DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed 6/12/23 and 10/162/23 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "one or more additives" in the fourth line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Specifically, it is unclear whether the “one or more additives” include or are in addition to the “an additive” of claim 1. For the purposes of expediting prosecution, the “one or more additives” will be interpreted as being in addition to the additive of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 9, and 11-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (US 2024/0291036).
Regarding claims 1 and 14, Liu teaches an electrolyte solution comprising an organic solvent ([0063], a lithium salt ([0026]-[0027]), a phosphorus-based cesium salt, ([0031]), and an additive in an amount of 0.01 to 11 % by mass ([0035]),
wherein the additive comprises two or more compounds such as a sultone and cyclic carbonate ([0035]-[0036], [0040]-[0043]).
Regarding claims 2-4, as discussed above, Liu teaches that the additive includes a sultone and cyclic carbonate ([0035]), for example, the compound in which A is O=S=O has the Chemical Formula 4 (see formula III-6 of [0039]), and the compound in which A is C=O has the Chemical Formula 7, 8, or 9, i.e. vinylene carbonate, fluoroethylene carbonate, or vinylethylene carbonate ([0041], [0043]).
With regard to claim 6, Liu teaches the relative weight ratio of PS (Chemical formula 4) to FEC (Chemical formula 8) of 1:1.5 (Table 2 Example 2-13).
As for claim 9, Liu further teaches the amount of phosphorus-based cesium salt is, for example, 4.0% by mass ([0030]), which would result in the ratio of 1:1.5:1 for the relative amounts of PS and FEC above.
As for claim 11, Liu teaches that the lithium salt is, for example, LiPF6 ([0027]).
Regarding claim 12, Liu teaches that the solvent comprises EC, DEC, and EMC ([0063]).
With regard to claim 13, Liu teaches an additional additive in addition to the additive discussed above, such as a boron compound of a second fluorine-containing metal salt, wherein the additive is included in an amount of less than 10 % by mass ([0030], [0032]).
Regarding claim 15, Liu teaches a lithium secondary battery comprising the electrolyte discussed above (abstract).
As for claims 16-18, concerning the properties of the battery of claim 15, the examiner finds that, since the battery of Liu is substantially identical to the claimed structure, the claimed properties are presumed to be inherent. MPEP 2112.01 I
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 7, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Park et al. (US 2023/0094024).
The teachings of Liu as discussed above are incorporated herein.
Liu teaches the electrolyte of claim 2 but fails to teach the compound in which A is selected form P-F is represented by Chemical Formulas 10 or 11 and fails to teach the relative amount of such a compound with the C=O based additive.
As for claim 5, Park teaches an electrolyte for a rechargeable lithium battery wherein the electrolyte comprises an additive of, for example, 2-fluoro-4-methyl-1,3,2-dioxaphosphorane and fluoroethylene carbonate ([0093]).
As for claim 7, Park further teaches that the 2-fluoro-4-methyl-1,3,2-dioxaphosphorane is used with fluoroethylene carbonate in a ratio of 1:2 ([0093]).
Park further teaches that the inclusion of the O=P=O and C=O additives is desirable for suppressing decomposition of the electrolyte, thereby increasing stability and high temperature storage characteristics of the resultant battery ([0013], [0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the skilled artisan at the time of the invention to include the 2-fluoro-4-methyl-1,3,2-dioxaphosphorane additive of Liu in the amount suggested by Park in order to suppress decomposition of the electrolyte.
As for claim 10, Liu teaches that the phosphorus-based cesium salt is include in an amount of, for example, 2.0% by mass ([0030], which, based on the teachings of Park above, would result in the claimed ratio of 1:2:1.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Xu et al. (US 2020/0212486).
The teachings of Liu as discussed above are incorporated herein.
Liu teaches the electrolyte of claim 1 but is silent on the phosphate compound of claim 8.
Xu teaches an electrolyte including an organic solvent, lithium salt, additives such as FEC and PS, and CsPF6 salt ([0087]). Xu further teaches that CsPF6 salt is desirable for use with carbonate-based solvents in order to suppress Li dendrite formation ([0074]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the skilled artisan at the time of the invention to include CsPF6 salt as the phosphorus-based cesium salt of Liu in order to suppress Li dendrite formation.
Conclusion
/ALIX E EGGERDING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1729