim 13, Shimizu et al. discloses:
the high-acoustic velocity film includes aluminum oxide, silicon carbide, silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, silicon, sapphire, lithium tantalate, lithium niobate, quartz, alumina, zirconia, cordierite, mullite, steatite, forsterite, magnesia, a diamond- like carbon film or diamond.
With regards to claim 14, Shimizu et al. discloses:
the low-acoustic velocity film includes silicon oxide, glass, silicon oxynitride, tantalum oxide, or a compound including fluorine, carbon, boron, hydrogen, or a silanol group and silicon oxide.
With regards to claim 15, Shimizu et al. discloses:
the piezoelectric layer includes 50° Y-cut X-propagation LiTaO3 (see Figure 1; see page 2).
With regards to claim 16, Shimizu et al. discloses:
reflectors on both sides of the IDT electrode (see Figures 1, 3, and 4).
With regards to claim 17, Shimizu et al. discloses:
the acoustic wave device is a one-port acoustic wave resonator (see Figures 1, 3, and 4).
With regards to claim 18, Shimizu et al. discloses:
the high-acoustic velocity film includes a silicon nitride film (see page 3).
With regards to claim 19, Shimizu et al. discloses:
the low-acoustic velocity film includes silicon oxide (see page 3).
With regards to claim 20, Shimizu et al. discloses:
an Al film (see page 3) or an AlCu film (see page 3) on the electrode portion.
Conclusion
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/PEDRO J CUEVAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896 April 3, 2026